DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. Amendments filed on 01/20/2026 are entered for prosecution. Claims 1-7 and 9-20 remain pending in the application. No new matter has been added and the current Office Action is made FINAL as necessitated by the claim amendments.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-7 and 9-20 and filed 01/20/2026 (hereinafter, Remarks) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
4. Regarding claim 1, the applicant disagrees that Guo does not anticipate claim 1. Specifically, “(Remarks Page 8) Guo at par. 0072, however, does not disclose 2nd configuration parameters indicating that the 1st carrier is used for scheduling SL transmissions on carrier 610. And Fig. 6 shows only that the 1st UE that transmits indication of a resource reservation associated with SL in the first carrier 610 to the 2nd UE. None of Fig. 6, and/or any of pars. 71 through 79, however, teach that the 1st UE receives 1st configuration parameters of a 1st carrier 610 and a 2nd carrier 615; and 2nd configuration parameters indicating that the 1st carrier 610 is used for scheduling sidelink transmissions on the 2nd carrier 615, as claimed”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner cited GUO beyond Fig. 6 and pars. 71-79, such as, Fig. 7B and pars. 82-86 in order to show that GUO, does anticipate claim 1.
The base station may consider multiple factors when determining which carriers to use for scheduling sidelink transmission(s) ([0073] Aspects of the determination indicated by reference number 620, including factors considered by the base station 110 and/or the Tx/Rx UE 305 when making the determination). These factors include the UE’s carrier capability ([0083] the Tx/Rx UE 305 may transmit an indication of the carrier capability of the Rx/Tx UE 310 to the base station 110, and the base station 110 may determine which control channels to use to transmit the indication of the resource reservation (e.g., whether to use the PSCCH 415a associated with the first component carrier, whether to use the PSCCH 415b associated with the second component carrier, or whether to use both the PSCCH 415a associated with the first component carrier and the PSCCH 415b associated with the second component carrier), as described above in connection with reference number 620).
Once the base station determines which carrier should be used, the base station will transmit a second configuration parameters indicating that carrier (e.g., the first carrier) is used for scheduling sidelink transmissions ([0073] In aspects in which the base station 110 determines whether to use the first control channel and/or the second control channel for transmitting the control information, the Tx/Rx UE 305 may receive, from the base station 110, an indication of whether to use the first control channel or the second control channel; [0083] the indication of the resource reservation (e.g., whether to use the PSCCH 415a associated with the first component carrier, whether to use the PSCCH 415b associated with the second component carrier, or whether to use both the PSCCH 415a associated with the first component carrier and the PSCCH 415b associated with the second component carrier)) on any other carrier of the plurality of carriers (Fig. 7B – PSCCH 415a is associated with both PSSCH 420a (CC1) and PSSCH 420b (CC2); ([0082] as indicated by arrow 725, the PSCCH 415a associated with the first component carrier may be used to indicate a resource reservation in one or more instances of the PSSCH 420a associated with the first component carrier as well as one or more instances of the PSSCH 420b associated with the second component carrier).
Therefore, GUO does teach and suggest the method of claim 1, receiving, by a first user equipment (UE):
first configuration parameters of a plurality of carriers comprising a first carrier and a second carrier ([0072] the Tx/Rx UE 305 may receive, from the base station 110, a configuration of a first resource pool associated with a first component carrier 610 and a second resource pool associated with a second component carrier 615… a resource pool is a set of resources available for sidelink communication… a resource pool is a set of resources configured for (e.g., assigned for) sidelink communication); and
one or more second configuration parameters indicating that the first carrier is used for scheduling sidelink transmissions on any other carrier of the plurality of carriers ([0073] In aspects in which the base station 110 determines whether to use the first control channel and/or the second control channel for transmitting the control information, the Tx/Rx UE 305 may receive, from the base station 110, an indication of whether to use the first control channel or the second control channel. Aspects of the determination indicated by reference number 620, including factors considered by the base station 110 and/or the Tx/Rx UE 305 when making the determination; [0083] the base station 110 may determine which control channels to use to transmit the indication of the resource reservation (e.g., whether to use the PSCCH 415a associated with the first component carrier, whether to use the PSCCH 415b associated with the second component carrier, or whether to use both the PSCCH 415a associated with the first component carrier and the PSCCH 415b associated with the second component carrier), as described above in connection with reference number 620; Fig. 7B – PSCCH 415a is associated with both PSSCH 420a (CC1) and PSSCH 420b (CC2); ([0082] as indicated by arrow 725, the PSCCH 415a associated with the first component carrier may be used to indicate a resource reservation in one or more instances of the PSSCH 420a associated with the first component carrier as well as one or more instances of the PSSCH 420b associated with the second component carrier),
transmitting, by the first UE and for sidelink communications with a second UE via the second carrier ([0056] first UE 405-1 may communicate with a second UE 405-2 (and one or more other UEs 405) via one or more sidelink channels 410; [0074] As indicated by reference numbers 625a and 625b, the Tx/Rx UE 305 may transmit, to the Rx/Tx UE 310, an indication of a resource reservation associated with a sidelink communication. In some aspects, the indication of the resource reservation indicates… a second set of resources associated with the second resource pool (e.g., associated with the second component carrier 615) …in the determination indicated by reference number 620, that the second control channel should be used, the indication of the resource reservation associated with the sidelink communication is transmitted in the second component carrier 615),
first sidelink control information (SCI) via the first carrier ([0073] the Tx/Rx UE 305 may transmit control information including an indication of a resource reservation to the Rx/Tx UE 310 using an SCI-1 (first SCI) communication provided in a PSCCH 415… the Tx/Rx UE 305 may determine whether to use a PSCCH 415 associated with the first component carrier 610 for transmitting the control information; [0086] two SCI-1 messages may be transmitted in the PSCCH 415a associated with the first component carrier); and
transmitting, by the first UE to the second UE via the second carrier ([0056]; [0074]), a transport block based on the first SCI (Fig. 4; Fig. 7B; [0057] a transport block (TB) 435 may be carried on the PSSCH 420; [0092] In some aspects, the Tx/Rx UE 305 may transmit a transmission (e.g., a TB or the like) over multiple component carriers (including CC1 and CC2) in order to, for example, improve reliability … In such aspects, an SCI message (e.g., an SCI-1 message (first SCI) and/or an SCI-2 message) may include an indication that the TB will be swept across the multiple component carriers; [0082] as indicated by arrow 725, the PSCCH 415a associated with the first component carrier may be used to indicate a resource reservation (SCI-1) in one or more instances of the PSSCH 420a (TB is carried on PSSCH indicated by SCI-1) associated with the first component carrier as well as one or more instances of the PSSCH 420b (TB is carried on PSSCH indicated by SCI-1) associated with the second component carrier).
The applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
5. Regarding claims 2-7 and 9-20, applicant submits the same arguments as presented above. Thus, the Examiner applies the same reasoning as presented above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-6, 9, 12-14, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by GUO et al. (US 20250056584 A1, hereafter GUO).
Regarding claim 1, GUO discloses a method of sidelink control information transmission (GUO; Fig. 6), comprising the steps of:
receiving, by a first user equipment (UE):
first configuration parameters of a plurality of carriers comprising a first carrier and a second carrier ([0072] the Tx/Rx UE 305 may receive, from the base station 110, a configuration of a first resource pool associated with a first component carrier 610 and a second resource pool associated with a second component carrier 615… a resource pool is a set of resources available for sidelink communication… a resource pool is a set of resources configured for (e.g., assigned for) sidelink communication; [0056] first UE 405-1 may communicate with a second UE 405-2 (and one or more other UEs 405) via one or more sidelink channels 410. Additionally… the first UE 405-1 may correspond to one of the Tx/Rx UE 305 or the Rx/Tx UE 310, and the second UE 405-2 may correspond to the other of the Tx/Rx UE 305 or the Rx/Tx UE 310 (first UE 405-1 corresponds to UE 305 and second UE 405-2 corresponds to UE 310); [0082] a control channel (e.g., PSCCH 415) in one component carrier carries control information (e.g., indicates a resource reservation) for both the first component carrier and the second component carrier; the PSCCH 415a associated with the first component carrier may be used to indicate a resource reservation in one or more instances of the PSSCH 420a associated with the first component carrier as well as one or more instances of the PSSCH 420b associated with the second component carrier); and
one or more second configuration parameters indicating that the first carrier is used for scheduling sidelink transmissions on any other carrier of the plurality of carriers ([0083] the Tx/Rx UE 305 may transmit an indication of the carrier capability of the Rx/Tx UE 310 to the base station 110, and the base station 110 may determine which control channels to use to transmit the indication of the resource reservation (e.g., whether to use the PSCCH 415a associated with the first component carrier, whether to use the PSCCH 415b associated with the second component carrier, or whether to use both the PSCCH 415a associated with the first component carrier and the PSCCH 415b associated with the second component carrier), as described above in connection with reference number 620; [0073] In aspects in which the base station 110 determines whether to use the first control channel and/or the second control channel for transmitting the control information, the Tx/Rx UE 305 may receive, from the base station 110, an indication of whether to use the first control channel or the second control channel. Aspects of the determination indicated by reference number 620, including factors considered by the base station 110 and/or the Tx/Rx UE 305 when making the determination; Fig. 7B – PSCCH 415a is associated with both PSSCH 420a (CC1) and PSSCH 420b (CC2); ([0082] as indicated by arrow 725, the PSCCH 415a associated with the first component carrier may be used to indicate a resource reservation in one or more instances of the PSSCH 420a associated with the first component carrier as well as one or more instances of the PSSCH 420b associated with the second component carrier),
transmitting, by the first UE and for sidelink communications with a second UE via the second carrier ([0056] first UE 405-1 may communicate with a second UE 405-2 (and one or more other UEs 405) via one or more sidelink channels 410; [0074] As indicated by reference numbers 625a and 625b, the Tx/Rx UE 305 may transmit, to the Rx/Tx UE 310, an indication of a resource reservation associated with a sidelink communication. In some aspects, the indication of the resource reservation indicates… a second set of resources associated with the second resource pool (e.g., associated with the second component carrier 615) …in the determination indicated by reference number 620, that the second control channel should be used, the indication of the resource reservation associated with the sidelink communication is transmitted in the second component carrier 615),
first sidelink control information (SCI) via the first carrier ([0073] the Tx/Rx UE 305 may transmit control information including an indication of a resource reservation to the Rx/Tx UE 310 using an SCI-1 (first SCI) communication provided in a PSCCH 415… the Tx/Rx UE 305 may determine whether to use a PSCCH 415 associated with the first component carrier 610 for transmitting the control information; [0086] two SCI-1 messages may be transmitted in the PSCCH 415a associated with the first component carrier); and
transmitting, by the first UE to the second UE via the second carrier ([0056]; [0074]), a transport block based on the first SCI (Fig. 4; Fig. 7B; [0057] a transport block (TB) 435 may be carried on the PSSCH 420; [0092] In some aspects, the Tx/Rx UE 305 may transmit a transmission (e.g., a TB or the like) over multiple component carriers (including CC1 and CC2) in order to, for example, improve reliability … In such aspects, an SCI message (e.g., an SCI-1 message (first SCI) and/or an SCI-2 message) may include an indication that the TB will be swept across the multiple component carriers; [0082] as indicated by arrow 725, the PSCCH 415a associated with the first component carrier may be used to indicate a resource reservation (SCI-1) in one or more instances of the PSSCH 420a (TB is carried on PSSCH indicated by SCI-1) associated with the first component carrier as well as one or more instances of the PSSCH 420b (TB is carried on PSSCH indicated by SCI-1) associated with the second component carrier).
