DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 10-11, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Koo et al. (US20220404448 hereinafter Koo).
Regarding claims 1 and 10. Koo teaches the method and apparatus for a first device (fig. 2 and pars. 0107-0112, teaches a UWB electronic device, the first UWB device. Par. 0002, teaches ultra-wideband (UWB)), comprising: an ultra-wideband (UWB) transceiver (fig. 2 and pars. 0107-0112, teaches the first UWB device, including transceiver 210 may transmit/receive a signal to/from another entity or device); and one or more processors configured to (fig. 2 and pars. 0107-0112, teaches a UWB electronic device, the first UWB device, including the controller which may be defined as a circuit or application-specific integrated circuit or at least one processor):
generate a control information element (IE) for configuring one or more functionalities of a plurality of functionalities (fig. 2 and pars. 0107-0112, teaches, the controller 220 may control, e.g., an operation for setting parameters for UWB ADVERTISEMENT (e.g., setting UWB configuration parameters and/or Application Configuration Parameters) and/or an operation for generating and transmitting a UWB message. Whereas, pars. 0082-0093, teaches “UWB message” may be a message including a payload IE transmitted by the UWB device, wherein the “Payload IE” may be referred to as a payload information element and may be included in the MAC payload of the UWB MAC frame. Whereas, the “Data Message IE (Data Message Payload IE)” may be an additional payload IE for transmitting application data. Moreover, Data Message IE may be used in a one-way ranging (OWR) procedure or a two-way ranging (TWR) procedure. Whereas, the OWR procedure may be used to measure the time difference of arrival (TDoA), angle of arrival (AoA) of a reception signal. The TWR procedure may be a ranging scheme capable of estimating a relative distance between two devices by measuring time of flight (ToF) through the exchange of ranging messages between the two devices. Therefore, the generated UWB message including a payload IE with the Data Message IE (Data Message Payload IE) configuring either OWR or TWR reads as generate a control information element (IE) for configuring one or more functionalities of a plurality of functionalities),
for UWB transmissions between the first device and a second device (fig. 4 and pars. 0170-0176, teaches the first UWB device may transmit (or broadcast) a UWB message to the second UWB device); and
transmit, via the UWB transceiver (fig. 2 and pars. 0107-0112, teaches transceiver 210 may transmit/receive data to/from another device through, e.g., UWB communication), a message that includes the control IE to the second (fig. 4 and pars. 0170-0176, teaches the first UWB device may transmit (or broadcast) a UWB message to the second UWB device).
Regarding claims 2 and 11. Koo teaches the method and apparatus for claims 1 and 10. Koo further teaches the control IE comprises a plurality of fields for indicating whether configuration information corresponding to a respective functionality of the plurality of functionalities is present in the control IE (pars. 0082-0087, teaches the UWB message may include at least one or both of the payload IE for ranging and the Data Message IE for application data transfer. Whereas, the language “both of the payload IE for ranging and the Data Message IE” reads as a plurality of fields. Moreover, par. 0083, teaches a payload information element and may be included in the MAC payload of the UWB MAC frame and the MAC payload may include a plurality of payload IEs. Furthermore, the Data Message IE may be used in a two-way ranging (TWR) or one-way ranging (OWR) procedure. Wherein, the language “two-way ranging (TWR) or one-way ranging (OWR) procedure” each reads as a respective functionality. Whereas, the OWR procedure may be used to measure the time difference of arrival (TDoA), angle of arrival (AoA) of a reception signal. The TWR procedure may be a ranging scheme capable of estimating a relative distance between two devices by measuring time of flight (ToF) through the exchange of ranging messages between the two devices. Therefore, the generated UWB message including a payload IE with the Data Message IE (Data Message Payload IE) configuring either OWR or TWR reads as the control IE comprises a plurality of fields for indicating whether configuration information corresponding to a respective functionality of the plurality of functionalities is present in the control IE).
