DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the application filed 04/04/24 in which claims 1-17 were presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/25/23, 9/11/23, 9/25/23, 9/29/23, 11/20/23, 12/12/23, 1/9/24, 1/15/24, 3/6/24, 5/13/24, 5/28/24, 7/19/24, 12/16/24, 3/6/25, 3/18/25, 3/26/25, 4/28/25, 6/2/25, 6/17/25, 7/10/25, 7/22/25, 8/19/25, 9/15/25, 10/8/25, 11/6/25, 12/4/25, 12/31/25 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 11, 12, 14, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Casey, Jonathon, Galaxy S21 Ultra Tips for Editing Photos and Videos (Feb. 21, 2021), available at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CuymTnn0ias (“Casey”).
Regarding claim 1, Casey discloses [a] computer system that is in communication with a display generation component, the computer system comprising, comprising: (Galaxy S21 mobile device [computer system] includes a processor in communication with a touchscreen [display generation component])
one or more processors; and (Casey inherently teaches a processor because a processor is necessarily present in a mobile phone)
memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for: (Casey inherently teaches a memory containing instructions to be executed by a processor because such a memory is necessarily present in a mobile phone)
while displaying, via the display generation component, a representation of visual content that includes a first portion and a second portion, detecting an input directed to the representation of the visual content; and (Casey 8:48 (user draws around figure in the image, the image includes a person and another red object against a background))
Figure 1 Casey 8:48
in response to detecting the input directed to the representation of the visual content and in accordance with a determination that the first portion includes a subject that is available to be copied, providing an indication that an operation can be performed to copy the subject without copying the second portion (Casey 8:27-8:35 (“So one cool thing that you can do is superimpose an image or cut out a subject and paste that subject into another photo.”); Casey 9:25 (user selects the check mark [indication] to copy the indicated object [subject])).
Figure 2 Casey 9:25
Regarding claim 2, Casey discloses the invention of claim 1 as discussed above. Casey further discloses wherein the input directed to the representation of the visual content is a press-and-hold input (tracing a shape on the touchscreen involves a press and hold operation).
Regarding claim 11, Casey discloses the invention of claim 1 as discussed above. Casey further discloses in response to detecting the input directed to the representation of the visual content, providing an indication that an operation can be performed to modify the representation of the visual content, such that the representation of the visual content includes the subject and does not include the second portion (Casey 9:08 (after user has traced [input directed to the representation] the figure [subject] to be cut [operation] from the image, the “Select manually” button is highlighted for selection)).
Figure 3 Casey 9:08
Regarding claim 12, Casey discloses the invention of claim 1 as discussed above. Casey further discloses wherein:
the first portion of the representation of visual content includes a first subject and a second subject; and (Casey 9:08 (the image contains the user [first subject] and a red object [second subject] in the background on the left))
in accordance with a determination that the input directed to the representation of the visual content is directed to the first subject in the first portion, the indication that the operation can be performed to copy the subject without copying the second portion is an indication that the operation can be performed to copy the first subject without copying the second subject; and (Casey 9:08 (the traced line creates a closed loop [indication] that provides an indication of the subject being extracted from the image and conversely also provides an indication of the content that is not going to be extracted from the image))
in accordance with a determination that the input directed to the representation of the visual content is directed to the second subject, different from the first subject, in the first portion, the indication that the operation can be performed to copy the subject without copying the second portion is an indication that the operation can be performed to copy the second subject without copying the first subject (because the user is allowed to select any object in the image, if the user were to outline a different object in the image, then that object would be indicated as being able to be extracted from the image).
Regarding claim 14, Casey discloses the invention of claim 1 as discussed above. Casey further discloses in response to detecting the input directed to the representation of the visual content and in accordance with a determination that the first portion of the representation of the visual content includes a third subject and a fourth subject that are available to be copied, providing an indication that an operation can be performed to copy the third subject and the fourth subject without copying the second portion of the visual content (Casey 8:58 (the portions of the user not included in the traced portion are highlighted [indication] and the user can circle (see Casey 9:02) these portions to include them in the traced portion of the image)
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Figure 4 Casey 8:58
Figure 5 Casey 9:02
Regarding claim 15, Casey discloses the invention of claim 1 as discussed above. Casey further discloses wherein the representation of visual content is a representation of an image or a video (Casey teaches removing background from image content on a mobile device).
