DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-13 in the reply filed on 12/23/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Groups II to IV, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/23/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR 10-2019-00143300, provided in the IDS, with reference to the machine translation) (“Lee” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches an aerogel composition (see Lee at [0018] teaching aerogel insulation composition),
for a battery insulation sheet (see Lee at [0002] teaching insulation material is a material that blocks the flow of heat and is used in various industries including… electronic components, see Lee at [0052] teaching the insulating material of the present disclosure is not particularly limited in its application, and includes all areas requiring insulation, such as… ESS battery cell packs),
the aerogel composition comprising:
a solvent (see Lee at [0025] teaching the aerogel insulation composition… may additionally include at least one other additive selected from the group consisting of… alcohol). Alcohol is taken to meet the claimed solvent based on specification at [0042]-[0043] disclosing the solvent may include at least one selected from the group consisting of… a polar solvent… the polar solvent may include… an alcohol-based solvent;
a fibrous support (see Lee at [0018] teaching fibrous insulation material), which is taken to meet the claimed recitation;
an aerogel (see Lee at [0018] teaching aerogel powder); and
a functional material including… a binder (see Lee at [0018] teaching organic-inorganic composite binder),
wherein, with respect to a total solid content of the aerogel composition,
the fibrous support is present in a content range of 5 wt% to 70 wt% (see Lee at [0018] teaching 5 to 40 wt% fibrous insulation material) (see MPEP 2144.05(I)),
the aerogel is present in a content range of 10 wt% to 90 wt% (see Lee at [0018] teaching 40 to 90 wt% aerogel powder) (see MPEP 2144.05(I)), and
the functional material is present in a content range of 0.5 wt% to 20 wt% (see Lee at [0018] teaching 1 to 20 wt% of organic-inorganic composite binder) (see MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and Lee further teaches wherein the solvent comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of… a polar solvent (see Lee at [0025] teaching the aerogel insulation composition… may additionally include at least one other additive selected from the group consisting of… alcohol). Alcohol is taken to meet the claimed polar solvent based on specification at [0042]-[0043] disclosing the solvent may include at least one selected from the group consisting of… a polar solvent… the polar solvent may include… an alcohol-based solvent.
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and Lee further teaches wherein a weight ratio of the content of the solvent to the total solid content of the aerogel composition is in a range of 1:1 to 1:90 (see Lee at [0025] teaching the aerogel insulation composition… may additionally include at least one other additive selected from the group consisting of… alcohol… included in an amount of 0.01 to 1 part weight based on 100 parts by weight of the aerogel powder, see Lee at [0018] teaching 40 to 90 wt% if aerogel powder). The weight ratio of aerogel to solvent of (40 to 90) to (0.1 to 1) or 1:90 is taken to meet the claimed recitation (see MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and Lee further teaches wherein the fibrous support comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of… a silica fiber (see Lee at [0030] teaching the fibrous insulating material… at least one selected from… silica fiber).
Regarding claim 5, Lee teaches the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and Lee further teaches wherein the aerogel has a Brunauer- Emmett-Teller (BET) specific surface area in a range of 500 m2/g to 1,000 m2/g (see Lee at [0004] teaching aerogel is a nano-structured, transparent or semi-transparent advanced material made of silicon oxide… with a specific surface area of several hundred to 1500 m2/g), which is taken to meet the claimed recitation (see MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding claim 6, Lee teaches the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and Lee further teaches wherein the binder comprises an aqueous polymer binder, and wherein the aqueous polymer binder comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of… aqueous polymer (see Lee at [0033] teaching the organic binder selected from the group of… polyvinyl alcohol). Polyvinyl alcohol is taken to meet the claimed recitation based on the specification at [0062] disclosing the aqueous polymer may include, for example, at least one selected from the group consisting of… polyvinyl alcohol).
Regarding claim 7, Lee teaches the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and Lee further teaches wherein the binder is present in a content range of 0.5 wt% to 20 wt% with respect to the total solid content of the aerogel composition (see Lee at [0018] teaching 1 to 20 wt% of organic-inorganic composite binder) (see MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding claims 9-11, Lee teaches the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and Lee further teaches wherein the dispersant comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of a surfactant and a phosphate-based salt (claim 9), wherein the dispersant is present in a content range of 0.1 wt% to 6 wt% with respect to the total solid content of the aerogel composition (claim 10), and wherein the binder and the dispersant are present in a weight ratio range of 1:0.001 to 1:0.67 (claim 11) (see claim 1 rejection meeting the claimed “functional material including… a dispersant”. These recitations are being treated as being taught by Lee (see MPEP 2111.04.II)).
