DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the AP" in lines 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether the limitation “the AP” refers to the “first AP” or the “second AP” previously recited.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the AP" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether the limitation “the AP” refers to the “first AP” or the “second AP” previously recited.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the AP" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether the limitation “the AP” refers to the “first AP” or the “second AP” previously recited.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the AP" in lines 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether the limitation “the AP” refers to the “first AP” or the “second AP” previously recited.
Claims 2-15 are also rejected as being dependent upon rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-14, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ajami et al. (US 2023/0140312 A1)(hereinafter “Ajami”)(cited in IDS of 04/30/2026) in view of Chung et al. (US 2025/0031247 A1)(hereinafter “Chung”).
Regarding claim 1, Ajami discloses an apparatus for a first access point (AP) (Fig. 9, [0089]: access point AP1), the apparatus (Fig. 5A: AP 502) comprising memory; and processing circuitry coupled to the memory (Fig. 5A, [0066]: the AP 502 additionally includes an application processor 530 coupled with the wireless communication device 510, and a memory 540 coupled with the application processor 530.), the processing circuitry configured to:
negotiate a service period (SP) with a second AP ([0008]: in some aspects, the coordinated r-TWT signaling information may indicate an allocation of resources for the second r-TWT SP. In some other aspects, the coordinated r-TWT signaling information may indicate an allocation of resources for the first r-TWT SP. In some implementations, the method may further include negotiating, with an AP associated with the OBSS, an allocation of resources for the second r-TWT SP based on the coordinated r-TWT signaling information. [0114] in some implementations, the AP 1102 may negotiate with the AP 1101 to schedule r-TWT SP2 based on the coordinated r-TWT signaling information received from the AP 1101. For example, the AP 1102 may determine that the intended schedule for r-TWT SP1 does not permit suitable a suitable schedule to be allocated for r-TWT SP2. As such, the AP 1102 may reject one or more aspects of the intended schedule for r-TWT SP1 (such as an intended transmit power or allocation of resources). Similarly, the AP 1101 may negotiate with the AP 1102 to schedule r-TWT SP1. As a result of the negotiation process, the APs 1101 and 1102 may coordinate their schedules for r-TWT SP1 and r-TWT SP2, respectively, in a manner that is suitable for latency-sensitive traffic in BSS1 and BSS2.), the SP having a start time and a duration (Fig. 8, [0085]: the access point AP1 schedules an r-TWT SP (r-TWT SP1) to occur from times t1 to t2 and the access point AP2 schedules an r-TWT SP (r-TWT SP2) to occur from times t2 to t3.);
during the SP reduce a transmit (Tx) power (TxP) of the AP ([0093]: in some implementations, the access points AP1 and AP2 may coordinate the transmit powers of wireless communications in BSS1 and BSS2 during r-TWT SP1 and r-TWT SP2. In such implementations, the transmit power of latency-sensitive traffic in BSS1 may be suitably low so as not to interfere with latency-sensitive traffic in BSS2 and the transmit power of latency-sensitive traffic in BSS2 may be suitable low so as not to interfere with latency-sensitive traffic in BSS1. For example, prior to (or during) r-TWT SP1 and r-TWT SP2, the access points AP1 and AP2 may exchange coordination information indicating a transmit power to be used for wireless communications in at least one of BSS1 or BSS2 (such as in accordance with coordinated spatial reuse (C-SR) operation). The access points AP1 and AP2 may utilize the coordination information exchange to propose, accept, or negotiate transmit powers to be used for wireless communications in BSS1 and BSS2 during the overlapping service periods r-TWT SP1 and r-TWT SP2. [0094]: aspects of the present disclosure recognize that STAs located close to an AP (such as STAs 701 and 704 of FIG. 7) are more susceptible to interference from an OBSS than STAs located further from the AP. Thus, lowering the transmit power of wireless communications associated with such STAs may effectively suppress interference between OBSSs during overlapping r-TWT SPs.) or raise a receiver minimum input level sensitivity of the AP (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims.); and
refrain from transmitting to stations (STAs) associated with the first AP ([0041]: Non-legacy STAs that support r-TWT operation and acquire transmit opportunities (TXOPs) outside of an r-TWT SP must terminate their respective TXOPs before the start of any r-TWT SP for which they are not a member. Further, an AP may suppress traffic from all legacy STAs during an r-TWT SP by scheduling a quiet interval to overlap with the r-TWT SP. As such, r-TWT SPs can provide more predictable latency, reduced worst case latency, or reduced jitter, with higher reliability for latency-sensitive traffic.)….
