DETAILED ACTION
The office action is a response to an application filed on October 09, 2023, wherein claims 1-20 are pending and ready for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 10-12, 14, 15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Han et al. (Han hereafter) (US 20100054237 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Han teaches, A synchronization method of a femtocell base station ([0020] home enhanced Node B (H(e)NB), or HNB, that provides femto-cell coverage) built in a specialized network, comprising:
searching for (home BS performs a cell search) at least one neighboring base station by scanning signals (performs a cell search to find out physical ID and frame synchronization of neighboring macro-cell BSs) in a second frequency band different from a first frequency band allocated for the specialized network (BS1 100 and user equipment 110 are operable on the first communication network, and BS2 108 is operable in a second communication network, uncoordinated with the first communication network) (Han; [0019] FIG. 1, a first femto-cell base station 100 is provided timing synchronization via a second macro-cell base station. BS1 100 and user equipment 110 are operable on the first communication network, and BS2 108 is operable in a second communication network, uncoordinated with the first communication network [0029] also operative where the home femto-cells and the cellular macro-cells operate in different frequency bands. In addition, as the femto-cell BS needs to periodically listen to nearby macro BSs) [0034] timing synchronization in a first base station of a first communication network via a second base station of second communication network uncoordinated with the first communication network that includes a first step 402 of obtaining the ID and frame timing synchronization of a neighboring or overlaying macro-cell BS… the home BS performs a cell search to find out physical ID and frame synchronization of neighboring macro-cell BSs. the home base station listens when the second base station broadcasts a synchronization signal,
determining a reference base station for synchronization (incorporate an integrated downlink receiver to synchronize its internal oscillator to a sync burst) from among the at least one neighboring base station (from a nearby macro-cell base station) (Han; [0021] each femto-cell can incorporate an integrated downlink receiver to synchronize its internal oscillator to a sync burst from a nearby macro-cell base station. Referring to FIG. 2, based on the synchronization burst from the macro-cell base station, the measured clock difference between the femto-cell Node B and the macro-cell base station is equal to the sum of their actual clock difference and a propagation delay [0025] the home BS has the ability to listen to the signal from a macro-cell BS, and execute its synchronization on its own as demonstrated in the following example: a) when turned on, the home BS will identify the strongest synchronization signal (preamble) from nearby macro-cell BSs,));
analyzing a signal transmitted (home BS for it to analyse,) from the reference base station to detect start timing (The timing difference can be accommodated by adjusting a clock of the first base station) of a time division duplex (TDD) radio frame ([0022] TDD mode requirement) (Han; [0034] The user device can send that actual synchronization parameter to the home BS for it to analyse, or the user device can analyze the synchronization parameter by computing a frame alignment time offset and a frequency offset between the home base station and the macro-cell base station, [0036] The timing difference can be accommodated by adjusting a clock of the first base station in response to the synchronization information, and in particular by measuring the time difference as the sum of a clock error and a propagation delay from the macro-cell base station to the home base station).
finely adjusting the start timing (to correct a timing difference) using a delay time corresponding to a distance (that exists between the base stations of the two networks) from the reference base station (macro/femto-cell timing difference) (Han; [0022] the maximum macro/femto-cell timing difference is 0.2 micro-seconds (.mu.s), which is much smaller than a 3 .mu.s TDD mode requirement. [0023] synchronization information is used by the BS 100 to correct a timing difference and/or a frequency offset that exists between the base stations of the two networks).
