DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 recites “6-35% of RO, and the RO is total content” which appears as if it should instead recite “6-35% of RO, and the RO is a total content”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 17, at lines 2-3, the limitation “made of the optical glass” appears as if it should instead recite “made of the optical glass according to claim 1”.
Claim 17 also recites the limitation "the glass preform" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites “an optical instrument, comprising the optical glass according to claim 1, and/or the optical element made of the glass or made of the glass preform, made of the optical glass” which is unclear. It is unclear who an optical instrument can comprise both of the optical glass according to claim 1 and an optical element made of the glass made of the glass preform made of the optical glass. Examiner notes this “and/or” gate at line 2 would be more clear by reciting “or” instead.
Claim 18 at line 3 recites “made of the optical glass” which appears as if it should instead recite “made of the optical glass according to claim 1”.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the optical element" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the glass" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the glass preform" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ogino (US20190233323, hereinafter referred to as Ogino).
Regarding Claim 1, Ogino discloses an optical glass (See Ogino at the Abstract, disclosing an optical glass), wherein components thereof are represented by weight percentage, comprising: 1-15% of SiO2 (See Ogino at Table 10, Example B4, disclosing an example of an optical glass comprising 10.71 wt.% SiO2); 5-20% of B2O3 (See Ogino at Table 10, Example B4, disclosing an example of an optical glass comprising 9.12 wt.% B2O3); 25-50% of La2O3 (See Ogino at Table 10, Example B4, disclosing an example of an optical glass comprising 33.37 wt.% La2O3); 1-12% of ZrO2 (See Ogino at Table 10, Example B4, disclosing an example of an optical glass comprising 6.66 wt.% ZrO2); 5-20% of TiO2 (See Ogino at Table 10, Example B4, disclosing an example of an optical glass comprising 12.32 wt.% TiO2); 6-35% of RO, and the RO is total content of MgO, CaO, SrO, and BaO (See Ogino at Table 10, Example B4, disclosing an example of an optical glass comprising 19.29 wt.% BaO, 0% MgO, 0% CaO, and 0% SrO, for a sum total of 19.29 wt.% RO).
Regarding Claim 2, Ogino discloses wherein components thereof are represented by weight percentage, further comprising: 0-8% of Y2O3; and/or 0-8% of Gd2O3; and/or 0-5% of Yb2O3; and/or 0-12% of Nb2O5; and/or 0-10% of ZnO; and/or 0-8% of Rn2O; and/or 0-5% of GeO2; and/or 0-5% of WO3; and/or 0-5% of Ta2O5; and/or 0-5% of Al2O3; and/or 0-1% of clarifying agent, the Rn2O is one or more of Li2O, Na2O, and K2O, and the clarifying agent is one or more of Sb2O3, SnO, SnO2, and CeO2 (See Ogino at Table 10, Example B4, disclosing an example of an optical glass comprising 3.00 wt.% Y2O3).
Regarding Claim 3, Ogino discloses wherein components thereof are represented by weight percentage, and one or more of the following 8 conditions are satisfied: 1) CaO/(SiO2+ZrO2) is 0.02-1.0; 2) TiO2/BaO is 0.3-3.0; 3) TiO2/(La2O3+ZnO) is 0.1-0.6; 4) SiO2/(CaO/BaO) is 0.05-1.5; 5) BaO/Nb2O5 is above 0.8; 6) (CaO+ZnO)/BaO is 0.1-3.0; 7) La2O3/(ZnO+Nb2O5) is 2.0-15.0; 8) (ZnO+Gd2O3+Y2O3)/CaO is below 5.0 (See Ogino at Table 10, Example B4, disclosing an example of an optical glass comprising 12.32 wt.% TiO2 and 19.29 wt.% BaO, for a ratio of TiO2/BaO of 12.32/19.29= 0.64).
Regarding Claim 4, Ogino discloses wherein components thereof are represented by weight percentage, and one or more of the following 8 conditions are satisfied: 1) CaO/(SiO2+ZrO2) is 0.05-0.8; 2) TiO2/BaO is 0.4-2.0; 3) TiO2/(La2O3+ZnO) is 0. 15-0.55; 4) SiO2/(CaO+BaO) is 0.1-1.0; 5) BaO/Nb2O5 is 1.0-20.0; 6) (CaO+ZnO)/BaO is 0.2-2.0; 7) La2O3/(ZnO+Nb2O5) is 2.5-10.0; 8) (ZnO+Gd2O3+Y2O3) /CaO is below 4.0. 5 (See Ogino at Table 10, Example B4, disclosing an example of an optical glass comprising 12.32 wt.% TiO2 and 19.29 wt.% BaO, for a ratio of TiO2/BaO of 12.32/19.29= 0.64).