Regarding claim 2, GUO further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first sidelink control information (SCI) is a first-stage SCI in multi-stage SCI transmission ([0058] the SCI 430 may include multiple communications in different stages, such as a first stage SCI (SCI-1) and a second stage SCI (SCI-2). The SCI-1 may be transmitted on the PSCCH 415. The SCI-2 may be transmitted on the PSSCH 420).
Regarding claim 3, GUO further discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising transmitting a second-stage side control information (SCI) via the second carrier ([0058] The SCI-2 may be transmitted on the PSSCH 420; [0082] the PSSCH 420b associated with the second component carrier; Fig. 7B).
Regarding claim 4, GUO further discloses the method of claim 3, wherein transmitting the transport block is further based on the second-stage side control information (SCI) ([0092] an SCI message (e.g., an SCI-1 message and/or an SCI-2 message) may indicate that a TB will be transmitted over multiple component carriers; Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 5, GUO further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the first configuration parameters is based on dedicated signaling ([0072] the configuration indicated by reference number 605 (which, in some aspects, may be received via RRC signaling (Note that the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of “dedicated signaling” includes RRC signaling because, according to [0005] of the instant specification and as recited in claim 6, “the dedicated signaling comprises radio resource control (RRC) signaling”)) may include a configuration of a first set of time and/or frequency resources available for performing sidelink communication; Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 6, GUO further discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the dedicated signaling comprises radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0072]).
Regarding claim 9, GUO further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first configuration parameters indicate that the first user equipment (UE) is configured with sidelink carrier aggregation ([0065] A base station 110 may configure carrier aggregation for a UE 120, such as in an RRC message, DCI, and/or another signaling message; [0072] In some aspects, the first component carrier 610 and the second component carrier 615 may be employed for purposes of carrier aggregation and/or multi-carrier resource scheduling as described above in connection with FIG. 5; Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 12, GUO further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first configuration parameters indicate a configuration of sidelink carrier aggregation ([0065] A base station 110 may configure carrier aggregation for a UE 120, such as in an RRC message, DCI, and/or another signaling message; [0072] In some aspects, the first component carrier 610 and the second component carrier 615 (first CC (610) and second CC (615) are used to transmit indication of a resource reservation (SCI) associated with sidelink communication) may be employed for purposes of carrier aggregation and/or multi-carrier resource scheduling as described above in connection with FIG. 5; Fig. 6) based on traffic type ([0061] the UE 405 may perform resource selection and/or scheduling using SCI 430 received in the PSCCH 415, which may indicate occupied resources and/or channel parameters. Additionally, or alternatively, the UE 405 may perform resource selection and/or scheduling by determining a channel busy rate (CBR) associated with various sidelink channels (CBR is based on the density of traffic. The traffic could have high or low density – hence traffic type), which may be used for rate control (e.g., by indicating a maximum number of resource blocks that the UE 405 can use for a particular set of subframes); [0067] In carrier aggregation, a UE 120 may be configured with a primary carrier or primary cell (PCell) and one or more secondary carriers or secondary cells (SCells). In some aspects, the primary carrier may carry control information (e.g., downlink control information and/or scheduling information) for scheduling data communications on one or more secondary carriers, which may be referred to as cross-carrier scheduling. In some aspects, a carrier (e.g., a primary carrier or a secondary carrier) may carry control information for scheduling data communications on the carrier, which may be referred to as self-carrier scheduling or carrier self-scheduling; hence the configuration of sidelink carrier aggregation is based on whether carrier carries data traffic type or control traffic type).
Regarding claim 13, GUO further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first configuration parameters indicate a configuration of sidelink carrier aggregation ([0069] In some other aspects, data transmissions on each of multiple component carriers are scheduled using an SCI-1 and/or a PSCCH channel associated with one of the multiple component carriers) based on network preferences ([0069] in some aspects, a network may signal to a transmitter UE which PSCCH to utilize for scheduling resources in one or more carriers; [0084] The cross-carrier scheduling aspects described above in connection with example 710 of FIG. 7B may provide efficient use of the radio frequency spectrum and/or enable control signaling on less congested channels; [0085] in the aggregate, the channel congestion measurements indicate that the first component carrier is less congested than the second component carrier, the network controller may signal that control information for both component carriers (e.g., the indication of the resource reservation associated with both the first component carrier and the second component carrier) should be transmitted using the first component carrier (e.g., using the PSCCH 415a associated with the first component carrier), as depicted in FIG. 7B).
