DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 3-5, 12, 18 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
change claim 3 line 2 accordingly: “the engine axial centerline”
change claim 4 line 1 accordingly: “the plurality of apertures”
change claim 5 line 1 accordingly: “each aperture of the plurality of apertures”
change claim 12 line 1 accordingly: “each aperture of the plurality of apertures”
change claim 18 lines 4-5 accordingly: “each rotor blade of the plurality of rotor blades”
change claim 19 line 5 accordingly: “the engine axial centerline”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5,12-13,15 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 lines 13-14 recite “an offtake passage that is in part defined by the inner radial panel segment and the aft panel”. This the metes and bounds of this phrase are unclear in light of applicant specification. Applicant par. 40 states “The region between the inner radial panel 46 and the aft panel 52 may be referred to as the offtake passage 74. In the embodiments shown in FIGS. 2-4, the inner radial panel segment 46A and the portion of the aft panel 52 are generally parallel to one another and the offtake passage 74 is defined therebetween.” Thus it appears the embodiments of the offtake passage appear to be fully defined by the inner radial panel and the aft panel. There appears to be an issue of indefiniteness because the public would not know the scope of the claim communicated by “in part”. Claim 18 recites a similar limitation and is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims dependent thereon are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5,12-13,15 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pub. No.: US 2009/0155056 A1 (Brunet) as evidenced by Pub. No. US 2004/0033133 (Muny).
Regarding claim 1, Brunet discloses (see figs. 3-7) an annular compressor shroud 14,16 (see fig. 3) for a turbine engine (see “turbomachine” at title and par. 38 top; the turbomachine of Brunet can be a turbofan or in other words a turbine engine including a bypass fan; see pars. 2-3; see turbojet engine in claim 14) that extends along an engine axial centerline 12, comprising: an inner radial panel (at 30,52 in fig. 3), an outer radial panel (see annotated figure below) (panel is interpreted as “a separate or distinct part of a surface”; this is consistent with applicant disclosure stating in par. 34 “panels 46, 48, 50, collectively define an annular structure having an interior region 54”; there is no definition of panel communicated in applicant specification and thus one or ordinary skill in the art would consider the dictionary definition above to be an ordinary and customary meaning of panel), a forward panel (see annotated figs. 3 and 7 below), and an aft panel (see annotated figure below) that collectively defining an annular (structures 30,36,62 are stated as being annular; see pars. 36 and 42; one of ordinary skill in the art would understand compressor casing 14 also to be annular when reading par. 36; this is evidenced by Muny stating compressor casing 22 in fig. 1 is “annular”, see par. 14) interior region (see shading in annotated figure below wherein annular can be the cross section shown in shading or annular in the sense of like a ring about the engine centerline), wherein the inner radial panel (at 30,52 in fig. 3) is disposed radially inside (see annotated figure below) of the outer radial panel (see annotated figure below), and the forward panel (see annotated figs. 3 and 7 below) extends between (see annotated figures below) the inner radial panel and the outer radial panel and is disposed at (see annotated figure below) a forward end1 (see annotated figure below) of the compressor shroud, and the aft panel extends between (see annotated figure below) the inner radial panel and the outer radial panel and is disposed at an aft end (see annotated figure below) of the compressor shroud; an airflow exit opening (see annotated figure below) disposed within the outer radial panel, the airflow exit opening 60 being a void (opening 60 is a void in casing 14 included at the portion of casing 14 that comprises the outer radial panel; see flow F2 at void in fig. 7) within the outer radial panel; and an offtake (passage pointer of 61 in fig. 3) disposed in the inner radial panel, the offtake defined in part by an inner radial panel segment 52 of the inner radial panel, the inner radial panel segment 52 extending a distance into (see annotated figure below) the annular interior region (see shading in annotated figure below), wherein the offtake includes an offtake passage (passage extending radially outward from location 61 in fig. 3) that is in part defined by the inner radial panel segment 52 and the aft panel (see annotated figure below), the offtake in fluid communication with a gas path (air at location 10 being compressed by compressor 10 in fig. 3) and configured to direct a bleed air (see pars. 38-39) into the annular interior region (see shading in annotated figure below), wherein: the inner radial panel segment 52 has an interior surface (at 52 in fig. 3) contiguous (see annotated figure below) with the annular interior region and an exterior surface (surface opposite the interior surface in the general area of text “70” in fig. 3) that is opposite the interior surface, the exterior surface is contiguous (see annotated figure below) with the offtake passage (passage extending radially outward from location 61 in fig. 3), and a plurality of apertures 56 extend through the inner radial panel segment 52 and is configured to permit (see annotated figure below; airflow from gas path 10 enters offtake passage at 61 and can enter interior region through aperture 56 or enter interior region by traveling rearward in annotated figure below; see par. 38) airflow between the annular interior region and the offtake passage.
