DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3, 9-10, and 12-16 rejected under 35 USC § 102.
Claims 4-8 and 11 rejected under 35 USC § 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9-10, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Socher et al., U.S. PG-Publication No. 2024/0020538 A1.
Claim 1
Socher discloses a method implemented by one or more processors, the method comprising: receiving a user query associated with a client device. Socher discloses “methods for a real-time search based generative AI platform,” wherein “in response to a user input to perform an NLP task, the generative AI platform way trigger a real-time search based on the user input, and then aggregate search results to generate an output.” Socher, ¶ 21. The method receives “input 122” including a “user NL input 126 such as a user question, user parameters, user context, or other context” (i.e., user query). Id. at ¶ 26.
Socher discloses generating, by a large language model (LLM), an API query for an external application based on the user query. Text generation server 110 “may adopt at least NLP model 115 to generate a search query” (text generation server 110 → a large language model). Text generation server 110 “receives input 122 from a user device” and “may determine data sources that have been pre-defined as related to … elements of input 122.” Text generation server 110 “may then convert the search query into customized search queries 111a-n that comply with a format requirement specific to data source 103a-n respectively.” (data sources 103 → external applications). The customized search queries 111a-n “are sent to respective data sources 103a-n through respective APIs 112a-n” (i.e., API queries based on the user query). Id. at ¶¶ 28-33.
Socher discloses wherein the external application has access to a custom corpus of documents comprising a plurality of documents. The data sources 103 “may be any number of available databases, webpages, servers, blogs, content providers, cloud servers, and/or the like.” Id. at ¶ 27.
Socher discloses querying the external application using the API query; and receiving, from the external application and in response to the API query, data representative of one or more documents in the custom corpus of documents. The customized search queries 111a-n “are sent to respective data sources 103a-n through respective APIs 112a-n,” and in response, “the data sources 103a-n may return query results 113a-n in the form of links to webpages and/or cloud files to the text generation server 110” (query results 113 → data representative of one or more documents). Id. at ¶ 33.
Socher discloses generating, by the LLM, a response to the user query conditioned on the data representing one or more of the documents in the custom corpus of documents received from the external application; and causing the response to the user query to be rendered at the client device. Socher discloses that instead of presenting links to search results to the user, “the text generation server 110 may utilize one or more NLP models 115 to extract information from the search results, generate text based on the search results and any parameters specified in input 122, generate a natural language response, and return as a NL output 125 for display at the user device 120.” In one embodiment, at least one NLP model 114 may “parse the web content following the links provided” and “generate a summary of the web content from at least one search result 113a, and use such generated summary to generate the final NL output 125.” Id. at ¶¶ 34-35.
Claim 2
Socher discloses wherein generating, by the LLM, an API query for the external application based on the user query comprises: selecting, based on the user query, the external application from a plurality of external applications, wherein each external application is associated with a respective custom corpus of documents. Upon receiving input 122, the text generation server 110 “may determine whether a real-time search is needed, and/or which data source(s) may be searched.” Socher, ¶ 28. Text generation server 110 “receives input 122 from a user device” and “may determine data sources that have been pre-defined as related to … elements of input 122.” Id. at ¶ 31. Data sources 102 “may be any available number of available databases, webpages, servers, blogs, content providers, cloud servers, and/or the like” (i.e., each data source is associated with a respective custom corpus of documents).
Claim 3
Socher discloses wherein selecting the external application from the plurality of external applications is further based on one or more of: a state of the client device; one or more
further queries associated with the client device; and/or user data associated with a user of the
client device. Socher discloses that input 122 “may include a user NL input 126 such as a user question, user parameters, user context, or other context.” The user context “may include any user preferences such as a user preferred search source, user activities on social media, and/or the like.” Socher, ¶ 26. Text generation server 110 receives input 122 (e.g., user data) “from a user device 120” and determines “data sources that have been pre-defined as related to key words, phrases, topics, parameters, or other elements of input 122 related to search.” Id. at ¶ 31.