Regarding claim 14, GUO further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the first sidelink control information (SCI) is associated with cross-carrier resource reservation ([0082] In the example 710 depicted in FIG. 7B… the PSCCH 415a (SCI-1 is transmitted on the PSCCH 4145a) associated with the first component carrier may be used to indicate a resource reservation for both a PSSCH 420a associated with the first component carrier and for a PSSCH 420b associated with the second component carrier. More particularly, as indicated by arrow 725, the PSCCH 415a associated with the first component carrier may be used to indicate a resource reservation in one or more instances of the PSSCH 420a associated with the first component carrier as well as one or more instances of the PSSCH 420b associated with the second component carrier) and scheduling ([0084] The cross-carrier scheduling aspects described above in connection with example 710 of FIG. 7B… control information (e.g., the indication of the resource reservation sent via the SCI-1 message) does not need to be transmitted on carriers experiencing high interference; [0089] the Tx/Rx UE 305 may dynamically configure whether to use cross-carrier scheduling using a set of the reserved number of bits in the SCI-1 message, and/or using a dedicated field of the SCI-1 message such as the carrier aggregation field and/or the carrier indicator field… a carrier indicator field including all zero bits may indicate that cross-carrier scheduling should not be used (e.g., that the SCI-1 message carries scheduling information for the component carrier in which it is sent), while a carrier indicator field including at least one non-zero bit may indicate that cross-carrier scheduling should be used (e.g., that the SCI-1 message carries scheduling information for a different component carrier that the one in which it is sent)).
Regarding claim 18, GUO further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more second configuration parameters indicate that the first carrier is ([0083] the Tx/Rx UE 305 may transmit an indication of the carrier capability of the Rx/Tx UE 310 to the base station 110, and the base station 110 may determine which control channels to use to transmit the indication of the resource reservation (e.g., whether to use the PSCCH 415a associated with the first component carrier, whether to use the PSCCH 415b associated with the second component carrier, or whether to use both the PSCCH 415a associated with the first component carrier and the PSCCH 415b associated with the second component carrier), as described above in connection with reference number 620; [0073] In aspects in which the base station 110 determines whether to use the first control channel and/or the second control channel for transmitting the control information, the Tx/Rx UE 305 may receive, from the base station 110, an indication of whether to use the first control channel or the second control channel. Aspects of the determination indicated by reference number 620, including factors considered by the base station 110 and/or the Tx/Rx UE 305 when making the determination) configured for transmission of the first sidelink control information (SCI) ([0086] multiple SCI-1 messages may be included in a single control channel (e.g., in the PSCCH 415a associated with the first component carrier), and each SCI-1 message may include a field or other indication indicating a corresponding component carrier associated with the SCI-1 message… first SCI-1 message of the two SCI-1 messages may include an indication of a resource reservation for the first component carrier, and a second SCI-1 message of the two SCI-1 messages may include an indication of a resource reservation for the second component carrier… a combination of 000 may indicate that the SCI-1 message corresponds to a first component carrier, a combination of 001… corresponds to a second component carrier, a combination of 010… corresponds to a third component carrier, and so forth).
Regarding claim 19, GUO further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the carriers of the plurality of carriers comprise a primary carrier and one or more secondary carriers ([0067] In carrier aggregation, a UE 120 may be configured with a primary carrier or primary cell (PCell) and one or more secondary carriers or secondary cells (SCells). In some aspects, the primary carrier may carry control information (e.g., downlink control information and/or scheduling information) for scheduling data communications on one or more secondary carriers, which may be referred to as cross-carrier scheduling; [0082] FIG. 7B, a control channel (e.g., PSCCH 415) in one component carrier carries control information (e.g., indicates a resource reservation) for both the first component carrier (primary carrier) and the second component carrier (secondary carrier)).
Regarding claim 20, GUO further discloses the method of claim 19, wherein a first sidelink control information (SCI) associated with the one or more secondary carriers ([0067] In carrier aggregation, a UE 120 may be configured with a primary carrier or primary cell (PCell) and one or more secondary carriers or secondary cells (SCells); [0082] as indicated by arrow 725, the PSCCH 415a (SCI-1 message is sent in the PSCCH415a) associated with the first component carrier may be used to indicate a resource reservation in one or more instances of the PSSCH 420a associated with the first component carrier as well as one or more instances of the PSSCH 420b associated with the second component carrier (secondary carrier)) is transmitted via a primary carrier ([0074] reference numbers 625a and 625b, the Tx/Rx UE 305 may transmit, to the Rx/Tx UE 310, an indication of a resource reservation associated with a sidelink communication… in the determination indicated by reference number 620, that the first control channel should be used, the indication of the resource reservation associated with the sidelink communication is transmitted in the first component carrier 610 (more particularly, using a first PSCCH 415 associated with the first component carrier 610 (primary carrier)), as indicated by reference number 625a; Fig. 6 – 610 first CC; Fig 7B – PSCCH 415a in CC 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GUO in view of MOHAMMAD SOLEYMANI et al. (US 20220225292 A1, hereafter MOHAMMAD SOLEYMANI).
