DETAILED ACTION
1.This action is in response to application filed on 08/07/2023. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Allowable Subject Matter
2. Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but it would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The allowable subject matter in claim 5 is “wherein automatically analyzing the content to determine which other devices and chat applications are participating in a chat concerning the content.” Lee et al. (KR 20240145272 A) teaches determining an emotional intention of a user by using a user utterance of a current turn; providing the determined emotional intention and a previous chatting type, which is a chatting type of a system utterance of a previous turn, to a chatting type determination model to determine a next chatting type, which is a chatting type of a system utterance of a next turn; and providing a previous conversation between the user and the system and the next chatting type to a chatting response search model to determine a system utterance of the next turn. But the Lee does not teach automatically analyzing the content to determine which other devices and chat applications are participating in a chat concerning the content as claimed.
3. Claims 12 and 19 are objected under rationales of claim 5.
Claims Objections
4. Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: there are typo errors at “…of the plurality to…” (see, lines 5, 8 and 10). It respectfully recommends changing “…of the plurality of devices to…”.
5. Claims 8 and 15 are objected under rationales of claim 1.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim rejections-35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1, 6-8, 13-15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Secosta et al. (CN 105141650 A) in view of Mishelevich (US 20260019292)
Regarding claim 1:
A method for intelligently distributing messages across a plurality of devices and associated chat applications, the method comprising:
registering a plurality of devices and associated chat applications to receive distribution of messages: (registering a plurality of devices, each device has a different hardware at a unique user identifier and/or software capabilities. During registration, identity management service can collect hardware and/or software capabilities of the device associated with the user, Secosta: page 3);
monitoring, by an agent, a message copied from a first device of the plurality to a clipboard: (no SMS/MMS capability of the user device can send a message to the messaging service message transmission service to the appointed device with ability of SMS/MMS transmitting the message sending instruction of the payload to a destination together with SMS/MMS capability utilization device. A user interface device without SMS/MMS capability can display progress information of the process: Secosta: page 3).
automatically analyzing content of the message to determine which other devices and associated chat applications of the plurality are eligible to receive the message: (no SMS/MMS capability of the user device can send a message to the messaging service message transmission service to the appointed device with ability of SMS/MMS transmitting the message sending instruction of the payload to a destination together with SMS/MMS capability utilization device. A user interface device without SMS/MMS capability can display progress information of the process: Secosta: page 3);
distributing the message to other devices and associated chat applications of the plurality that are deemed eligible to receive the message: (the first device can directly or indirectly interacting with the second device so that the second device uses the device capability desired for operation. For example, a tablet computer can be connected as the identity management service management entity establishes a connection. the tablet computer capable of receiving a set of device profile from the identity management service, comprising an intelligent telephone device profile. tablet computer capable of determining the smart phone with SMS/MMS capability from device profile of the smart phone. tablet computer can select any one of various means, generates a message or sending information to the intelligent telephone, the message indicates that a smart phone is sent as message of the SMS/MMS message to the receiver. Therefore, it is possible by the tablet computer without SMS/MMS capability utilizing SMS/MMS capability of a smart phone: Secosta: page 3).
However, Secosta does not explicitly teach intelligent distribution of messages.
In similar art, Mishelevich teaches an Extended-Capability Messaging Appliance (ECMA) that communicates with other IoT devices that provides these capabilities and can include AI. The ECMA may be configured as a Body-Area Network for individuals or a Business-Area Network for industry and other commercial applications with an AI Agent called BANDIT that processes requests from a user (Mishelevich abstract).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Mishelevich’s ideas into Secosta’s system in order to provide an efficient messing appliance with Artificial-Intelligent functionality (Mishelevich [0003]).
Regarding claim 6:
In addition to the rejection claim 1, Secosta-Mishelevich further teaches automatically analyzing the content comprises automatically analyzing the content to determine a contact to which to distribute the message: (Intended messages recipients: Mishelevich [0117]; [0123]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Mishelevich’s ideas into Secosta’s system in order to provide an efficient messing appliance with Artificial-Intelligent functionality (Mishelevich [0003]).