Regarding claim 10 Han teaches, A synchronization method of a femtocell base station ([0020] home enhanced Node B (H(e)NB), or HNB, that provides femto-cell coverage) built in a specialized network, comprising:
determining a reference base station for synchronization (incorporate an integrated downlink receiver to synchronize its internal oscillator to a sync burst) from among the searched neighboring base stations (from a nearby macro-cell base station) (Han; [0021] each femto-cell can incorporate an integrated downlink receiver to synchronize its internal oscillator to a sync burst from a nearby macro-cell base station. Referring to FIG. 2, based on the synchronization burst from the macro-cell base station, the measured clock difference between the femto-cell Node B and the macro-cell base station is equal to the sum of their actual clock difference and a propagation delay [0025] the home BS has the ability to listen to the signal from a macro-cell BS, and execute its synchronization on its own as demonstrated in the following example: a) when turned on, the home BS will identify the strongest synchronization signal (preamble) from nearby macro-cell BSs,));
analyzing a signal transmitted (home BS for it to analyse,) from the reference base station to detect start timing (The timing difference can be accommodated by adjusting a clock of the first base station) of a time division duplex (TDD) radio frame (Han; [0034] The user device can send that actual synchronization parameter to the home BS for it to analyse, or the user device can analyze the synchronization parameter by computing a frame alignment time offset and a frequency offset between the home base station and the macro-cell base station, [0036] The timing difference can be accommodated by adjusting a clock of the first base station in response to the synchronization information, and in particular by measuring the time difference as the sum of a clock error and a propagation delay from the macro-cell base station to the home base station).
providing the specialized network service using the TDD radio frame synchronized to the reference base station by the determined start timing (Han; [0022]This time synchronization accuracy analysis is illustrated in FIG. 2. [0023] synchronization information is used by the BS 100 to correct a timing difference and/or a frequency offset that exists between the base stations of the two networks. Assuming that the propagation delays are negligible, as explained above, the home base station need only align its timing to match that of the macro-cell base station to provide timing synchronization).
Regarding claim 17 Han teaches, A femtocell base station for a specialized network, comprising:
a central unit (CU), a digital unit (DU), a radio unit (RU), and synchronization detection module (Han;[0021] femto-cell can incorporate an integrated downlink receiver to synchronize its internal oscillator to a sync burst from a nearby macro-cell base station, FIG. 2, based on the synchronization burst from the macro-cell base station, the measured clock difference between the femto-cell Node B and the macro-cell base station is equal to the sum of their actual clock difference and a propagation delay, d.sub.2/c.), wherein the synchronization detection module is configured to
a synchronization method of a femtocell base station ([0020] home enhanced Node B (H(e)NB), or HNB, that provides femto-cell coverage) built in a specialized network, comprising:
search for (home BS performs a cell search) at least one neighboring base station by scanning signals (performs a cell search to find out physical ID and frame synchronization of neighboring macro-cell BSs.) in a second frequency band different from a first frequency band allocated for the specialized network (BS1 100 and user equipment 110 are operable on the first communication network, and BS2 108 is operable in a second communication network, uncoordinated with the first communication network.) (Han; [0019] FIG. 1, a first femto-cell base station 100 is provided timing synchronization via a second macro-cell base station. BS1 100 and user equipment 110 are operable on the first communication network, and BS2 108 is operable in a second communication network, uncoordinated with the first communication network [0029] also operative where the home femto-cells and the cellular macro-cells operate in different frequency bands. In addition, as the femto-cell BS needs to periodically listen to nearby macro BSs) [0034] timing synchronization in a first base station of a first communication network via a second base station of second communication network uncoordinated with the first communication network that includes a first step 402 of obtaining the ID and frame timing synchronization of a neighboring or overlaying macro-cell BS… the home BS performs a cell search to find out physical ID and frame synchronization of neighboring macro-cell BSs. the home base station listens when the second base station broadcasts a synchronization signal,
determine a reference base station for synchronization (incorporate an integrated downlink receiver to synchronize its internal oscillator to a sync burst) from among the at least one neighboring base station (from a nearby macro-cell base station) (Han; [0021] each femto-cell can incorporate an integrated downlink receiver to synchronize its internal oscillator to a sync burst from a nearby macro-cell base station. Referring to FIG. 2, based on the synchronization burst from the macro-cell base station, the measured clock difference between the femto-cell Node B and the macro-cell base station is equal to the sum of their actual clock difference and a propagation delay [0025] the home BS has the ability to listen to the signal from a macro-cell BS, and execute its synchronization on its own as demonstrated in the following example: a) when turned on, the home BS will identify the strongest synchronization signal (preamble) from nearby macro-cell BSs);
detect start timing of a time division duplex (TDD) radio frame (The timing difference can be accommodated by adjusting a clock of the first base station) by analyzing a signal transmitted (home BS for it to analyse,) from the reference base station (Han; [0034] The user device can send that actual synchronization parameter to the home BS for it to analyse, or the user device can analyze the synchronization parameter by computing a frame alignment time offset and a frequency offset between the home base station and the macro-cell base station, [0036] The timing difference can be accommodated by adjusting a clock of the first base station in response to the synchronization information, and in particular by measuring the time difference as the sum of a clock error and a propagation delay from the macro-cell base station to the home base station).