Regarding claim 7, GUO discloses:
A method of sidelink control information transmission (Fig. 6), comprising the steps of:
receiving, by a first user equipment (UE) (Fig. 6 – UE 305):
first configuration parameters of a plurality of carriers comprising a first carrier and a second carrier ([0072] the Tx/Rx UE 305 may receive, from the base station 110, a configuration of a first resource pool associated with a first component carrier 610 and a second resource pool associated with a second component carrier 615… a resource pool is a set of resources available for sidelink communication… a resource pool is a set of resources configured for (e.g., assigned for) sidelink communication; [0056] first UE 405-1 may communicate with a second UE 405-2 (and one or more other UEs 405) via one or more sidelink channels 410. Additionally… the first UE 405-1 may correspond to one of the Tx/Rx UE 305 or the Rx/Tx UE 310, and the second UE 405-2 may correspond to the other of the Tx/Rx UE 305 or the Rx/Tx UE 310 (first UE 405-1 corresponds to UE 305 and second UE 405-2 corresponds to UE 310); [0082] a control channel (e.g., PSCCH 415) in one component carrier carries control information (e.g., indicates a resource reservation) for both the first component carrier and the second component carrier; the PSCCH 415a associated with the first component carrier may be used to indicate a resource reservation in one or more instances of the PSSCH 420a associated with the first component carrier as well as one or more instances of the PSSCH 420b associated with the second component carrier); and
one or more second configuration parameters indicating that the first carrier is used for scheduling sidelink transmissions on any other carrier of the plurality of carriers ([0083] the Tx/Rx UE 305 may transmit an indication of the carrier capability of the Rx/Tx UE 310 to the base station 110, and the base station 110 may determine which control channels to use to transmit the indication of the resource reservation (e.g., whether to use the PSCCH 415a associated with the first component carrier, whether to use the PSCCH 415b associated with the second component carrier, or whether to use both the PSCCH 415a associated with the first component carrier and the PSCCH 415b associated with the second component carrier), as described above in connection with reference number 620; [0073] In aspects in which the base station 110 determines whether to use the first control channel and/or the second control channel for transmitting the control information, the Tx/Rx UE 305 may receive, from the base station 110, an indication of whether to use the first control channel or the second control channel. Aspects of the determination indicated by reference number 620, including factors considered by the base station 110 and/or the Tx/Rx UE 305 when making the determination; Fig. 7B – PSCCH 415a is associated with both PSSCH 420a (CC1) and PSSCH 420b (CC2); ([0082] as indicated by arrow 725, the PSCCH 415a associated with the first component carrier may be used to indicate a resource reservation in one or more instances of the PSSCH 420a associated with the first component carrier as well as one or more instances of the PSSCH 420b associated with the second component carrier);
transmitting, by the first UE and for sidelink communications with a second UE via the second carrier ([0056] first UE 405-1 may communicate with a second UE 405-2 (and one or more other UEs 405) via one or more sidelink channels 410; [0074] As indicated by reference numbers 625a and 625b, the Tx/Rx UE 305 may transmit, to the Rx/Tx UE 310, an indication of a resource reservation associated with a sidelink communication. In some aspects, the indication of the resource reservation indicates… a second set of resources associated with the second resource pool (e.g., associated with the second component carrier 615) …in the determination indicated by reference number 620, that the second control channel should be used, the indication of the resource reservation associated with the sidelink communication is transmitted in the second component carrier 615),
first sidelink control information (SCI) via the first carrier ([0073] the Tx/Rx UE 305 may transmit control information including an indication of a resource reservation to the Rx/Tx UE 310 using an SCI-1 (first SCI) communication provided in a PSCCH 415… the Tx/Rx UE 305 may determine whether to use a PSCCH 415 associated with the first component carrier 610 for transmitting the control information; [0086] two SCI-1 messages may be transmitted in the PSCCH 415a associated with the first component carrier); and
transmitting, by the first UE to the second UE via the second carrier ([0056]; [0074]), a transport block based on the first SCI (Fig. 4; Fig. 7B; [0057] a transport block (TB) 435 may be carried on the PSSCH 420; [0092] In some aspects, the Tx/Rx UE 305 may transmit a transmission (e.g., a TB or the like) over multiple component carriers (including CC1 and CC2) in order to, for example, improve reliability … In such aspects, an SCI message (e.g., an SCI-1 message (first SCI) and/or an SCI-2 message) may include an indication that the TB will be swept across the multiple component carriers; [0082] as indicated by arrow 725, the PSCCH 415a associated with the first component carrier may be used to indicate a resource reservation (SCI-1) in one or more instances of the PSSCH 420a (TB is carried on PSSCH indicated by SCI-1) associated with the first component carrier as well as one or more instances of the PSSCH 420b (TB is carried on PSSCH indicated by SCI-1) associated with the second component carrier).
GUO does not explicitly disclose the first configuration parameters is based on a broadcast message.
However, MOHAMMAD SOLEYMANI discloses a configuration parameters is based on a system information block (SIB) broadcast message ([0068-0069] the UE is to receive a broadcast message or a common search space message, like a system information block, SIB, or a group common control channel, configuring the UE-common SL search space for all UEs or a group of UEs; [0072-0073] the UE-common SL search space identifies one or more of: common SL frequency resources, e.g., selected subchannels or PRBs, selected resource pools (the resource pool is one of the configured parameters received by the first UE), or a common BWP).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the first configuration parameters of GUO to be based on the SIB broadcast message as taught by MOHAMMAD SOLEYMANI because the broadcast message allows the first configuration parameters to be received by multiple UEs simultaneously, rather than a single specific UE (unicast). The broadcast message is beneficial since nearby UEs who are not the intended recipients of the sidelink communication will still receive the first configuration parameters, thus avoiding potential resource collisions from nearby UEs (GUO – [0088] this may also beneficially ensure that other, nearby UEs that are not intended recipients of the sidelink communication nonetheless receive the resource reservation information, thereby avoiding potential resource collision by the other, nearby UEs).