[AltContent: textbox (outer radial panel)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (this structure combined with structure at “62” is aft panel)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (forward panel annotated by examiner and shown in annotated fig. 7)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (inner radial panel)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (aft end)][AltContent: textbox (forward end)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arc]
Regarding claim 2, Brunet discloses (see fig. 3) the offtake (passage pointer of 61 in fig. 3) is defined by (see annotated figure above) the inner radial panel segment 52 and a portion (portion extending from gas path 10) of the aft panel (see annotated figure above), the inner radial panel segment is spaced apart (see annotated figure above) from the aft panel portion, and the offtake passage is disposed between (see annotated figure above) the inner radial panel segment and the aft panel portion.
Regarding claim 3, Brunet discloses wherein the inner radial panel segment (IRPS) 52 extends lengthwise at an IRPS angle (see acute angle below the text “10” in annotated figure above) that is acute relative to the engine axial centerline 12.
[AltContent: textbox (outer radial panel)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (this structure combined with structure at “62” is aft panel)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (forward panel (i.e. just forward of radially outward edge at F1 of structure 62; see annotated fig. 3))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 4, Brunet discloses (see fig. 3) wherein the plurality of apertures 56 are circumferentially spaced apart (see par. 37 middle: “shroud 52 includes a
multitude of air-passing holes 56 distributed around its circumference”) from one another.
Regarding claim 5, Brunet discloses (see fig. 3) wherein each aperture 56 of the plurality of apertures 56 has a first opening (see annotated figure below) at the interior surface of the inner radial panel segment 52 and a second opening (see annotated figure below) at the exterior surface of the inner radial panel segment, and the first opening has a first geometric shape and the second opening has a second geometric shape, and the first geometric shape and the second geometric shape are the same. Each of the openings has a geometric shape as shown in annotated figure below and each of such shapes is shown to be the same. Also, one of ordinary skill in the art would understands the two shapes to be the same because Brunet does not discuss the shapes as being different.
[AltContent: textbox (first opening)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (second opening)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Brunet discloses (see fig. 3) (claim 12) wherein each aperture 56 of the plurality of apertures 56 has a first opening (see annotated figure above) with a first center point (see central axis of aperture 56 passing through first center point) at the interior surface of the inner radial panel segment 52 and a second opening (see annotated figure above) with a second center point (see central axis of aperture 56 passing through second center point) at the exterior surface of the inner radial panel segment, and each aperture 56 has an aperture axis (see central axis of aperture 56 in fig. 3) that extends between the first center point and the second center point, and the aperture axis (see central axis of aperture 56 in fig. 3) extends in a direction that is skewed (one or ordinary skill in the art would understand such aperture axis is skewed when viewing fig. 3 because aperture axis is at an angle compared with engine axial centerline 12) relative to the engine axial centerline 12; (claim 13) wherein the aperture axis extends in a direction that is radially skewed relative to the engine axial centerline 12 or axially skewed relative to the engine axial centerline 12. One of ordinary skill when viewing fig. 3 that the axis of apertures 56 is radially skewed relative to the engine axial centerline 12. For example, an angle is formed between aperture axis (see central axis of aperture 56 in fig. 3) and axis 12. Further, the angle is in a radial plane of the page of fig. 3.
