DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the non-final office action dated 05/06/2026, applicant has amended claims 1-3, 7, 11, 17, 21, and 22. New claim 23 has been added. Claims 1-3, 6-11, 15, 17, and 19-23 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 6-11, 15, 17, and 19-23 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the microphone array" in lines 7, 15, and 16. There is no prior recitation of “a microphone array” in the claim, the only prior recitation is of a “ceiling-mountable microphone array system enclosure” in line 1. Therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 11, 17, and 21 have the same lack of antecedent basis as claim 1 above. Claims 2, 3, 6-10, 15, 19, 20, 22, and 23 are also rejected due to their dependency on the rejected independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17, 19, and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lantz et al (US Pub No. 2021/0044881, hereinafter Lantz).
Regarding claim 17, Lantz teaches an enclosure for a ceiling mountable microphone array system, the enclosure (Fig 1, ceiling array microphone 10) comprising: a top panel (Fig 5, back panel 22) having an upper panel with a flat surface and one or more sides bent downward from the upper panel to form sides for the enclosure (Fig 19, support member 136 having a flat top surface and one or more sides bent downward forming sides), and further having a plurality of connection points to enable connections via threaded standoffs with a microphone board comprising the microphone array (Fig 6, plurality of connection points between back panel 20 and internal microphone array (parts not labeled)), and wherein the one or more sides each have respective flanges that extend substantially horizontally from the one or more sides and which lay flat with a plurality of holes along a border of solid material having matching holes to permit screw fittings (Fig 5, mounting element 18 comprising resilient member 34 which extends horizontally and lays flat with edge portion 32 of panel 14); and a room panel (Fig 2, panel 14) comprising a bottom panel having a flat surface with a number of sound permeable perforations arranged in a central area of the bottom panel and the border of solid material arranged around an outside perimeter of the bottom panel (¶ [0045], panel 14 may have perorations or other apertures such as cloth or foam material of a porous or semi-porous nature).
Regarding claim 19, Lantz teaches the enclosure according to claim 17, wherein the standoffs are threaded standoffs and are configured to receive screws through screw holes arranged in an opposing one of the top or bottom panel to connect the top panel to the bottom panel (Fig 5, where mounting element 18 meets back panel 22 there is a cross section of a threaded hole with a screw through it).
Regarding claim 21, Lantz teaches a ceiling-mountable microphone array system enclosure (Fig 1, ceiling array microphone 10) comprising: a room-facing panel (Fig 2, panel 14) comprising a border of solid material arranged around (Fig 5, edge portion 32) a sound permeable area having a plurality of sound permeable perforations (¶ [0045], panel 14 may have perorations or other apertures such as cloth or foam material of a porous or semi-porous nature), and a plurality of connection members arranged along the border of solid material of the room-facing panel (Fig 5 & ¶ [0048], edge portion 32 connects to slots formed between bezel element 30 and resilient member 34); and a top panel providing a cover for the enclosure (Fig 5, back panel 22), the top panel comprising a plurality of connection points configured to connect to a microphone board comprising the microphone array (Fig 6, plurality of connection points between back panel 20 and internal microphone array (parts not labeled)) and to enable direct connections with the plurality of connection members of the room- facing panel arranged along the border of solid material (Fig 5, back panel 22 and panel 14 connected via mounting element 18); wherein the microphone array system enclosure is configured to house a plurality of microphone array system electronic components between the room-facing panel and the top panel, the plurality of electronic components comprising the microphone array and processing circuitry arranged in communication with the microphone array (Fig 6 & ¶ [0044], housing 12 serves as electronics packaging for associated electrical, acoustical and electro-acoustic components), and wherein the microphone arrays is arranged in proximity to the plurality of sound permeable perforations (¶ [0044-0045], microphone array within housing 12 between front panel 14 and back panel 22).
Regarding claim 22, Lantz teaches the ceiling-mountable microphone array system enclosure of claim 21, wherein the top panel further comprises a plurality of sides each with respective flanges that extend substantially horizontally from the plurality of sides and which lay flat with a plurality of holes on the room-facing panel along the border of solid material having matching holes to permit screw fittings (Fig 5, mounting element 18 comprising resilient member 34 which extends horizontally and lays flat with edge portion 32 of panel 14), and wherein one or more of the plurality of connection(Fig 5, where mounting element 18 meets back panel 22 there is a cross section of a threaded hole with a screw through it).
