DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 12-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masamichi et al (JP Pat Num 2018-073741A, herein referred to as Masamichi) in view of Hitoshi et al (JP Pat Num 2004-014337A, herein referred to as Hitoshi). Masamichi discloses a multicore cable (Fig 1), for usage in medical devices such as ultrasound endoscopes (Paragraph 4), and which is excellent in elasticity and flexibility (abstract). Specifically, with respect to claim 1, Masamichi discloses a multicore cable (1, Fig 1) comprising a plurality of insulated electric wires (10), excluding coaxial cables (Fig 1), wherein each insulated electrical wire (10) comprises a metal conductor wire (11) and an insulating layer (12) covering the metal conductor wire (11), wherein the plurality of insulated electric wires (10) may be twisted together (Paragraph 13), wherein the plurality of insulated electrical wires (10) are twisted such that a specific insulated electrical wire (10) are not always present at the center portion or an outer peripheral portion (i.e. conductor wire are twisted to form bundle 11 (Paragraph 15) and then several bundles 11 are twisted to form the cable thereby the wires are constantly moving from outside to inside as both are being twisted, Paragraph 13 & 15). With respect to claim 2, Masamichi discloses a multicore cable (1), wherein, in the plurality of insulated electric wires (10), the metal conductor wire (11) may be a stranded wire with a circular cross-section (Fig 1), and the insulating layer (12) comprises a thermoplastic resin (i.e. FEP, ETFE, PE, PP, EVA, PVC, Paragraph 16). With respect to claim 3, Masamichi discloses that the multicore cable (1), wherein, in the plurality of insulated electric wires (10), the metal conductor wire (11) has a conductor diameter of 0.010 mm or more and 0.085 mm or less (0.051-0.079 mm, Paragraph 15). With respect to claim 6, Masamichi discloses that the multicore cable (1), wherein the plurality of insulated electric wires (10) are twisted together in a number of eight or more (Fig 1). With respect to claim 8, Masamichi discloses that the multicore cable (1), wherein the plurality of insulated electric wires (10) are signal wires for transmitting electrical signals (Paragraph 4). With respect to claim 9, Masamichi discloses that the multicore cable (1), further comprising a sheath (20) that collectively covers the plurality of insulated electric wires (10). With respect to claim 12, Masamichi discloses a multicore cable (1, Fig 1) comprising a plurality of insulated electric wires (10), excluding coaxial cables (Fig 1), wherein each insulated electrical wire (10) comprises a metal conductor wire (11) and an insulating layer (12) covering the metal conductor wire (11), wherein the plurality of insulated electric wires (10) may be twisted together (Paragraph 13). With respect to claim 13, Masamichi discloses a multicore cable (1), wherein, in the plurality of insulated electric wires (10), the metal conductor wire (11) may be a stranded wire with a circular cross-section (Fig 1), and the insulating layer (12) comprises a thermoplastic resin (i.e. FEP, ETFE, PE, PP, EVA, PVC, Paragraph 16). With respect to claim 14, Masamichi discloses that the multicore cable (1), wherein, in the plurality of insulated electric wires (10), the metal conductor wire (11) has a conductor diameter of 0.010 mm or more and 0.085 mm or less (0.051-0.079 mm, Paragraph 15). With respect to claim 17, Masamichi discloses that the multicore cable (1), wherein the plurality of insulated electric wires (10) are twisted together in a number of eight or more (Fig 1). With respect to claim 19, Masamichi discloses that the multicore cable (1), wherein the plurality of insulated electric wires (10) are signal wires for transmitting electrical signals (Paragraph 4). With respect to claims 20-21, Masamichi discloses that the multicore cable (1), further comprising a sheath (20) that collectively covers the plurality of insulated electric wires (10), wherein the sheath (20) comprises a covering layer (22) that is an outermost layer (Fig 1). With respect to claim 23, Masamichi discloses that the plurality of insulated electrical wires (10) are collectively covered by the covering layer (22, Fig 1).
However, Masamichi doesn’t necessarily disclose each of the plurality of insulated electric wires being plastically stretched in a longitudinal direction at an elongation rate of 0.5% or more and 10.0% or less (claims 1 & 12), nor the conductor being a single wire nor the insulator being a thermosetting resin (claims 2 & 13), nor the multicore cable, wherein physical properties of the metal conductor are a tensile strength of 200-700MPa and an elongation at break of 25% or more (claims 7 & 18), nor the plurality of insulated electric wires extending from the sheath at a cable end (claims 9, 20, & 21), nor the insulated wires being enamel wires (claim 22).
