DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 06/15/2026, with respect to the claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objection of claim 2 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 06/15/2026, with respect to the 35 USC 112(b) rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 112(b) rejections of claims 11-14 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-8, filed on 06/15/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 3, 5, 10-14, 16, and 20 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) and the rejections of claims 1-4, 6-10, 17, and 18 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive.
Applicant amended independent claim 1 to recite “a plurality of anchors extending from the frame, wherein one or more individual anchors of the plurality of anchors include a series of spaced apart slots, the series of spaced apart slots comprising a plurality of individual slots, each individual slot having a first opening, at least some of the first openings being configured to narrow, allowing the one or more individual anchors to deflect along a length of the series of spaced apart slots”. Applicant argues that Cooper and the combination of Cooper and Wang fails to disclose these amended limitations, and the examiner agrees.
Applicant further amended independent claim 10 to recite “a plurality of anchors extending from inner frame, wherein at least one individual anchor of the plurality of anchors includes a first portion comprising a series of spaced apart cavities extending from front openings on a front side of the at least one individual anchor to corresponding back openings on a back side of the at least one individual anchor, and wherein at least some of the back openings are configured to narrow, allowing the at least one individual anchor to deform along a length of the first portion”. Applicant argues that Cooper and the combination of Cooper and Wang fails to disclose these amended limitations, and the examiner agrees.
Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection, over claims 1-7 and 9-20, is made in view of Hariton et al. (US PG Pub No. 2019/0083263 A1).
Applicant further amended dependent claim 8 to recite “wherein the one or more individual anchors comprising a series of spaced apart slots comprises an anchor with an attachable hypotube”. Applicant argues that Cooper and the combination of Cooper and Wang fails to disclose these amended limitations, and the examiner agrees.
Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection, over claim 8, is made in view of Hariton et al. (US PG Pub No. 2019/0083263 A1) and Serina et al. (US PG Pub No. 2022/0079762 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 10-14, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooper et al. (PG Pub No. US 2019/0262129 A1) in view of Hariton et al. (US PG Pub No. 2019/0083263 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cooper discloses a valve prosthesis (prosthesis 100) adapted for non-uniform compression during loading into a capsule (curved and bendable axial connection portion structure allows for non-uniform compression; see Fig. 7A and Fig. 7B), the valve prosthesis comprising: a frame (Paragraph [0103], outer frame 140) configured to transition between a compressed configuration (Fig. 7A) and an expanded configuration (Fig 7B) (Paragraph [0103]), the frame including at least one row of cells forming a ring (see Fig. 6A, Fig. 7A, and annotated Fig. 7B below); and a plurality of prosthetic valve leaflets (Paragraph [0151], frame 140 “can be incorporated into a prosthesis with any of the inner frames”, 120, 220, Paragraph [0135], Figs. 5F-5I, leaflets 231) coupled to the frame (Paragraph [0151], frame 140 “can be incorporated into a prosthesis with any of the inner frames”, 120, 220, Paragraph [0135], Figs. 5F-5I, leaflets 231) a plurality of anchors (Fig. 12, anchoring feature 144) extending from the frame (140), wherein the frame includes a plurality of pre-curved connection portions (156b), wherein each connection portion is adapted to bend in a predetermined manner (156b, see Fig. 6A and Fig. 7B) for accommodating changes in cell height during non-uniform compression of the valve prosthesis (Paragraph [0166]), and wherein the pre-curved connection portions are curved in a circumferential direction (Paragraph [0167], see Figs. 6A and 7B).
Cooper fails to disclose wherein one or more individual anchors of the plurality of anchors include a series of spaced apart slots, the series of spaced apart slots comprising a plurality of individual slots, each individual slot having a first opening, at least some of the first openings being configured to narrow, allowing the one or more individual anchors to deflect along a length of the series of spaced apart slots.