Regarding claims 4 and 13. Koo teaches the method and apparatus for claims 1 and 10. Koo further teaches a length of the control IE depends on a number of the plurality of fields that each has a value indicating presence of corresponding configuration information (pars. 0121-0125, teaches the UWB device may transmit/receive UWB messages that include a header IE and or a payload IE. Whereas, the Header IE of the UWB message may include a length field indicating the size of the content field and the payload IE may include a length field indicating the size of the content field).
Regarding claims 6 and 15. Koo teaches the method and apparatus for claims 1 and 10. Koo further teaches the plurality of functionalities comprises at least one of: ranging (fig. 2 and pars. 0107-0112, teaches, the controller 220 may control, e.g., an operation for setting parameters for UWB ADVERTISEMENT (e.g., setting UWB configuration parameters and/or Application Configuration Parameters) and/or an operation for generating and transmitting a UWB message. Whereas, pars. 0082-0093, teaches “UWB message” may be a message including a payload IE transmitted by the UWB device, wherein the “Payload IE” may be referred to as a payload information element and may be included in the MAC payload of the UWB MAC frame. Whereas, the “Data Message IE (Data Message Payload IE)” may be an additional payload IE for transmitting application data. Moreover, Data Message IE may be used in a one-way ranging (OWR) procedure or a two-way ranging (TWR) procedure. Therefore, the generated UWB message including a payload IE with the Data Message IE (Data Message Payload IE) configuring either OWR or TWR reads as generate a control information element (IE) for configuring one or more functionalities of a plurality of functionalities is a ranging scheme), data communication (pars. 0084-0085, teaches the Data Message IE may be included and transmitted as part of the payload IE of the MAC payload of a ranging initiation message (RIM) for ranging, a ranging response message (RRM), a ranging final message (RFM), a measurement report message (MRM) and ranging result report message (RRRM). Furthermore, the “Data Message IE (Data Message Payload IE)” may be an additional payload IE for transmitting application data), sensing (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), and control of time difference of arrival (pars. 0082-0093, teaches “UWB message” may be a message including a payload IE transmitted by the UWB device, wherein the “Payload IE” may be referred to as a payload information element and may be included in the MAC payload of the UWB MAC frame. Whereas, the “Data Message IE (Data Message Payload IE)” may be an additional payload IE for transmitting application data. Moreover, Data Message IE may be used in a one-way ranging (OWR) procedure or a two-way ranging (TWR) procedure. Whereas, the OWR procedure may be used to measure the time difference of arrival (TDoA), angle of arrival (AoA) of a reception signal. Therefore, the generated UWB message including a payload IE with the Data Message IE (Data Message Payload IE) configuring OWR reads as generate a control information element (IE) for configuring one or more functionalities of a plurality of functionalities includes the time difference of arrival (TDoA)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koo et al. (US20220404448 hereinafter Koo) in view of Dong (US20230388981).
Regarding claims 3 and 12. Koo teaches the method and apparatus for claims 1 and 10. Koo further teaches the plurality of fields (pars. 0082-0087, teaches the UWB message may include at least one or both of the payload IE for ranging and the Data Message IE for application data transfer. Moreover, par. 0083, teaches a payload information element and may be included in the MAC payload of the UWB MAC frame and the MAC payload may include a plurality of payload IEs. Whereas, the language “both of the payload IE for ranging and the Data Message IE” reads as a plurality of fields) comprises at least one of:
a first field for indicating whether configuration information relating to a ranging functionality is present in the control IE (pars. 0082-0087, teaches the Data Message IE may be an additional payload IE, which may be used in a one-way ranging (OWR) or two-way ranging (TWR) procedure. Thus, the presence of a Data Message IE for either a OWR or a TWR procedure reads as a first field for indicating whether configuration information relating to a ranging functionality is present in the control IE);
a second field for indicating whether configuration information relating to a data communication functionality is present in the control IE (pars. 0084-0085, teaches the Data Message IE may be included and transmitted as part of the payload IE of the MAC payload of a ranging initiation message (RIM) for ranging, a ranging response message (RRM), a ranging final message (RFM), a measurement report message (MRM) and ranging result report message (RRRM). Furthermore, the “Data Message IE (Data Message Payload IE)” may be an additional payload IE for transmitting application data); a third field for indicating whether configuration information relating to a sensing functionality is present in the control IE (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record); or
a fourth field for indicating whether configuration information relating to a time difference of arrival functionality is present in the control IE (pars. 0082-0087, teaches the Data Message IE may be an additional payload IE, which may be used in a one-way ranging (OWR) or two-way ranging (TWR) procedure. Furthermore, the OWR procedure may be used to measure the time difference of arrival (TDoA), angle of arrival (AoA) of a reception signal. Therefore, the UWB message includes a Data Message IE for a OWR procedure reads as a fourth field for indicating whether configuration information relating to a time difference of arrival functionality is present in the control IE).