Although Ajami discloses refraining from transmitting to stations (STAs) associated with the first AP, Ajami does not explicitly disclose refraining from transmitting to stations (STAs) associated with the first AP that are outside a radius of a spatial reuse (R-SR) of a basic service set (BSS) of the first AP. However, Chung discloses to refrain from transmitting to stations (STAs) associated with the first AP that are outside a radius of a spatial reuse (R-SR) of a basic service set (BSS) of the first AP (Fig. 1, [0035]: in the example shown in FIG. 1A, the second AP AP2 and the second station STA2 are outside a transmission range in which the first AP AP1 transmits a signal to the first station STA1, and similarly, the first AP AP1 and the first station STA1 are outside a transmission range in which the second AP AP2 transmits a signal to the second station STA2. Accordingly, considering only a transmission range without other factors, when the first and second APs AP1 and AP2 adjust their transmission powers appropriately to reduce the size of the area where transmission ranges overlap as shown in FIG. 1B, the second AP AP2 may concurrently transmit a signal to the second station STA2 while the first AP AP1 transmits a signal to the first station STA1. The above technique for allowing concurrent signal transmission by adjusting the transmission powers of the APs AP1 and AP2 of the different BSSs is referred to as a “spatial reuse technique.” [0030]: referring to FIG. 1, the wireless network system may include basic service sets (BSSs). The BSSs include access points (APs) AP1 and AP2 and may further include stations STA1 and STA2 that access a network through the APs AP1 and AP2 included in the BSSs. Accordingly, Chung discloses that an AP refrains from transmitting to an associated station that is outside of a transmission range (equivalent to “a radius”) for spatial reuse of a BSS of the AP.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to refrain from transmitting to stations (STAs) associated with the first AP, as taught by Ajami, based on the stations being outside a radius of a spatial reuse (R-SR) of a basic service set (BSS) of the first AP, as taught by Chung. Dong so allows for reducing interference within the wireless network (See Chung [0041]).
Regarding claim 2, Ajami in view of Chung discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Ajami also discloses wherein the negotiate further comprises: decode or encode a frame from or to the second AP, the frame indicating the start time and the duration (Fig. 8, [0085]: the access point AP1 schedules an r-TWT SP (r-TWT SP1) to occur from times t1 to t2 and the access point AP2 schedules an r-TWT SP (r-TWT SP2) to occur from times t2 to t3.).
Regarding claim 3, Ajami in view of Chung discloses all features of claim 2 as outlined above.
Ajami also discloses wherein the frame further comprises a periodicity of the SP ([0088]: the beacon frame 801 may carry coordinated r-TWT signaling information indicating the schedules for one or more of the service periods r-TWT SP2 or r-TWT SP3 and the beacon frame 802 may carry coordinated r-TWT signaling information indicating the schedules for one or more of the service periods r-TWT SP1 or r-TWT SP3. As used herein, the term “schedule” may include timing information, resource allocation information, or various other communication parameters associated with an r-TWT SP.).
Regarding claim 4, Ajami in view of Chung discloses all features of claim 2 as outlined above.
Ajami also discloses wherein the frame further comprises an indication of the R-SR ([0088]: the beacon frame 801 may carry coordinated r-TWT signaling information indicating the schedules for one or more of the service periods r-TWT SP2 or r-TWT SP3 and the beacon frame 802 may carry coordinated r-TWT signaling information indicating the schedules for one or more of the service periods r-TWT SP1 or r-TWT SP3. As used herein, the term “schedule” may include timing information, resource allocation information, or various other communication parameters associated with an r-TWT SP. [0011]: ).