Regarding claim 7:
In addition to the rejection claim 1, Secosta-Mishelevich further teaches distributing the message by way of a cloud controller: (AI and other processing can be done at the edge, on regional servers (fog computing layer) or central servers (cloud computing layer), with ability to distribute computing where the overall system is optimized: Mishelevich [0233]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Mishelevich’s ideas into Secosta’s system in order to provide an efficient messing appliance with Artificial-Intelligent functionality (Mishelevich [0003]).
Regarding claim 8:
A computer program product for intelligently distributing messages across a plurality of devices and associated chat applications, the computer program product comprising a computer-readable storage medium having computer-usable program code embodied therein, the computer-usable program code configured to perform the following when executed by at least one processor:
register a plurality of devices and associated chat applications to receive distribution of messages: (registering a plurality of devices, each device has a different hardware at a unique user identifier and/or software capabilities. During registration, identity management service can collect hardware and/or software capabilities of the device associated with the user, Secosta: page 3);
monitor, by an agent, a message copied from a first device of the plurality to a clipboard: (no SMS/MMS capability of the user device can send a message to the messaging service message transmission service to the appointed device with ability of SMS/MMS transmitting the message sending instruction of the payload to a destination together with SMS/MMS capability utilization device. A user interface device without SMS/MMS capability can display progress information of the process: Secosta: page 3).
automatically analyze content of the message to determine which other devices and associated chat applications of the plurality are eligible to receive the message: (no SMS/MMS capability of the user device can send a message to the messaging service message transmission service to the appointed device with ability of SMS/MMS transmitting the message sending instruction of the payload to a destination together with SMS/MMS capability utilization device. A user interface device without SMS/MMS capability can display progress information of the process: Secosta: page 3);
distribute the message to other devices and associated chat applications of the plurality that are deemed eligible to receive the message: (the first device can directly or indirectly interacting with the second device so that the second device uses the device capability desired for operation. For example, a tablet computer can be connected as the identity management service management entity establishes a connection. the tablet computer capable of receiving a set of device profile from the identity management service, comprising an intelligent telephone device profile. tablet computer capable of determining the smart phone with SMS/MMS capability from device profile of the smart phone. tablet computer can select any one of various means, generates a message or sending information to the intelligent telephone, the message indicates that a smart phone is sent as message of the SMS/MMS message to the receiver. Therefore, it is possible by the tablet computer without SMS/MMS capability utilizing SMS/MMS capability of a smart phone: Secosta: page 3).
However, Secosta does not explicitly teach intelligent distribution of messages.
In similar art, Mishelevich teaches an Extended-Capability Messaging Appliance (ECMA) that communicates with other IoT devices that provides these capabilities and can include AI. The ECMA may be configured as a Body-Area Network for individuals or a Business-Area Network for industry and other commercial applications with an AI Agent called BANDIT that processes requests from a user (Mishelevich abstract).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Mishelevich’s ideas into Secosta’s system in order to provide an efficient messing appliance with Artificial-Intelligent functionality (Mishelevich [0003]).
Regarding claim 13:
In addition to the rejection claim 8, Secosta-Mishelevich further teaches automatically analyzing the content comprises automatically analyzing the content to determine a contact to which to distribute the message: (Intended messages recipients: Mishelevich [0117]; [0123]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Mishelevich’s ideas into Secosta’s system in order to provide an efficient messing appliance with Artificial-Intelligent functionality (Mishelevich [0003]).
Regarding claim 14:
In addition to the rejection claim 8, Secosta-Mishelevich further teaches distributing the message by way of a cloud controller: (AI and other processing can be done at the edge, on regional servers (fog computing layer) or central servers (cloud computing layer), with ability to distribute computing where the overall system is optimized: Mishelevich [0233]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Mishelevich’s ideas into Secosta’s system in order to provide an efficient messing appliance with Artificial-Intelligent functionality (Mishelevich [0003]).
