Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the application filed on December 11, 2025
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-11,13 and 14 are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-11,13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ngo et al. (USP 2008/0037540) in view of Duncan Ho (USP: 2009/0141670)
As per Claim 1Ngo teaches a communication method comprising:
establishing a wireless connection for transmission of data (Paragraph 0008, 0010, 0011, 0071, 0074 FIG. 1 shows a functional block diagram of a wireless network 100 that implements MAC control field may comprise a protocol used for the data packet; a packet type field for indicating a type of the data packet. The data structure comprises wireless channels using a data structure of the MAC header);
generating a medium access control (MAC) frame differently based on a type of the data (Paragraph 0011- 0014 The MAC header may comprise a MAC control field for controlling the MAC layer; a stream index field for identifying the type of the data packet, a MAC header extension control field for controlling the MAC header extension; a destination ID(Type of data) field for indicating a destination device of the payload data packet; a source ID (Type of data) field for indicating a source device which provided the payload data packet; ); and
transmitting the MAC frame comprising the data (Paragraph 0018, 0025, 0037The MAC header comprises a size indication of the MAC header extension. The payload data packet may comprise a separate CRC segment for cyclic redundancy checksum for checking transmission of the rest of the payload data packet. A MAC header extension of a variable size, a first checking data segment, a second checking data segment to produce MAC Protocol Data Unit (MPDU) ),
wherein the generating comprises:
in response to the type of the data being isochronous data, generating a MAC
frame for transmission of the isochronous data(Paragraph 0064, 0065 The LRP supports multiple data rates, including directional modes, and is used to carry low-rate isochronous data such as audio, low-rate asynchronous data, MAC commands including the beacon frame, acknowledgements for HRP packets, antenna steering information), the MAC frame comprising a header consisting only of a frame control field (Paragraph 0012, 0014 The MAC header may comprise: a MAC control field for controlling the MAC layer; a MAC header extension control field for controlling the MAC header extension; a destination ID field for indicating a destination device of the payload data packet).
However Ngo does not explicitly disclose generating a medium access control (MAC)
Duncan Ho teaches generating a medium access control (MAC) (Paragraph 0011- 0014 The communications apparatus can also comprise means for generating a medium access control header in accordance with a header format that corresponds to the determined type of data. In addition, the communications apparatus can include means for means for transmitting the medium access control header and the associated protocol data unit.. );
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ngo to include the teaching of Duncan Ho so the user data or pad data, generating a medium access control header in accordance with a header format that corresponds to the determined type of data and transmitting the medium access control header and the associated protocol data unit. (See Duncan Ho Paragraph 0014).
As per Claim 2 Ngo-Duncan Ho teaches the communication method of claim 1, wherein the type of the data is isochronous data (Paragraph 0064, 0065 The LRP supports multiple data rates, including directional modes, and is used to carry low-rate isochronous data such as audio, low-rate asynchronous data, MAC commands including the beacon frame, acknowledgements for HRP packets, antenna steering information).
As per Claim 3 Ngo-Duncan Ho teaches the communication method of claim 1, wherein the establishing of the wireless connection comprises transmitting a frame comprising identification information on transmission of the data and information on an upper protocol of the MAC frame (Paragraph 0009, 0012 -0014, 0018 receiving payload data comprising uncompressed video data from the application layer; encapsulating at least a portion of the payload data with a MAC header of a fixed size, a MAC header extension of a variable size, a first checking data segment, and a second checking data segment to produce MAC Protocol Data Unit (MPDU); appending a synchronization header (PHY header) for a PHY layer to the MPDU; and transmitting the PHY header appended MPDU to a receiver. A MAC header extension control field for controlling the MAC header extension; a destination ID field for indicating a destination device of the payload data packet ).