Regarding claim 7, Ajami in view of Chung discloses all features of claim 4 as outlined above.
Ajami also discloses wherein the frame indicates a TxP ([0093]: in some implementations, the access points AP1 and AP2 may coordinate the transmit powers of wireless communications in BSS1 and BSS2 during r-TWT SP1 and r-TWT SP2.) or a receiver minimum input level sensitivity the AP is to use during the SP.
Regarding claim 8, Ajami in view of Chung discloses all features of claim 4 as outlined above.
Ajami also discloses wherein the frame indicates a TxP or a receiver minimum input level sensitivity STAs associated with the first AP are to use during the SP ([0093]: in some implementations, the access points AP1 and AP2 may coordinate the transmit powers of wireless communications in BSS1 and BSS2 during r-TWT SP1 and r-TWT SP2. [0007]: in some implementations, the coordinating with the AP may include exchanging, with the AP, transmit power information indicating at least one of a transmit power associated with the communications with the one or more first STAs or a transmit power associated with the communications in the OBSS.).
Regarding claim 9, Ajami in view of Chung discloses all features of claim 4 as outlined above.
Ajami also discloses wherein the frame comprises a restricted target wake time (r-TWT) element ([0100] The AP 1001 schedules r-TWT SP1 based on its received coordinated r-TWT signaling information and transmits or broadcasts r-TWT schedule information indicating the schedule for r-TWT SP1. For example, the r-TWT schedule information may be carried in a broadcast r-TWT information element (IE) included in beacon frames or other management frames transmitted by the AP 1001 to the STA 1003 (such as in accordance with existing versions of the IEEE 802.11 standard).).
Regarding claim 10, Ajami in view of Chung discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Ajami also discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: end transmissions of the first AP before the start of the SP, the transmissions comprising a transmission opportunity ([0084]: FIG. 8 shows a timing diagram 800 depicting example wireless communications associated with OBSSs (BSS1-BSS3) that support r-TWT operation, according to some implementations. In the example of FIG. 8, BSS1, BSS2, and BSS3 are represented by access points AP1, AP2, and AP3, respectively. In some implementations, the access points AP1, AP2, and AP3 may be examples of the APs 711, 712, and 713, respectively, of FIG. 7. As shown in FIG. 8, the access points AP1 and AP2 belong to a coordinated r-TWT scheduling group. As such, the access points AP1 and AP2 may schedule their r-TWT SPs in a coordinated manner so that latency-sensitive data traffic in BSS1 does not interfere or collide with latency-sensitive data traffic in BSS2. In contrast, the access point AP3 does not belong to the coordinated r-TWT scheduling group. As such, the access point AP3 does not schedule its r-TWT SPs in a coordinated manner with any of the access points AP1 or AP2.).
Regarding claim 11, Ajami in view of Chung discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: encode for transmission a frame to a STA within the R-SR (Fig. 2A, [0054] FIG. 2A shows an example protocol data unit (PDU) 200 usable for wireless communication between an AP 102 and one or more STAs 104.); and configure the first AP to transmit the frame in accordance with the TxP ([0093]: in some implementations, the access points AP1 and AP2 may coordinate the transmit powers of wireless communications in BSS1 and BSS2 during r-TWT SP1 and r-TWT SP2. [0007]: in some implementations, the coordinating with the AP may include exchanging, with the AP, transmit power information indicating at least one of a transmit power associated with the communications with the one or more first STAs or a transmit power associated with the communications in the OBSS.).
Regarding claim 12, Ajami in view of Chung discloses all features of claim 11 as outlined above.
Ajami also discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine the STA is within the R-SR based on one or more of: a location of the STA relative to the first AP and a length of the R-SR, a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) of signals received from the STA, and the RSSI of signals received by the STA from the second AP ([0049]: after association with an AP 102, a STA 104 also may be configured to periodically scan its surroundings to find a more suitable AP 102 with which to associate. For example, a STA 104 that is moving relative to its associated AP 102 may perform a “roaming” scan to find another AP 102 having more desirable network characteristics such as a greater received signal strength indicator (RSSI) or a reduced traffic load.).