However, although Koo teaches the plurality of fields (pars. 0082-0087), the apparatus and methods of Koo explicitly fails to disclose, a third field for indicating whether configuration information relating to a sensing functionality is present in the control IE.
Dong disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for sensing, so Dong is analogous to Koo. Furthermore, Dong teaches a third field for indicating whether configuration information relating to a sensing functionality is present in the control IE (figs. 5A-5B and pars. 0041-0051, teaches the WLAN sensing resource frame includes an ID of a capability IE, a byte length, duration information and WLAN sensing resource information. The station (device) with WLAN sensing identifying a support of this function can perform WLAN sensing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize a third field for indicating whether configuration information relating to a sensing functionality is present in the control IE, as disclosed by Dong with the method and apparatus of Koo. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce interferences. (see Dong par. 0036)
Claims 5, 14, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koo et al. (US20220404448 hereinafter Koo) in view of Oh et al. (US20250004103 hereinafter Oh).
Regarding claims 5 and 14. Koo teaches the method and apparatus for claims 1 and 10. Koo further teaches the one or more processors are configured to transmit, via the UWB transceiver (fig. 2 and pars. 0107-0112, teaches the first UWB device, including transceiver 210 may transmit/receive a signal to/from another entity or device).
However, the apparatus and methods of Koo explicitly fails to disclose, transmitting, via the UWB transceiver, one or more transmissions with the one or more functionalities to the second wireless communication device, according to the control IE.
Oh disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for ultra-wide band, so Oh is analogous to Koo. Furthermore, Oh teaches transmitting, via the UWB transceiver (fig. 21, and pars. 0453-0457, teaches the second electronic device may be a UWB device serving as a responder. Moreover, fig. 23 and pars, 0470-0475, teaches the second electronic device may include a transceiver 2310), one or more transmissions with the one or more functionalities to the second wireless communication device (fig. 21, and pars. 0453-0457, teaches the second electronic device may determine transmission power based on the ranging power control request information included in the initiation message and the second electronic device may transmit, to the first electronic device, a response message corresponding to the initiation message using the determined transmission power. Whereas, the “second electronic device” reads as the first device and vice versa. Moreover, the language “a response message corresponding to the initiation message using the determined transmission power” reads the one or more transmissions with the one or more functionalities),
according to the control IE (fig. 21, and pars. 0453-0457, teaches the second electronic device may determine transmission power based on the ranging power control request information included in the initiation message and the second electronic device may transmit, to the first electronic device, a response message corresponding to the initiation message using the determined transmission power. Whereas, the language “the second electronic device may determine transmission power based on the ranging power control request information included in the initiation message” reads as according to the control IE within the context of par. 0246, which teaches the initiation message may include power control request information (e.g., the RPC-REQ information element IE)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize transmitting, via the UWB transceiver, one or more transmissions with the one or more functionalities to the second wireless communication device, according to the control IE, as disclosed by Oh with the method and apparatus of Koo. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce power consumption. (see Oh par. 0011)
Regarding claim 19. Koo teaches the apparatus for a wireless communication device comprising (fig. 3 and pars. 0113-0120, teaches a UWB electronic device (the Observer device/ the second device)): an ultra-wideband (UWB) transceiver configured to (fig. 3 and pars. 0113-0120, teaches the transceiver 310 may receive the UWB message (e.g., an Advertisement Message) from the Advertiser through UWB communication):