Regarding claim 15:
A system for intelligently distributing messages across a plurality of devices and associated chat applications, the system comprising: at least one processor; at least one memory device operably coupled to the at least one processor and storing instructions for execution on the at least one processor, the instructions causing the at least one processor to:
register a plurality of devices and associated chat applications to receive distribution of messages: (registering a plurality of devices, each device has a different hardware at a unique user identifier and/or software capabilities. During registration, identity management service can collect hardware and/or software capabilities of the device associated with the user, Secosta: page 3);
monitor, by an agent, a message copied from a first device of the plurality to a clipboard: (no SMS/MMS capability of the user device can send a message to the messaging service message transmission service to the appointed device with ability of SMS/MMS transmitting the message sending instruction of the payload to a destination together with SMS/MMS capability utilization device. A user interface device without SMS/MMS capability can display progress information of the process: Secosta: page 3).
automatically analyze content of the message to determine which other devices and associated chat applications of the plurality are eligible to receive the message: (no SMS/MMS capability of the user device can send a message to the messaging service message transmission service to the appointed device with ability of SMS/MMS transmitting the message sending instruction of the payload to a destination together with SMS/MMS capability utilization device. A user interface device without SMS/MMS capability can display progress information of the process: Secosta: page 3);
distribute the message to other devices and associated chat applications of the plurality that are deemed eligible to receive the message: (the first device can directly or indirectly interacting with the second device so that the second device uses the device capability desired for operation. For example, a tablet computer can be connected as the identity management service management entity establishes a connection. the tablet computer capable of receiving a set of device profile from the identity management service, comprising an intelligent telephone device profile. tablet computer capable of determining the smart phone with SMS/MMS capability from device profile of the smart phone. tablet computer can select any one of various means, generates a message or sending information to the intelligent telephone, the message indicates that a smart phone is sent as message of the SMS/MMS message to the receiver. Therefore, it is possible by the tablet computer without SMS/MMS capability utilizing SMS/MMS capability of a smart phone: Secosta: page 3).
However, Secosta does not explicitly teach intelligent distribution of messages.
In similar art, Mishelevich teaches an Extended-Capability Messaging Appliance (ECMA) that communicates with other IoT devices that provides these capabilities and can include AI. The ECMA may be configured as a Body-Area Network for individuals or a Business-Area Network for industry and other commercial applications with an AI Agent called BANDIT that processes requests from a user (Mishelevich abstract).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Mishelevich’s ideas into Secosta’s system in order to provide an efficient messing appliance with Artificial-Intelligent functionality (Mishelevich [0003]).
Regarding claim 20:
In addition to the rejection claim 15, Secosta-Mishelevich further teaches automatically analyzing the content comprises automatically analyzing the content to determine a contact to which to distribute the message: (Intended messages recipients: Mishelevich [0117]; [0123]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Mishelevich’s ideas into Secosta’s system in order to provide an efficient messing appliance with Artificial-Intelligent functionality (Mishelevich [0003]).
7. Claims 2-3, 9-10, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Secosta-Mishelevich in view of Lee et al. (KR 20240145272 A)
Regarding claim 2:
Secosta-Mishelevich discloses the invention substantially as disclosed in claim 1, but Secosta-Chen does not explicitly teach the message originates from a first chat application of a first type.
In similar art, Lee teaches determining an emotional intention of a user by using a user utterance of a current turn; providing the determined emotional intention and a previous chatting type (first type), which is a chatting type of a system utterance of a previous turn, to a chatting type determination model to determine a next chatting type, which is a chatting type of a system utterance of a next turn; and providing a previous conversation between the user and the system and the next chatting type to a chatting response search model to determine a system utterance of the next turn (Lee abstract).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Lee’s ideas into Secosta-Mishelevich’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying Lee’s ideas into Secosta-Mishelevich’s system.
Regarding claim 3:
In addition to the rejection claim 2, Secosta-Mishelevich-Lee further teaches distributing the message to a second chat application of second type that is different from the first type: (providing a previous conversation between the user and the system and the next chatting type (second type) to a chatting response search model to determine a system utterance of the next turn: Lee abstract).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Lee’s ideas into Secosta-Mishelevich’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying Lee’s ideas into Secosta- Mishelevich’s system.
