DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 08/07/2023 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-15 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park U.S. Publication 2021/0353125 (henceforth referred to as Park).
As to claim 1, Park teaches a dishwasher comprising:
a tub including an opening (paragraph [0086] tub 120);
a door configured to open and close the opening (FIG. 1 paragraph [0088] door 130);
a first blower positioned at a first side of the tub (FIG. 4 paragraph [0145] hot air device 410 reads on the claimed first blower); and
a second blower positioned at a second side of the tub (paragraph [0181] second fan 920);
wherein the first blower is configured to, while the door is positioned to open the opening, discharge a portion of air inside of the tub through the opening to outside of the tub so as to lower humidity inside of the tub (paragraphs [0238]-[0239] at time point C2, the controller 1010 turns on the first fan 414 and partially opens the door 130. The inner air (which is humidified) is discharged to the partially opened door 130), and
the second blower is configured to, while the door is positioned to open the opening, circulate air inside of the tub that is not discharged by the first blower (FIG. 9 paragraph [0244] the second fan 920 is turned on and the cover 930 is open at the time point C2, which corresponds to the partially open door 130 at the time point C2. Paragraph [0183] the second fan 920 discharges the humid air to the outside space.).
As to claim 3, Park further teaches the first blower includes: a blow fan (FIG. 4 paragraph [0145] first fan 414), and a blow duct forming a flow path (paragraph [0145] flow path duct 412) to guide air blown by the blow fan toward the opening (FIG. 8 air is blowing toward the opening).
As to claim 12, Park further teaches a controller configured to control the first blower and the second blower (paragraph [0244] controller 1010 turns on the first fan 414 and the second fan 920).
As to claim 13, Park further teaches the controller is configured to control the first blower and the second blower to operate according to an elapse of a preset time after the door opens the opening (paragraphs [0238] and [0244] controller 1010 turns on the first fan 414 and the second fan 920 and partially opens the door 130 at time point C2).
As to claim 14, Park further teaches the controller is configured to control each of the first blower (paragraphs [0150], [0235], [0238] the first fan 414 can be turned on and off) and the second blower to change a blowing force periodically (paragraph [0186] the second fan 920 can be turned/off simultaneously or paragraph [0244] the second fan 920 can be turned on at the time point C2 and turned off at the end of the drying process. If the fan is off, there would be no blowing force. If the fan is on, there would be a blowing force. The fans being on or off would read on the change of a blowing force).
As to claim 15, Park further teaches the controller is configured to control each of the first blower (paragraphs [0150], [0235], [0238] the first fan 414 can be turned on and off) and the second blower to be repeatedly turned on and off periodically (paragraph [0186] the second fan 920 can be turned/off simultaneously or paragraph [0244] the second fan 920 can be turned on at the time point C2 and turned off at the end of the drying process.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park U.S. Publication 2021/0353125 (henceforth referred to as Park) in view of Zhu et al CN212913130 (henceforth referred to as Zhu).
As to claim 2, Park differs from the instant claim in failing to teach the first side of the tub faces the second side of the tub.
Zhu teaches a dishwasher (FIG. 1 paragraph [n0044] dishwasher). Zhu teaches the first side of the tub faces the second side of the tub (Figure 4 shows that the first side of the tub (on which a first drying assembly is attached) and the second side of the tub (on which a second drying assembly is attached) face each other.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dishwasher as taught by Park with a configuration of the walls as taught by Zhu. By placing the drying assembly on the sides of the tub that face each other can help aid in forming a cyclone (paragraph [n0044]) which can help in drying the dishes.
As to claim 3, (Alternative rejection to the §102, in light of an alternative interpretation of the claim/art) Park further teaches the first blower includes: a blow fan (FIG. 4 paragraph [0145] first fan 414), and a blow duct forming a flow path (paragraph [0145] flow path duct 412).
Park differs from the instant claim in failing to teach a flow path to guide air toward the opening.
Zhu teaches a dishwasher (FIG. 1 paragraph [n0044] dishwasher). Zhu teaches a flow path to guide air toward the opening (FIGS. 3-4 the air duct housing 202 is forming a flow path to guide air blown by the blow fan toward from the opening).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dishwasher as taught by Park with a blow duct as taught by Zhu. It is known to one skilled in the art to have a blow duct in order to create a path in which air can travel.
As to claim 4, Park further teaches the second blower includes: a blow fan (FIG. 9 paragraph [0181] second fan 920).
