DETAILED ACTION
This is a final Office Action for serial number 18/231,538, Hybrid Cable Hanger System, filed on August 8, 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, and 8-9, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 5,992,802 to Campbell.
Regarding claim 1, Campbell ‘802 discloses a hybrid cable hanger system (Fig. 3), comprising: at least one stackable enclosure (10, 12) wherein the at least one stackable enclosure comprising a center aperture (40) within a circular holder (56, 58, 60, 62) on the exterior of the enclosure coupled to a set of alternating clamp fingers for gripping a cable; installation holes (54 – #10/#12) positioned to secure secure rubber parts of the cable against the set of alternating clamp fingers, wherein the center aperture is positioned between the installation holes; and a fastener (86, 90) to apply the clamping pressure to the enclosure through the center aperture and sets the variable size of the set of alternating clamp fingers.
Regarding claim 2, Campbell ‘802 discloses wherein the fastener comprises a nut and bolt setup (86, 90).
Regarding claim 3, Campbell ‘802 discloses wherein the circular holder is shaped in a circular zigzag groove pattern (44, 20, and 48 – top surface in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Campbell ‘802 discloses wherein the at least one stackable enclosure further comprises an external reinforcement rib (42) and an internal reinforcement rib (30, 32) to enhance the structural strength of the enclosure.
Regarding claim 5, see 112 rejection, Campbell ‘802 discloses wherein the exterior of the at least one stackable enclosure further comprises a groove cut (between “42” – top portion) to allow the serrated grooves to clamp multiple enclosures in a staggered manner when “they” are tightened (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Campbell ‘802 discloses wherein the at least one stackable enclosure comprises a mail limiting shaft (52) which fits with an opposing female limiting hole (54) and are symmetrically to prevent the enclosure from being misaligned.
Regarding claim 8, Campbell ‘802 discloses wherein the at least one stackable enclosure comprises two sets of alternating clamp fingers (contact surfaces opposite ends of the circular holder) on opposite ends of the stackable enclosure, wherein the center aperture within the circular holder (56, 58, 60, 62) is located between the two sets of alternating clamp fingers (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Campbell ‘802 discloses wherein the two sets of alternating clamp fingers on opposite ends hold the same size cables (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 11, Campbell ‘802 discloses wherein the two sets of alternating clamp fingers on opposite ends hold the different size cables (Fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell ‘802.
Campbell ‘802 discloses wherein at least one stackable enclosure is composed of PVC (col. 3, line 23), but do not disclose one of the following materials: polyproplylene or nylon. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PVC to any preferred materials like Polyproplylene or nylon, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in this art to select a known material with any polymers and commonly used in manufacturing, involves only routine skill in the art.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell ‘802 in view of U.S. Patent No. 7,530,536 to Hashimoto.
Campbell ‘802 fails to disclose wherein the two sets of alternating clamp fingers on opposite ends includes a rubber sleeve within one set of the alternating clamp fingers on opposite ends. Nevertheless, Hashimoto ‘536 discloses a rubber (3) for fitting and holding pipes through hole. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the alternating clamp fingers of Campbell ‘802 to include a rubber sleeve because one would have motivation to provide a fitting and holding pipes as taught by Hashimoto ‘536.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 19, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that Campbell fails to disclose installation holes positioned to secure rubber parts against the set of alternating clamp fingers. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Attention is directed to Campbell’s reference, Figure 1, Campbell discloses two installation holes (54) on opposite sides of the enclosure, and wherein the cable (106) has a rubber coating (Fig. 3), and the center aperture is positioned between the installation holes.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TODD M EPPS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632 November 24, 2025