Claim 17 is a method claim corresponding to claim 1 and, therefore, is similarly rejected. Casey further discloses a computer system that is in communication with a display generation component (mobile device has a processor in communication with a touchscreen [display generation component]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casey as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sohn (KR 20140127131 A; published Nov. 3, 2014).
Regarding claim 9, Casey discloses the invention of claim 1 as discussed above. Casey does not expressly disclose wherein detecting the input directed to the representation of the visual content includes detecting a pointer activation event and detecting that a pointer is hovering over a third user interface object that, when selected, cause the computer system to copy the subject without copying the second portion (but see Sohn ¶ 174 (“For example, the electronic device may store information such as location information of each synthesized object, size of each synthesized object, and an edited region (masking effect area) of each synthesized object when generating a synthesized image. The electronic device may identify a location where an electronic pen input, a finger input, a hover input, etc. [pointer activation event] for selecting at least one object [third user interface object] included in the composite image is detected. According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the electronic device may identify the object selected by the input by comparing the stored information with the location information where the input is detected, and the electronic device may identify the original image corresponding to the selected object, and the original image. Preview information corresponding to can be checked.”)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Casey to incorporate the teachings of Sohn to identify a location where a hover input for selecting an object is detected, at least because doing so would enable extracting an object from an image. See Sohn ¶ 6 (“The electronic device may detect an input for an image, extract a portion corresponding to the input, identify an object (subject) through an image analysis result, and extract the identified object. The electronic device may extract a background and an object from an image.”)).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casey as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Akiyoshi (JP 2011170783 A; published Sep. 1, 2011).
Regarding claim 13, Casey discloses the invention of claim 1 as discussed above. Casey does not expressly disclose in response to detecting the input directed to the representation of the visual content and in accordance with a determination that the first portion is not a subject that is available to be copied, forgoing providing the indication that the operation can be performed to copy the subject without copying the second portion of the visual content (but see Akiyoshi ¶ 59 (“(Example when Copying is Not Possible) Next, processing when a moving image object that cannot be copied is selected will be described with reference to FIG. FIG. 10 is a diagram illustrating an example of a state in which a moving image object that cannot be copied is selected to be copied. As described above, in the case of an object that can be copied, the operation ends when the thumbnail of the moving image object is displayed. However, in the case of an object that cannot be copied, as shown in FIG. 10, when the index finger 1001 is released from the touch panel 205, the thumbnail 1002 returns to its original state. By returning to the original state while showing it to the user as if it was copied in this way, it is possible to explicitly notify the user that copying cannot be performed.”)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Casey to incorporate the teachings of Akiyoshi to indicate that an object traced by the user cannot be copied by returning the image to its original state, at least because doing so would notify the user that copying cannot be performed.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casey as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cho (US 2011/0076003 A1; published Mar. 31, 2011).
Claim 16 is a computer-readable medium (CRM) claim corresponding to claim 1 and, therefore, is similarly rejected. Casey does not expressly disclose [a] non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of a computer system that is in communication with a display generation component (but see Cho ¶ 109 (“The present invention can be realized as code that can be read by a processor (such as a mobile station modem (MSM)) included in a mobile terminal and that can be written on a computer-readable recording medium. The computer-readable recording medium may be any type of recording device in which data is stored in a computer-readable manner. Examples of the computer-readable recording medium include a ROM, a RAM, a CD-ROM, a magnetic tape, a floppy disc, an optical data storage, and a carrier wave (e.g., data transmission through the internet). The computer-readable recording medium can be distributed over a plurality of computer systems connected to a network so that computer-readable code is written thereto and executed therefrom in a decentralized manner.”)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Casey to incorporate the teachings of Cho to include a computer readable medium containing instructions to perform the object extraction taught by Casey, at least because doing so would enable the mobile device to execute the image editing program in a decentralized manner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Schwartzberg (US 2008/0253656 A1; published Oct. 16, 2008) Method and a Device for Detecting Graphic Symbols.
/SHAHID K KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2146