Claim 9
Socher discloses wherein the data representative of one or more documents in the custom corpus of documents comprises one or more of the documents and/or a portion of one or
more of the documents. Socher discloses that instead of presenting links to search results to the user, “the text generation server 110 may utilize one or more NLP models 115 to extract information from the search results, generate text based on the search results and any parameters specified in input 122, generate a natural language response, and return as a NL output 125 for display at the user device 120.” In one embodiment, at least one NLP model 114 may “parse the web content following the links provided” and “generate a summary of the web content from at least one search result 113a, and use such generated summary to generate the final NL output 125.” Socher, ¶¶ 34-35.
Claim 10
Socher discloses wherein causing the response to the user query to be rendered at the client device comprises: causing a portion of a document in one or more of the documents to be incorporated into the response to the user query. Socher discloses that instead of presenting links to search results to the user, “the text generation server 110 may utilize one or more NLP models 115 to extract information from the search results, generate text based on the search results and any parameters specified in input 122, generate a natural language response, and return as a NL output 125 for display at the user device 120.” In one embodiment, at least one NLP model 114 may “parse the web content following the links provided” and “generate a summary of the web content from at least one search result 113a, and use such generated summary to generate the final NL output 125.” Socher, ¶¶ 34-35.
Claim 12
Socher discloses wherein causing the response to the user query to be rendered at the client device comprises: causing a selectable link to one or more of the documents in the custom corpus to be incorporated into the response rendered at the client device. Socher discloses that output 250 includes “a conversational text-based response presented in an element along with supporting links to different data sources.” Socher, ¶ 54.
Claim 13
Socher discloses generating, by the LLM, a further API query for a further external application based on the user query, wherein the further external application has access to a further custom corpus of documents comprising a plurality of further documents; and receiving, from the further external application and in response to the further API query, further data representative of one or more further documents in the further custom corpus of documents,
wherein generating, by the LLM, the response to the user query is further conditioned on
the further data representative of one or more of the further documents in the further custom
corpus of documents. Socher discloses that “text generation server 110 interacts with various data sources 103a-n,” engages “models 115 to predict relevant data sources for the search,” determines “data sources that have been predefined as related to … input 122,” in order to generate “customized search queries 111a-n are sent to respective data sources 103a-n through respective APIs 112a-n.” Id. at ¶¶ 27-28, 31, 33. Socher discloses using a plurality of data sources; data source 112a is the claimed “external application” and data sources 112b-n are the claimed “further external applications.”
Claim 14
Socher discloses determining, by the LLM, whether the user query associated with the client device is directed towards the custom corpus of documents, and in response to a negative determination, generating, by the LLM, the response to the user query without querying the external application. Socher discloses that the “text generation server 110 may determine whether a real-time search is needed.” Socher, ¶ 28. If real-time search is not applied, then the LLM provides “a generative output based on knowledge they have obtained from prior training data.” See Id. at ¶ 20.
Claim 15
Claim 15 is rejected utilizing the aforementioned rationale for Claim 1; the claim is directed to a system performing the method.
Claim 16
Claim 16 is rejected utilizing the aforementioned rationale for Claim 1; the claim is directed to a medium storing instructions corresponding to the method.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Socher et al., U.S. PG-Publication No. 2024/0020538 A1, in view of Misiewicz et al., U.S. PG-Publication No. 2022/0138170 A1.