Regarding Claim 5, Ogino discloses wherein components thereof are represented by weight percentage, and one or more of the following 8 conditions are satisfied: 1) CaO/(SiO2+ZrO2) is 0.1-0.6; 2) TiO2/BaO is 0.6-1.5; 3) TiO2/(La2O3+ZnO) is 0.2-0.5; 4) SiO2/(CaO+BaO) is 0.2-0.85; 5) BaO/Nb2O5 is 1.5-10.0; 6) (CaO+ZnO)/BaO is 0.3-1.0; 7) La2O3/(ZnO+Nb2O5) is 3.0-8.0; 8) (ZnO+Gd2O3+Y2O3) /CaO is 0.2-3.0. 6 (See Ogino at Table 10, Example B4, disclosing an example of an optical glass comprising 12.32 wt.% TiO2 and 19.29 wt.% BaO, for a ratio of TiO2/BaO of 12.32/19.29= 0.64).
Regarding Claim 6, Ogino discloses wherein components thereof are represented by weight percentage, and one or more of the following 8 conditions are satisfied:1) CaO/(SiO2+ZrO2) is 0.1-0.5; 2) TiO2/BaO is 0.8-1.3; 3) TiO2/(La2O3+ZnO) is 0.25-0.45; 4) SiO2/(CaO+BaO) is 0.35-0.75; 5) BaO/Nb2O5 is 2.0-5.0; 6) (CaO+ZnO) /BaO is 0.3-0.8; 7) La2O3/(ZnO+Nb2O5) is 3.5-6.0; 8) (ZnO+Gd2O3+Y2O3) /CaO is 0.5-2.0. 7 (See Ogino at Table 10, Example B4, disclosing an example of an optical glass comprising 10.71 wt.% SiO2 and 19.29 wt.% BaO, and 0% CaO, for a ratio of SiO2/(CaO+BaO) of 10.71/(0+19.29)= 0.56).
Regarding Claim 7, Ogino discloses wherein components thereof are represented by weight percentage, in which: SiO2 is 3-12%; and/or B2O3 is 8-17%; and/or La2O3 is 31-45%; and/or ZrO2 is 2-10%; and/or TiO2 is 8-18%;and/or RO is 10-25%; and/or Y2O3 is 0-4%; and/or Gd2O3 is 0-4%; and/or Yb2O3 is 0-3%; and/or Nb2O5 is 1-10%; and/or ZnO is 1-8%; and/or Rn2O is 0-4%; and/or GeO2 is 0-3%; and/or WO3 is 0-3%; and/or Ta2O5 is 0-3%; and/or Al2O3 is 0-3%; and/or clarifying agent is 0-0.5%, the RO is total content of MgO, CaO, SrO, and BaO, Rn2O is one or more of Li2O, Na2O, and K2O, and the clarifying agent is one or more of Sb2O3, SnO, SnO2, and CeO2 (See Ogino at Table 10, Example B4, disclosing an example of an optical glass comprising 10.71 wt.% SiO2).
Regarding Claim 8, Ogino discloses wherein components thereof are represented by weight percentage, in which: SiO2 is 5-10%; and/or B2O3 is 10-15%; and/or La2O3 is 34-40%; and/or ZrO2 is 3-8%; and/or TiO2 is 11- 16%; and/or RO is 11-20%; and/or Y2O3 is 0-2%; and/or Gd2O3 is 0-2%; and/or Yb2O3 is 0- 1%; and/or Nb2O5 is 2-7%; and/or ZnO is 2-7%; and/or Rn2O is 0-2%; and/or GeO2 is 0-1%; and/or WO3 is 0-1%, and/or Ta2O5 is 0-1%; and/or Al2O3 is 0-1%; and/or clarifying agent is 0-0.2%, the RO is total content of MgO, CaO, SrO, and BaO, Rn2O is one or more of Li2O, Na2O, and K2O, and the clarifying agent is one or more of Sb2O3, SnO, SnO2, and CeO2 (See Ogino at Table 10, Example B4, disclosing an example of an optical glass comprising 6.66 wt.% ZrO2).
