DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/30/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 & 11 [Remarks: pg. 9, 3rd last para. – pg. 10, 4th para.] have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 2, 5, 12, & 15 [Remarks: pg. 10, last para. – pg. 11, 2nd para.] have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding the rejection of claims 6-10 & 16-20, the Applicant argues [Remarks: pg. 12, 4th para. – pg. 13, last para.], that “Applicant respectfully submits that an elastic top part that fixes a position of a first clamping part based on the arc-shaped elastic piece being in direct contact with the first clamping part improves the clamping device by reducing complexity, part count, and accommodating element count, and production time, all while reducing costs.
Furthermore, Applicant respectfully submits that Wang in view of Cybulski neither teaches nor suggests an elastic top part that fixes a position of a first clamping part based on the arc-shaped elastic piece being in direct contact with the first clamping part.
Wang, instead, describes insert plates 33/34 that can be held in place by engaging toothed sections 331/431 with toothed sections 322/422, but not an elastic top part that fixes a position based on the arc-shaped elastic piece being in direct contact with the toothed sections 322/422. This is confirmed by Wang FIG. 1 and the paragraph beginning on column 3 line 4, supra.
Cybulski, instead, teaches a lock pin 246 that engages with teeth 230. As shown in FIG. 2A, spring 242 on either side of the lock pin 246 are also disclosed but the springs 242 are laterally offset from the teeth 230 and only engage the teeth through the lock pin 246 but an arc- shaped portion of the springs 242 is not taught or suggested by Cybulski as being in direct contact with the teeth 230 as is claimed. Furthermore, the Cybulski combination of the spring 242 and the lock pin 246 is much more complicated requiring more components and even a bore opening to thread the springs 242.
That is the Cybulski lock pin 246 and spring 242 fail to disclose an elastic top part (analogous to the spring 242) in contact with the teeth 230 as claimed and which provides many enhanced benefits over Cybulski the lock pin 246.
This is confirmed by Cybulski FIG. 4B and the paragraphs beginning in column 3 lines 12, 21, and 36, which respectively state:
“The lock pin 246 can be cylindrical and is shaped and " positioned to engage the teeth 230." [deletions for clarity] In this example, the springs 242 not only secure or couple the " lock pin 246 to the housing, but also bias the lock pin 246 into engagement with the rack of the bar 106 " [deletions for clarity] "To prevent dislodging of the springs 242, the lock pin 246 can include two bore openings through which the springs 242 are threaded. Use of the term "bore opening" in the present specification refers to a narrow shaft formed in the lock pin 246 and extends to any technique of manufacture including stamping, drilling, and the like “ [deletion for clarity]
Regarding claims 7-10 and 16-20, these claims depend directly or indirectly from base claims 6 and 11 and are believed to be allowable since they include all the limitations set forth in the base claim from which they depend and claim additional unanticipated and nonobvious combinations thereof and of the holding of in re Fritch, supra.
Based, at the very least, on the reasons given above, it is respectfully submitted that claims 6-10 and 16-20 are allowable under 35 U.S.C. §103 as not being rendered obvious by Wang in view of Cybulski because of the holding of In re Fritch, supra, and because when determining whether a claim is obvious, an examiner must make "a searching comparison of the claimed invention - including all its limitations - with the teaching of the prior art." [emphasis for clarity] In re Ochiai, 71 F.3d 1565, 1572 (Fed. Cir. 1995). Thus, "obviousness requires a suggestion of all limitations in a claim." CFMT, Inc. V. Yieldup Intern. Corp., 349 F.3d 1333, 1342 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (citing In re Royka, 490 F.2d 981, 985 (CCPA 1974)).
Withdrawal of the rejections is respectfully requested.”
The Office respectfully disagrees.
