Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed with the amendment have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the cited art fails to disclose or suggest determining a classification of an event based on pose information and determining a probability of an occurrence of the event using a model selected from a set of models based on the classification, wherein the model is trained using historical information associated with the classification. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Tekin teaches a plurality of machine learning models for different scenarios and a switch 506 that selects between the models such that the model associated with the applicable scenario is used (pars. 51-52 and FIG. 5). Tekin further teaches training a separate model for each scenario using labelled pose training data associated with that scenario (pars. 55-58 and FIG. 6, “a separate trained machine learning model 610, 612, 614 for each scenario”), the selected model computing action class probabilities (par. 63).
Lucey teaches predictors trained on historical play data with respect to a classification metric associated with a particular event, e.g., expected goal value for scoring, probability of making a pass and probability of shooting (pars. 44-45), and learning a dictionary of plays predictive of a particular task such as goal scoring (pars. 49-50).
Therefore, the combination of Lucey and Tekin teach the new amendments.
See the final rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Power (20200276474) in further view of Tekin (20220230079) in further view of Lucey (20180032858).
Regarding claim 1, Power teaches a data processing apparatus comprising circuitry configured to (pars. 28-33):
obtain an image of a person participating in a sport (par. 34);
determine, using the image, pose information indicative of a pose of the person (pars. 42 and 58);
Tekin teaches determine a classification of an event of the sport based on the pose information determined, wherein the event of the sport is one of a scoring of a point in the sport or a pass to another person (pars. 4 and 55, labeling possible action labels);
Tekin teaches determine, using a model selected from a set of models based on the classification of the event of the sport, a probability of the occurrence of the event of the sport (pars. 51-52 and FIG. 5, a plurality of machine learning models for different scenarios and a switch 506 that selects between the models; par. 63, the selected model computes action class probabilities); and
Tekin teaches wherein the model is trained using historical information associated with the classification (pars. 55-58 and FIG. 6, a separate model is trained for each scenario using labelled training data associated with that scenario).
It would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in Power the ability to recognize an action using a model selected from a set of models as taught by Tekin. The reason is to recognize a range of actions whilst still having good performance (par. 52 of Tekin).
Lucey teaches determine a probability of the occurrence of the event of the sport using historical information indicative of a relationship between pose information and a probability of an occurrence of the event of the sport (pars. 3-4 and 44-45, historical plays in a database and classification metrics such as expected goal value, probability of making a pass and probability of shooting; pars. 49-50, a dictionary of plays predictive of a particular task such as goal scoring); and
output the determined probability of the occurrence of the event of the sport (par. 4).
It would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in Power and Tekin the ability to train the models using historical plays in a database associated with the classified event as taught by Lucey. The reason is to improve prediction using the historical data most relevant to the classified event.
Regarding claim 2, see par. 42 of Power, hip orientation, shoulder alignment and angles.
Regarding claim 3, see par. 53 of Power, foot height for volley.
Regarding claim 4, see par. 42 of Power, goalkeeper.
Regarding claim 5, see par. 58 of Power.
Regarding claim 7, see par. 41.
Regarding claim 8, Lucey teaches wherein the event is a successful pass from the person to another person participating in the football match (see par. 44 of Lucey).
Regarding claim 9, see pars. 44-48 of Lucey, playbook.
Regarding claim 10, see par. 63 of Lucey.
Regarding claim 11, see par. 58 of Lucey.
Regarding claims 12-16, see the rejection of claims 1-5.
Regarding claim 18, see the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 20, see the rejection of claim 1.
Claim(s) 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Power in view of Tekin, in view of Lucey and in further view of Hermansen (20200023235).
Regarding claim 6, Power teaches determining, using the pose information in the rejection of claim 1 and Power teaches scoring probability in pars. 41-43.
Hermansen teaches an amount by which a goal area is obscured from a position on a football pitch (pars. 45-46 and 82-84); and
determining the probability of the occurrence of the event of the sport using the determined proportion of the goal area (pars. 83-86, kick optimization)
It would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in Power, Tekin and Lucey the ability to take different factors like occlusion into account as taught by Hermansen. The reason is to model based on different conditions.
Regarding claim 17, see the rejection of claim 6.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HADI AKHAVANNIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2676