Regarding Claim 9, Ogino discloses wherein components thereof are represented by weight percentage, in which: BaO is 5-20%; and/or SrO is 0-10%; and/or CaO is 0-12%; and/or MgO is 0-10% (See Ogino at Table 10, Example B4, disclosing an example of an optical glass comprising 19.29 wt.% BaO).
Regarding Claim 10, Ogino discloses wherein components thereof are represented by weight percentage, in which: BaO is 11-16%; and/or SrO is 0-2%; and/or CaO is 2-8%; and/or MgO is 0-2% (See Ogino at Table 10, Example B4, disclosing an example of an optical glass comprising 0% SrO).
Regarding Claim 11, Ogino discloses wherein components thereof do not contain WO3; and/or do not contain Ta2O5; and/or do not contain Rn2O; and/or do not contain Al2O3; and/or do not contain GeO2; and/or do not contain Y2O3; and/or donot contain Gd2O3; and/or donot contain SrO; and/or donot contain MgO; and/or donot contain Yb2O3, and the Rn2O is one or more of Li2O, Na2O, and K2O (See Ogino at Table 10, Example B4, disclosing an example of an optical glass comprising 0% Al2O3).
Regarding Claim 12, Ogino discloses a refractive index n of the optical glass is 1.87-1.93 (See Ogino at Table 10, Example B4, disclosing an example of an optical glass comprising a refractive index of 1.89), and an Abbe number vd is 28-35 (See Ogino at Table 10, Example B4, disclosing an example of an optical glass comprising an Abbe number of 31.7).
Regarding Claim 13, Ogino discloses the refractive index nd of the optical glass is 1.89-1.91 (See Ogino at Table 10, Example B4, disclosing an example of an optical glass comprising a refractive index of 1.89), and the Abbe number vd is 30-33 (See Ogino at Table 10, Example B4, disclosing an example of an optical glass comprising an Abbe number of 31.7).
Regarding Claim 14, Ogino discloses a thermal expansion coefficient α-30/70°c of the optical glass is below 95x10-7/K; and/or water resistance stability Dw is above Class 2; and/or λ70 is below 420nm; and/or λ5 is below 380nm; and/or weather resistance CR is above Class 2; and/or Knoop hardness HK is above 580x107Pa; and/or Young's modulus E is above 10000x107Pa; and/or bubble degree is above Grade A; and/or density ρ is below 4.90g/cm3; and/or abrasion degree FA is 125-165; and/or transition temperature Tg is below 700°C (See Ogino at Table 10, Example B4, disclosing an example of an optical glass with a water resistance of class 1).
Regarding Claim 15, Ogino discloses the thermal expansion coefficient α-30/70°C of the optical glass is below 80x10-7/K; and/or water resistance stability Dw is Class 1; and/or λ70 is below 410nm; and/or λ5 is below 370nm; and/or weather resistance CR is Class 1; and/or Knoop hardness HK is above 605x107Pa; and/or Young's modulus E is above 11000x107Pa and/or bubble degree is Grade A00; and/or density ρ is below 4.60g/cm3; and/or abrasion degree FA is 135-155; and/or transition temperature Tg is below 678°C (See Ogino at Table 10, Example B4, disclosing an example of an optical glass with a water resistance of class 1).
Regarding Claim 16, Ogino discloses a glass preform, made of the optical glass (See Ogino at [0082], disclosing a preform).
Regarding Claim 17, Ogino discloses an optical element, made of the optical glass or made of the glass preform made of the optical glass (See Ogino at [0083], disclosing optical elements).
Regarding Claim 18, Ogino discloses an optical instrument, comprising the optical glass and/or the optical element made of the optical glass or made of the glass preform, made of the optical glass (see Ogino at [0098], disclosing using the optical glasses … glass blocks were formed, and by carrying out grinding and polishing of these glass blocks, they were processed into lenses and prisms. Examiner notes lenses and prisms correspond with optical instruments.).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 8 and 16-18 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 10-12 of U.S. Patent No. 9,487,432. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 1, the ‘432 patent claims an optical glass (see the ‘432 patent at claim 1, claiming an optical glass), wherein components thereof are represented by weight percentage, comprising: 1-15% of SiO2 (see the ‘432 patent at claim 1, claiming 1 wt % to 13 wt % of SiO2 which overlaps with the claimed range). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05); 5-20% of B2O3 (see the ‘432 patent at claim 1, claiming 6 wt % to 15 wt % of B2O3 which overlaps with the claimed range); 25-50% of La2O3 (see the ‘432 patent at claim 1, claiming 35 wt % to 60 wt % of La2O3 which overlaps with the claimed range); 1-12% of ZrO2 (see the ‘432 patent at claim 1, claiming 2 wt % to 10 wt % of ZrO2 which overlaps with the claimed range); 5-20% of TiO2 (see the ‘432 patent at claim 1, claiming 5 wt % to 22 wt % of TiO2 which overlaps with the claimed range); 6-35% of RO, and the RO is total content of MgO, CaO, SrO, and BaO (see the ‘432 patent at claim 2, claiming RO in amount of from 0 to 8 wt %, wherein R represents one or more of Ba, Sr, Ca and Mg, which overlaps with the claimed range).