Refer to figure 3a-3c of Cybulski, note that springs 242 are arch-shaped. Further lock pin 246 is a cylinder, which has an arc-shaped profile, that is utilized to directly engage with the arc-shaped teeth 230.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the clamping device of Wang, with the teachings of Cybulski, to improve the reliability and security as well as reduce the manufacturing costs of the first clamping part, as taught by Cybulski [col. 1 lines 33-37].
Thus, Wang as modified by Cybulski teaches amended independent claims 1, 6, & 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6-11, 13-14, & 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 5457745), in view of Cybulski (US 9668582).
As to claim 1, Wang teaches a clamping device [abstract & figs. 1-4] comprising:
a base (base formed by lower housing 1 & upper housing 2) [figs. 1-4 & col. 1 line 55 – col. 2 line 18], having a placement surface for placing an electronic product [abstract & col. 3 lines 31-35];
a first clamping arm (horizontal plate 31 of left plate combination 3) [figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41] disposed on a first side of the base;
a second clamping arm (horizontal plate 41 of right plate combination 4) [figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41] disposed on a second side of the base, the first clamping arm or the second clamping arm movable toward and away from the base [figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41 & col. 2 line 56 – col. 3 line 22], and the first side of the base opposite the second side of the base [figs. 1-4];
a first carrier at a first clamping arm end of the first clamping arm (vertical plate 32 of left plate combination 3) [figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41 & col. 2 line 56 – col. 3 line 22], the first carrier extended with respect to the placement surface [figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41 & col. 2 line 56 – col. 3 line 22];
a second carrier at a second clamping arm end of the second clamping arm (vertical plate 42 of right plate combination 4) [figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41 & col. 2 line 56 – col. 3 line 22], the second carrier extended with respect to the placement surface [figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41 & col. 2 line 56 – col. 3 line 22];
a first clamping part arranged on the first carrier (insert plate 33) [figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41 & col. 2 line 56 – col. 3 line 22], the first clamping part moveable along the first carrier to adjust a height between the first clamping part and the placement surface [figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41 & col. 2 line 56 – col. 3 line 22]; and
a second clamping part arranged on the second carrier (insert plate 43) [figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41 & col. 2 line 56 – col. 3 line 22], the first clamping part and the second clamping part for clamping two sides of the electronic product [figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41, col. 2 line 56 – col. 3 line 22, & col. 3 lines 31-35].
Wang does not explicitly teach an elastic top part is an arc-shaped elastic piece, the elastic top part fixes a position of the first clamping part based on the arc-shaped elastic piece being in direct contact with the first clamping part.
Cybulski teaches the concept of a linear adjustment mechanism [abstract & figs. 2a-4b], that comprises an elastic top part is an arc-shaped elastic piece (pin member 240 comprising lock pin 246 & springs 242, note arc-shaped spring 242 in fig. 3a & lock pin 246 being a cylinder have arc-shape) [figs. 2a-4b & col. 3 lines 6-67], the elastic top part fixes a position of a first part (rectangular recess 204 with teeth 230 comprising arc grooves) [figs. 2a-4b & col. 3 lines 6-67] based on the arc-shaped elastic piece being in direct contact with the first part [figs. 2a-4b & col. 3 lines 6-67].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the clamping device of Wang, such that an elastic top part is an arc-shaped elastic piece, the elastic top part fixes a position of the first clamping part based on the arc-shaped elastic piece being in direct contact with the first clamping part, as taught by Cybulski, to improve the reliability and security as well as reduce the manufacturing costs of the first clamping part, as taught by Cybulski [col. 1 lines 33-37].
As to claim 3, Wang as modified by Cybulski teaches the system of claim 1 wherein: the base includes a stopper (slide block 5) [Wang: figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 32-55 & col. 3 lines 23-35], the stopper comprises a stopping element protruding from the placement surface [Wang: figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 32-55 & col. 3 lines 23-35].
As to claim 4, Wang as modified by Cybulski teaches the system of claim 3 wherein: the stopper is moveable toward and away from the base [Wang: figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 32-55 & col. 3 lines 23-35].