Park differs from the instant claim in failing to teach a blow duct forming a flow path to guide air blown by the blow fan away from the opening.
Zhu teaches a dishwasher (FIG. 1 paragraph [n0044] dishwasher). Zhu teaches the second blower includes: a blow duct (paragraph [n0044] air duct housing 202) forming a flow path to guide air blown by the blow fan away from the opening (FIGS. 3-4 the air duct housing 202 is forming a flow path to guide air blown by the blow fan away from the opening).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dishwasher as taught by Park with a blow duct as taught by Zhu. It is known to one skilled in the art to have a blow duct in order to create a path in which air can travel.
As to claim 5, Park and Zhu further teach the opening is formed in a front side of the tub (Park paragraph [0088] a door 130 is disposed on a front surface of the tub 120 and opens or closes the washing space 121. This means that the opening is formed on the front side of the tub.),
the door is rotatable so that an upper portion of the door is movable away from and toward the tub to open and close the opening (Park FIGS. 3 or 8 the door is rotatable so that an upper portion of the door is movable away from and toward the tub to open and close the opening), and
the first blower includes:
an inlet provided at a first end of the flow path (Zhu paragraph [n0044] air inlet 203), and
an outlet provided at a second end of the flow path and positioned forward of the inlet toward the opening (Zhu FIGS. 1 and 10 paragraph [n0044] air outlet 204),
wherein the air flowing on the flow path is sucked into the inlet from inside of the tub, and discharged through the outlet, by the blow fan (Zhu paragraph [n0044] the fan 201 is used to send gas from the air inlet 203 into the air supply channel 205 and blow it out from the air outlet 204 to the vent 101).
As to claim 7, Park and Zhu further teach the opening is formed in a front side of the tub (Park paragraph [0088] a door 130 is disposed on a front surface of the tub 120 and opens or closes the washing space 121. This means that the opening is formed on the front side of the tub.),
the door is rotatable so that an upper portion of the door is movable away from and toward the tub to open and close the opening (Park FIGS. 3 or 8 the door is rotatable so that an upper portion of the door is movable away from and toward the tub to open and close the opening), and
the second blower includes:
an inlet provided at a first end of the flow path (Zhu paragraph [n0044] air inlet 203), and
an outlet provided at a second end of the flow path and positioned below the inlet (Zhu FIGS. 1 and 10 paragraph [n0044] air outlet 204),
wherein the air flowing on the flow path is sucked into the inlet from an inside of the tub, and discharged through the outlet to inside of the tub, by the blow fan (Zhu paragraph [n0044] the fan 201 is used to send gas from the air inlet 203 into the air supply channel 205 and blow it out from the air outlet 204 to the vent 101).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park U.S. Publication 2021/0353125 (henceforth referred to as Park) and Zhu et al CN212913130 (henceforth referred to as Zhu) as applied to claim 5 above, in further view of Wolowicz et al. U.S. Publication 2022/0104685 (henceforth referred to as Wolowicz).
As to claim 6, Park and Zhu further teach flow path is a first flow path (Park paragraph [0145] flow path duct 412), the outlet is a first outlet (Zhu FIGS. 1 and 10 paragraph [n0044] air outlet 204).
Park and Zhu differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the first blower includes: a second flow path partitioned from the first flow path, and a second outlet positioned below the first outlet and configured to circulate air flowing on the second flow path to inside of the tub.
Wolowicz teaches a dishwasher (FIG. 1 paragraph [0036] dishwasher 10). Wolowicz teaches
the first blower includes:
a second flow path partitioned from the first flow path (FIG. 18 paragraph [0142] second dry air supply branch 260), and
a second outlet positioned below the first outlet (FIGS. 16 and 18 supply branch outlet 2644 is positioned below the first outlet 2612) and configured to circulate air flowing on the second flow path to inside of the tub (FIGS. 16 and 18 paragraph [0146] the dry air supply branch 2640 fluidly couples the dry air inlet 2610 with the treating chamber 16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dishwasher as taught by Park and Zhu with a second outlet as taught by Wolowicz. It would have been obvious to have a second outlet in order to reduce the overall level of relative humidity within the treating chamber as well as adding air to the treating chamber 16 to increase pressure within the treating chamber 16 to improve venting performance when the door assembly 20 is opened (paragraph [0153]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park U.S. Publication 2021/0353125 (henceforth referred to as Park) and Zhu et al CN212913130 (henceforth referred to as Zhu) as applied to claim 7 above, in further view of Aras et al. U.S. Patent 10,219,675 (henceforth referred to as Aras).