Claim 4
Misiewicz discloses wherein generating, by the LLM, an API query for the external application based on the user query comprises: generating, by the LLM, a current context vector based on the user query; and generating, by the LLM, the API query based on the context vector. Misiewicz discloses a method for “generating vector representations of search result candidates and search query terms and producing search results based on a comparison of the vector representations.” A knowledge search system “receives a search query associated with the entity from an end user,” and a “set of search terms of the search query is identified and processed to generate embedding vectors for each search term.” Misiewicz, ¶¶ 11-12; See Also ¶ 38 (“labeled queries are used to train the neural network 117 to predict relationships between queries and documents”); ¶ 53 (“an entity-specific query rule can include a context associated with a search query”). Figure 3 illustrates operations performed by the knowledge search system. At 310, the system “receives from an end user system, a search query including a set of keywords associated with an entity.” At 320, the system “identifies, using a neural network, an embedding vector based on the set of keywords of the search query” (embedding vector associated with the search query → context vector). Id. at ¶¶ 60-62.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method for a real-time search based generative AI platform of Socher to incorporate vector-based document search as taught by Misiewicz. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to integrate vector-based document search into Socher, with a reasonable expectation of success, “for improved query comprehension and enhanced candidate search result recall,” because the method “does not require a large number of word matches,” unlike conventional searching processes “that require many matches in words between the queries and unstructured documents.” Misiewicz, ¶ 40.
Claim 5
Misiewicz discloses wherein generating, by the LLM, the current context vector is further based on one or more of: a state of the client device; one or more further queries associated with the client device; and/or user data associated with a user of the client device. Misiewicz discloses that “the knowledge search system 110 can enable an entity to establish query rules to augment, modify, or guide the vector-based search result integration process.” Misiewicz, ¶ 48. In an embodiment, “the criteria and action for an entity-specific query rule can include a context associated with a search query … that can include one or more parameters such as attributes associated with the end user, a role associated with the end user, a segment associated with the end user, or other suitable parameter.” For example, “if an end user executing a search query via a financial service merchant system is identified as a ‘high net worth’ individual … the knowledge system 110 can perform a corresponding action pursuant to the query rule.” Id. at ¶ 53.
Claim 6
Misiewicz discloses wherein querying the external application using the API query causes the external application to: compare the context vector to a set of precomputed embeddings, each of the precomputed embeddings associated with a respective document in the custom corpus of documents. Figure 3 illustrates operations performed by the knowledge search system. At 310, the system “receives from an end user system, a search query including a set of keywords associated with an entity.” At 320, the system “identifies, using a neural network, an embedding vector based on the set of keywords of the search query” (embedding vector associated with the search query → context vector). At 330, the system “executes a comparison of the embedding vector associated with the search query to a set of embedding vectors associated with a set of structured data elements relating to the entity” (embedding vectors associated with a set of structured data elements → precomputed embeddings associated with a respective document). The set of structured data elements “is queries to identify candidate structured data elements which are within a distance threshold in a feature space based on the comparison of the embedding vectors.” Misiewicz, ¶¶ 60-64.
Misiewicz discloses select, based on the comparison of the context vector to the set of precomputed embeddings, one or more of the documents in the custom corpus of documents. At 340, the system “identifies, based on the comparison, a set of matching structured data elements,” wherein processing logic “applies a distance threshold to each of the generated distance metric scores.” The processing logic “can employ a top-N approach wherein an N number of structured data elements are identified as matching.” Id. at ¶¶ 65-66.
Misiewicz discloses provide, to the LLM, data representative of the selected one or more documents in the custom corpus of documents. At 350, the system may “generate a search result in response to the search query, wherein the search result includes at least a portion of the set of matching structured data elements,” wherein “the set of matching structured elements (e.g., the elements having a distance in the numerical vector space that is less than the distance threshold) can be further ranked based on their relative distance scores,” and “a portion of the matching structured data elements can be selected for inclusion in the search result.” Id. at ¶ 67.
Claim 7
Misiewicz discloses wherein causing the external application to select, based on the comparison of the context vector to the set of precomputed embeddings, one or more of the documents in the custom corpus of documents causes the external application to: determine a distance between the context vector and each of the precomputed embeddings; and select documents in the custom corpus of documents that are within a threshold distance of the context vector. Figure 3 illustrates operations performed by the knowledge search system. At 310, the system “receives from an end user system, a search query including a set of keywords associated with an entity.” At 320, the system “identifies, using a neural network, an embedding vector based on the set of keywords of the search query” (embedding vector associated with the search query → context vector). At 330, the system “executes a comparison of the embedding vector associated with the search query to a set of embedding vectors associated with a set of structured data elements relating to the entity” (embedding vectors associated with a set of structured data elements → precomputed embeddings associated with a respective document). The set of structured data elements “is queries to identify candidate structured data elements which are within a distance threshold in a feature space based on the comparison of the embedding vectors.” Misiewicz, ¶¶ 60-64.
