DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see amendment and remarks, filed 11/24/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-6 under 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly discovered art.
Applicant’s amendment changes the scope of the claims, thus necessitating the change in the original rejection.
Applicant argues that the multiple measurement functions are not “directly applied” at the identical SSB occasion or at the SMTC window, though some indirect applications do occur (Pp. 4-5). The examiner stipulates to this amended element as not existing in Zhu but considers that there is motivation to combine with systems that do.
In response to applicant's argument that the system allows “the UE to perform the cell measurement to avoid unnecessary measurements (P. 4),” a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Applicant argues that Zhu separates the multiple measurement occasions and or schedules separately (P. 5). In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (that the multiple measurement functions should be processed as a bundle in the same time and place) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The claims merely recite “multiple measurement functions” and one of ordinary skill in the art, giving the term its broadest reasonable interpretation, would recognize it as broader. The applicant is welcome to amend in this manner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (2020/0,413,276) in view of Harada et al. (12,250,649).
For claim 1, Zhu teaches a method (abstract) for performing a cell measurement (Paras 62-64), for a user equipment (UE) (Paras 24, 30) of a wireless communication network (Paras 21-24), comprising (background, summary and claims):
applying multiple measurement functions (Paras 39-40, 66) at an identical synchronization signal block (SSB) occasion or in a SSB-based Radio Resource Management (RRM) measurement timing configuration (SMTC) window (Para 40).
Zhu does not expressly disclose directly applying multiple measurement functions at an identical synchronization signal block (SSB) occasion or in a SSB-based Radio Resource Management (RRM) measurement timing configuration (SMTC) window. Harada teaches a method and system (abstract) in the relevant art (background, summary and claims) that includes directly applying (col. 8, lines 55-67) multiple measurement functions (col. 7, lines 5-30) at an identical synchronization signal block (SSB) occasion (col. 7, lines 5-30) or in a SSB-based Radio Resource Management (RRM) measurement timing configuration (SMTC) (col. 7, lines 5-30) window (col. 11, lines 35-67). At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have added Harada in order to provide improvements to SSB transmission reliability (col. 2, lines 1-25).
For claims 2, 5, Zhu teaches that the multiple measurement functions are a synchronization function, a beam management (BM) function (Para 40), a radio link monitor (RLM) function (Para 60), and a radio resource management (RRM) function (Para 40, 61).
For claims 3, 6, Zhu teaches that at least two of multiple measurement functions are applied at the identical SSB occasion or in the SMTC window (Para 61).
For claim 4, Zhu teaches (abstract) a User Equipment (UE) (Paras 24, 30) of a wireless communication network (Paras 21-24), comprising (background, summary and claims):
a wireless transceiver (Para 36), configured to perform wireless transmission and reception (Paras 37-38) to and from a service network (Paras 25, 56); and
a controller, configured to receive a measurement configuration from the service network via the wireless transceiver (Paras 59-60), and perform a cell measurement via the wireless transceiver (Paras 62-64);
wherein the cell measurement is performed by applying multiple measurement functions (Paras 39-40, 66) at an identical synchronization signal block (SSB) occasion or in a SSB-based Radio Resource Management (RRM) measurement timing configuration (SMTC) window (Para 40).
Zhu does not expressly disclose directly applying multiple measurement functions at an identical synchronization signal block (SSB) occasion or in a SSB-based Radio Resource Management (RRM) measurement timing configuration (SMTC) window. Harada teaches a method and system (abstract) in the relevant art (background, summary and claims) that includes directly applying (col. 8, lines 55-67) multiple measurement functions (col. 7, lines 5-30) at an identical synchronization signal block (SSB) occasion (col. 7, lines 5-30) or in a SSB-based Radio Resource Management (RRM) measurement timing configuration (SMTC) (col. 7, lines 5-30) window (col. 11, lines 35-67). At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have added Harada in order to provide improvements to SSB transmission reliability (col. 2, lines 1-25).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MELVIN H POLLACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445