acquire synchronization information by finely adjusting the start timing using a delay time corresponding to a distance from the reference base station (Han; [0022]the maximum macro/femto-cell timing difference is 0.2 micro-seconds (.mu.s), which is much smaller than a 3 .mu.s TDD mode requirement. [0023] synchronization information is used by the BS 100 to correct a timing difference and/or a frequency offset that exists between the base stations of the two networks).
Regarding claims 2 and 11 Han teaches, The claims 1 and 10,
wherein the determining the reference base station comprises determining the reference base station from among the at least one neighboring base station based on reference signal received power (Han; [0035] A next step 404 includes finding those neighboring macro-cells with the strongest signal strength by making measurements of neighboring macro-cells, and picking the macro-cell with the strongest signal strength).
Regarding claims 3 and 18 Han teaches, The claims 1 and 17,
wherein the finely adjusting the start timing comprises estimating the distance from the reference base station based on transmitted power and received power of the reference signal transmitted from the reference base station, and finely adjusting the start timing using the delay time corresponding to the distance.(Han; [0023] the home base station can detect a phase difference in the signalling from the macro-cell base station and use this to provide frequency correction. [0024] to measure relevant parameters from the macro-cell BS and report these parameters back to the home BS. The home BS then adjusts its clock based on user-reported parameters [0025] when turned on, the home BS will identify the strongest synchronization signal (preamble) from nearby macro-cell BSs, b) the home BS periodically listens to this macro BS preamble, and based on the preamble, it corrects its frequency offset and measures the time difference, which is the sum of the clock error and the propagation delay from the macro-cell BS to the home BS.)
{Examiner is construing that detecting a phase difference of arrival in a signal can be used to determine the angle of arrival (AoA) of the signal, which in turn this is related to the time difference of arrival and the distance a signal travels}
Regarding claim 4 Han teaches,The synchronization method of claim 3,
wherein the finely adjusting the start timing comprises: initially adjusting the start timing based on random transmitted power and the received power, when the transmitted power of the reference signal is not detected (Han; [0026] the home BS sends a signalling message to the user device that is attached to the femto-cell BS to measure various synchronization-related quantities (propagation delay, etc.) between the user and the macro-cell BS, b) the user device first synchronizes with the macro BS and measures the requested quantities, c) the user device can also compute the frame alignment time offset and frequency offset between the home BS and the macro-cell BS, and d) the user device will report the measurements and/or computed offsets to the home BS in a signalling message.); and
readjusting the start timing based on the detected transmitted power and received power, when the transmitted power of the reference signal is detected (Han; [0035-0036] Steps 402 and 404 should be performed regularly (e.g. in a large cycle such as one day) in case the strongest cell changes, which can be caused by reconfiguration of macro-cell BS transmission power, installation of new macro-cell BSs, etc.) [0036] A next step 406 includes correcting frequency offset and/or timing difference in response to the synchronization information from the strongest-signaled neighboring macro-cell. The timing difference can be accommodated by adjusting a clock of the first base station in response to the synchronization information, and in particular by measuring the time difference as the sum of a clock error and a propagation delay from the macro-cell base station to the home base station).
Regarding claim 5 Han teaches,The synchronization method of claim 1,
further comprising: providing the specialized network service using the TDD radio frame synchronized to the reference base station by the finely adjusted start timing (Han; [0037] the home BS starting a timer. The timer is used to ensure that the synchronization is performed every once in a while).