Regarding claims 12-13, Lee teaches the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and Lee further teaches wherein, with respect to the total solid content of the aerogel composition, the fibrous support is present in a content range of 25 wt% to 60 wt% (claims 12-13) (see Lee at [0018] teaching 5 to 40 wt% fibrous insulation material) (see MPEP 2144.05(I)),
the aerogel is present in a content range of 30 wt% to 70 wt% (claims 12-13) (see Lee at [0018] teaching 40 to 90 wt% if aerogel powder) (see MPEP 2144.05(I)), and
the binder is present in a content range of 2 wt% to 15 wt% (claims 12-13) (see Lee at [0018] teaching 1 to 20 wt% of organic-inorganic composite binder) (see MPEP 2144.05(I)), and
the dispersant is present in a content range of 0.1 wt% to 5 wt% (claim 13) (see claim 1 rejection meeting the claimed “functional material including… a dispersant”. This recitation are being treated as being taught by Lee (see MPEP 2111.04.II)).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yoon et al. (KR 10-2013-0039028 A, provided in the IDS, with reference to the machine translation) (“Yoon” hereinafter); as evidenced by Kunduru et al. (Renewable polyol-based biodegradable polyesters as greener plastics for industrial applications, Chemical Engineering Journal) (“Kunduru” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 8, Lee teaches the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and as mentioned, Lee teaches organic-inorganic composite binder… the organic binder… is preferably an organic binder selected from the group consisting of epoxy, acrylic, polyvinyl alcohol, and silicone binders (see Lee at [0018] and [0033]). However, Lee does not explicitly teach wherein the binder comprises an aqueous polymer and a water-dispersible polymer, and wherein the aqueous polymer and the water-dispersible polymer are present in a weight ratio in a range of 1:1 to 1:5.
Like Lee, Yoon teaches an insulation composition comprising aerogel and binder (see Yoon at [0001] teaching a paint composition using porous silica aerogel… to a paint composition using porous silica aerogel which, when applied to paint, has excellent… insulation, see Yoon [0009] teaching a paint composition using porous silica aerogel, characterized in that it comprises… aerogel… 15 to 45 wt% of aqueous binder resin… 1 to 5 wt% hardener).
Yoon further teaches the aqueous binder resin… is not particularly limited in its components… at least one selected from among polyurethane dispersion resin, aqueous polyester resin, silicone-based urethane dispersion resin, water-soluble acrylic resin, and water-soluble epoxy resin is used… among these, use of polyurethane dispersion resin is more effective in terms of excellent elongation, adhesion, and compatibility, and is also inexpensive, resulting in excellent productivity… the content of the aqueous binder resin is 15 to 45 wt% (see Yoon at [0013]). Yoon also teaches hardener… the curing agent… uses at least one selected from among water-soluble urea resin, water-soluble melamine resin, a water-soluble alkyd resin, and the content of the curing agent is 1 to 5 wt%... within this range, the added binder is advantageous in that it provides cross-linking performance to the aerogel particles, thereby improving the overall cross-linking ability (see Yoon at [0016]-[0017]). The water-soluble alkyd resin is taken to meet the claimed aqueous polymer as evidenced by Kunduru (see Kunduru at page 16, left column, paragraph 1 evidencing alkyd resins is one kind of a polyester resin), and aqueous polyurethane binder resin is taken to meet the claimed water-dispersible polymer. The weight ratio of the water-soluble alkyd resin (or aqueous polymer) and the polyurethane resin (or water-dispersible polymer) is (1 to 5 wt%) to (15 to 45 wt%), or 1:3 to 1:45, which is taken to meet the claimed wherein the aqueous polymer and the water-dispersible polymer are present in a weight ratio in a range of 1:1 to 1:5 (see MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Additionally, MPEP states that “the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination” (see MPEP § 2144.07). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that water-soluble alkyd resin and polyurethane resin are known materials based on their suitability for their intended use. Furthermore, MPEP states that "[w]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation", and “the normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages” (see MPEP § 2144.05.II.A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use water-soluble alkyd resin and polyurethane resin as taught by Yoon in the aerogel insulation composition as taught by Lee because water-soluble alkyd resin provides cross-linking performance to the aerogel particles, thereby improving the overall cross-linking ability, and polyurethane resin is effective in terms of excellent elongation, adhesion, and compatibility, and is also inexpensive, resulting in excellent productivity. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art have selected amounts from within the range taught by Yoon because there is a reasonable expectation of success that the disclosed amounts would be suitable.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 7-14 of copending Application No. 18/454662 (“’662 hereinafter) in view of Yoon.
Both the pending application and the copending application ‘662 recite a composition comprising: a solvent; a fibrous support; an aerogel; and a functional material including a binder, a dispersant, or a combination thereof, wherein, with respect to a total solid content of the aerogel composition with overlapping ranges. However, the pending application does not explicitly teach “the antifoaming agent is 0.05 wt% to 2 wt%”. Yoon teaches the content of the antifoaming agent is 0.5 to 3 wt%... within this range, it helps to improve the adhesive strength of the coating film by reducing the generation of bubbles during and after the pre-mixing process (see Yoon at [0009]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add 0.5 to 3 wt% antifoaming agent in the aerogel composition so as to help improve the adhesive strength of a coating film.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/MARITES A GUINO-O UZZLE/Examiner, Art Unit 1731