Hitoshi teaches a multicore cable (Figs 1-4) for usage with a medical device (Paragraph 2) and is capable of preventing an electrical short circuit, allows easy cable connection at a low cost, and has excellent flexibility (abstract). Specifically, with respect to claims 1 & 11, Hitoshi teaches a multicore cable (12, Fig 1) comprising a plurality of insulated electric wires (2), each comprising a metal conductor wire (3) and an insulating layer (4) covering the metal conductor wire (3), wherein the plurality of insulated electric wires (2) are twisted together (Paragraph 27), wherein each of the plurality of insulated electric wires (2) is plastically stretched in a longitudinal direction at an elongation rate of 0.5% or more and 10.0% or less (Paragraph 10), wherein the plurality of insulated electrical wires (2) are twisted such that a specific insulated electrical wire (2) are not always present at the center portion or an outer peripheral portion (i.e. 18 coaxial wires 2 are twisted to form bundle 12 and then seven bundles 12 are twisted, thereby the wires are constantly moving from outside to inside as both are being twisted, Paragraph 27-29). With respect to claims 2, 13, & 22, Hitoshi teaches a multicore cable (12), wherein, in the plurality of insulated electric wires (2), the metal conductor wire (3) is a single wire with a circular cross-section (Fig 2), and the insulating layer (4) comprises a thermosetting resin (i.e. enamel material, polyimide, Paragraph 21). With respect to claims 7 & 18, Hitoshi teaches that the multicore cable (12), wherein physical properties of the metal conductor wire (3) are a tensile strength of 200 MPa or more (Paragraph 10) and an elongation at break of 25% or more (Paragraph 10). With respect to claims 9, 20, & 21, Hitoshi teaches that the multicore cable (12), further comprising a sheath (14) that collectively covers the plurality of insulated electric wires (2), and the plurality of insulated electric wires (2) may extend from the sheath (14) at a cable end (i.e. terminal processability requires removing outer jacket to access the inner conductors, Paragraph 9).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the multicore cable of Masamichi to comprise the conductor configuration as taught by Hitoshi because Hitoshi teaches that such a configuration provides a multicore cable (Figs 1-4) for usage with a medical device (Paragraph 2) and is capable of preventing an electrical short circuit, allows easy cable connection at a low cost, and has excellent flexibility (abstract).
Masamichi also doesn’t necessarily disclose the plurality of insulated electric wires have a space factor of 70% or more (claims 4 & 15), nor the plurality of insulated electric wires have a twist rate of 0.5% or more and 5.0% or less (claims 5 & 16), nor the physical properties of the metal conductor wire having a tensile strength of less than 700MPa (claim 7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the multicore cable of Masamichi to comprise the plurality of insulated electric wires have a space factor of 70% or more, the plurality of insulated electric wires have a twist rate of 0.5% or more and 5.0% or less, and the physical properties of the metal conductor wire having a tensile strength of less than 700MPa since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 10 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masamichi (JP Pat Num 2018-073741A) in view of Hitoshi (JP Pat Num 2004-014337A), as applied to claim 1 above (herein referred to as modified Masamichi), further in view of Huang et al (WO2017/017778A1, herein referred to as Huang). Masamichi discloses a multicore cable (Fig 1), for usage in medical devices such as ultrasound endoscopes (Paragraph 4), and which is excellent in elasticity and flexibility (abstract), as disclosed above with respect to claim 1.
While modified Masamichi states that the cable may be terminated to electronic devices, such as medical devices (Paragraph 4), modified Masamichi doesn’t specifically disclose the cable comprising a terminal member to which the plurality of insulated electric wires are connected at an end of the multicore cable (claim 10), nor the cable further comprising: a binder tape wound around the plurality of insulated electric wires; a shield conductor arranged around an outer periphery of the binder tape; and a sheath arranged around an outer periphery of the shield conductor, the sheath being a covering layer that is an outermost layer (claim 24).
Huang teaches a multicore cable (Figs 1 & 3-5) that comprises an plurality of insulated electrical wires are commonly terminated to terminal devices and they do not easily become tangled (abstract). Specifically, with respect to claim 10, Huang teaches a multi-core cable assembly (10, Fig 1) comprising multicore cable (Fig 1) comprising a plurality of insulated electric wires (13), each comprising a metal conductor wire (not numbered) and an insulating layer (not numbered) covering the metal conductor wire (not numbered), wherein the plurality of insulated electric wires (13) are twisted together (Page 3, lines 121-132), wherein the cable (10) comprising a terminal member (51) to which the plurality of insulated electric wires (13) are connected at an end of the multicore cable (10, Fig 5). With respect to claim 24, Huang teaches that the cable (10) further comprises a binder tape (14) wound around the plurality of insulated electric wires (13), a shield conductor (15) arranged around an outer periphery of the binder tape (14), and a sheath (16) arranged around an outer periphery of the shield conductor (15), wherein the sheath (16) is a covering layer that is an outermost layer (Figs 1, Page 2, lines 72-79).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the multi-core cable of modified Masamichi to be connected to a terminal member configuration as taught by Huang because Huang teaches that such a configuration provides a multicore cable (Figs 1 & 3-5) that comprises an plurality of insulated electrical wires are commonly terminated to terminal devices and they do not easily become tangled (abstract).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10 and 12-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the enclosed PTO-892 form for the citation of pertinent art in the present case, all of which disclose various multicore cables.
Communication
/William H. Mayo III/
William H. Mayo III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
WHM III
May 18, 2026