As to claim 6, Wang teaches a clamping device [abstract & figs. 1-4] comprising:
a base (base formed by lower housing 1 & upper housing 2) [figs. 1-4 & col. 1 line 55 – col. 2 line 18], having a placement surface for placing an electronic product [abstract & col. 3 lines 31-35];
a first clamping arm (horizontal plate 31 of left plate combination 3) [figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41] disposed on a first side of the base;
a second clamping arm (horizontal plate 41 of right plate combination 4) [figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41] disposed on a second side of the base, the first clamping arm or the second clamping arm movable toward and away from the base [figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41 & col. 2 line 56 – col. 3 line 22], and the first side of the base opposite the second side of the base [figs. 1-4];
a first carrier at a first clamping arm end of the first clamping arm (vertical plate 32 of left plate combination 3) [figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41 & col. 2 line 56 – col. 3 line 22], the first carrier extended with respect to the placement surface [figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41 & col. 2 line 56 – col. 3 line 22], the first carrier comprises a guide groove (two channels 321) [figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41 & col. 2 line 56 – col. 3 line 22];
a second carrier at a second clamping arm end of the second clamping arm (vertical plate 42 of right plate combination 4) [figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41 & col. 2 line 56 – col. 3 line 22], the second carrier extended with respect to the placement surface [figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41 & col. 2 line 56 – col. 3 line 22];
a first clamping part arranged on the first carrier (insert plate 33) [figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41 & col. 2 line 56 – col. 3 line 22], the first clamping part moveable along the first carrier to adjust a first height between the first clamping part and the placement surface [figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41 & col. 2 line 56 – col. 3 line 22], the first clamping part comprises a protruding strip (protruding strip corresponding to toothed section 331) [figs. 1-4 & col. 3 lines 4-22] having a positioning shape groove on a sidewall of the protruding strip (toothed section 331) [figs. 1-4 & col. 3 lines 4-22], the protruding strip being located in the guide groove, and the first clamping part moveable with respect to the first carrier [figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41 & col. 2 line 56 – col. 3 line 22]; and
a second clamping part arranged on the second carrier (insert plate 43) [figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41 & col. 2 line 56 – col. 3 line 22], the second clamping part moveable along the second carrier to adjust a second height between the second clamping part and the placement surface [figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41, col. 2 line 56 – col. 3 line 22, & col. 3 lines 31-35], the first clamping part and the second clamping part for clamping two sides of the electronic product [figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41 & col. 2 line 56 – col. 3 line 22].
Wang does not explicitly teach the first clamping part comprises a protruding strip having a positioning arc groove on a sidewall of the protruding strip; and
an elastic top part arranged in the guide groove, the elastic top is an arc-shaped elastic piece, the elastic top part fixes a position of the first clamping part based on the elastic top part being positioned within the positioning arc groove and based on the arc-shaped elastic piece being in direct contact with the positioning arc groove of the protruding strop of the first clamping part.
Cybulski teaches the concept of a linear adjustment mechanism [abstract & figs. 2a-4b], wherein
a first part comprises a protruding strip having a positioning arc groove on a sidewall of the protruding strip (rectangular recess 204 with teeth 230 comprising arc grooves) [figs. 2a-4b & col. 3 lines 6-67]; and
an elastic top part (pin member 240 comprising lock pin 246 & springs 242) [figs. 2a-4b & col. 3 lines 6-67] arranged in the guide groove, the elastic top is an arc-shaped elastic piece (pin member 240 comprising lock pin 246 & springs 242, note arc-shaped spring 242 in fig. 3a & lock pin 246 being a cylinder have arc-shape) [figs. 2a-4b & col. 3 lines 6-67], the elastic top part fixes a position of the first part based on the elastic top part being positioned within the positioning arc groove (rectangular recess 204 with teeth 230 comprising arc grooves) [figs. 2a-4b & col. 3 lines 6-67] and based on the arc-shaped elastic piece being in direct contact with the positioning arc groove of the protruding strop of the first part [figs. 2a-4b & col. 3 lines 6-67].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the clamping device of Wang, such that the first clamping part comprises a protruding strip having a positioning arc groove on a sidewall of the protruding strip; and an elastic top part arranged in the guide groove, the elastic top is an arc-shaped elastic piece, the elastic top part fixes a position of the first clamping part based on the elastic top part being positioned within the positioning arc groove and based on the arc-shaped elastic piece being in direct contact with the positioning arc groove of the protruding strop of the first clamping part, as taught by Cybulski, to improve the reliability and security as well as reduce the manufacturing costs of the first clamping part, as taught by Cybulski [col. 1 lines 33-37].