As per Claim 4 Ngo-Duncan Ho teaches the communication method of claim 3, wherein the identification information comprises at least one of a wireless connection identifier (CID), a band index, a channel index, and a slot index (Paragraph 0032, 0094 a stream index field for identifying the type of the data packet; and a sequence number field provided by a modulo-counter for indexing the data packet. The stream index field 757 is used to identify the stream type of the data packets; video stream or audio stream ).
As per Claim 5 Ngo-Duncan Ho teaches the communication method of claim 3, wherein the information on the upper protocol comprises information on compression and restoration of a header of the upper protocol (Paragraph 0009, 0010 a MAC header for a High Definition communication system, using an open systems interconnection (OSI) reference model including an application layer. WirelessHD communication system including an application layer ).
As per Claim 6 Ngo teaches an electronic device comprising:
one or more memories configured to store one or more instructions(Paragraph 0061 a media storage); and one or more processors electrically connected to the one or more memories and configured to execute the one or more instructions, wherein, when the one or more instructions are executed by the one or more processors, the instructions cause the electronic device to perform a plurality of operations, wherein the plurality of operations comprises (Paragraph 0074 0074] FIG. 2 illustrates a functional block diagram of an example communication system 200. The system 200 includes a wireless transmitter 202 and wireless receiver 204. The transmitter 202 includes a physical (PHY) layer 206, a media access control (MAC) layer 208 and an application layer 210):
establishing a wireless connection for transmission of data (Paragraph 0008, 0010, 0011, 0071, 0074 FIG. 1 shows a functional block diagram of a wireless network 100 that implements MAC control field may comprise a protocol used for the data packet; a packet type field for indicating a type of the data packet. The data structure comprises wireless channels using a data structure of the MAC header);
generating a medium access control (MAC) frame comprising a header formed only of a frame control field based on a type of the data (Paragraph 0011- 0014 The MAC header may comprise a MAC control field for controlling the MAC layer; a stream index field for identifying the type of the data packet, a MAC header extension control field for controlling the MAC header extension; a destination ID(Type of data) field for indicating a destination device of the payload data packet; a source ID (Type of data) field for indicating a source device which provided the payload data packet; ); and
transmitting the MAC frame comprising the data (Paragraph 0018, 0025, 0037The MAC header comprises a size indication of the MAC header extension. The payload data packet may comprise a separate CRC segment for cyclic redundancy checksum for checking transmission of the rest of the payload data packet. A MAC header extension of a variable size, a first checking data segment, a second checking data segment to produce MAC Protocol Data Unit (MPDU) ).
wherein the generating comprises:
in response to the type of the data being isochronous data, generating a MAC
frame for transmission of the isochronous data(Paragraph 0064, 0065 The LRP supports multiple data rates, including directional modes, and is used to carry low-rate isochronous data such as audio, low-rate asynchronous data, MAC commands including the beacon frame, acknowledgements for HRP packets, antenna steering information), the MAC frame comprising a header consisting only of a frame control field (Paragraph 0012, 0014 The MAC header may comprise: a MAC control field for controlling the MAC layer; a MAC header extension control field for controlling the MAC header extension; a destination ID field for indicating a destination device of the payload data packet).
However Ngo does not explicitly disclose generating a medium access control (MAC)
Duncan Ho teaches generating a medium access control (MAC) (Paragraph 0011- 0014 The communications apparatus can also comprise means for generating a medium access control header in accordance with a header format that corresponds to the determined type of data. In addition, the communications apparatus can include means for means for transmitting the medium access control header and the associated protocol data unit.. );
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ngo to include the teaching of Duncan Ho so the user data or pad data, generating a medium access control header in accordance with a header format that corresponds to the determined type of data and transmitting the medium access control header and the associated protocol data unit. (See Duncan Ho Paragraph 0014).
As per Claim 7 Ngo-Duncan Ho teaches the electronic device of claim 6, wherein the type of the data is isochronous data (Paragraph 0064, 0065 The LRP supports multiple data rates, including directional modes, and is used to carry low-rate isochronous data such as audio, low-rate asynchronous data, MAC commands including the beacon frame, acknowledgements for HRP packets, antenna steering information).