Regarding claim 23, Lantz teaches the enclosure according to claim 17, wherein the bottom panel further comprises a plurality of connection members as standoffs arranged along the border of solid material to connect the bottom panel to the top panel, wherein the standoffs are arranged at two or more locations on each of the sides of the room panel and are aligned with matching locations of the plurality of connection points on the top panel (Fig 5, front panel 14 connecting to mounting element 18 via slot and edge portion 32. Mounting element 18 acting as a standoff between front panel 14 and back panel 22 and including a plurality of connection members).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lantz et al (US Pub No. 2021/0044881, hereinafter Lantz).
Regarding claim 1, Lantz teaches a ceiling-mountable microphone array system enclosure (Fig 1, ceiling array microphone 10) comprising: a room-facing panel (Fig 2, panel 14) comprising a border of solid material arranged around (Fig 5, edge portion 32) a sound- permeable area having a plurality of sound permeable perforations (¶ [0045], panel 14 may have perorations or other apertures such as cloth or foam material of a porous or semi-porous nature), and a plurality of connection members arranged along the border of solid material of the room-facing panel (Fig 5 & ¶ [0048], edge portion 32 connects to slots formed between bezel element 30 and resilient member 34); and a top panel providing a cover for the enclosure (Fig 5, back panel 22), said top panel comprising a plurality of connection points configured to connect to a microphone board comprising the microphone array (Fig 6, plurality of connection points between back panel 20 and internal microphone array (parts not labeled)) and to enable connections with the plurality of connection members of the room-facing panel arranged along the border of solid material (Fig 5, back panel 22 and panel 14 connected via mounting element 18), and further comprising a plurality of sides each with respective flanges that extend substantially horizontally from the plurality of sides and which lay flat on the room-facing panel along the border of solid material (Fig 5, mounting element 18 comprising resilient member 34 which extends horizontally and lays flat with edge portion 32 of panel 14); wherein the microphone array system enclosure is configured to house a plurality of microphone array system electronic components between the room-facing panel and the top panel, said plurality of electronic components comprising the microphone array and processing circuitry arranged in communication with the microphone array (Fig 6 & ¶ [0044], housing 12 serves as electronics packaging for associated electrical, acoustical and electro-acoustic components), and wherein the microphone array is arranged in proximity to the sound permeable perforations (¶ [0044-0045], microphone array within housing 12 between front panel 14 and back panel 22).
Lantz does not explicitly teach a room-facing panel having screw fittings.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate screw fittings in the room-facing panel of the ceiling array microphone taught by Lantz. Figure 5 of Lantz already teaches screw fittings connecting the back panel 22 to mounting element 18 showing this fastening method is both known and utilized by the prior art Lantz. Mounting the front panel 14 to mounting element 18 via screw fittings would allow for precise and secure fastening means providing an overall stronger and more stable connection method which reduces the risk of loosening over time.
Regarding claim 2, Lantz teaches the enclosure of claim 1, wherein: the connection members are standoffs which support the top panel in such a way that the top panel does not directly contact the room-facing panel other than at the standoffs (Fig 5, material between mounting element 18 slot 32 which separates panel 14 and back panel 22).
Regarding claim 3, Lantz teaches the enclosure of claim 2, wherein: the standoffs are threaded standoffs; and the connection points comprise screw holes arranged to communicate with the threaded standoffs to permit screws to be inserted therethrough to connect the top panel to the room- facing panel (Fig 5, where mounting element 18 meets back panel 22 there is a cross section of a threaded hole with a screw through it).
Regarding claim 7, Lantz teaches the enclosure of claim 1, wherein the top panel further comprises an opening and connection points which are configured to receive and connect to a main board comprising electronic components of the microphone array system including electrical connections between external cables and connectors on the main board which carry audio data, control data, and power for the electronic components (Fig 1 & ¶ [0044-0045], housing 12 serves as electronics packaging for associated electrical, acoustical and electro-acoustic components of the microphone array. Such components may include, for example, one or more PCBs, electronics mounting apparatus or chassis, microphones (such as, for example, MEMS microphones), controllers, mixers, connector ports, etc. ), and wherein the enclosure further comprises: a third panel configured to connect to the top panel and cover the main board (Fig 1, back housing 26 connected to back panel 22).
Regarding claim 8, Lantz teaches the enclosure of claim 7, wherein the third panel comprises one or more openings arranged through a top or side of the third panel and configured to expose connector ports arranged on the main board (¶ [0045], back housing 26 includes connection ports).