As to claim 7, Wang as modified by Cybulski teaches the system of claim 6 wherein: the guide groove is arranged in a direction perpendicular to the placement surface (two channels 321) [Wang: figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41 & col. 2 line 56 – col. 3 line 22 & Cybulski: figs. 2a-4b].
As to claim 8, Wang as modified by Cybulski teaches the system of claim 6 wherein: the guide groove has an opening (two channels 321) [Wang: figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41 & col. 2 line 56 – col. 3 line 22 & Cybulski: figs. 2a-4b]; and
the elastic top part has a protruding portion (lock pin 246 protrudes from pin member 240 & engages with groove between teeth 230) [Cybulski: figs. 2a-4b & col. 3 lines 6-67], the protruding portion extends into the guide groove through the opening (lock pin 246 protrudes from pin member 240 & engages with groove between teeth 230) [Cybulski: figs. 2a-4b & col. 3 lines 6-67], the protruding portion withdrawn from the guide groove based on an external force being applied to the protruding strip [Cybulski: figs. 2a-4b & col. 3 lines 6-67], and the protruding portion pushed against the positioning arc groove to fix the first height based on the external force being removed [Cybulski: figs. 2a-4b & col. 3 lines 6-67].
As to claim 9, Wang as modified by Cybulski teaches the system of claim 6 wherein: the elastic top part is an arc-shaped elastic top part having a protrusion in a middle of the elastic top part (lock pin 246 protrudes from pin member 240 & engages with groove between teeth 230) [Cybulski: figs. 2a-4b & col. 3 lines 6-67].
As to claim 10, Wang as modified by Cybulski teaches the system of claim 6 wherein:
the first clamping part comprises a housing element (element of sleeve 220 closer to back 102) [Cybulski: figs. 2a-4b & col. 3 lines 6-67] and an intermediary element (sleeve 220) [Cybulski: figs. 2a-4b & col. 3 lines 6-67], the intermediary element comprises a chamber facing the housing element (sleeve 220 with chamber facing element of sleeve 220 closer to back 102) [Cybulski: figs. 2a-4b & col. 3 lines 6-67], the first carrier being confined in the chamber (as modified, sleeve 220 corresponding to clamping part would confine carrier [bar 106 of Cybulski / vertical plate 32 of Wang]) [Cybulski: figs. 2a-4b & col. 3 lines 6-67 & Wang: figs. 1-4], the first clamping part moveable without detaching from the first carrier [Cybulski: figs. 2a-4b & col. 3 lines 6-67].