Regarding claim 2, the ‘432 patent claims components thereof are represented by weight percentage, further comprising: 0-8% of Y2O3; and/or 0-8% of Gd2O3; and/or 0-5% of Yb2O3; and/or 0-12% of Nb2O5; and/or 0-10% of ZnO; and/or 0-8% of Rn2O; and/or 0-5% of GeO2; and/or 0-5% of WO3; and/or 0-5% of Ta2O5; and/or 0-5% of Al2O3; and/or 0-1% of clarifying agent, the Rn2O is one or more of Li2O, Na2O, and K2O, and the clarifying agent is one or more of Sb2O3, SnO, SnO2, and CeO2 (see the ‘432 patent at claim 1, claiming 0 to 10 wt % of Y2O3 which overlaps with the claimed range).
Regarding claim 8, the ‘432 patent claims wherein components thereof are represented by weight percentage, in which: SiO2 is 5-10%; and/or B2O3 is 10-15%; and/or La2O3 is 34-40%; and/or ZrO2 is 3-8%; and/or TiO2 is 11- 16%; and/or RO is 11-20%; and/or Y2O3 is 0-2%; and/or Gd2O3 is 0-2%; and/or Yb2O3 is 0- 1%; and/or Nb2O5 is 2-7%; and/or ZnO is 2-7%; and/or Rn2O is 0-2%; and/or GeO2 is 0-1%; and/or WO3 is 0-1%, and/or Ta2O5 is 0-1%; and/or Al2O3 is 0-1%; and/or clarifying agent is 0-0.2%, the RO is total content of MgO, CaO, SrO, and BaO, Rn2O is one or more of Li2O, Na2O, and K2O, and the clarifying agent is one or more of Sb2O3, SnO, SnO2, and CeO2 (see the ‘432 patent at claim 1, claiming 1 wt % to 13 wt % of SiO2 which overlaps with the claimed range).
Regarding claim 16, the ‘432 patent claims a glass preform, made of the optical glass (see the ‘432 patent at claim 10).
Regarding claim 17, the ‘432 patent claims an optical element, made of the optical glass or made of the glass preform made of the optical glass (see the ‘432 patent at claim 11).
Regarding claim 18, the ‘432 patent claims an optical instrument, comprising the optical glass, and/or the optical element made of the optical glass or made of the glass preform, made of the optical glass (see the ‘432 patent at claim 12).
Claims 1-2, 8, 11, and 14-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 8 and 17-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,878,938. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 1, the ‘938 patent claims an optical glass (see the ‘938 patent at claim 1, claiming an optical glass), wherein components thereof are represented by weight percentage, comprising: 1-15% of SiO2 (see the ‘938 patent at claim 1, claiming 0.5 to 15 wt % of SiO2 which overlaps with the claimed range); 5-20% of B2O3 (see the ‘938 patent at claim 1, claiming 5 to 25 wt % of B2O3 which overlaps with the claimed range); 25-50% of La2O3 (see the ‘938 patent at claim 1, claiming 25 to 45 wt % of La2O3 which overlaps with the claimed range); 1-12% of ZrO2 (see the ‘938 patent at claim 1, claiming 1 to 15 wt % of ZrO2 which overlaps with the claimed range); 5-20% of TiO2 (see the ‘938 patent at claim 1, claiming 0 to 5 wt % of TiO2 which overlaps with the claimed range); and 6-35% of RO, and the RO is total content of MgO, CaO, SrO, and BaO (see the ‘938 patent at claim 4, claiming 0 to 10 wt % of total amount of CaO, SrO, BaO and MgO, which overlaps with the claimed range).