Regarding claim 6 Han teaches,The synchronization method of claim 1,
wherein the reference base station includes a macrocell base station that provides a communication service in the second frequency band (Han; [0020-0021] The femto-cell is overlain by macro-cell cellular coverage, wherein the home network and cellular network are Time Division Duplex (TDD) systems that are uncoordinated…[0021] each femto-cell can incorporate an integrated downlink receiver to synchronize its internal oscillator to a sync burst from a nearby macro-cell base station. ).
Regarding claims 7 and 19 Han teaches,The claims 1 and 17,
further comprising: when the neighboring base station is not searched through the scanning in the second frequency band, searching for at least one new neighboring base station by scanning the signals in the first frequency band and determining the reference base station from among the at least one new neighboring base station (Han; [0028] It should be recognized that neighboring femto-cells may synchronize to different macro-cells if they are deployed at the macro-cell edges. If macro cells are not time synchronized with each other (e.g. a FDD system), these neighboring femto-cells cannot be time synchronized either … If a neighboring femto-cell home BS broadcasts a different macro-cell ID, the home BS can re-synchronize to this different macro-cell BS).
Regarding claim 12 Han teaches, The synchronization method of claim 10,
wherein the reference base station includes a neighboring macrocell base station that provides a communication service using a second frequency different from a first frequency allocated for the specialized network (Han; [0034] timing synchronization in a first base station of a first communication network via a second base station of second communication network uncoordinated with the first communication network that includes a first step 402 of obtaining the ID and frame timing synchronization of a neighboring or overlaying macro-cell BS. [0036] [0036] A next step 406 includes correcting frequency offset and/or timing difference in response to the synchronization information from the strongest-signaled neighboring macro-cell.),
or
a neighboring femtocell base station that provides a specialized network service using the first frequency.
{ Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “either...or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner.}
Regarding claim 14 Han teaches, The synchronization method of claim 10,
wherein the determining the start timing comprises analyzing a signal transmitted from the reference base station to detect the start timing (Han; [0034] The user device can send that actual synchronization parameter to the home BS for it to analyse, or the user device can analyze the synchronization parameter by computing a frame alignment time offset and a frequency offset between the home base station and the macro-cell base station, and reports the computed offsets as synchronization parameters to the home base station.), and
estimating the distance from the reference base station based on transmitted power and received power of the reference signal transmitted from the reference base station, and finely adjusting the start timing using the delay time corresponding to the distance (Han; [0023] the home base station can detect a phase difference in the signalling from the macro-cell base station and use this to provide frequency correction. [0024] to measure relevant parameters from the macro-cell BS and report these parameters back to the home BS. The home BS then adjusts its clock based on user-reported parameters [0025] when turned on, the home BS will identify the strongest synchronization signal (preamble) from nearby macro-cell BSs, b) the home BS periodically listens to this macro BS preamble, and based on the preamble, it corrects its frequency offset and measures the time difference, which is the sum of the clock error and the propagation delay from the macro-cell BS to the home BS).
{Examiner is construing that detecting a phase difference of arrival in a signal can be used to determine the angle of arrival (AoA) of the signal, which in turn this is related to the time difference of arrival and the distance a signal travels}
Regarding claim 15 Han teaches, The synchronization method of claim 14,
wherein the finely adjusting the start timing comprises: initially adjusting the start timing based on random transmitted power and the received power, when the transmitted power of the reference signal is not detected (Han; [0035] A next step 404 includes finding those neighboring macro-cells with the strongest signal strength by making measurements of neighboring macro-cells, and picking the macro-cell with the strongest signal strength. This can be accomplished by identifying a strongest synchronization signal preamble from nearby base stations) and
readjusting the start timing based on the detected transmitted power and received power, when the transmitted power of the reference signal is detected (Han; [0035] Steps 402 and 404 should be performed regularly (e.g. in a large cycle such as one day) in case the strongest cell changes, which can be caused by reconfiguration of macro-cell BS transmission power, installation of new macro-cell BSs, etc.)… [0036] A next step 406 includes correcting frequency offset and/or timing difference in response to the synchronization information from the strongest-signaled neighboring macro-cell. The timing difference can be accommodated by adjusting a clock of the first base station in response to the synchronization information).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han as applied to claims 7 and 19 above, and further in view of Lei et al. (Lei hereafter) (US 20150163815 A1).