receive a control information element (IE) for configuring one or more functionalities of a plurality of functionalities (fig. 3 and pars. 0113-0120, teaches the transceiver 310 may receive the UWB message (e.g., an Advertisement Message) from the Advertiser through UWB communication. Whereas, pars. 0082-0093, teaches “UWB message” may be a message including a payload IE transmitted by the UWB device, wherein the “Payload IE” may be referred to as a payload information element and may be included in the MAC payload of the UWB MAC frame. Whereas, the “Data Message IE (Data Message Payload IE)” may be an additional payload IE for transmitting application data. Moreover, Data Message IE may be used in a one-way ranging (OWR) procedure or a two-way ranging (TWR) procedure. Whereas, the OWR procedure may be used to measure the time difference of arrival (TDoA), angle of arrival (AoA) of a reception signal. The TWR procedure may be a ranging scheme capable of estimating a relative distance between two devices by measuring time of flight (ToF) through the exchange of ranging messages between the two devices. Therefore, the received UWB message including a payload IE with the Data Message IE (Data Message Payload IE) configuring either OWR or TWR reads as receiving a control information element (IE) for configuring one or more functionalities of a plurality of functionalities),
for UWB transmissions between the wireless communication device and a second wireless communication device (fig. 4 and pars. 0170-0176, teaches the first UWB device may transmit (or broadcast) a UWB message to the second UWB device. Furthermore, fig. 3 and pars. 0113-0120 teaches receiving the UWB message from the first (Advertisement) device).
However, the apparatus and methods of Koo explicitly fails to disclose, transmitting the control IE to the second wireless communication device.
Oh disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for ultra-wide band (UWB), so Oh is analogous to Koo. Furthermore, Oh teaches transmitting the control IE to the second wireless communication device (fig. 20, and pars. 0440-0453, teaches the first electronic device may transmit an initiation message for initiating UWB ranging. Furthermore, the initiation message may include ranging power control (RPC) request information (e.g., RPC-REQ IE) for dynamic power control for the UWB ranging. Whereas, the “ranging power control (RPC) request information (e.g., RPC-REQ IE) for dynamic power control” reads as the control IE within the context of fig. 13A and pars, 0315-0319, which teaches RPC-REQ information element may be an IE (e.g., payload IE) used by the initiator to transmit information (RPC-related information) for ranging power control to the responder(s). Furthermore, fig. 21 and pars. 0453-0457, teaches the second electronic device may receive an initiation message for initiating UWB ranging from the first UWB device. Par. 0051, teaches ultra-wide band (UWB), and par. 0246, teaches power control request information (e.g., the RPC-REQ information element IE)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize transmitting the control IE to the second wireless communication device, as disclosed by Oh with the method and apparatus of Koo. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce power consumption. (see Oh par. 0011)
Regarding claim 20. Koo and Oh teaches the apparatus for claim 19. Koo further teaches the plurality of functionalities comprises at least one of: ranging (fig. 2 and pars. 0107-0112, teaches, the controller 220 may control, e.g., an operation for setting parameters for UWB ADVERTISEMENT (e.g., setting UWB configuration parameters and/or Application Configuration Parameters) and/or an operation for generating and transmitting a UWB message. Whereas, pars. 0082-0093, teaches “UWB message” may be a message including a payload IE transmitted by the UWB device, wherein the “Payload IE” may be referred to as a payload information element and may be included in the MAC payload of the UWB MAC frame. Whereas, the “Data Message IE (Data Message Payload IE)” may be an additional payload IE for transmitting application data. Moreover, Data Message IE may be used in a one-way ranging (OWR) procedure or a two-way ranging (TWR) procedure. Therefore, the generated UWB message including a payload IE with the Data Message IE (Data Message Payload IE) configuring either OWR or TWR reads as generate a control information element (IE) for configuring one or more functionalities of a plurality of functionalities is a ranging scheme), data communication (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), sensing (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), and control of time difference of arrival (pars. 0082-0093, teaches “UWB message” may be a message including a payload IE transmitted by the UWB device, wherein the “Payload IE” may be referred to as a payload information element and may be included in the MAC payload of the UWB MAC frame. Whereas, the “Data Message IE (Data Message Payload IE)” may be an additional payload IE for transmitting application data. Moreover, Data Message IE may be used in a one-way ranging (OWR) procedure or a two-way ranging (TWR) procedure. Whereas, the OWR procedure may be used to measure the time difference of arrival (TDoA), angle of arrival (AoA) of a reception signal. Therefore, the generated UWB message including a payload IE with the Data Message IE (Data Message Payload IE) configuring OWR reads as generate a control information element (IE) for configuring one or more functionalities of a plurality of functionalities includes the time difference of arrival (TDoA)).
Claims 7-8 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koo et al. (US20220404448 hereinafter Koo) in view of Li et al. (US20200200862 hereinafter Li).
Regarding claims 7 and 16. Koo teaches the method and apparatus for claims 1 and 10. Koo further teaches the one or more processors are configured to generate the control IE at an application layer of the first device (fig. 2 and pars. 0107-0112, teaches, the controller 220 may control, e.g., an operation for setting parameters for UWB ADVERTISEMENT (e.g., setting UWB configuration parameters and/or Application Configuration Parameters) and/or an operation for generating and transmitting a UWB message. Whereas, pars. 0082-0093, teaches “UWB message” may be a message including a payload IE transmitted by the UWB device, wherein the “Payload IE” may be referred to as a payload information element and may be included in the MAC payload of the UWB MAC frame. Moreover fig. 1 and pars. 0103-0104, teaches the UWB-enabled application layer 110 may support at least one of a function for UWB ADVERTISEMENT, service discovery, a UWB session configuration trigger function, or a ranging notification function).
However, although Koo teaches the control IE and suggest information regarding configuring contention-based communication (Table 11), the apparatus and methods of Koo explicitly fails to disclose, generate the control IE of the first device, according to a resource of the first device and capabilities of the first device.
Li disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for contention-based communication, so Li is analogous to Koo. Furthermore, Li teaches generate the control IE at an application layer of the first device, according to a resource of the first device and capabilities of the first device (fig. 9 and pars. 0154-0155, teaches depending on the device capabilities, slot duration and number of time slots in a ranging round can be adjusted in the ranging configuration, or the, slot duration and number of time slots are fixed to the default setting. Furthermore, fig. 12 and pars. 0161-0163, teaches the Advanced ranging control IE (ARC IE) is used by a controller to send the ranging configuration information to a controlee, which includes ranging round information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize generating the control IE at an application layer of the first device, according to a resource of the first device and capabilities of the first device, as disclosed by Li with the method and apparatus of Koo. The motivations for doing so would be to optimize transmission. (see Li par. 0147)
Regarding claims 8 and 17. Koo teaches the method and apparatus for claims 1 and 10. Koo further teaches the control IE further comprises information regarding configuring … communication between the first wireless communication device and the second wireless communication device (fig. 4 and pars, 0170-0175, teaches the UWB device may transmit (or broadcast) a UWB message for advertisement. Moreover, a second UWB device receiving the UWB message may transfer a notification related to a ranging measurement based on the UWB message. Whereas, pars. 0082-0093, teaches “UWB message” may be a message including a payload IE transmitted by the UWB device, wherein the “Payload IE” may be referred to as a payload information element and may be included in the MAC payload of the UWB MAC frame. Whereas, the “Data Message IE (Data Message Payload IE)” may be an additional payload IE for transmitting application data).