As to claim 11, Wang teaches a method of manufacturing a clamping device [abstract & figs. 1-4] comprising:
providing a base (base formed by lower housing 1 & upper housing 2) [figs. 1-4 & col. 1 line 55 – col. 2 line 18], having a placement surface for placing an electronic product [abstract & col. 3 lines 31-35];
mounting a first clamping arm (horizontal plate 31 of left plate combination 3) [figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41] on a first side of the base;
mounting a second clamping arm (horizontal plate 41 of right plate combination 4) [figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41] on a second side of the base, the first clamping arm or the second clamping arm movable toward and away from the base [figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41 & col. 2 line 56 – col. 3 line 22], and the first side of the base opposite the second side of the base [figs. 1-4];
affixing a first carrier at a first clamping arm end of the first clamping arm (vertical plate 32 of left plate combination 3) [figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41 & col. 2 line 56 – col. 3 line 22], the first carrier extended with respect to the placement surface [figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41 & col. 2 line 56 – col. 3 line 22];
affixing a second carrier at a second clamping arm end of the second clamping arm (vertical plate 42 of right plate combination 4) [figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41 & col. 2 line 56 – col. 3 line 22], the second carrier extended with respect to the placement surface [figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41 & col. 2 line 56 – col. 3 line 22];
arranging a first clamping part (insert plate 33) [figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41 & col. 2 line 56 – col. 3 line 22] on the first carrier, the first clamping part moveable along the first carrier to adjust a height between the first clamping part and the placement surface [figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41 & col. 2 line 56 – col. 3 line 22]; and
arranging a second clamping part on the second carrier (insert plate 43) [figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41 & col. 2 line 56 – col. 3 line 22], the first clamping part and the second clamping part for clamping two sides of the electronic product [figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41, col. 2 line 56 – col. 3 line 22, & col. 3 lines 31-35].
Wang does not explicitly teach arranging an elastic top part is an arc-shaped elastic piece, the elastic top part fixes a position of the first clamping part based on the arc-shaped elastic piece being in direct contact with the first clamping part.
Cybulski teaches the concept of a method of manufacturing a linear adjustment mechanism [abstract & figs. 2a-4b], that comprises arranging an elastic top part is an arc-shaped elastic piece (pin member 240 comprising lock pin 246 & springs 242, note arc-shaped spring 242 in fig. 3a & lock pin 246 being a cylinder have arc-shape) [figs. 2a-4b & col. 3 lines 6-67], the elastic top part fixes a position of a first part (rectangular recess 204 with teeth 230 comprising arc grooves) [figs. 2a-4b & col. 3 lines 6-67] based on the arc-shaped elastic piece being in direct contact with the first part [figs. 2a-4b & col. 3 lines 6-67].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Wang, such that the method utilizes arranging an elastic top part is an arc-shaped elastic piece, the elastic top part fixes a position of the first clamping part based on the arc-shaped elastic piece being in direct contact with the first clamping part, as taught by Cybulski, to improve the reliability and security as well as reduce the manufacturing costs of the first clamping part, as taught by Cybulski [col. 1 lines 33-37].
As to claim 13, Wang as modified by Cybulski teaches the method of claim 11 further comprising: mounting a stopper to the base (slide block 5) [Wang: figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 32-55 & col. 3 lines 23-35], the stopper comprises a stopping element protruding from the placement surface [Wang: figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 32-55 & col. 3 lines 23-35].
As to claim 14, Wang as modified by Cybulski teaches the method of claim 13 wherein: mounting the stopper includes mounting the stopper moveable toward and away from the base [Wang: figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 32-55 & col. 3 lines 23-35].
As to claim 16, Wang as modified by Cybulski teaches the method of claim 11 wherein: affixing the first carrier includes affixing the first carrier comprising a guide groove (two channels 321) [Wang: figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41 & col. 2 line 56 – col. 3 line 22]; and
arranging the first clamping part includes arranging the first clamping part comprising a protruding strip (protruding strip corresponding to toothed section 331) [Wang: figs. 1-4 & col. 3 lines 4-22] having a positioning arc groove on a sidewall of the protruding strip (toothed section 331) [Wang: figs. 1-4 & col. 3 lines 4-22 & Cybulski: figs. 2a-4b & col. 3 lines 6-67], the protruding strip being located in the guide groove [Wang: figs. 1-4 & col. 3 lines 4-22 & Cybulski: figs. 2a-4b & col. 3 lines 6-67], and the first clamping part moveable with respect to the first carrier [Wang: figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41 & col. 2 line 56 – col. 3 line 22 & Cybulski: figs. 2a-4b & col. 3 lines 6-67].