Regarding claim 15, Brunet discloses (see fig. 3) wherein each aperture 56 of the plurality of apertures 56 has a first opening (see annotated figure above) with a first center point (see central axis of aperture 56 passing through first center point) at the interior surface of the inner radial panel segment 52 and a second opening (see annotated figure above) with a second center point (see central axis of aperture 56 passing through second center point) at the exterior surface of the inner radial panel segment, and wherein the first center point is axially misaligned with the second center point. The first center point is axially space apart from the second center point along for example the engine axial centerline 12. This appears to be consistent as best understood with applicant disclosure. For example applicant par. 38 states “The apertures 64 shown in FIGS. 7 and 9 each include an aperture entrance on the interior
surface 56 that is misaligned (i.e., radially misaligned) with the aperture exit on the exterior surface 58)” wherein fig. 7 for example shows the aperture entrance at a different radial location than the aperture entrance. Thus axially misaligned could communicate the first center point at a different axial location than the second center point.
Regarding claim 18, Brunet discloses (see figs. 3-7) a gas turbine engine (see “turbomachine” at title and par. 38 top; the turbomachine of Brunet is a turbofan or in other words a turbine engine including a bypass fan; see pars. 2-3; see turbojet engine in claim 14) having an engine axial centerline 12, comprising: a compressor section 10 having a rotor blade stage 18 and a stator vane stage 24, wherein the rotor blade stage 18 comprises a plurality of rotor blades (see one of the plurality of rotor blades at location 18, for example at least two rotor blades; one of ordinary skill in the art understands that a rotor stage has a plurality of compressor blades; this is evidenced by Muny, see compressor blades 16 of rotor stage 12 at par. 13), and wherein each rotor blade comprises a blade tip (see radially outward tip of blade at location 18, the tip being just below structure at 36 in fig. 3), and wherein the stator vane stage comprises a plurality of stator vanes (see “stator vanes 24” at par. 36 middle wherein ref. character 24 is also used to describe the vanes); a combustor section (see par. 36 top); and a turbine section (a turbine section is an inherent portion of a gas turbine engine; see “the turbine of the turbojet” in par. 3 and this is evidenced by Muny par. 3; wherein the compressor section further includes an annular (structure 16 is annular, see par. 36 middle; one of ordinary skill in the art would understand compressor casing 14 to be annular when reading par. 36; this is evidenced by Muny stating compressor casing 22 in fig. 1 is “annular”, see par. 14) compressor shroud 14,16, the compressor shroud including: an inner radial panel (at 30,52 in fig. 3), an outer radial panel (see annotated figure below) (panel is interpreted as “a separate or distinct part of a surface”; this is consistent with applicant disclosure stating in par. 34 “panels 46, 48, 50, collectively define an annular structure having an interior region 54”; there is no definition of panel communicated in applicant specification and thus one or ordinary skill in the art would consider the dictionary definition above to be an ordinary and customary meaning of panel), a forward panel (see annotated figs. 3 and 7 below), and an aft panel (see annotated figure below) that collectively defining an annular (structures 30,36,62 are stated as being annular; see pars. 36 and 42; one of ordinary skill in the art would understand compressor casing 14 also to be annular when reading par. 36; this is evidenced by Muny stating compressor casing 22 in fig. 1 is “annular”, see par. 14) interior region (see shading in annotated figure below), wherein the inner radial panel (at 30,52 in fig. 3) is disposed radially inside (see annotated figure below) of the outer radial panel (see annotated figure below), and the forward panel (see annotated figs. 3 and 7 below) extends between (see annotated figures below) the inner radial panel and the outer radial panel and is disposed at (see annotated figure below) a forward end (see annotated figure below) of the compressor shroud, and the aft panel extends between (see annotated figure below) the inner radial panel and the outer radial panel and is disposed at an aft end (see annotated figure below) of the compressor shroud; an airflow exit opening (see annotated figure below) disposed within the outer radial panel; and an offtake (passage pointer of 61 in fig. 3) disposed in the inner radial panel, the offtake defined in part by an inner radial panel segment 52 of the inner radial panel, the inner radial panel segment 52 extending a distance into (see annotated figure below) the annular interior region (see shading in annotated figure below), wherein the offtake includes an offtake passage (passage extending radially outward from location 61 in fig. 3) that is in part defined by the inner radial panel segment 52 and the aft panel (see annotated figure below), the offtake in fluid