Regarding claim 2, the ‘938 patent claims wherein components thereof are represented by weight percentage, further comprising: 0-8% of Y2O3; and/or 0-8% of Gd2O3; and/or 0-5% of Yb2O3; and/or 0-12% of Nb2O5; and/or 0-10% of ZnO; and/or 0-8% of Rn2O; and/or 0-5% of GeO2; and/or 0-5% of WO3; and/or 0-5% of Ta2O5; and/or 0-5% of Al2O3; and/or 0-1% of clarifying agent, the Rn2O is one or more of Li2O, Na2O, and K2O, and the clarifying agent is one or more of Sb2O3, SnO, SnO2, and CeO2 (see the ‘938 patent at claim 1, claiming 0 to 10 wt % of Y2O3 which overlaps with the claimed range).
Regarding claim 8, the ‘938 patent claims wherein components thereof are represented by weight percentage, in which: SiO2 is 5-10%; and/or B2O3 is 10-15%; and/or La2O3 is 34-40%; and/or ZrO2 is 3-8%; and/or TiO2 is 11- 16%; and/or RO is 11-20%; and/or Y2O3 is 0-2%; and/or Gd2O3 is 0-2%; and/or Yb2O3 is 0- 1%; and/or Nb2O5 is 2-7%; and/or ZnO is 2-7%; and/or Rn2O is 0-2%; and/or GeO2 is 0-1%; and/or WO3 is 0-1%, and/or Ta2O5 is 0-1%; and/or Al2O3 is 0-1%; and/or clarifying agent is 0-0.2%, the RO is total content of MgO, CaO, SrO, and BaO, Rn2O is one or more of Li2O, Na2O, and K2O, and the clarifying agent is one or more of Sb2O3, SnO, SnO2, and CeO2 (see the ‘938 patent at claim 1, claiming 0.5 to 15 wt % of SiO2 which overlaps with the claimed range).
Regarding claim 11, the ‘938 patent claims wherein components thereof do not contain WO3; and/or do not contain Ta2O5; and/or do not contain Rn2O; and/or do not contain Al2O3; and/or do not contain GeO2; and/or do not contain Y2O3; and/or do not contain Gd2O3; and/or do not contain SrO; and/or do not contain MgO; and/or do not contain Yb2O3, and the Rn2O is one or more of Li2O, Na2O, and K2O (see the ‘938 patent at claim 1, claiming 0 to 7 wt % of WO3 which overlaps with the claimed range).
Regarding claim 14, the ‘938 patent claims a thermal expansion coefficient α-30/70°c of the optical glass is below 95x10-7/K; and/or water resistance stability Dw is above Class 2; and/or λ70 is below 420nm; and/or λ5 is below 380nm; and/or weather resistance CR is above Class 2; and/or Knoop hardness HK is above 580x107Pa; and/or Young's modulus E is above 10000x107Pa; and/or bubble degree is above Grade A; and/or density ρ is below 4.90g/cm3; and/or abrasion degree FA is 125-165; and/or transition temperature Tg is below 700°C (See the ‘938 patent at claim 8, claiming a λ70 of not more than 390 nm).
Regarding claim 15, the ‘938 patent claims the thermal expansion coefficient α-30/70°C of the optical glass is below 80x10-7/K; and/or water resistance stability Dw is Class 1; and/or λ70 is below 410nm; and/or λ5 is below 370nm; and/or weather resistance CR is Class 1; and/or Knoop hardness HK is above 605x107Pa; and/or Young's modulus E is above 11000x107Pa and/or bubble degree is Grade A00; and/or density ρ is below 4.60g/cm3; and/or abrasion degree FA is 135-155; and/or transition temperature Tg is below 678°C (See the ‘938 patent at claim 8, claiming a λ70 of not more than 390 nm).
Regarding claim 16, the ‘938 patent claims a glass preform, made of the optical glass (see the ‘938 patent at claim 17).
Regarding claim 17, the ‘938 patent claims an optical element, made of the optical glass or made of the glass preform made of the optical glass (see the ‘938 patent at claim 18).
Regarding claim 18, the ‘938 patent claims an optical instrument, comprising the optical glass, and/or the optical element made of the optical glass or made of the glass preform, made of the optical glass (see the ‘938 patent at claim 19).
Conclusion
CAMERON K MILLER
Examiner
Art Unit 1731
/CAMERON K MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1731