As to claim 17, Wang as modified by Cybulski teaches the method of claim 16 wherein: affixing the first carrier includes affixing the first carrier having the guide groove arranged in a direction perpendicular to the placement surface (two channels 321) [Wang: figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41 & col. 2 line 56 – col. 3 line 22 & Cybulski: figs. 2a-4b].
As to claim 18, Wang as modified by Cybulski teaches the method of claim 16 wherein: affixing the first carrier includes affixing the first carrier with the guide groove having an opening (two channels 321) [Wang: figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41 & col. 2 line 56 – col. 3 line 22 & Cybulski: figs. 2a-4b]; and
arranging the first clamping part includes arranging the first clamping part with the elastic top part having a protruding portion (lock pin 246 protrudes from pin member 240 & engages with groove between teeth 230) [Cybulski: figs. 2a-4b & col. 3 lines 6-67], the protruding portion extends into the guide groove through the opening (lock pin 246 protrudes from pin member 240 & engages with groove between teeth 230) [Cybulski: figs. 2a-4b & col. 3 lines 6-67], the protruding portion withdrawn from the guide groove based on an external force being applied to the protruding strip [Cybulski: figs. 2a-4b & col. 3 lines 6-67], and the protruding portion pushed against the positioning arc groove to fix the height based on the external force being removed [Cybulski: figs. 2a-4b & col. 3 lines 6-67].
As to claim 19, Wang as modified by Cybulski teaches the method of claim 16 wherein: arranging the elastic top part includes arranging the elastic top part as an arc-shaped elastic top part having a protrusion in a middle of the arc-shaped elastic top part (lock pin 246 protrudes from pin member 240 & engages with groove between teeth 230) [Cybulski: figs. 2a-4b & col. 3 lines 6-67].
As to claim 20, Wang as modified by Cybulski teaches the method of claim 16 wherein: arranging the first clamping part includes arranging the first clamping part comprising a housing element (element of sleeve 220 closer to back 102) [Cybulski: figs. 2a-4b & col. 3 lines 6-67] and an intermediary element (sleeve 220) [Cybulski: figs. 2a-4b & col. 3 lines 6-67], the intermediary element comprises a chamber facing the housing element (sleeve 220 with chamber facing element of sleeve 220 closer to back 102) [Cybulski: figs. 2a-4b & col. 3 lines 6-67], the first carrier being confined in the chamber (as modified, sleeve 220 corresponding to clamping part would confine carrier [bar 106 of Cybulski / vertical plate 32 of Wang]) [Cybulski: figs. 2a-4b & col. 3 lines 6-67 & Wang: figs. 1-4], the first clamping part moveable without detaching from the first carrier [Cybulski: figs. 2a-4b & col. 3 lines 6-67].
Claim(s) 2, 5, 12, & 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, in view of Cybulski, and further in view of Eisenbraun (US 6320962).
As to claim 2, Wang as modified by Cybulski teaches the system of claim 1 wherein: the first clamping part or the second clamping part comprises a side wall facing the base [Wang: figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41 & col. 2 line 56 – col. 3 line 22].
Wang as modified by Cybulski does not explicitly teach a cushion on the side wall facing the base, and the cushion is in an inverted L-shape.
Eisenbraun teaches the concept of a system [abstract & figs. 1-3], wherein a cushion (resilient compressible pad 24) [figs. 1-3 & col. 3 lines 39-40 & col. 1 lines 66-67] is utilized for holding an electronic product [col. 1 lines 66-67] firmly.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sidewalls of the first clamping part and the second clamping part and the first carrier and a second carrier of the system of Wang as modified by Cybulski, such that sidewalls facing the base utilize cushions and the first carrier and the second carrier utilize cushions, as taught by Eisenbraun, to improve usability by providing additional means for securely holding the electronic product, as a person having ordinary skill in the art would appreciate.