Regarding claim 13, Ajami in view of Chung discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Ajami also discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: use a normal TxP of the AP and a normal receiver minimum input level sensitivity of the AP after the SP is over ([0093]: in some implementations, the access points AP1 and AP2 may coordinate the transmit powers of wireless communications in BSS1 and BSS2 during r-TWT SP1 and r-TWT SP2. In such implementations, the transmit power of latency-sensitive traffic in BSS1 may be suitably low so as not to interfere with latency-sensitive traffic in BSS2 and the transmit power of latency-sensitive traffic in BSS2 may be suitable low so as not to interfere with latency-sensitive traffic in BSS1. For example, prior to (or during) r-TWT SP1 and r-TWT SP2, the access points AP1 and AP2 may exchange coordination information indicating a transmit power to be used for wireless communications in at least one of BSS1 or BSS2 (such as in accordance with coordinated spatial reuse (C-SR) operation). The access points AP1 and AP2 may utilize the coordination information exchange to propose, accept, or negotiate transmit powers to be used for wireless communications in BSS1 and BSS2 during the overlapping service periods r-TWT SP1 and r-TWT SP2. Accordingly, it would be evident to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the AP would return to a normal TxP and a normal receiver minimum input level sensitivity (i.e., the previous states) at the end of a service period (SP) ).
Regarding claim 14, Ajami in view of Chung discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Ajami also discloses wherein the SP is a first SP, and wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine the first AP will not participate in a second SP based on a legacy STAs associated with the first AP ([0041]: the term “legacy STA” may refer to any STA that only supports the IEEE 802.11ax, or earlier generations, of the IEEE 802.11 standard. An AP may suppress traffic from all legacy STAs during an r-TWT SP by scheduling a quiet interval to overlap with the r-TWT SP. [0068]: an AP may suppress traffic from all legacy STAs during an r-TWT SP by scheduling a quiet interval to overlap with the r-TWT SP.).
Regarding claim 16, Ajami discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that stores instructions for execution by one or more processors of a first access point (AP) (Fig. 4, [0059] FIG. 4 shows a block diagram of an example wireless communication device 400. In some implementations, the wireless communication device 400 can be an example of a device for use in an AP such as the AP 102 described with reference to FIG. 1. [0065]: the memory 408 can include tangible storage media such as random-access memory (RAM) or read-only memory (ROM), or combinations thereof. The memory 408 also can store non-transitory processor- or computer-executable software (SW) code containing instructions that, when executed by the processor 406, cause the processor to perform various operations described herein for wireless communication, including the generation, transmission, reception and interpretation of MPDUs, frames or packets. ), the instructions to configure the one or more processors to:
negotiate a service period (SP) with a second AP ([0008]: in some aspects, the coordinated r-TWT signaling information may indicate an allocation of resources for the second r-TWT SP. In some other aspects, the coordinated r-TWT signaling information may indicate an allocation of resources for the first r-TWT SP. In some implementations, the method may further include negotiating, with an AP associated with the OBSS, an allocation of resources for the second r-TWT SP based on the coordinated r-TWT signaling information. [0114] in some implementations, the AP 1102 may negotiate with the AP 1101 to schedule r-TWT SP2 based on the coordinated r-TWT signaling information received from the AP 1101. For example, the AP 1102 may determine that the intended schedule for r-TWT SP1 does not permit suitable a suitable schedule to be allocated for r-TWT SP2. As such, the AP 1102 may reject one or more aspects of the intended schedule for r-TWT SP1 (such as an intended transmit power or allocation of resources). Similarly, the AP 1101 may negotiate with the AP 1102 to schedule r-TWT SP1. As a result of the negotiation process, the APs 1101 and 1102 may coordinate their schedules for r-TWT SP1 and r-TWT SP2, respectively, in a manner that is suitable for latency-sensitive traffic in BSS1 and BSS2.), the SP having a start time and a duration (Fig. 8, [0085]: the access point AP1 schedules an r-TWT SP (r-TWT SP1) to occur from times t1 to t2 and the access point AP2 schedules an r-TWT SP (r-TWT SP2) to occur from times t2 to t3.);
