DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a fan disposed on an upper side of the first inlet hole and configured to suction air introduced into the first inlet hole”, and then it also recites “air is suctioned through the first inlet hole and the second inlet hole”. It’s not clear as to whether air is suctioned by the fan through the first inlet hole, or both the first and second inlet holes.
Claim 7 recites “the flow path forming panel is provided in a plurality”. It’s not clear as to how one panel is provided in a plurality.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the plurality of flow path forming panels" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In light of the issues in claim 7, examiner recommend applicant to change “a flow path forming panel” to “at least one flow path forming panel”, and delete limitation in line 2 of claim 7.
Claim 16 recites “the flow path forming panel is provided in a plurality”. It’s not clear as to how one panel is provided in a plurality.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the plurality of flow path forming panels" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In light of the issues in claim 16, examiner recommend applicant to change “a flow path forming panel” to “at least one flow path forming panel”, and delete limitation in line 7 of claim 13.
Claim 19 recites “air passing through the second inlet hole is divided to the rear flow path and suctioned into the fan” in last line. It’s not clear what structure divides the air flow. Examiner recommend applicant to amend this limitation to (and for examining purpose, examiner interprets this limitation is) “air passing through the second inlet hole is directed to the rear flow path and suctioned into the fan”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kang (US 6018158).
Regarding claim 1, Kang teaches a cooking apparatus comprising:
an outer case (151, fig 4-5) with a lower surface (bottom surface that includes inlet holes 131 shown in fig 5) including a first inlet hole and a second inlet hole (fig 5 shows two inlet holes 131);
an inner case (151, fig 5) accommodated within the outer case and in which a cooking chamber (160, fig 5) is formed;
a fan (see fig 5 and annotated fig 1) disposed on an upper side of the first inlet hole (fan 133 is above inlet hole 131 as viewed in fig 5) and configured to suction air introduced into the first inlet hole such that air is suctioned through the first inlet hole and the second inlet hole (See fig 5 for airflow direction); and
a rear flow path (rear portion of 180, fig 5) formed at a rear of the inner case (Col 2 lines 59-62, “The space between the inner casing 152 and the outer casing 151 forms an air duct 180. The air duct 180 is formed through the side portion and the upper portion of the microwave oven 130”. Col 2 lines 65-66, “On the left hand of the cooking chamber 160 in the air duct 180, a ventilator 135 is installed”. A rear portion of air duct 180 is provided at a rear of inner case) in communication with the fan such that air suctioned through the second inlet hole is guided to the fan.
[AltContent: textbox (Sub-fan)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (fan)][AltContent: textbox (annotated fig 1)]
Regarding claim 2, Kang teaches a sub fan (see fig 5 and annotated fig 1) in communication with one side of the rear flow path and disposed on an upper side (as viewed in fig 4, fans 133 are above inlet holes 131) of the second inlet hole such that air passed through the second inlet hole is introduced into the rear flow path.
Regarding claim 3, Kang teaches the sub fan is disposed at a rear side (See explanation in claim 1) of the inner case to be in communication with the rear flow path.
Regarding claim 4, Kang teaches one end (the space above fan) of the rear flow path is in communication with the fan and the other end (space below sub fan) of the rear flow path is in communication with the sub fan so that air discharged from the sub fan flows to the fan via the rear flow path (air flowing out of sub fan inherently has to flow to the fan).
Regarding claim 9, Kang teaches the fan includes a plurality of inlets, and one of the plurality of inlets (there are inlets to the left side and the right side of the motor shaft that connects motor 134 with fan 133) is in communication with the rear flow path.
Regarding claim 11, Kang teaches the fan is disposed between the outer case and the inner case(see claim 1 explanation) such that air introduced into the outer case is discharged to outside of the cooking apparatus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (US 6018158) in view of Zhang (US 20190113241).
Regarding claim 10, Kang teaches all the limitations of claim 9.
Kang fails to teach a first filter mounted on a bottom surface of the outer case to cover the first inlet hole and arranged adjacent to the fan so that a portion of the air passing through the first filter is directly suctioned into the fan; and a second filter mounted on a bottom surface of the outer case to cover the second inlet hole and arranged spaced apart from the fan so that a portion of the air passing through the second filter is diverted into the rear flow path and suctioned into the fan.
Zhang teaches a first filter mounted on a bottom surface of the outer case to cover the first inlet hole and arranged adjacent to the fan so that a portion of the air passing through the first filter is directly suctioned into the fan; and a second filter mounted on a bottom surface of the outer case to cover the second inlet hole (See fig 6 and [0050] “left exhaust inlet cover 54 and right exhaust inlet cover 56 comprises a mesh filter for filtering contaminated exhaust air as it is drawn in”) and arranged spaced apart from a fan (See fig 7, fan 66 is spaced apart from the bottom surface)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kang as taught by Zhang by adding filters to the inlets in order to filter harmful particles in the air and allow clean air to be exhausted out of kitchen.
As modified Kang in view of Zhang teaches the functional limitation “a portion of the air passing through the second filter is directed into the rear flow path and suctioned into the fan.”
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (US 6018158) in view of Zhang (US 20190113241).
Regarding claim 19, Kang teaches a cooking apparatus comprising:
an outer case (151, fig 4-5) with a lower surface (bottom surface that includes inlet holes 131 shown in fig 5) including a first inlet hole and a second inlet hole (fig 5 shows two inlet holes 131);
an inner case (151, fig 5) accommodated within the outer case and in which a cooking chamber (160, fig 5) is formed;
a fan (see fig 5 and annotated fig 1) disposed on an outer side (Col 2 lines 59-62, “The space between the inner casing 152 and the outer casing 151 forms an air duct 180. The air duct 180 is formed through the side portion and the upper portion of the microwave oven 130”. Col 2 lines 65-66, “On the left hand of the cooking chamber 160 in the air duct 180, a ventilator 135 is installed”. A rear portion of air duct 180 is provided at a rear of inner case and fan is located in air duct 180) of the inner case such that air passed through at least one of the first inlet hole or the second inlet hole is suctioned;
and a rear flow path (rear portion of 180, fig 5) formed at a rear of the inner case (Col 2 lines 59-62, “The space between the inner casing 152 and the outer casing 151 forms an air duct 180. The air duct 180 is formed through the side portion and the upper portion of the microwave oven 130”. Col 2 lines 65-66, “On the left hand of the cooking chamber 160 in the air duct 180, a ventilator 135 is installed”. A rear portion of air duct 180 is provided at a rear of inner case) for air from at least one of the first inlet hole or the second inlet hole to be guided to the fan,
wherein the first inlet hole is arranged adjacent to the fan such that air passing through the first inlet hole is directly suctioned into the fan, and the second inlet hole is arranged at a side of the first inlet hole such that air passing through the second inlet hole is directed to the rear flow path and suctioned into the fan (see air flow direction and arrangement of fan assembly and inlets 131 in fig 5).
Kang fails to teach a first filter and a second filter mounted on the outer case to cover the first inlet hole and the second inlet hole, respectively
Zhang teaches a first filter and a second filter mounted on the outer case to cover the first inlet hole and the second inlet hole, respectively (See fig 6 and [0050] “left exhaust inlet cover 54 and right exhaust inlet cover 56 comprises a mesh filter for filtering contaminated exhaust air as it is drawn in”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kang as taught by Zhang by adding filters to the inlets in order to filter harmful particles in the air and allow clean air to be exhausted out of kitchen.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 7-8, 16-18, 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 13-15 are allowed.
Conclusion
/KO-WEI LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762