Regarding claim 9, Lantz teaches the enclosure of claim 1, wherein the top panel comprises one or more sides bent downward from the upper member of the top panel to provide sides to the enclosure (Fig 5, mounting element 18 extends downward from back panel 22).
Regarding claim 10, Lantz teaches the enclosure of claim 9, wherein a connection between the top panel and the room- facing panel leaves a gap between the sides of the top panel and the room-facing panel that permits airflow into and out of the enclosure (Fig 5, gap between back panel 22 and panel 14 formed by mounting element 18).
Regarding claim 11, Lantz teaches a ceiling-mountable microphone array enclosure system (Fig 1, ceiling array microphone 10) comprising: a plurality of differently-sized room-facing panels (¶ [0047], front panel 14 can take additional form factors or geometric shapes), each comprising a border of solid material arranged around a sound-permeable area (Fig 5, edge portion 32), and a plurality of connection members arranged along the border of solid material of the room-facing panel (Fig 5 & ¶ [0048], mounting element 18); and a single-sized top panel providing a cover for the enclosure (Fig 5, back panel 22), said top panel comprising a plurality of connection points configured to connect to a microphone board comprising the microphone array and to enable connections with the plurality of connection members of any of the differently-sized room-facing panels (Fig 6, plurality of connection points between back panel 20 and internal microphone array (parts not labeled)), and further comprising a plurality of sides each with respective flanges that extend substantially horizontally from the plurality of sides and which lay flat on the room-facing panel along the border of solid material (Fig 5, mounting element 18 comprising resilient member 34 which extends horizontally and lays flat with edge portion 32 of panel 14); wherein a plurality of microphone array system electronic components are arranged within the microphone array system enclosure between the room-facing panel and the top panel, said plurality of electronic components comprising the microphone array (Fig 6 & ¶ [0044], housing 12 serves as electronics packaging for associated electrical, acoustical and electro-acoustic components), and wherein the microphone array is arranged in proximity to the sound permeable perforations (¶ [0044-0045], microphone array within housing 12 between front panel 14 and back panel 22).
Lantz does not explicitly teach a room-facing panel having screw fittings.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate screw fittings in the room-facing panel of the ceiling array microphone taught by Lantz. Figure 5 of Lantz already teaches screw fittings connecting the back panel 22 to mounting element 18 showing this fastening method is both known and utilized by the prior art Lantz. Mounting the front panel 14 to mounting element 18 via screw fittings would allow for precise and secure fastening means providing an overall stronger and more stable connection method which reduces the risk of loosening over time.
Claim(s) 6 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lantz et al (US Pub No. 20210044881) as applied to claims above, and further in view of Nilsskog (U.S. Pub No. 20180192198, hereinafter Nilsskog).
Regarding claim 6, Lantz teaches the enclosure of claim 1.
Lantz does not explicitly teach the use of snap connections.
Nilsskog teaches the use of snap connections (See Nilsskog ¶ [0040], frame attached to cover via snap connections).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the snap connection method taught by Nilsskog with the enclosure taught by Lantz. Snap connectors are well known in the art and offer multiple benefits such as ease of use, faster assembly, and reduced labor.
Regarding claim 20 Lantz teaches the enclosure according to claim19.
Lantz does not explicitly teach the use of snap connections.
Nilsskog teaches the use of snap connections (See Nilsskog ¶ [0040], frame attached to cover via snap connections).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the snap connection method taught by Nilsskog with the enclosure taught by Lantz. Snap connectors are well known in the art and offer multiple benefits such as ease of use, faster assembly, and reduced labor.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lantz et al (US Pub No. 20210044881) as applied to claims above, and further in view of Abraham et al (U.S. Pub No. 20160323668, hereinafter Abraham).
Regarding claim 15, Lantz teaches the enclosure system of claim 11.
Lantz does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of differently-sized room- facing panels comprises a panel for two or more of a 24-inch ceiling grid, a 600 mm ceiling grid, and a 625 mm ceiling grid.
Abraham teaches wherein the plurality of differently-sized room- facing panels comprises a panel for two or more of a 24-inch ceiling grid (See Abraham ¶ [0036], each side rail is 2 ft long which equals a 24in by 24in), a 600 mm ceiling grid (See Abraham ¶ [0036], 600mm by 600mm), and a 625 mm ceiling grid (See Abraham ¶ [0036], 625mm by 625mm).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the ceiling grid sizes taught by Abraham with the enclosure system taught by Lantz. Doing so allows for variation in ceiling grid size depending on room dimensions and layout.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 6-11, 15, 17, and 19-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.M.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2694
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692