Regarding claims 8 and 20 Han teaches,The claims 7 and 19,
Han fails to explicitly teach, further comprising: when the reference base station is searched in the first frequency band, determining whether the reference base station belongs to the same group to use the same TDD configuration as the reference base station or use a TDD configuration different from the reference base station
However, in the same field of endeavor Lei teaches, when the reference base station is searched in the first frequency band, determining whether the reference base station belongs to the same group to use the same TDD configuration as the reference base station or use a TDD configuration different from the reference base station (Lei; [0069] the macro eNB can send its TDD UL/DL configuration to each pico eNB within its coverage via X2 or any other suitable interface. Each pico eNB can then implement Table 1 in its memory and can estimate the pathloss to macro eNB by listening to a reference signal of macro eNB. If Pathloss is greater than a threshold plus some margin, a pico eNB can select the TDD UL/DL configuration according to its own traffic variation in UL and DL.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Han to include the above recited limitations as taught by Lei in order to have less interference and improve network performance. (Lei; [0066]).
Claims 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (Lee hereafter) (US 20100260156 A1).
Regarding claims 9 and 16 Han teaches, The synchronization method of claim 1 and 10
Han fails to explicitly teach, wherein the femtocell base station is an all-in one base station including a central unit (CU), a digital unit (DU), and a radio unit (RU)
However, in the same field of endeavor Lee teaches, wherein the femtocell base station is an all-in one base station including a central unit (CU), a digital unit (DU), and a radio unit (RU) (Lee; [0015] a femto BS apparatus in a broadband wireless communication system supporting a femtocell is provided. The apparatus includes a controller and a transmitter) (See Fig. 16)
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Zhao (Zhao hereafter) (US 20250071790 A1) and Lin et al. (Lin hereafter) (US 20140146696 A1).
Regarding claim 13 Han teaches,The synchronization method of claim 12,
Han fails to explicitly teach, further comprising when the reference base station is the neighboring femtocell base station, determining whether the reference base station belongs to the same group;
when the reference base station belongs to the same group, configuring a TDD radio frame with the same TDD configuration as the reference base station
However, in the same field of endeavor Zhao teaches, when the reference base station is the neighboring femtocell base station, determining whether the reference base station belongs to the same group (Zhao; [0047] where the specified base station is a base station in the cell group to which the first base station belongs with a corresponding cell identifier satisfying a specified condition, and the target configuration information indicates configuration information for base stations in the cell group to which the first base station belongs to perform a full-duplex operation, wherein the specified condition is that the cell identifier corresponding to the base station is maximum, or the cell identifier corresponding to the base station is minimum;);
when the reference base station belongs to the same group, configuring a TDD radio frame with the same TDD configuration as the reference base station (Zhao; [0115] In step 201, determining a cell group to which the first base station belongs…[0118] the target configuration information is used to indicate configuration information for a plurality of base stations in the cell group to which the first base station belongs to perform the full-duplex operation.); and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Han to include the above recited limitations as taught by Zhao in order to perform a full-duplex operation (Zhao; [0047]).
Han-Zhao fails to explicitly teach, when the reference base station belongs to a different group, configuring a TDD radio frame with a TDD configuration different from the reference base station.
However, in the same field of endeavor Lin teaches, when the reference base station belongs to a different group, configuring a TDD radio frame with a TDD configuration different from the reference base station (Lin; [0033] a serving base station eNB 302, and a neighbor base station eNB 303. The LTE system supports adaptive time division duplex (TDD) configuration, where the TDD configuration in the system may dynamically change according to the downlink-uplink (DL-UL) traffic ratio…[0034] Once UE 301 receives the adaptive TDD indication from the cell, UE 301 interprets this indication as a sign that TDD configuration in the cell may be different from the TDD configuration in SIB1…[0035] if eNB 302 receives an adaptive TDD indication from eNB 303, then eNB 302 should indicate this capability to its served/camped UEs)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Zhao-Han to include the above recited limitations as taught by Lin in order to perform correct and accurate measurements (Lin; [0034]).
Conclusion
/W.T/ Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416