communication with a gas path (air at location 10 being compressed by compressor 10 in fig. 3) and configured to direct a bleed air (see pars. 38-39) into the annular interior region (see shading in annotated figure below), wherein: the inner radial panel segment 52 has an interior surface (at 52 in fig. 3) contiguous (see annotated figure below) with the annular interior region and an exterior surface (surface opposite the interior surface in the general area of text “70” in fig. 3) that is opposite the interior surface, the exterior surface contiguous (see annotated figure below) with the offtake passage (passage extending radially outward from location 61 in fig. 3), and a plurality of apertures 56 is defined in the inner radial panel segment 52 and is configured to permit (see annotated figure below; airflow from gas path 10 enters offtake passage at 61 and can enter interior region through aperture 56 or enter interior region by traveling rearward in annotated figure below; see par. 38) airflow between the annular interior region and the offtake passage; and wherein the rotor blade tip of each rotor blade of the plurality of rotor blades is radially aligned with the offtake (blade tip of rotor blade at location 18 is radially aligned with offtake portion, the offtake shown in shading in annotated figure below; because structures 30 and 36 are annular, see par. 36, then one of ordinary skill in the art would also understand the offtake at location 61 is also annular and thus claimed radial alignment would apply to at least two rotor blades).
Regarding claim 19, Brunet discloses (see fig. 3) the offtake (passage pointer of 61 in fig. 3) is defined by (see annotated figure above) the inner radial panel segment 52 and a portion (portion extending from gas path 10) of the aft panel (see annotated figure above), wherein the inner radial panel segment is spaced apart (see annotated figure above) from the aft panel portion, and the offtake passage is disposed between (see annotated figure above) the inner radial panel segment and the aft panel portion, and the inner radial panel segment (IRPS) 52 extends lengthwise at an IRPS angle (see acute angle below the text “10” in annotated figure above) that is acute relative to the engine axial centerline 12. The term “radially aligned” can be interpreted as meaning there is a radial from the engine centerline that intersects both the blade tip and the offtake.
[AltContent: arrow]
Claim(s) 1-5 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pub. No.: US 2017/0254274 A1 (Thomas).
Regarding claim 1, Thomas discloses (see figs. 1, 2 and 4) an annular compressor shroud 50,52 for a turbine engine 10 that extends along an engine axial centerline 12, comprising: an inner radial panel (see annotated figure below), an outer radial panel (see annotated figure below), a forward panel (see annotated figure below), and an aft panel (see annotated figure below) that collectively defining an annular interior region (annular plenums 80,82 and region in between the plenums), wherein the inner radial panel is disposed radially inside (see annotated figure below) of the outer radial panel, and the forward panel extends between (see annotated figure below) the inner radial panel and the outer radial panel and is disposed at a forward end (see annotated figure below) of the compressor shroud, and the aft panel extends between (the term “between” can be interpreted as “connecting spatially”; The Free Dictionary online, www.thefreedictionary.com) (see annotated figure below) the inner radial panel and the outer radial panel and is disposed at an aft end (see annotated figure below) of the compressor shroud; an airflow exit opening 74,86 disposed within (see annotated figure below) the outer radial panel (see annotated figure below), the airflow exit opening 86,74 being a void 86,74 within the outer radial panel; and an offtake 56 disposed in the inner radial panel (see annotated figure below), the offtake defined in part by an inner radial panel segment 88,90 of the inner radial panel, the inner radial panel segment 88,90 extending a distance into the annular interior region (annular plenums 80,82 and region in between the plenums), wherein the offtake includes an offtake passage (see arrows in fig. 4 showing air pass through passage of offtake 56) that is in part defined by (see annotated figure below) the inner radial panel segment and the aft panel, the offtake in fluid communication with a gas path 38 and configured to direct a bleed air (air bled from gas 38 through offtake; see bleed path 62 for example) into the annular interior region, wherein: the inner radial panel segment has an interior surface (see e.g. surface contiguous with region portion 80) contiguous with the annular interior region (annular plenums 80,82 and region in between the plenums) and an exterior surface (at location 88 in fig. 4 and radially inward thereof) that is opposite the interior surface, the exterior surface is contiguous (see annotated figure below) with the offtake passage, and a plurality of apertures 87 extend through the inner radial panel segment and is configured to permit airflow 62 between the annular interior region and the offtake passage.