during the SP reduce a transmit (Tx) power (TxP) of the AP ([0093]: in some implementations, the access points AP1 and AP2 may coordinate the transmit powers of wireless communications in BSS1 and BSS2 during r-TWT SP1 and r-TWT SP2. In such implementations, the transmit power of latency-sensitive traffic in BSS1 may be suitably low so as not to interfere with latency-sensitive traffic in BSS2 and the transmit power of latency-sensitive traffic in BSS2 may be suitable low so as not to interfere with latency-sensitive traffic in BSS1. For example, prior to (or during) r-TWT SP1 and r-TWT SP2, the access points AP1 and AP2 may exchange coordination information indicating a transmit power to be used for wireless communications in at least one of BSS1 or BSS2 (such as in accordance with coordinated spatial reuse (C-SR) operation). The access points AP1 and AP2 may utilize the coordination information exchange to propose, accept, or negotiate transmit powers to be used for wireless communications in BSS1 and BSS2 during the overlapping service periods r-TWT SP1 and r-TWT SP2. [0094]: aspects of the present disclosure recognize that STAs located close to an AP (such as STAs 701 and 704 of FIG. 7) are more susceptible to interference from an OBSS than STAs located further from the AP. Thus, lowering the transmit power of wireless communications associated with such STAs may effectively suppress interference between OBSSs during overlapping r-TWT SPs.) or raise a receiver minimum input level sensitivity of the AP (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims.); and
refrain from transmitting to stations (STAs) associated with the first AP ([0041]: Non-legacy STAs that support r-TWT operation and acquire transmit opportunities (TXOPs) outside of an r-TWT SP must terminate their respective TXOPs before the start of any r-TWT SP for which they are not a member. Further, an AP may suppress traffic from all legacy STAs during an r-TWT SP by scheduling a quiet interval to overlap with the r-TWT SP. As such, r-TWT SPs can provide more predictable latency, reduced worst case latency, or reduced jitter, with higher reliability for latency-sensitive traffic.)….
Although Ajami discloses refraining from transmitting to stations (STAs) associated with the first AP, Ajami does not explicitly disclose refraining from transmitting to stations (STAs) associated with the first AP that are outside a radius of a spatial reuse (R-SR) of a basic service set (BSS) of the first AP. However, Chung discloses to refrain from transmitting to stations (STAs) associated with the first AP that are outside a radius of a spatial reuse (R-SR) of a basic service set (BSS) of the first AP (Fig. 1, [0035]: in the example shown in FIG. 1A, the second AP AP2 and the second station STA2 are outside a transmission range in which the first AP AP1 transmits a signal to the first station STA1, and similarly, the first AP AP1 and the first station STA1 are outside a transmission range in which the second AP AP2 transmits a signal to the second station STA2. Accordingly, considering only a transmission range without other factors, when the first and second APs AP1 and AP2 adjust their transmission powers appropriately to reduce the size of the area where transmission ranges overlap as shown in FIG. 1B, the second AP AP2 may concurrently transmit a signal to the second station STA2 while the first AP AP1 transmits a signal to the first station STA1. The above technique for allowing concurrent signal transmission by adjusting the transmission powers of the APs AP1 and AP2 of the different BSSs is referred to as a “spatial reuse technique.” [0030]: referring to FIG. 1, the wireless network system may include basic service sets (BSSs). The BSSs include access points (APs) AP1 and AP2 and may further include stations STA1 and STA2 that access a network through the APs AP1 and AP2 included in the BSSs. Accordingly, Chung discloses that an AP refrains from transmitting to an associated station that is outside of a transmission range (equivalent to “a radius”) for spatial reuse of a BSS of the AP.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to refrain from transmitting to stations (STAs) associated with the first AP, as taught by Ajami, based on the stations being outside a radius of a spatial reuse (R-SR) of a basic service set (BSS) of the first AP, as taught by Chung. Dong so allows for reducing interference within the wireless network (See Chung [0041]).