Regarding claim 15, GUO discloses: A method of sidelink control information transmission, comprising the steps of:receiving, by a first user equipment (UE) (Fig. 6):
first configuration parameters of a plurality of carriers comprising a first carrier and a second carrier ([0072] the Tx/Rx UE 305 may receive, from the base station 110, a configuration of a first resource pool associated with a first component carrier 610 and a second resource pool associated with a second component carrier 615… a resource pool is a set of resources available for sidelink communication… a resource pool is a set of resources configured for (e.g., assigned for) sidelink communication; [0056] first UE 405-1 may communicate with a second UE 405-2 (and one or more other UEs 405) via one or more sidelink channels 410. Additionally… the first UE 405-1 may correspond to one of the Tx/Rx UE 305 or the Rx/Tx UE 310, and the second UE 405-2 may correspond to the other of the Tx/Rx UE 305 or the Rx/Tx UE 310 (first UE 405-1 corresponds to UE 305 and second UE 405-2 corresponds to UE 310); [0082] a control channel (e.g., PSCCH 415) in one component carrier carries control information (e.g., indicates a resource reservation) for both the first component carrier and the second component carrier; the PSCCH 415a associated with the first component carrier may be used to indicate a resource reservation in one or more instances of the PSSCH 420a associated with the first component carrier as well as one or more instances of the PSSCH 420b associated with the second component carrier); and
one or more second configuration parameters indicating that the first carrier is used for scheduling sidelink transmissions on any other carrier of the plurality of carriers ([0083] the Tx/Rx UE 305 may transmit an indication of the carrier capability of the Rx/Tx UE 310 to the base station 110, and the base station 110 may determine which control channels to use to transmit the indication of the resource reservation (e.g., whether to use the PSCCH 415a associated with the first component carrier, whether to use the PSCCH 415b associated with the second component carrier, or whether to use both the PSCCH 415a associated with the first component carrier and the PSCCH 415b associated with the second component carrier), as described above in connection with reference number 620; [0073] In aspects in which the base station 110 determines whether to use the first control channel and/or the second control channel for transmitting the control information, the Tx/Rx UE 305 may receive, from the base station 110, an indication of whether to use the first control channel or the second control channel. Aspects of the determination indicated by reference number 620, including factors considered by the base station 110 and/or the Tx/Rx UE 305 when making the determination; Fig. 7B – PSCCH 415a is associated with both PSSCH 420a (CC1) and PSSCH 420b (CC2); ([0082] as indicated by arrow 725, the PSCCH 415a associated with the first component carrier may be used to indicate a resource reservation in one or more instances of the PSSCH 420a associated with the first component carrier as well as one or more instances of the PSSCH 420b associated with the second component carrier);
transmitting, by the first UE and for sidelink communications with a second UE via the second carrier ([0056] first UE 405-1 may communicate with a second UE 405-2 (and one or more other UEs 405) via one or more sidelink channels 410; [0074] As indicated by reference numbers 625a and 625b, the Tx/Rx UE 305 may transmit, to the Rx/Tx UE 310, an indication of a resource reservation associated with a sidelink communication. In some aspects, the indication of the resource reservation indicates… a second set of resources associated with the second resource pool (e.g., associated with the second component carrier 615) …in the determination indicated by reference number 620, that the second control channel should be used, the indication of the resource reservation associated with the sidelink communication is transmitted in the second component carrier 615), first sidelink control information (SCI) via the first carrier ([0073] the Tx/Rx UE 305 may transmit control information including an indication of a resource reservation to the Rx/Tx UE 310 using an SCI-1 (first SCI) communication provided in a PSCCH 415… the Tx/Rx UE 305 may determine whether to use a PSCCH 415 associated with the first component carrier 610 for transmitting the control information; [0086] two SCI-1 messages may be transmitted in the PSCCH 415a associated with the first component carrier); and
transmitting, by the first UE to the second UE via the second carrier ([0056]; [0074]), a transport block based on the first SCI (Fig. 4; Fig. 7B; [0057] a transport block (TB) 435 may be carried on the PSSCH 420; [0092] an SCI message (e.g., an SCI-1 message and/or an SCI-2 message) may indicate that a TB will be transmitted over multiple component carriers (including CC1 and CC2); [0082] as indicated by arrow 725, the PSCCH 415a associated with the first component carrier may be used to indicate a resource reservation (SCI-1) in one or more instances of the PSSCH 420a (TB is carried on PSSCH indicated by SCI-1) associated with the first component carrier as well as one or more instances of the PSSCH 420b (TB is carried on PSSCH indicated by SCI-1) associated with the second component carrier);
GUO does not explicitly disclose wherein the first sidelink control information (SCI) is blindly detected by the second user equipment (UE).