However, although Koo teaches the control IE and suggest information regarding configuring contention-based communication (Table 11), the apparatus and methods of Koo explicitly fails to disclose, the control IE further comprises information regarding configuring contention-based communication between the first wireless communication device and the second wireless communication device.
Li disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for contention-based communication, so Li is analogous to Koo. Furthermore, Li teaches the control IE further comprises information regarding configuring contention-based communication between the first wireless communication device and the second wireless communication device (fig. 12 and pars. 0213-0214, teaches the control of scheduling-based and/or contention-based ranging is included in the advanced ranging control (ARC) IE. Furthermore, figs. 10 and 12 and pars. 0161-0162, teaches Advanced ranging control IE (ARC IE) of fig. 12 is used by a controller to send the ranging configuration information to a controlee as illustrated in fig. 10. Whereas, the “controller” reads as the first wireless communication device and the controlee reads as the second communication device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the control IE further comprises information regarding configuring contention-based communication between the first wireless communication device and the second wireless communication device, as disclosed by Li with the method and apparatus of Koo. The motivations for doing so would be to optimize transmission. (see Li par. 0147)
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koo et al. (US20220404448 hereinafter Koo) in view of Wang et al. (US20090150737 hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claims 9 and 18. Koo teaches the method and apparatus for claims 1 and 10. Koo further teaches the control IE further comprises information regarding configuring … between the first wireless communication device and the second wireless communication device (fig. 4 and pars, 0170-0175, teaches the UWB device may transmit (or broadcast) a UWB message for advertisement. Moreover, a second UWB device receiving the UWB message may transfer a notification related to a ranging measurement based on the UWB message. Whereas, pars. 0082-0093, teaches “UWB message” may be a message including a payload IE transmitted by the UWB device, wherein the “Payload IE” may be referred to as a payload information element and may be included in the MAC payload of the UWB MAC frame. Whereas, the “Data Message IE (Data Message Payload IE)” may be an additional payload IE for transmitting application data).
However, the apparatus and methods of Koo explicitly fails to disclose, the control IE further comprises information regarding configuring an acknowledgement type to be used for acknowledgements between the first wireless communication device and the second wireless communication device.
Wang disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for acknowledgements, so Wang is analogous to Wang. Furthermore, Wang teaches the control IE further comprises information regarding configuring an acknowledgement type to be used for acknowledgements between the first wireless communication device and the second wireless communication device (fig. 5 and pars. 0027-0030, teaches within ARQ feedback IE, the ACK type field 506 may, include an acknowledgment type of the ARQ feedback IE 208. Whereas, the ACK type field 506 may indicate that the ARQ feedback IE 208 is either a cumulative ACK with block sequence ACK entry or a cumulative ACK with enhanced block sequence ACK entry, which reads as the control IE further comprises information regarding configuring an acknowledgement type to be used for acknowledgements. Moreover, fig. 2 and pars. 0019-0021, teaches the receiving station 204 transmit an automatic repeat request (ARQ) feedback information element (IE) 208 to the transmitting station 202. Furthermore, par. 0018, teaches in communicating with each other, the base station 102 and mobile stations 104, 106, 108 may send a plurality of data packets such as MPDUs to each other, and may acknowledge (ACK) or negatively acknowledge (NAK) MPDUs which were successfully or not successfully received, respectively. Whereas, the “base station 102/ receiving station 204” reads as the first wireless communication device and the “mobile stations 104, 106, 108/ transmitting station 202” reads as the second communication device. Par. 0019, teaches automatic repeat request (ARQ)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the control IE further comprises information regarding configuring an acknowledgement type to be used for acknowledgements between the first wireless communication device and the second wireless communication device, as disclosed by Wang with the method and apparatus of Koo. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce overhead transmissions.
Conclusion
/TRACY LAUREN RAIMONDO/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474