Regarding claim 17, Ajami in view of Chung discloses all features of claim 16 as outlined above.
Ajami also discloses wherein the negotiate further comprises: decode or encode a frame from or to the second AP, the frame indicating the start time, the duration (Fig. 8, [0085]: the access point AP1 schedules an r-TWT SP (r-TWT SP1) to occur from times t1 to t2 and the access point AP2 schedules an r-TWT SP (r-TWT SP2) to occur from times t2 to t3.), and an indication of the R-SR ([0088]: the beacon frame 801 may carry coordinated r-TWT signaling information indicating the schedules for one or more of the service periods r-TWT SP2 or r-TWT SP3 and the beacon frame 802 may carry coordinated r-TWT signaling information indicating the schedules for one or more of the service periods r-TWT SP1 or r-TWT SP3. As used herein, the term “schedule” may include timing information, resource allocation information, or various other communication parameters associated with an r-TWT SP.).
Regarding claim 18, Ajami discloses an apparatus for a station (STA) (Fig. 10A: STA 1003), the apparatus comprising memory; and processing circuitry coupled to the memory, the processing circuitry configured to:
during a service period (SP) reduce a transmit (Tx) power (TxP) of the STA ([0093]: in some implementations, the access points AP1 and AP2 may coordinate the transmit powers of wireless communications in BSS1 and BSS2 during r-TWT SP1 and r-TWT SP2. [0007]: in some implementations, the coordinating with the AP may include exchanging, with the AP, transmit power information indicating at least one of a transmit power associated with the communications with the one or more first STAs or a transmit power associated with the communications in the OBSS.) or raise a receiver minimum input level sensitivity of the STA (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims.);… and … refrain from transmitting during the SP ([0041]: Non-legacy STAs that support r-TWT operation and acquire transmit opportunities (TXOPs) outside of an r-TWT SP must terminate their respective TXOPs before the start of any r-TWT SP for which they are not a member. Further, an AP may suppress traffic from all legacy STAs during an r-TWT SP by scheduling a quiet interval to overlap with the r-TWT SP. As such, r-TWT SPs can provide more predictable latency, reduced worst case latency, or reduced jitter, with higher reliability for latency-sensitive traffic.).
Although Ajami discloses refraining from transmitting during the SP, Ajami does not explicitly disclose determining if the STA is outside a radius of spatial reuse (R-SR) of the SP and in response to a determination that the STA is outside the R-SR of the SP, refrain from transmitting during the SP. However, Chung discloses to determine if the STA is outside a radius of a spatial reuse (R-SR) of the SP; and in response to a determination that the STA is outside the R-SR of the SP, refrain from transmitting during the SP. (Fig. 1, [0035]: in the example shown in FIG. 1A, the second AP AP2 and the second station STA2 are outside a transmission range in which the first AP AP1 transmits a signal to the first station STA1, and similarly, the first AP AP1 and the first station STA1 are outside a transmission range in which the second AP AP2 transmits a signal to the second station STA2. Accordingly, considering only a transmission range without other factors, when the first and second APs AP1 and AP2 adjust their transmission powers appropriately to reduce the size of the area where transmission ranges overlap as shown in FIG. 1B, the second AP AP2 may concurrently transmit a signal to the second station STA2 while the first AP AP1 transmits a signal to the first station STA1. The above technique for allowing concurrent signal transmission by adjusting the transmission powers of the APs AP1 and AP2 of the different BSSs is referred to as a “spatial reuse technique.” [0030]: referring to FIG. 1, the wireless network system may include basic service sets (BSSs). The BSSs include access points (APs) AP1 and AP2 and may further include stations STA1 and STA2 that access a network through the APs AP1 and AP2 included in the BSSs. Accordingly, Chung discloses that an AP refrains from transmitting to an associated station that is outside of a transmission range (equivalent to “a radius”) for spatial reuse of a BSS of the AP.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to refrain from transmitting by stations (STAs) associated with an AP, as taught by Ajami, based on the stations being outside a radius of a spatial reuse (R-SR) of a basic service set (BSS) of the first AP, as taught by Chung. Dong so allows for reducing interference within the wireless network (See Chung [0041]).