As to claim 8, Zhu further teaches the flow path is a first flow path (FIGS. 3-4 the air duct housing 202 is forming a flow path), the outlet is a first outlet (FIGS. 1 and 10 paragraph [n0044] air outlet 204), and the second blower includes: a second flow path partitioned from the first flow path.
Park and Zhu differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the second blower includes: a second flow path partitioned from the first flow path; and a second outlet positioned below the inlet and arranged in a front-rear direction with respect to the first outlet, wherein air flowing on the second flow path is discharged through the second outlet to inside of the tub.
Aras teaches a dishwasher (column 2 line 53 dishwasher 1). Aras teaches the second blower includes:
a second flow path partitioned from the first flow path (FIG. 3 column 3 line 25-26 air channel 6 reads on the claimed second flow path partitioned from the first flow path); and
a second outlet positioned below the inlet and arranged in a front-rear direction with respect to the first outlet (FIG. 3 outlet 5 is positioned below inlet 4 and is in a direction in front of the outlet of channel 9),
wherein air flowing on the second flow path is discharged through the second outlet to inside of the tub (column 3 lines 12-14 air is delivered again into the tub 2 by the means of outlet 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dishwasher as taught by Park and Zhu with a second outlet as taught by Aras. By having a second outlet, the air can be treated before it is returned into the tub (column 3 lines 12-14). Additionally, it is known in the art to recycle air as it is an effective way to reduce energy consumption.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park U.S. Publication 2021/0353125 (henceforth referred to as Park) in view of Hong et al. U.S. Publication 2017/0196431 (henceforth referred to as Hong) and Yang et al. CN114831583 (henceforth referred to as Yang).
As to claim 9, Park further teaches each of the first blower and the second blower includes:
a blow fan (FIG. 4 paragraph [0145] first fan 414)., and
an inlet cap facing the blow fan and detachably installed on an inner wall of the tub, and
the inlet cap includes:
a body portion covering the blow fan and configured to prevent at least one of foreign materials or washing water in the tub from entering the blow fan, and
an inlet formed between the inner wall of the tub and the body portion, wherein air inside of the tub is sucked through the inlet.
Park differs from the instant claim in failing to teach an inlet cap facing the blow fan and detachably installed on an inner wall of the tub, and the inlet cap includes: a body portion covering the blow fan and configured to prevent at least one of foreign materials or washing water in the tub from entering the blow fan, and an inlet formed between the inner wall of the tub and the body portion, wherein air inside of the tub is sucked through the inlet.
Hong teaches a dishwasher (FIGS. 1-2 paragraph [0041] dishwasher 10). Hong teaches
an inlet cap facing the blow fan and detachably installed on an inner wall of the tub (FIGS. 4-5 paragraph [0055] cap 56 may be separably coupled to the suction port 51), and
the inlet cap includes:
a body portion covering the blow fan (FIGS. 4-5 cap 56 has a body that is provided on the suction port 51 (paragraph [0054])) and configured to prevent at least one of foreign materials or washing water in the tub from entering the blow fan (paragraphs [0054] and [0056] the cap 56 prevents wash water and contaminants from being deposited in the suction port 51 or the exhaust port 52).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dishwasher as taught by Park with a cap as taught by Hong. It would have been obvious to have a cap in order to prevent water or contaminants from circulating within the duct (paragraph [0056]) as the cap can prevent damage to the air circulation duct and/or fans.
Yang teaches a dishwasher (paragraph [n0032] dishwasher 100). Yang teaches an inlet formed between the inner wall of the tub and the body portion, wherein air inside of the tub is sucked through the inlet (FIG. 6 paragraph [n0042] auxiliary air inlet 152).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dishwasher as taught by Park with an inlet formed on the side as taught by Yang. It would have been obvious to have the auxiliary air inlet so when that the air purification assembly 13 is blocked by dust, the gas can still enter the air inlet 15 through the open auxiliary air inlet 152 to ensure that the hot air device 1 can continue to operate (paragraph [n0042]).
As to claim 10, Hong further teaches the inlet cap includes: at least one inlet guide rib formed on the body portion and extending toward the blow fan, the at least one inlet guide rib having a downwardly inclined, curved shape (See following figure).
