DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grimm et al. (US 2019/0147744 A1).
As to claim 1, Grimm discloses a method of controlling collision avoidance of a vehicle, the method comprising: monitoring, by an detection portion for autonomous driving of the vehicle, information on other vehicle (para. 0010), which is approachable to the vehicle, and an object (para. 0037) in a parked or stopped state after a starting of the vehicle is turned off (para. 0003, 0034); determining, by an autonomous driving controller, whether the other vehicle moves based on the monitored information of the detection portion for the autonomous driving (para. 0010); when the autonomous driving controller concludes that the other vehicle moves, determining, by the autonomous driving controller, a collision index representing a probability of collision of the other vehicle with the vehicle (para. 0050-0054); and comparing the collision index with a reference value, and when the collision index is greater than the reference value (para. 0051-005), controlling, by the autonomous driving controller, the vehicle in a direction of the collision avoidance with the other vehicle (para. 0014).
As to claim 2, Grimm further discloses before the starting of the vehicle is turned off (para. 0003, 0034), checking, by the detection portion for the autonomous driving, the information on the other vehicles and the object present around the vehicle (para. 0010).
As to claim 3, Grimm further discloses before the starting of the vehicle is turned off (para. 0003, 0034-0035), determining, by the autonomous driving controller, whether accident prevention control of the vehicle during parking or stopping of the vehicle is activated (para. 0035).
As to claim 4, Grimm further discloses when the activation of the accident prevention control during the parking or the stopping is selected through an operating switch, a cluster for audio, video, navigation (AVN), or one input device among a display, a voice input device, and a smart device, the autonomous driving controller is configured to determine that the activation of the accident prevention control during the parking or the stopping is performed (para. 0035).
As to claim 5, Grimm further discloses when the detection portion for the autonomous driving monitors the information on the other vehicle, which is approachable to the vehicle, and the object, the monitoring is performed at a low speed sampling for preventing battery discharging of the vehicle (para. 0036).
As to claim 7, Grimm further discloses wherein, in the determining, by the autonomous driving controller, whether the other vehicle moves, when the autonomous driving controller concludes that the movement of the other vehicle approachable to the vehicle is detected, the detection portion for the autonomous driving monitors the movement of the other vehicle at a high speed sampling (para. 0051).
As to claim 11, Grimm further discloses wherein the comparing of the collision index with the reference value includes: comparing a highest maximum collision index among collision indexes of other vehicles with a first reference value; and comparing the highest maximum collision index among the collision indexes of the other vehicles with a second reference value (para. 0054-0055, 0057).
As to claim 12, Grimm further discloses wherein, when the maximum collision index is greater than the first reference value, power is applied in advance to control portions and actuating portions of the vehicle for turning the vehicle in the direction of collision avoidance with the other vehicle (para. 0054-0055, 0057).
As to claim 13, Grimm further discloses wherein, when the maximum collision index is greater than the second reference value, the controlling of the vehicle in the direction of collision avoidance with the other vehicle is performed by the autonomous driving controller (para. 0054-0055, 0057).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grimm in view of Thompson et al. (US 2013/0211623 A1).
As to claim 6, Grimm further discloses when the detection portion for the autonomous driving monitors the information on the other vehicle, which is approachable to the vehicle, and the object, terminating an accident prevention control during parking or stopping of the vehicle to prevent battery discharging of the vehicle. notifying a driver of the vehicle when a state of charge (SOC) value of a battery in the vehicle is less than a reference value (para. 0013), but does not explicitly disclose notifying a driver of the vehicle when a state of charge (SOC) value of a battery in the vehicle is less than a reference value. However, Thompson teaches notifying a driver of the vehicle when a state of charge (SOC) value of a battery in the vehicle is less than a reference value (para. 0116). Therefore, given the teaching of Thompson, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying the method of Grimm, by employing the well-known or conventional features of notifying a driver when SOC value of a battery is less than a reference value, to inform the termination of the accident prevention control due to low battery SOC.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grimm in view of Thompson et al. (US 2013/0211623 A1) and Omi et al. (US 2023/0055038 A1).
As to claim 20, Grimm further discloses terminating an accident prevention control of the vehicle during parking or stopping when a state of charge (SOC) value of a battery in the vehicle is less than a reference value (para. 0013), but does not explicitly disclose notifying a driver and asking whether to keep the vehicle rotated in the direction of collision avoidance or rotate the vehicle to return to an original parking position of the vehicle. However, Thompson teaches notifying a driver (para. 0116) and Omi teaches asking the driver whether to return the vehicle to an original parking position (para. 0069). Therefore, given the teaching of Thompson and Omi, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying the method of Grimm, by employing the well-known or conventional features of notifying and asking a driver, to inform the termination of the accident prevention control and permission to return vehicle to original position, to prevent causing inconvenience to objects or vehicle parked next to the vehicle.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 and 14-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
CE LI . LI
Examiner
Art Unit 3661
/PETER D NOLAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3661