[AltContent: ]
[AltContent: textbox (outer radial panel)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (aft panel (see fig. 2))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (forward panel )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (inner radial panel)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (aft end)][AltContent: textbox (forward end)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 2, Thomas discloses (see figs. 1, 2 and 4) wherein: the offtake (56; also see shading in annotated figure above) is defined by the inner radial panel segment 88 and a portion of the aft panel (see annotated figure above), the inner radial panel segment (see annotated figure above) is spaced apart from the aft panel portion, and the offtake passage is disposed between (see annotated figure above) the inner radial panel segment and the aft panel portion.
Regarding claim 3, Thomas discloses (see figs. 1, 2 and 4) wherein the inner radial panel segment (IRPS) 88,90 extends lengthwise at an IRPS angle (see annotated figure below) that is acute relative to the engine axial centerline 12.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arc][AltContent: textbox (acute angle)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 4, Thomas discloses (see figs. 1, 2 and 4) wherein the plurality of apertures 87 are circumferentially spaced apart from one another. Structure 90 is annular (see par. 25) and thus one or ordinary skill in the art would understand when viewing fig. 4 and such apertures 87 are circumferentially spaced.
Regarding claim 5, Thomas discloses (see figs. 1, 2 and 4) wherein each aperture 87 of the plurality of apertures has a first opening (see annotated figure below) at the interior surface of the inner radial panel segment and a second opening (see annotated figure below) at the exterior surface of the inner radial panel segment 88,90, and the first opening has a first geometric shape and the second opening has a second geometric shape, and the first geometric shape and the second geometric shape are the same (because valve 60 threaded by the apertures 87,102 into structure 90 than one of ordinary skill int the art would understand that “same geometric shape” limitation is met by Thomas; it is noted that the claimed apertures appear to be described as both apertures 87 and apertures 102, see pars. 26-27; the threads 100 in fig. 5 mate with the apertures 87 in fig. 4 and thus first and second openings have same geometric shape).
[AltContent: textbox (second opening)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (first opening)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval][AltContent: textbox (center point)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 15, Thomas discloses (see figs. 1, 2 and 4) wherein each aperture has a first opening (see annotated figure above) with a first center point (see annotated center points in annotated figure above) at the interior surface of the inner radial panel segment and a second opening (see annotated figure above) with a second center point (see annotated center points in annotated figure above) at the exterior surface of the inner radial panel segment, and wherein the first center point is axially misaligned with the second center point. The first center point is axially space apart from the second center point along for example the engine axial centerline 12. This appears to be consistent as best understood with applicant disclosure. For example applicant par. 38 states “The apertures 64 shown in FIGS. 7 and 9 each include an aperture entrance on the interior surface 56 that is misaligned (i.e., radially misaligned) with the aperture exit on the exterior surface 58)” wherein fig. 7 for example shows the aperture entrance at a different radial location than the aperture entrance. Thus axially misaligned could communicate the first center point at a different axial location than the second center point.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas in view of US 6,574,965 B1 (Feulner).