Regarding claim 19, Ajami in view of Chung discloses all features of claim 18 as outlined above.
Ajami also discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: decode a frame from an access point (AP), the frame indicating a time and duration of the SP, wherein the STA is associated with the AP ([0006] in some aspects, the first r-TWT SP may be orthogonal to the second r-TWT SP in time. In some other aspects, the first r-TWT may overlap the second r-TWT SP in time. In some implementations, the communicating with the one or more first STAs may include transmitting a multi-user request-to-send (MU-RTS) frame to the one or more first STAs. In some other implementations, the coordinated r-TWT signaling information may include shared SP information indicating a multiple access point (multi-AP) coordination opportunity associated with the first r-TWT SP. In such implementations, the communicating with the one or more first STAs may include coordinating with an access point (AP) associated with the OBSS based on the shared SP information so that the communications with the one or more first STAs occur concurrently with communications in the OBSS. Fig. 8, [0085]: the access point AP1 schedules an r-TWT SP (r-TWT SP1) to occur from times t1 to t2 and the access point AP2 schedules an r-TWT SP (r-TWT SP2) to occur from times t2 to t3.).
Claims 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ajami in view of Chung and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2024/0397551 A1)(hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claim 15, Ajami in view of Chung discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above. Ajami in view of Chung does not disclose wherein the first AP is affiliated with a first multi-link device (MLD). However, Kim discloses wherein the first AP is affiliated with a first multi-link device (MLD) (Fig. 4, [0058]: FIG. 4 illustrates an example 400 of TWT operation in a multi-link environment including an AP multi-link device (AP MLD) 410 and a STA multi-link device (STA MLD) 420. As shown in FIG. 4, AP MLD 410 may have three affiliated APs, AP 411, AP2 412, and AP3 413.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first AP, as taught by Ajami, wherein the first AP is affiliated with a first multi-link device (MLD), as taught by Kim. Dong so allows for enabling multi-link capabilities to provide for more efficient utilization of resources.
Regarding claim 20, Ajami in view of Chung discloses all features of claim 18 as outlined above. Ajami in view of Chung does not disclose wherein the STA is affiliated with a non- AP STA multi-link device (MLD). However, Kim discloses wherein the STA is affiliated with a non- AP STA multi-link device (MLD) (Fig. 1, [0105]: in some demonstrative aspects, controller 154 may be configured to cause, trigger, instruct and/or control device 140 to operate as, perform a role of, and/or perform one or more operations and/or functionalities of, an MLD 151 including a plurality of STAs 153, e.g., including a STA 155, a STA 157 and/or a STA 159. In some aspects, as shown in FIG. 1, MLD 151 may include three STAs. In other aspects, MLD 151 may include any other number of STAs. [0115]: a first MLD, may include a plurality of STAs, e.g., including a STA 212, a STA 214, and a STA 216. An MLD may be a non-access point MLD (non-AP MLD) or STA MLD when a STA affiliated with the MLD is a non-AP STA (or a STA).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the STA, as taught by Ajami, wherein the STA is affiliated with a non-AP STA multi-link device (MLD), as taught by Kim. Dong so allows for enabling multi-link capabilities to provide for more efficient utilization of resources.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 [and 12-13] may potentially be allowable if all outstanding rejections/objections are successfully traversed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lou et al. (US 2025/0261233 A1) – Spatial Reuse Transmission In Wireless Local Area Networks – discloses that an AP may set a spatial reuse field that indicates a duration of a PPDU.
Naik et al. (US 2024/0381109 A1) – Machine Learning Models For Spatial Reuse – discloses that a STA may refrain from transmitting during spatial reuse.
Wang et al. (US 2022/0095327 A1) – Spatial Reuse For Sidelink Communications – discloses determining, by a UE to reuse the resources within an interference-free distance.
/MICHAEL WAYNE MADDOX/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/CHI TANG P CHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463