Hariton also discloses a valve prosthesis (Figs. 2-5E, frame 2000) comprising a frame (Figs. 2-5E, frame 2400) configured to transition between a compressed configuration (Fig. 5A) and an expanded configuration (Fig. 5E), with at least one row of cells (Fig. 3A, cells 3012), and a plurality of anchors (Figs. 2-5E, atrial anchoring arms 2440). Hariton teaches wherein one or more individual anchors of the plurality of anchors (2440) include a series of spaced apart slots (see annotated Fig. 2C below), the series of spaced apart slots comprising a plurality of individual slots (see annotated Fig. 2C below), each individual slot having a first opening, at least some of the first openings being configured to narrow (see annotated Fig. 2C below), allowing the one or more individual anchors (2440) to deflect (Fig 5a compared to Fig. 5E) along a length (Fig. 2E, length 2580) of the series of spaced apart slots. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Cooper’s plurality of anchors wherein one or more individual anchors of the plurality of anchors include a series of spaced apart slots, the series of spaced apart slots comprising a plurality of individual slots, each individual slot having a first opening, at least some of the first openings being configured to narrow, allowing the one or more individual anchors to deflect along a length of the series of spaced apart slots, as taught by Hariton, in order to engage native valve tissue (Paragraph [0051]).
Regarding claim 3, Cooper in view of Hariton discloses wherein the pre-curved connection portions (156b) allow each cell of the at least one row of cells (see Fig. 6A) to foreshorten during loading (the curved and bendable structure of the axial connection portions 156b are structured as claimed thereby allows for non-uniform compression of the valve during loading a claimed).
Regarding claim 5, Cooper in view of Hariton discloses wherein each connection portion (156b) comprises a pair of struts (156b, see annotated Fig. 7A above) forming a slot therebetween (see annotated Fig. 7A above) and wherein each strut of the pair of struts bends in an opposite direction (see Fig. 7B).
Regarding claim 10, Cooper discloses a valve prosthesis (prosthesis 100) adapted for non-uniform compression during loading into a capsule (curved and bendable axial connection portion structure allows for non-uniform compression; see annotated Fig. 5A below), the valve prosthesis comprising: an outer frame (140) configured to transition back and forth between a compressed configuration and an expanded configuration (Paragraph [0103]); and an inner frame (Paragraphs [0103] and [0130], inner frame 120 or 220) positioned within the outer frame (Figs. 1 and 5J), the inner frame (120 or 220) configured to transition back and forth between a compressed configuration and an expanded configuration (capable of being collapsed and expanded as needed); a plurality of anchors (Fig. 2 and 5a, anchoring feature 124) extending from inner frame (120 or 220), wherein the inner frame comprises a plurality of strut components (Fig. 2, struts 138) that are biased in a particular configuration or shape so as to bend or deform in a desired direction (Figs. 2, 3, 5A) during transition of the inner frame (120 or 220) between the expanded configuration and the compressed configuration or between the compressed configuration and the expanded configuration (Figs. 2, 3, 5A).
Cooper fails to disclose wherein at least one individual anchor of the plurality of anchors includes a first portion comprising a series of spaced apart cavities extending from front openings on a front side of the at least one individual anchor to corresponding back openings on a back side of the at least one individual anchor, and wherein at least some of the back openings are configured to narrow, allowing the at least one individual anchor to deform along a length of the first portion.
Hariton also discloses a valve prosthesis (Figs. 2-5E, frame 2000) comprising a frame (Figs. 2-5E, frame 2400) configured to transition between a compressed configuration (Fig. 5A) and an expanded configuration (Fig. 5E), with at least one row of cells (Fig. 3A, cells 3012), and a plurality of anchors (Figs. 2-5E, atrial anchoring arms 2440). Hariton teaches wherein one or more individual anchors of the plurality of anchors (2440) includes a first portion (Figs. 2-5E, intermediate arm portion 3504 and distal arm portion 3506) comprising a series of spaces apart cavities (see annotated Fig. 2C below) extending from front openings (see annotated Fig. 2C below) on a front side (see annotated Fig. 2C below) of the at least one individual anchor (2440) to corresponding back openings (see annotated Fig. 2C below) on a back side (see annotated Fig. 2C below) of the at least one individual anchor (2440), and wherein at least some of the back openings (see annotated Fig. 2C below) are configured to narrow (see annotated Fig. 2C below), allowing the at least one individual anchor to deform (Fig 5a compared to Fig. 5E) along a length (Fig. 2E, length 2580) of the first portion (3504 and 3506). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Cooper’s plurality of anchors wherein at least one individual anchor of the plurality of anchors includes a first portion comprising a series of spaced apart cavities extending from front openings on a front side of the at least one individual anchor to corresponding back openings on a back side of the at least one individual anchor, and wherein at least some of the back openings are configured to narrow, allowing the at least one individual anchor to deform along a length of the first portion, as taught by Hariton, in order to engage native valve tissue (Paragraph [0051]).