As per Claim 8 Ngo-Duncan Ho teaches the electronic device of claim 6, wherein the establishing of the wireless connection comprises transmitting a frame comprising identification information on transmission of the data and information on an upper protocol of the MAC frame (Paragraph 0009, 0012 -0014, 0018 receiving payload data comprising uncompressed video data from the application layer; encapsulating at least a portion of the payload data with a MAC header of a fixed size, a MAC header extension of a variable size, a first checking data segment, and a second checking data segment to produce MAC Protocol Data Unit (MPDU); appending a synchronization header (PHY header) for a PHY layer to the MPDU; and transmitting the PHY header appended MPDU to a receiver. A MAC header extension control field for controlling the MAC header extension; a destination ID field for indicating a destination device of the payload data packet ).
As per Claim 9 Ngo-Duncan Ho teaches the electronic device of claim 8, wherein the identification information comprises at least one of a wireless connection identifier (CID), a band index, a channel index, and a slot index (Paragraph 0032, 0094 a stream index field for identifying the type of the data packet; and a sequence number field provided by a modulo-counter for indexing the data packet. The stream index field 757 is used to identify the stream type of the data packets; video stream or audio stream ).
As per Claim 10 Ngo-Duncan Ho teaches the electronic device of claim 8, wherein the information on the upper protocol comprises information on compression and restoration of a header of the upper protocol (Paragraph 0009, 0010 a MAC header for a High Definition communication system, using an open systems interconnection (OSI) reference model including an application layer. WirelessHD communication system including an application layer ).
As per Claim 11 Ngo-Duncan Ho teaches a communication method comprising: by transmitting a frame comprising identification information on transmission of data and information on an upper protocol of a medium access control (MAC) frame(Paragraph 0009, 0010 a MAC header for a High Definition communication system, using an open systems interconnection (OSI) reference model including an application layer. WirelessHD communication system including an application layer ), establishing a wireless connection for transmission of the data(Paragraph 0008, 0010, 0011, 0071, 0074 FIG. 1 shows a functional block diagram of a wireless network 100 that implements MAC control field may comprise a protocol used for the data packet; a packet type field for indicating a type of the data packet. The data structure comprises wireless channels using a data structure of the MAC header);
generating a MAC frame comprising a header formed only of a frame control field based on a type of the data(Paragraph 0011- 0014 The MAC header may comprise a MAC control field for controlling the MAC layer; a stream index field for identifying the type of the data packet, a MAC header extension control field for controlling the MAC header extension; a destination ID(Type of data) field for indicating a destination device of the payload data packet; a source ID (Type of data) field for indicating a source device which provided the payload data packet); ; and
transmitting the MAC frame comprising the data (Paragraph 0018, 0025, 0037The MAC header comprises a size indication of the MAC header extension. The payload data packet may comprise a separate CRC segment for cyclic redundancy checksum for checking transmission of the rest of the payload data packet. A MAC header extension of a variable size, a first checking data segment, a second checking data segment to produce MAC Protocol Data Unit (MPDU) ).
wherein the generating comprises:
in response to the type of the data being isochronous data, generating a MAC
frame for transmission of the isochronous data(Paragraph 0064, 0065 The LRP supports multiple data rates, including directional modes, and is used to carry low-rate isochronous data such as audio, low-rate asynchronous data, MAC commands including the beacon frame, acknowledgements for HRP packets, antenna steering information), the MAC frame comprising a header consisting only of a frame control field (Paragraph 0012, 0014 The MAC header may comprise: a MAC control field for controlling the MAC layer; a MAC header extension control field for controlling the MAC header extension; a destination ID field for indicating a destination device of the payload data packet).