Claim 8
Misiewicz discloses wherein causing the external application to select, based on the comparison of the context vector to the set of precomputed embeddings, one or more of the documents in the custom corpus of documents causes the external application to: determine a distance between the context vector and each of the precomputed embeddings. Figure 3 illustrates operations performed by the knowledge search system. At 310, the system “receives from an end user system, a search query including a set of keywords associated with an entity.” At 320, the system “identifies, using a neural network, an embedding vector based on the set of keywords of the search query” (embedding vector associated with the search query → context vector). At 330, the system “executes a comparison of the embedding vector associated with the search query to a set of embedding vectors associated with a set of structured data elements relating to the entity” (embedding vectors associated with a set of structured data elements → precomputed embeddings associated with a respective document). The set of structured data elements “is queries to identify candidate structured data elements which are within a distance threshold in a feature space based on the comparison of the embedding vectors.” Misiewicz, ¶¶ 60-64.
Misiewicz discloses rank the documents in the custom corpus of documents based on the distance between the context vector and the precomputed embedding for each document in the custom corpus of documents; and select the closest pre-defined number of documents from the custom corpus of documents. At 340, the system “identifies, based on the comparison, a set of matching structured data elements,” wherein processing logic “applies a distance threshold to each of the generated distance metric scores.” The processing logic “can employ a top-N approach wherein an N number of structured data elements are identified as matching.” Id. at ¶¶ 65-66. At 350, the system may “generate a search result in response to the search query, wherein the search result includes at least a portion of the set of matching structured data elements,” wherein “the set of matching structured elements (e.g., the elements having a distance in the numerical vector space that is less than the distance threshold) can be further ranked based on their relative distance scores,” and “a portion of the matching structured data elements can be selected for inclusion in the search result.” Id. at ¶ 67.
Claim 11
Misiewicz discloses wherein the data representative of one or more documents in the custom corpus of documents comprises an embedded representation of one or more of the documents. Misiewicz discloses a method for “generating vector representations of search result candidates and search query terms and producing search results based on a comparison of the vector representations.” A knowledge search system “receives a search query associated with the entity from an end user,” and a “set of search terms of the search query is identified and processed to generate embedding vectors for each search term.” Misiewicz, ¶¶ 11-12; See Also ¶ 38 (“labeled queries are used to train the neural network 117 to predict relationships between queries and documents”); ¶ 53 (“an entity-specific query rule can include a context associated with a search query”). Figure 3 illustrates operations performed by the knowledge search system. At 310, the system “receives from an end user system, a search query including a set of keywords associated with an entity.” At 320, the system “identifies, using a neural network, an embedding vector based on the set of keywords of the search query” (embedding vector associated with the search query → context vector). At 330, the system “executes a comparison of the embedding vector associated with the search query to a set of embedding vectors associated with a set of structured data elements relating to the entity” (embedding vectors associated with a set of structured data elements → precomputed embedded representation of one or more documents). The set of structured data elements “is queries to identify candidate structured data elements which are within a distance threshold in a feature space based on the comparison of the embedding vectors.” Id. at ¶¶ 60-64.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method for a real-time search based generative AI platform of Socher to incorporate vector-based document search as taught by Misiewicz. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to integrate vector-based document search into Socher, with a reasonable expectation of success, “for improved query comprehension and enhanced candidate search result recall,” because the method “does not require a large number of word matches,” unlike conventional searching processes “that require many matches in words between the queries and unstructured documents.” Misiewicz, ¶ 40.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Mishchenko et al., U.S. Patent No. 11,922,144 B1 (abstract describing “methods … for integrating a particular external application programming interface (API) with a natural language model user interface”).
/FRANK D MILLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2194 January 5, 2026