Regarding claim 11, Cooper in view of Hariton discloses wherein the inner frame (inner frame 120 or 220) comprises a plurality of rows of cells formed by struts (Fig. 2, cells 134a and 134b, struts 136a, 136b).
Regarding claim 12, Cooper in view of Hariton discloses wherein at least a plurality of cells of a distal-most row of the plurality of rows of cells (Fig. 2, Cells 134b) includes the plurality of strut components (138; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Cooper as modified by Hariton further discloses wherein tips (Figs. 2-5E, distal arm portion 3506) of at least one individual anchor (2440) include the first portion (3504 and 3506).
Regarding claim 14, Cooper as modified by Hariton further discloses wherein the first portion (3504 and 3506) is configured to prevent outward flexion (Figs. 2-5E, inflexible portion 3402d).
Regarding claim 16, Cooper in view of Hariton discloses wherein the cells comprise chevron-shaped cells (Paragraph [0120]).
Regarding claim 20, Cooper in view of Hariton discloses wherein an outflow end of the inner frame (Figs. 2, 5A, Lower end 130, 230) comprises a plurality of anchors (124), and wherein at least some of the plurality of anchors (124) comprise a metallic cushion anchor tip (Fig. 2, paragraph [0116]; Anchor tip 124a) configured to distribute and dampen a load exerted on native tissue in contact with the metallic cushion anchor tip (Paragraphs [0111 and 0116], 124a).
Claims 1-4, and 6, 7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooper et al. (PG Pub No. US 2019/0262129 A1) in view of Hariton et al. (US PG Pub No. 2019/0083263 A1) and Wang et al. (PG Pub No. US 2021/0205077).
Regarding claim 1, Cooper discloses a valve prosthesis (prosthesis 100) adapted for non-uniform compression during loading into a capsule (curved and bendable axial connection portion structure allows for non-uniform compression; see annotated Fig. 5A below), the valve prosthesis comprising: a frame (Paragraphs [0103] and [0130], inner frame 120 or 220) configured to transition between a compressed configuration and an expanded configuration (Paragraph [0103]), the frame including at least one row of cells forming a ring (134a, 134b; see Fig. 4 and annotated Fig. 5A below); and a plurality of prosthetic valve leaflets (Paragraph [0135], Figs. 5F-5I, leaflets 231) coupled to the frame (Paragraph [0135], Figs. 5F-5I, leaflets 231); a plurality of anchors (Fig. 2 and 5a, anchoring feature 124) extending from the frame (120 or 220), wherein the frame includes a plurality of pre-curved connection portions (138; see Fig. 4 and annotated Fig. 5A below), wherein each axial connection portion is adapted to bend in a predetermined manner (see annotated Fig. 5A below) for accommodating changes in cell height during non-uniform compression of the valve prosthesis (Paragraph [0123]).
Cooper fails to disclose wherein one or more individual anchors of the plurality of anchors include a series of spaced apart slots, the series of spaced apart slots comprising a plurality of individual slots, each individual slot having a first opening, at least some of the first openings being configured to narrow, allowing the one or more individual anchors to deflect along a length of the series of spaced apart slots.
Hariton also discloses a valve prosthesis (Figs. 2-5E, frame 2000) comprising a frame (Figs. 2-5E, frame 2400) configured to transition between a compressed configuration (Fig. 5A) and an expanded configuration (Fig. 5E), with at least one row of cells (Fig. 3A, cells 3012), and a plurality of anchors (Figs. 2-5E, atrial anchoring arms 2440). Hariton teaches wherein one or more individual anchors of the plurality of anchors (2440) include a series of spaced apart slots (see annotated Fig. 2C below), the series of spaced apart slots comprising a plurality of individual slots (see annotated Fig. 2C below), each individual slot having a first opening, at least some of the first openings being configured to narrow (see annotated Fig. 2C below), allowing the one or more individual anchors (2440) to deflect (Fig 5a compared to Fig. 5E) along a length (Fig. 2E, length 2580) of the series of spaced apart slots. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Cooper’s plurality of anchors wherein one or more individual anchors of the plurality of anchors include a series of spaced apart slots, the series of spaced apart slots comprising a plurality of individual slots, each individual slot having a first opening, at least some of the first openings being configured to narrow, allowing the one or more individual anchors to deflect along a length of the series of spaced apart slots, as taught by Hariton, in order to engage native valve tissue (Paragraph [0051]).