However Ngo does not explicitly disclose generating a medium access control (MAC)
Duncan Ho teaches generating a medium access control (MAC) (Paragraph 0011- 0014 The communications apparatus can also comprise means for generating a medium access control header in accordance with a header format that corresponds to the determined type of data. In addition, the communications apparatus can include means for means for transmitting the medium access control header and the associated protocol data unit.. );
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ngo to include the teaching of Duncan Ho so the user data or pad data, generating a medium access control header in accordance with a header format that corresponds to the determined type of data and transmitting the medium access control header and the associated protocol data unit. (See Duncan Ho Paragraph 0014).
As per Claim 12 Ngo-Duncan Ho teaches the communication method of claim 11, wherein the type of the data is isochronous data (Paragraph 0064, 0065 The LRP supports multiple data rates, including directional modes, and is used to carry low-rate isochronous data such as audio, low-rate asynchronous data, MAC commands including the beacon frame, acknowledgements for HRP packets, antenna steering information).
As per Claim 13 Ngo-Duncan Ho teaches the communication method of claim 11, wherein the identification information comprises at least one of a wireless connection identifier (CID), a band index, a channel index, and a slot index (Paragraph 0032, 0094 a stream index field for identifying the type of the data packet; and a sequence number field provided by a modulo-counter for indexing the data packet. The stream index field 757 is used to identify the stream type of the data packets; video stream or audio stream ).
As per Claim 14 Ngo-Duncan Ho teaches the communication method of claim 11, wherein the information on the upper protocol comprises information on compression and restoration of a header of the upper protocol (Paragraph 0009, 0010 a MAC header for a High Definition communication system, using an open systems interconnection (OSI) reference model including an application layer. WirelessHD communication system including an application layer ).
Response to Argument(s)
Applicant's argument(s) filed on December 11, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
In the remarks, at page 6 and 7 the Applicant argues in substance that:
Remark:
(A) “Ngo neither teaches nor suggests, in response to the type of the data being isochronous data, generating a MAC frame for transmission of the isochronous data, the MAC frame comprising a header consisting only of a frame control field. Rather, Ngo merely discloses extending the MAC header to accommodate various fields.....”
Response: In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s representative’s assertions. The Examiner has thoroughly reviewed Applicants' representative’s arguments but firmly believes that the cited references to reasonably and properly meet the claimed limitation. Applicant’s representative’s are reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Examiner appreciates applicant’s representative’s explanation however, Ngo explicitly states that the Isochronous data is real-time data (like audio/video) sent with a guaranteed, constant flow and fixed time intervals between packets, ensuring timely delivery for multimedia applications where gaps or delays are unacceptable, even if it means sacrificing some data accuracy for timeliness, unlike asynchronous data (irregular) or synchronous data (rigid intervals). It uses a shared clock to keep transmission synchronized, crucial for streaming applications like video calls or broadcasts..... Example from Ngo (Paragraph 0031, 0065 The LRP supports multiple data rates, including directional modes, and is used to carry low-rate isochronous data such as audio, low-rate asynchronous data, MAC commands including the beacon frame, acknowledgements for HRP packets, antenna steering information, capabilities information, and higher layer control data for A/V devices. a payload data packet from the application layer; a MAC header of a fixed length; a MAC header extension of a variable length; a PHY header for synchronizing the behavior of the PHY layer; a first CRC segment for a cyclic redundancy checksum for checking transmission of the MAC header and the PHY header; and a second CRC segment for a cyclic redundancy checksum for checking transmission of the MAC header extension. The MAC header extension comprises a size indication of the MAC header extension for facilitating checking of the second CRC segment. The payload includes a separate CRC field for detecting transmission errors at the receiver...)
Therefore Ngo and Duncan Ho reference teaches the claim limitation as currently presented.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner is open for discussion if the applicant’s representative need further clarifications.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SYED ALI whose telephone number is (571)270-3681. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Asad Nawaz can be reached on 571-272-3988. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov . Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SYED ALI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463