However, MOHAMMAD SOLEYMANI discloses the first sidelink control information (SCI) is blindly detected by the second user equipment (UE) ([0059] The UE, which in the context of the SL communication may be referred to as to the receiving UE (the second UE), starts blind decoding, as is indicated at S2 on the first part of the SCI… once a first part of the SCI or the SCI has been identified to be intended for the receiving UE, the receiving UE, as indicated at S4, performs a decoding procedure for decoding information from the first stage or first part SCI; [0210] a receiving UE may receive the signaling indicating a specific search space that is to be used by the receiving UE for the blind decoding from a transmitting UE (first UE), using, for example, a dedicated radio resource control, RRC, message).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the method of sidelink transmission of GUO wherein the first sidelink control information (SCI) is blindly detected by the second user equipment (UE) as taught by MOHAMMAD SOLEYMANI. It is necessary for the second UE to perform blind decoding in order to identify the presence of PSCCH and find the resources for the PSSCH through the first SCI since the second UE cannot receive the DCI from the gNB. It also reduces the decoding process’ complexity by having a two-stage SCI where the first SCI provides some information for sidelink communication and the second SCI provides detailed information for decoding the data channel wherein the second UE does not expect to decode the second SCI unless the second UE was successful with decoding the first SCI (MOHAMMAD SOLEYMANI - [0059] addressing the time complexity associated with a blind decoding, the above-described two-step decoding algorithm may be employed where, initially, the first part of the SCI, for example, the format type, may be identified by means of blind decoding, for example based on different DMRS patterns (see S2, S3 in FIG. 4). Then, at a second stage (see S4 in FIG. 4 above) a normal decoding may be applied to derive the information embedded in the first part of the SCI that has been identified at the first step; [0358-0360] UE does not to expect, e.g., does not read or does not decode, the second part of the sidelink control message in case the first part of the sidelink control message includes a broadcast ID indicating a non-broadcast type of communication, like a broadcast flag or a broadcast bit, and does not include a UE ID, e.g., a UE destination ID, indicating, e.g., a unicast communication, or a group ID, e.g., a group destination ID, indicating, e.g., a groupcast communication or a UE ID or a group ID in the first part of the sidelink control message does not match an ID of the UE).
10. Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GUO in view of Falkenberg (US 20240064740 A1).
Regarding claim 10, GUO further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting, by the first user equipment (UE) to a base station, a capability message comprising an indication of the carrier capability information whether the second UE is capable of sidelink carrier aggregation ([0067] In some aspects, rather than combining the two component carriers into a single channel, a transmission may be selectively scheduled on one or both of the component carriers based at least in part on UE 120 and/or base station 110 capability, network traffic, or the like; [0068] It may be beneficial for UEs (e.g., UEs 120, 305, 310, 405-1, 405-2) to utilize carrier aggregation and/or multiple-carrier techniques for sidelink communication to support advanced applications requiring high throughput, such as coordinated driving, sensor sharing with V2V and V2I, links to achieve autonomous driving; [0083] a carrier capability of the Rx/Tx UE 310 (e.g., the receiver UE) may be known to the Tx/Rx UE 305 (e.g., the transmitter UE) prior to the Tx/Rx UE 305 transmitting the control information in the PSCCH 415a to ensure that the Rx/Tx UE 310 receives the control information. In some aspects, the Tx/Rx UE 305 may request carrier capability information from the Rx/Tx UE 310 prior to transmitting the indication of the resource reservation. In some aspects, once received, the Tx/Rx UE 305 may transmit an indication of the carrier capability of the Rx/Tx UE 310 to the base station 110, and the base station 110 may determine which control channels to use to transmit the indication of the resource reservation (e.g., whether to use the PSCCH 415a associated with the first component carrier (PSCCH 415a is sidelink control channel), whether to use the PSCCH 415b associated with the second component carrier, or whether to use both the PSCCH 415a associated with the first component carrier and the PSCCH 415b associated with the second component carrier), as described above in connection with reference number 620).
GUO does not explicitly disclose the capability message comprising one or more capability information elements (IEs) indicating whether the first UE is capable of sidelink carrier aggregation.
However, Falkenberg discloses the capability message comprising one or more capability information elements (IEs) indicating whether the first UE is capable of sidelink carrier aggregation ([0135] a first UE may transmit a capability message (e.g., a UECapabilityInformation message) to a base station… In some examples, the transmission of the capability message may be during an initial attach procedure (e.g., based on a random access process (e.g., based on a MsgA of a two-step random access process or a Msg3 of a four step random access process) for the initial attach procedure); [0136] The capability message may include information elements (IEs) associated with UE capabilities on sidelink communications. The IEs associated with sidelink communication capabilities of the first UE may include an IE indicating that the UE is capable of establishing multiple (e.g., simultaneous) sidelinks (for example capable of establishing multiple sidelinks across carriers configured for the first UE, or capable of establishing multiple sidelinks in a carrier of one or more carriers configured for the first UE (hence first UE is capable of sidelink carrier aggregation). The IE can also indicate that the first UE is capable of establishing multiple sidelinks in a BWP of multiple BWPs of a carrier of one or more carriers configured for the first UE, or capable of establishing multiple sidelinks in a subcannel/resource pool of one or more subcannels/resource pools of a BWP of one or more BWPs of a carrier of one or more carriers configured for the first UE); Fig. 17).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the capability message of GUO to include one or more capability information elements (IEs) indicating whether the first UE is capable of sidelink carrier aggregation as taught by Falkenberg. This allows the base station to send configuration parameters based on the first UE’s capability IEs in order to support the first UE’s capabilities and limitations (Falkenberg - [0138] the configuration parameters may comprise first parameters for resource pools configuration (e.g., across different carriers or in a carrier or in a BWP, for example based on the capabilities of the first UE indicated by the capability message); [0123] A UE may have hardware/RF/software limitations on whether the UE supports multiple sidelinks (e.g., simultaneous sidelinks) on a subchannel or a BWP or a carrier or multiple carriers configured for the UE). Knowing the UE capabilities and limitations can help optimize resources allocation for sidelink communication and ensuring efficient use of network resources.
Regarding claim 11, GUO does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 10, wherein the first configuration parameters indicate a configuration of sidelink carrier aggregation based on the one or more capability information elements (IEs).