Cooper modified by Hariton fails to disclose wherein the pre-curved connection portions (138) are curved in a circumferential direction. Wang also discloses a valve prosthesis (Fig. 1, tubular body 5) comprising axial connection portions (9) extending between a top end and bottom end of each cell (103) of a row of cells (Fig. 1). Wang teaches wherein the axial connection portions (9) are curved in a circumferential direction (Fig. 1 s-shaped). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Cooper’s axial connection portions to be curved in a circumferential direction, as taught by Wang, in order to impart flexibility to the axial connection portions enabling stretching and compressing as needed (Paragraph [0046]).
Regarding claim 2, Cooper in view of Hariton and Wang discloses wherein the pre-curved connection portions have an asymmetric shape (Fig. 1, s-shaped).
Regarding claim 3, Cooper in view of Hariton and Wang discloses wherein the pre-curved connection portions (138; see Fig. 4 and annotated Fig. 5A above) allow each cell (134a, 134b; see Fig. 4 and annotated Fig. 5A above) of the at least one row of cells to foreshorten during loading (the curved and bendable structure of the axial connection portions 138 are structured as claimed thereby allows for non-uniform compression of the valve during loading a claimed).
Regarding claim 4, Cooper as modified by Hariton and in view of Wang further discloses wherein tips of (Figs. 2-5E, distal arm portion 3506) the one or more individual anchors (2440) include the series of spaced apart slots (see annotated Fig. 2C above).
Regarding claim 6, Cooper as modified by Hariton and in view of Wang further discloses wherein at least some of the plurality of individual slots (see annotated Fig. 2C above) extend from a front side (see annotated Fig. 2C above) of the one or more individual anchors (2440) to a back side (see annotated Fig. 2C above) of the one or more individual anchors (2440).
Regarding claim 7, Cooper as modified by Hariton and in view of Wang further discloses wherein the back side (see annotated Fig. 2C above) of the one or more individual anchors (2440) includes the first openings (see annotated Fig. 2C above), wherein the front side (see annotated Fig. 2C above) includes a plurality of second openings (see annotated Fig. 2C above), wherein each individual slot extends from respective first openings to respective second openings (see annotated Fig. 3B below), and wherein at least some of the second openings are configured to expand (see annotated Fig. 3B below).
Regarding claim 9, Cooper in view of Hariton and Wang discloses wherein the frame is an inner frame (Paragraph [0103], inner frame 120) of a dual-frame assembly (Fig. 1, Outer frame 140, inner frame 120, prosthesis 100) and wherein the valve prosthesis further comprises an outer frame (Paragraph [0103], outer frame 140) coupled to and surrounding the inner frame (Figs. 1 and 5J), wherein the outer frame (140) is configured to transition back and forth between a compressed configuration and an expanded configuration when constrained and when unconstrained, respectively (Paragraph [0103]; capable of being collapsed and expanded as needed).
Claim(s) 10, 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooper et al. (PG Pub No. US 2019/0262129 A1) in view of Hariton et al. (US PG Pub No. 2019/0083263 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Cooper discloses a valve prosthesis (prosthesis 100) adapted for non-uniform compression during loading into a capsule (curved and bendable strut structure allows for non-uniform compression), the valve prosthesis comprising: an outer frame (Fig. 1, outer frame 140) configured to transition back and forth between a compressed configuration and an expanded configuration (Paragraph [0103]); and an inner frame (Paragraph [0103], Figs. 1-3, inner frame 120) positioned within the outer frame (Fig. 1), the inner frame (120) configured to transition back and forth between a compressed configuration and an expanded configuration (capable of being collapsed and expanded as needed); a plurality of anchors (Fig. 2 and 5a, anchoring feature 124) extending from inner frame (120), wherein the inner frame comprises a plurality of strut components (Figs. 2 and 3, struts 136b) that are biased in a particular configuration or shape so as to bend or deform in a desired direction (Figs. 2, 3) during transition of the inner frame (120) between the expanded configuration and the compressed configuration or between the compressed configuration and the expanded configuration (Figs. 2, 3).