[AltContent: textbox (A rib that extends toward the blow fan and has a downwardly inclined, curved shape)][AltContent: arrow]
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park U.S. Publication 2021/0353125 (henceforth referred to as Park) in view of Hong et al. U.S. Publication 2017/0196431 (henceforth referred to as Hong) and Zhu et al CN212913130 (henceforth referred to as Zhu).
As to claim 11, Park further teaches the opening is formed in a front side of the tub (paragraph [0088] a door 130 is disposed on a front surface of the tub 120 and opens or closes the washing space 121. This means that the opening is formed on the front side of the tub.),
the door is rotatable so that an upper portion of the door is movable away from and toward the tub to open and close the opening (FIGS. 3 or 8 the door is rotatable so that an upper portion of the door is movable away from and toward the tub to open and close the opening),
the first blower includes:
a first blow fan (FIG. 4 paragraph [0145] first fan 414),
a first blow duct detachably installed on an outer wall of the first side of the tub and configured to guide air blown by the first blow fan (paragraph [0145] flow path duct 412), and
the second blower includes:
a second blow fan (paragraph [0181] second fan 920).
Park differs from the instant claim in failing to teach a first outlet cap detachably installed on an inner wall of the first side of the tub at an end of the first blow duct so as to communicate the first blow duct with inside of the tub, a second blow duct detachably installed on an outer wall of the second side of the tub and configured to guide air blown by the second blow fan, and a second outlet cap detachably installed on an inner wall of the second side of the tub at an end of the second blow duct so as to communicate the second blow duct with inside of the tub, the first outlet cap includes a first outlet guide rib inclined toward a front, upper direction and configured to induce air guided by the first blow duct to move toward the opening, and the second outlet cap includes a second outlet guide rib inclined downward and configured to induce air guided by the second blow duct to move away from the opening.
Zhu teaches a dishwasher (FIG. 1 paragraph [n0044] dishwasher). Zhu teaches a second blow duct (paragraph [n0044] air duct housing 202) detachably installed (paragraph [n0042] terms “installation”, “connection”, “linking”, “fixing”, etc. can refer to a detachable connection) on an outer wall of the second side of the tub and configured to guide air blown by the second blow fan (FIG. 4 drying assembly 200 is installed on an outer wall of the second side of the tub),
the first outlet cap includes a first outlet guide rib (FIGS. 2, 5, and 6 paragraph [n0052] baffle rib 105) configured to induce air guided by the first blow duct to move toward the opening (FIG. 4 shows that air is moving toward the opening), and
the second outlet cap includes a second outlet guide rib (FIGS. 2, 5, and 6 paragraph [n0052] baffle rib 105) configured to induce air guided by the second blow duct to move away from the opening (FIG. 4 shows that air is moving away from the opening).
Zhu does not teach that the first outlet guide rib is inclined toward a front, upper direction or that the second outlet guide rib is inclined downward. However, absent the demonstration of any new or unobvious results, the claimed configuration is considered by Examiner to be prima facie obvious as a rearrangement of parts. It is old and well known to rearrange parts, with no change in their respective functions, due to size/space design criteria, the manufacturing expense thereof or purely for aesthetics. See MPEP § 2144.04, VI, C. Rearrangement of Parts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dishwasher as taught by Park with a second duct with guide ribs as taught by Zhu. It is known to one skilled in the art to have a blow duct in order to create a path in which air can travel. It is also known in the art to have guide ribs as it can prevent water and residue from entering the air duct housing 202 (paragraph [n0052]) or help direct the airflow.
Hong teaches a dishwasher (FIGS. 1-2 paragraph [0041] dishwasher 10). Hong teaches a first outlet cap detachably installed on an inner wall of the first side of the tub at an end of the first blow duct so as to communicate the first blow duct with inside of the tub (FIGS. 4-5 paragraph [0055] cap 56 may be separably coupled to the exhaust port 52).
Hong does not teach a second outlet cap detachably installed on an inner wall of the second side of the tub at an end of the second blow duct so as to communicate the second blow duct with inside of the tub. However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to have a cap on all exhaust ports for assisting the smooth collection and discharge of air (paragraph [0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dishwasher as taught by Park with a cap as taught by Hong. It would have been obvious to have a cap in order to prevent water or contaminants from circulating within the tub (paragraph [0056]) as the cap can prevent contaminants from cycling through the tub and air circulation duct.
Conclusion
/L.G.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1711
/MICHAEL E BARR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1711