Response to Arguments
Regarding the amendment, please see the rejection below incorporating Tekin (20220230079).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Power (20200276474) in further view of Tekin (20220230079) in further view of Lucey (20180032858).
Regarding claim 1, Power teaches a data processing apparatus comprising circuitry configured to (pars. 28-33):
obtain an image of a person participating in a sport (par. 34);
determine, using the image, pose information indicative of a pose of the person (pars. 42 and 58);
Tekin teaches determine a classification of classify an event of the sport based on the pose information determined, wherein the event of the sport is one of a scoring of a point in the sport or a pass to another person (par. 4, 55 and 91, labeling possible action labels);
It would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in Power the ability to recognize an action as taught by Tekin. The reason is to allow the system to predict.
Lucey teaches determine, using historical information indicative of a relationship between the determined pose information and a probability of an occurrence of the event of the sport and based on the classification of the event of the sport, a probability of the occurrence of the event of the sport (pars. 3-4and 44); and
output the determined probability of the occurrence of the event of the sport (par. 4).
It would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in Power and Tekin the ability to use historical plays in a database to help predict as taught by Lucey. The reason is to improve prediction.
Regarding claim 2, see par. 42 of Power, hip orientation, shoulder alignment and angles.
Regarding claim 3, see par. 53 of Power, foot height for volley.
Regarding claim 4, see par. 42 of Power, goalkeeper.
Regarding claim 5, see par. 58 of Power.
Regarding claim 7, see par. 41.
Regarding claim 8, Lucey teaches wherein the event is a successful pass from the person to another person participating in the football match (see par. 44 of Lucey).
Regarding claim 9, see pars. 44-48 of Lucey, playbook.
Regarding claim 10, see par. 63 of Lucey.
Regarding claim 11, see par. 58 of Lucey.
Regarding claims 12-16, see the rejection of claims 1-5.
Regarding clams 18, see the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 20, see the rejection of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Power in view of Tekin, in view of Lucey and in further view of Hermansen (20200023235).
Regarding claim 6, Power teaches determining, using the pose information in the rejection of claim 1 and Power teaches scoring probability in pars. 41-43.
Hermansen teaches an amount by which a goal area is obscured from a position on a football pitch (pars. 45-46 and 82-84); and
determining the probability of the occurrence of the event of the sport using the determined proportion of the goal area (pars. 83-86, kick optimization)
It would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in Power, Tekin and Lucey the ability to take different factors like occlusion into account as taught by Hermansen. The reason is to model based on different conditions.
Regarding claim 17, see the rejection of claim 6.
Conclusion
/HADI AKHAVANNIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2676