Regarding claim 18, Thomas discloses (see figs. 1, 2 and 4) a gas turbine engine 10 having an engine axial centerline 12, comprising: a compressor section 18 having a rotor blade stage (at location of text “56” in Thomas fig. 4; this is a stage of blades as evidenced by Feulner blade 56 stage 26 in fig. 3) and a stator vane stage (at location of text “46” in Thomas fig. 4; this is a stage of vanes as evidenced by Feulner blade 34 stage 28 in fig. 3), wherein the rotor blade stage comprises a plurality of rotor blades (at location of text “56”), and wherein each rotor blade of the plurality of rotor blades comprises a blade tip (radially outward extent of blade), and wherein the stator vane stage comprises a plurality of stator vanes (at location of text “46” in Thomas fig. 4); a combustor section 20; and a turbine section 22,24; wherein the compressor section further includes an annular compressor shroud 50,52, the compressor shroud including: an inner radial panel (see annotated figure above), an outer radial panel (see annotated figure above), a forward panel (see annotated figure above), and an aft panel (see annotated figure above) that collectively defining an annular interior region (annular plenums 80,82 and region in between the plenums), wherein the inner radial panel is disposed radially inside (see annotated figure above) of the outer radial panel, and the forward panel extends between (see annotated figure above) the inner radial panel and the outer radial panel and is disposed at a forward end (see annotated figure above) of the compressor shroud, and the aft panel extends between (the term “between” can be interpreted as “connecting spatially”; The Free Dictionary online, www.thefreedictionary.com) (see annotated figure above) the inner radial panel and the outer radial panel and is disposed at an aft end (see annotated figure above) of the compressor shroud; and an offtake 56 disposed in the inner radial panel (see annotated figure above), the offtake defined in part by an inner radial panel segment 88,90 of the inner radial panel, the inner radial panel segment 88,90 extending a distance into the annular interior region (annular plenums 80,82 and region in between the plenums), wherein the offtake includes an offtake passage (see arrows in fig. 4 showing air pass through passage of offtake 56) that is in part defined by (see annotated figure above) the inner radial panel segment and the aft panel, the offtake in fluid communication with a gas path 38 and configured to direct a bleed air (air bled from gas 38 through offtake; see bleed path 62 for example) into the annular interior region, wherein: the inner radial panel segment has an interior surface (see e.g. surface contiguous with region portion 80) contiguous with the annular interior region (annular plenums 80,82 and region in between the plenums) and an exterior surface (at location 88 in fig. 4 and radially inward thereof) that is opposite the interior surface, the exterior surface is contiguous (see annotated figure above) with the offtake passage, and a plurality of apertures 87 is defined in the inner radial panel segment and is configured to permit airflow 62 between the annular interior region and the offtake passage. Thomas does not disclose wherein the rotor blade tip of each rotor blade of the plurality of rotor blades is radially aligned with the offtake.
Feulner teaches a gas turbine 10 (see fig. 1) and further teaches (see fig. 3) a rotor blade tip 54 of each rotor blade 34 of a plurality of rotor blades 34 is radially aligned (for example when the blade is rotated near the offtake 62) with an offtake 62.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide Thomas with wherein the rotor blade tip of each rotor blade of the plurality of rotor blades is radially aligned with the offtake as taught by Feulner in order to facilitate improving gas turbine efficiency and stability without sacrificing performance (see Feulner col. 2, ll. 30-37).
Regarding claim 19, Thomas in view of Feulner teach the current invention as claimed and discussed above. Thomas discloses (see figs. 1, 2 and 4) wherein: the offtake (56; also see shading in annotated figure above) is defined by the inner radial panel segment 88 and a portion of the aft panel (see annotated figure above), wherein the inner radial panel segment (see annotated figure above) is spaced apart from the aft panel portion, and the offtake passage is disposed between (see annotated figure above) the inner radial panel segment and the aft panel portion, and the inner radial panel segment (IRPS) 88,90 extends lengthwise at an IRPS angle (see annotated figure above) that is acute relative to the engine axial centerline 12.
Response to Arguments
The arguments filed 02/17/2026 were considered, but new references were used to reject the claims and therefor the arguments were moot.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
use of the term “radially aligned”: US 20080050218 (par. 37);
gas turbine “panels” may be angled: US 20150330247 (par. 97); and
use of the term “axially misaligned”: US 20150300258 (par. 42).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARC AMAR/Examiner, Art Unit 3741 /DEVON C KRAMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741
1 The compressor shroud is shown between annotations “forward end” and “aft end” in annotated fig. 3 (the instant compressor shroud can be a compressor shroud of an overall compressor shroud; for example portions of compressor shroud 42 shown in each of applicant figs. 2 and 3 are portions of overall compressor shroud 42 in fig. 1).