Thus, Wang as modified by Cybulski and Eisenbraun teaches the cushion is in an inverted L-shape (as modified, a resilient compressible pad would span the side wall and the carrier, forming an inverted L-shape) [Wang: figs. 1-4 & Eisenbraun: figs. 1-3].
As to claim 5, Wang as modified by Cybulski teaches the system of claim 1 further comprising moving the first clamping arm or the second clamping arm toward the base [Wang: figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41, col. 2 line 56 – col. 3 line 22, & col. 3 lines 31-35].
Wang as modified by Cybulski does not explicitly teach a motor or a spring configured to move the first clamping arm or the second clamping arm toward the base.
Eisenbraun teaches the concept of a system [abstract & figs. 1-3], wherein the system utilizes a motor or a spring configured to move a first clamping arm or a second clamping arm toward a base (motor or spring) [figs. 1-3 & col. 3 lines 47-59 & col. 5 lines 21-27].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang as modified by Cybulski, such that a motor or a spring configured to move the first clamping arm or the second clamping arm toward the base, as taught by Eisenbraun, to improve usability by facilitating safe securing of electronic products such as cellular telephones while user is operating a motor vehicle, as taught by Eisenbraun [col.1 lines 51-61].
As to claim 12, Wang as modified by Cybulski teaches the method of claim 11 wherein: arranging the first clamping part or the second clamping part includes arranging the first clamping part or the second clamping part having a side wall facing the base [Wang: figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41 & col. 2 line 56 – col. 3 line 22].
Wang as modified by Cybulski does not explicitly teach affixing a cushion on the side wall, and the cushion is in an inverted L-shape.
Eisenbraun teaches the concept of a method of manufacturing a clamping device [abstract & figs. 1-3], that utilizes a cushion (resilient compressible pad 24) [figs. 1-3 & col. 3 lines 39-40 & col. 1 lines 66-67] for holding an electronic product [col. 1 lines 66-67] firmly.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sidewalls of the first clamping part and the second clamping part and the first carrier and a second carrier of the method of Wang as modified by Cybulski, such that sidewalls facing the base utilize cushions and the first carrier and the second carrier utilize cushions, as taught by Eisenbraun, to improve usability by providing additional means for securely holding the electronic product, as a person having ordinary skill in the art would appreciate.
Thus, Wang as modified by Cybulski and Eisenbruan teaches the cushion is in an inverted L-shape (as modified, a resilient compressible pad would span the side wall and the carrier, forming an inverted L-shape) [Wang: figs. 1-4 & Eisenbraun: figs. 1-3].
As to claim 15, Wang as modified by Cybulski teaches the method of claim 11 further comprising moving the first clamping arm or the second clamping arm toward the base [Wang: figs. 1-4 & col. 2 lines 19-41, col. 2 line 56 – col. 3 line 22, & col. 3 lines 31-35].
Wang as modified by Cybulski does not explicitly teach mounting a motor or a spring configured to move the first clamping arm or the second clamping arm toward the base.
Eisenbraun teaches the concept of a method of manufacturing a clamping device [abstract & figs. 1-3], that utilizes a motor or a spring configured to move a first clamping arm or a second clamping arm toward the base (motor or spring) [figs. 1-3 & col. 3 lines 47-59 & col. 5 lines 21-27].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Wang as modified by Cybulski, such that a motor or a spring configured to move the first clamping arm or the second clamping arm toward the base, as taught by Eisenbraun, to improve usability by facilitating safe securing of electronic products such as cellular telephones while user is operating a motor vehicle, as taught by Eisenbraun [col.1 lines 51-61].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Marini (US 20040095008).
Beggs (US 5649741).
Gorgi et al. (US 6155643).
Piekarz (US 20060239444).
Wang et al. (US 5305381).
Lien (US 20220390062).
Chapuis et al. (US 20210059437).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID TUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622