Cooper fails to disclose wherein at least one individual anchor of the plurality of anchors includes a first portion comprising a series of spaced apart cavities extending from front openings on a front side of the at least one individual anchor to corresponding back openings on a back side of the at least one individual anchor, and wherein at least some of the back openings are configured to narrow, allowing the at least one individual anchor to deform along a length of the first portion.
Hariton also discloses a valve prosthesis (Figs. 2-5E, frame 2000) comprising a frame (Figs. 2-5E, frame 2400) configured to transition between a compressed configuration (Fig. 5A) and an expanded configuration (Fig. 5E), with at least one row of cells (Fig. 3A, cells 3012), and a plurality of anchors (Figs. 2-5E, atrial anchoring arms 2440). Hariton teaches wherein one or more individual anchors of the plurality of anchors (2440) includes a first portion (Figs. 2-5E, intermediate arm portion 3504 and distal arm portion 3506) comprising a series of spaces apart cavities (see annotated Fig. 2C below) extending from front openings (see annotated Fig. 2C below) on a front side (see annotated Fig. 2C below) of the at least one individual anchor (2440) to corresponding back openings (see annotated Fig. 2C below) on a back side (see annotated Fig. 2C below) of the at least one individual anchor (2440), and wherein at least some of the back openings (see annotated Fig. 2C below) are configured to narrow (see annotated Fig. 2C below), allowing the at least one individual anchor to deform (Fig 5a compared to Fig. 5E) along a length (Fig. 2E, length 2580) of the first portion (3504 and 3506). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Cooper’s plurality of anchors wherein at least one individual anchor of the plurality of anchors includes a first portion comprising a series of spaced apart cavities extending from front openings on a front side of the at least one individual anchor to corresponding back openings on a back side of the at least one individual anchor, and wherein at least some of the back openings are configured to narrow, allowing the at least one individual anchor to deform along a length of the first portion, as taught by Hariton, in order to engage native valve tissue (Paragraph [0051]).
Regarding claim 15, Cooper in view of Hariton discloses wherein the plurality of strut components (136b) comprise dual bow-spring structures (Fig. 3, adjacent pairs of 136b’s bow outward in opposite directions when expanded) comprising two strut segments (two adjacent 136b’s) connected at their proximal and distal ends (to 138 and 124, respectively) but separated along their lengths (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 16, Cooper in view of Hariton discloses wherein the cells comprise chevron-shaped cells (Paragraph [0120]).
Regarding claim 17, Cooper in view of Hariton discloses wherein the plurality of strut components (136b) comprise a single bow-spring structure (Fig. 2, each 136b bows outward in opposite directions when expanded) adapted to prevent cell ovality of the chevron- shaped cells (Fig. 2) during the transition between the compressed configuration (Fig. 3) and the expanded configuration (Fig. 2) and/or between the expanded configuration (Fig. 2) and the compressed configuration (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 18, Cooper as modified by Hariton further discloses at least some of the front openings (see annotated Fig. 2C below) are configured to expand (see annotated Fig. 2C below).
Regarding claim 19, Cooper as modified by Hariton further discloses wherein at least some of the back openings (see annotated Fig. 2C above) are configured to expand (see annotated Fig. 2C above) and at least one of the front openings (see annotated Fig. 2C above) are configured to narrow (see annotated Fig. 2C above).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooper et al. (PG Pub No. US 2019/0262129 A1) in view of Hariton et al. (US PG Pub No. 2019/0083263 A1) and Wang et al. (PG Pub No. US 2021/0205077)] as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Serina et al. (US PG Pub No. 2022/0079762 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Cooper as modified by Hariton and in view of Wang further discloses wherein the one or more individual anchors (2440) comprising a series of spaced apart slots (see annotated Fig. 2C below), but fails to disclose wherein one or more individual anchors comprises an anchor with an attachable hypotube. Serina also discloses a valve prosthesis (Fig. 1A, implant system 100) with a plurality of individual anchors (Fig. 1A, screw anchors 20, Fig. 10A, anchor shaft 22). Serina teaches wherein one or more individual anchors (20) comprises an anchor (22) with an attachable hypotube (Fig. 10A, hypotube features 29). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Cooper’s as modified by Hariton and in view of Wang anchor wherein one or more individual anchors comprises an anchor with an attachable hypotube, as taught by Serina, in order to accommodate anchor positioning in the native annulus (Paragraph [0056]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.L.C./ Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/MELANIE R TYSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774