Regarding claim 9:
Secosta-Mishelevich discloses the invention substantially as disclosed in claim 8, but Secosta-Chen does not explicitly teach the message originates from a first chat application of a first type.
In similar art, Lee teaches determining an emotional intention of a user by using a user utterance of a current turn; providing the determined emotional intention and a previous chatting type (first type), which is a chatting type of a system utterance of a previous turn, to a chatting type determination model to determine a next chatting type, which is a chatting type of a system utterance of a next turn; and providing a previous conversation between the user and the system and the next chatting type to a chatting response search model to determine a system utterance of the next turn (Lee abstract).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Lee’s ideas into Secosta-Mishelevich’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying Lee’s ideas into Secosta-Mishelevich’s system.
Regarding claim 10:
In addition to the rejection claim 9, Secosta-Mishelevich-Lee further teaches distributing the message to a second chat application of second type that is different from the first type: (providing a previous conversation between the user and the system and the next chatting type (second type) to a chatting response search model to determine a system utterance of the next turn: Lee abstract).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Lee’s ideas into Secosta-Mishelevich’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying Lee’s ideas into Secosta- Mishelevich’s system.
Regarding claim 16:
Secosta-Mishelevich discloses the invention substantially as disclosed in claim 15, but Secosta-Chen does not explicitly teach the message originates from a first chat application of a first type.
In similar art, Lee teaches determining an emotional intention of a user by using a user utterance of a current turn; providing the determined emotional intention and a previous chatting type (first type), which is a chatting type of a system utterance of a previous turn, to a chatting type determination model to determine a next chatting type, which is a chatting type of a system utterance of a next turn; and providing a previous conversation between the user and the system and the next chatting type to a chatting response search model to determine a system utterance of the next turn (Lee abstract).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Lee’s ideas into Secosta-Mishelevich’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying Lee’s ideas into Secosta-Mishelevich’s system.
Regarding claim 17:
In addition to the rejection claim 16, Secosta-Mishelevich-Lee further teaches distributing the message to a second chat application of second type that is different from the first type: (providing a previous conversation between the user and the system and the next chatting type (second type) to a chatting response search model to determine a system utterance of the next turn: Lee abstract).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Lee’s ideas into Secosta-Mishelevich’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying Lee’s ideas into Secosta- Mishelevich’s system.
8. Claims 4, 11, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Secosta-Chen in view of Mei et al. (CN 114386433 B)
Regarding claim 4:
Secosta-Chen discloses the invention substantially as disclosed in claim 1, but Secosta-Chen does not explicitly teach automatically analyzing the content comprises automatically analyzing the content by an artificial intelligence engine.
In similar art, Mei teaches the artificial intelligent data analysis processing to automatically analyze and process the obtained source data (see, Mei, pages 5-6).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Mei’s ideas into Secosta-Chen’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying Mei’s ideas into Secosta-Chen’s system.
Regarding claim 11:
Secosta-Chen discloses the invention substantially as disclosed in claim 8, but Secosta-Chen does not explicitly teach automatically analyzing the content comprises automatically analyzing the content by an artificial intelligence engine.
In similar art, Mei teaches the artificial intelligent data analysis processing to automatically analyze and process the obtained source data (see, Mei, pages 5-6).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Mei’s ideas into Secosta-Chen’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying Mei’s ideas into Secosta-Chen’s system.
Regarding claim 18:
Secosta-Chen discloses the invention substantially as disclosed in claim 15, but Secosta-Chen does not explicitly teach automatically analyzing the content comprises automatically analyzing the content by an artificial intelligence engine.
In similar art, Mei teaches the artificial intelligent data analysis processing to automatically analyze and process the obtained source data (see, Mei, pages 5-6).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Mei’s ideas into Secosta-Chen’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying Mei’s ideas into Secosta-Chen’s system.
Conclusions
/LAN DAI T TRUONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444