DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 8/13/25 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/13/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the pair of beveled gears" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears that this claims should depend from claim 8 rather than 5 and is being examined in this manner. Please correct.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Bowman (PGPub 20220400900).
Bowman teaches an apparatus for cleaning a surface comprising: a frame (2); an axle (7) extending through the frame, wherein the axle comprises a first rotatable brush (12) on the axle, wherein rotation of the axle causes the first rotatable brush to rotate; a shaft (5) extending orthogonally from the axle, wherein rotation of the shaft causes the axle to rotate, wherein the shaft is configured to be held by a chuck of a rotatable drill (paragraph 0002).
With regards to claim 2, a second rotatable brush (12) on the axle.
With regards to claim 3, the first rotatable brush is on a first terminal end of the axle and the second rotatable brush is on a second terminal end of the axle (figure 12).
With regards to claim 4, the first and second rotatable brushes are each disposed outside the housing (figure 5 and 12).
With regards to claim 5, the first rotatable brush is disposed outside a first side of the housing and the second rotatable brush is disposed outside a second side of the housing (figure 5 and 12).
With regards to claim 6, the first rotatable brush is on a terminal end of the axle (figure 12).
With regards to claim 7, the first rotatable brush is positioned on the axle outside the frame (figure 12).
With regards to claim 10, the first rotatable brush comprises bristles (figure 2) that are configured to clean a grill grate when rotated at high speed and contacting the grill grate.
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by McLain (PGPub 20150034391).
McLain teaches an apparatus for cleaning a surface comprising: a frame (53); an axle (41) extending through the frame, wherein the axle comprises a first rotatable brush (21; figure 17) on the axle, wherein rotation of the axle causes the first rotatable brush to rotate; a shaft (36) extending orthogonally from the axle, wherein rotation of the shaft causes the axle to rotate, wherein the shaft is configured to be held by a chuck of a rotatable drill (31).
With regards to claim 2, a second rotatable brush (21) on the axle.
With regards to claim 3, the first rotatable brush is on a first terminal end of the axle and the second rotatable brush is on a second terminal end of the axle (figure 17).
With regards to claim 4, the first and second rotatable brushes are each disposed outside the housing (figure 17).
With regards to claim 5, the first rotatable brush is disposed outside a first side of the housing and the second rotatable brush is disposed outside a second side of the housing (figure 17).
With regards to claim 6, the first rotatable brush is on a terminal end of the axle (figure 17).
With regards to claim 7, the first rotatable brush is positioned on the axle outside the frame (figure 17).
With regards to claim 8, the shaft is connected to the axle through a pair of beveled gears (38, 40).
With regards to claim 9, the pair of beveled gears forms a right angle gear pair (figure 12).
With regards to claim 10, the first rotatable brush comprises bristles (figure 17) that are configured to clean a grill grate when rotated at high speed and contacting the grill grate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowman (‘900) in view of McLain (‘391).
Bowman teaches all the essential elements of the claimed invention including a worm gear, however fails to teach a bevel gear. McLain teaches a cleaning device with a bevel gear (38, 40). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the worm gear of Bowman with a bevel gear of McLain since they are both gearing devices that transfer motion between intersecting shafts and therefore, they can be considered equivalent structures.
Conclusion
/SHAY KARLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723