However, Falkenberg discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the configuration parameters indicate a configuration of sidelink carrier aggregation based on the one or more capability information elements (IEs) ([0138] the configuration parameters may comprise first parameters for resource pools configuration (e.g., across different carriers or in a carrier or in a BWP, for example based on the capabilities of the first UE indicated by the capability message); [0142] The IEs associated with sidelink communication capabilities of the first UE may include an IE indicating a maximum number of sidelinks that the first UE is capable of establishing with one or more second UEs. In some examples, the maximum number of sidelinks may be across carriers configured for the first UE, or in a carrier of one or more carriers configured for the first UE, or in a BWP of one or more BWPs of a carrier of one or more carriers of the first UE, or in a subchannel of a BWP of one or more BWPs of a carrier of one or more carriers of the first UE; [0143] In response to transmitting the capability message, the first UE may receive one or more RRC messages comprising configuration parameters. The configuration parameters may be for establishing a first number of sidelinks by the first UE with one or more second UEs. The first number of sidelinks may be smaller than or equal to the maximum number of sidelinks that the UE is capable of supporting; Fig. 18).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the first configuration parameters of sidelink carrier aggregation of GUO and Falkenberg to be based on the one or more capability information elements (IEs) as taught by Falkenberg in order to support the UE’s capabilities and limitations (Falkenberg – Fig. 18; [0143]; [0123]). Knowing the UE capabilities and limitations can help optimize resources allocation for sidelink communication and ensuring efficient use of network resources.
11. Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GUO in view of Chae et al. (US 20250056574 A1, hereafter Chae).
Regarding claim 16, GUO further disclose method of claim 1, wherein the first configuration parameters comprise per-carrier indication of a resource pool ([0072] As shown by reference number 605, the Tx/Rx UE 305 may receive, from the base station 110, a configuration of a first resource pool associated with a first component carrier 610), control channel structure ([0079] a PSCCH 415a (PSCCH is a control channel structure) associated with the first component carrier may be used to indicate a resource reservation in a PSSCH 420a) and access rules ([0084] control information (e.g., the indication of the resource reservation sent via the SCI-1 message) does not need to be transmitted on carriers experiencing high interference and/or carriers having congested channels… the Tx/Rx UE 305 may determine which component carriers to use for transmitting the control information based at least in part on the channel congestion measurements).
GUO does not explicitly disclose the first configuration parameters comprise per-carrier indication of at least one of bandwidth part and subcarrier spacing (SCS).
However, Chae discloses the configuration parameters comprise per-carrier indication of at least one bandwidth part and subcarrier spacing (SCS) ([0279] a wireless device (first UE) may receive, from a base station, one or more configuration parameters. The one or more configuration parameters may comprise a first sidelink (SL) subcarrier spacing (SCS). The first SL SCS may be for a first sidelink BWP (bandwidth part). The first sidelink BWP may be configured in a first carrier).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the indication per-carrier of the first configuration parameters of GUO to include at least one of bandwidth part and subcarrier spacing (SCS) as taught by Chae in order to support bandwidth adaption and reduce power consumption (Chae - [0113] NR may support wide carrier bandwidths (e.g., up to 400 MHz for a subcarrier spacing of 120 kHz). Not all UEs may be able to receive the full carrier bandwidth (e.g., due to hardware limitations) … to reduce power consumption and/or for other purposes, a UE may adapt the size of the UE's receive bandwidth based on the amount of traffic the UE is scheduled to receive. This is referred to as bandwidth adaptation; [0114] NR defines bandwidth parts (BWPs) to support UEs not capable of receiving the full carrier bandwidth and to support bandwidth adaptation; [0279] the wireless device may simplify power allocation process or dropping behavior determination in an intra-band CA).
Regarding claim 17, GUO further discloses wherein the one or more second configuration parameters indicate that the first sidelink control information (SCI) for the second carrier is transmitted via the first carrier ([0083] the Tx/Rx UE 305 may transmit an indication of the carrier capability of the Rx/Tx UE 310 to the base station 110, and the base station 110 may determine which control channels to use to transmit the indication of the resource reservation (e.g., whether to use the PSCCH 415a associated with the first component carrier, whether to use the PSCCH 415b associated with the second component carrier, or whether to use both the PSCCH 415a associated with the first component carrier and the PSCCH 415b associated with the second component carrier), as described above in connection with reference number 620; [0073] In aspects in which the base station 110 determines whether to use the first control channel and/or the second control channel for transmitting the control information, the Tx/Rx UE 305 may receive, from the base station 110, an indication of whether to use the first control channel or the second control channel. Aspects of the determination indicated by reference number 620, including factors considered by the base station 110 and/or the Tx/Rx UE 305 when making the determination; [0082] as indicated by arrow 725, the PSCCH 415a (SCI-1 is transmitted on the PSCCH 415a) associated with the first component carrier may be used to indicate a resource reservation in one or more instances of the PSSCH 420a associated with the first component carrier as well as one or more instances of the PSSCH 420b associated with the second component carrier; Fig. 7B; [0088] when implementing cross-carrier scheduling techniques such as those described in connection with FIG. 7B, the control information for multiple component carriers may be transmitted using at least the PSCCH 415 of the legacy carrier (for purposes of this example, the first component carrier), to ensure UEs capable of receiving sidelink communications in both the first component carrier and the second component carrier receive the control information).
Conclusion
12. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THERESA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2418 /Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418