DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 11/25/2025 has been considered by Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims are missing period at the end of the statement. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The claim contains the limitation “even camera” please change to --event camera--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The claim contains the limitation “the neuromorphic sensor” on lines 2 and 3, please change to --a neuromorphic sensor--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 17-19, and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kirchner et al (US 2019/0041979 A1).
Claim 1, Kirchner (Fig. 1-6C) discloses a system (100b; Fig. 3; Paragraph [0025]; wherein discloses a hybrid headtracking system) of tracking a position (h or (118); Fig. 2A) of a wearable worn (102; Fig. 1) by a user (104; Fig. 1 and 2A; wherein disclose a pilot) as an indication of a user's position in a space (106; Fig. 2A; Paragraph [0020]; wherein “The relative navigation problem involves the determination of an accurate relative position and orientation (pose) of the head of the user 104 relative to the aircraft 106”), said wearable (102; Fig. 1) comprising a plurality of spatially-oriented markers (Paragraph [0047]; wherein discloses “white the fiducial markers 110a-b are rigidly mounted to the helmet 102”), said system (100b; Fig. 3) comprising:
an event camera (108; Fig. 2A and 3; wherein discloses a camera) mounted in a cockpit of an aircraft (106; Fig. 2A; Paragraph [0025]; wherein discloses “mounted inside the cockpit), said event camera (108; Fig. 3) configured to operate asynchronously and transmit data (108 and 136; Fig. 3) only upon a change in relative movement (Paragraph [0036]) of said plurality of spatially-oriented markers (110a-100d; Fig. 3) to with respect to said event camera (108; Fig. 3);
a pre-mapped data set (140; Fig. 3; Fig. 4A; Paragraph [0037]; wherein discloses a constellation database of marker identifiers and 3D locations) representing at least a portion of said cockpit (106; Fig. 2A); and
a processor (122; Fig. 3; wherein discloses a control processors) adapted to determine a spatial location and orientation a position (Paragraph [0024]; wherein discloses “ the various reference frames of the hybrid headtracking system 100a may be defined in terms of poses, e.g., position translations (r) and orientational rotations (ϕ) relative to each other”) of said wearable (102; Fig. 1) relative to said cockpit (106; Fig. 1) based, at least in part (Fig. 3; wherein data from camera used to correct position and orientation data), on said data from said event camera (108; Fig. 3) of said spatially-oriented markers (110a-110d; Fig. 3) relative to said pre-mapped data (140; Fig. 3; Fig. 4A; Paragraph [0037]; wherein discloses a constellation database of marker identifiers and 3D locations).
Claim 4, Kirchner (Fig. 1-6C) discloses wherein said space (106; Fig. 1) is a cockpit of an airplane (Paragraph [0025]; wherein discloses a cockpit of an aircraft) and said event camera (108; Fig. 1) is mounted to a surface of said cockpit (Paragraph [0047]; wherein discloses “the hybrid headtracking system 100d may be associated with an “outside-in” configuration whereby the camera 108 is rigidly mounted to the aircraft 106”).
Claim 5, Kirchner (Fig. 1-6C) discloses wherein said user (104; Fig. 1) is a pilot (Paragraph [0020]; wherein discloses a pilot) of an aircraft (106; Fig. 1) and said event camera (108; Fig. 1) is mounted (Paragraph [0046]; wherein discloses “with respect to the hybrid headtracking system 100c, the camera 108 may be rigidly mounted to the helmet 102 worn by the user (104, FIG. 1) and the fiducial markers 110a-b may be rigidly mounted to the aircraft 106 (or other like mobile platform)”) on said pilot (104; Fig. 1).
Claim 6, Kirchner (Fig. 1-6C) discloses wherein said event camera (108; Fig. 10 is mounted (Paragraph [0046]; wherein discloses “with respect to the hybrid headtracking system 100c, the camera 108 may be rigidly mounted to the helmet 102 worn by the user (104, FIG. 1)”) on said wearable (102; Fig. 1).
Claim 17, Kirchner (Fig. 1-6C) discloses further comprising said wearable (102; Fig. 1).
Claim 18, Kirchner (Fig. 1-6C) discloses wherein said wearable (102; Fig. 1) is a helmet (Paragraph [0021]; wherein discloses a “helmet 102”)
Claim 19, Kirchner (Fig. 1-6C) discloses wherein said event camera (108; Fig. 2A) is configured with a certain perspective (C or 120; Fig. 2; Paragraph [0023]) relative to said plurality of spatially-oriented markers (110a and 110b; Fig. 2A).
Claim 24, Kirchner (Fig. 1-6C) discloses wherein said spatial location and orientation (Paragraph [0024]; wherein discloses “ the various reference frames of the hybrid headtracking system 100a may be defined in terms of poses, e.g., position translations (r) and orientational rotations (ϕ) relative to each other”) of said wearable (102; Fig. 2B) is based on a two-dimensional image captured (Paragraph [0037]) by said event camera (108; Fig. 3B).
Claim 25, Kirchner (Fig. 1-6C) discloses wherein said spatial location and orientation (Paragraph [0024]; wherein discloses “ the various reference frames of the hybrid headtracking system 100a may be defined in terms of poses, e.g., position translations (r) and orientational rotations (ϕ) relative to each other”) of said wearable (102; Fig. 2B) is in three dimensional space (Paragraph [0045]).
Claim 26, Kirchner (Fig. 1-6C) discloses wherein said event camera (Paragraph [0047]; wherein discloses “the hybrid headtracking system 100d may be associated with an “outside-in” configuration whereby the camera 108 is rigidly mounted to the aircraft 106”) is configured with a certain perspective (Paragraph [0047]) relative to said plurality of spatially-oriented markers (Paragraph [0047]; wherein discloses “the hybrid headtracking system 100d may be associated with an “outside-in” configuration whereby the camera 108 is rigidly mounted to the aircraft 106, white the fiducial markers 110a-b are rigidly mounted to the helmet 102.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirchner et al (US 2019/0041979 A1) in view of Tawada et al (JP 2009-109319 A).
Claim 7, Kirchner discloses the system of claim 1.
Kirchner does not expressly disclose wherein spatially-oriented markers comprise active markers selected from the group consisting of light emitting diodes and OLEDs.
Tawada (Fig. 1-7) discloses wherein spatially-oriented markers comprise active markers selected from the group consisting of light emitting diodes and OLEDs.
wherein spatially-oriented markers (7a-7e; Fig. 2) comprise active markers (Fig. 3) selected from the group consisting of light emitting diodes (wherein discloses “The front face member light emitting portions 7a to 7f include a micro lens 13d that emits infrared light, an LED (display element) 13c that emits infrared light, and a transparent electrode that supplies electricity to the LED 13c”) and OLEDs.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kirchner’s a hybrid headtracking system by applying light emitting markers, as taught by Tawada, so to use a hybrid headtracking system with light emitting markers for providing a head motion tracker device that can measure the movement of the head of an observer even when an observer such as a pilot faces in all directions (See Tech-Problem in translation document).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirchner et al (US 2019/0041979 A1) in view of Perbet et al (US 2011/0006984 A1).
Claim 8, Kirchner discloses the system of claim 1.
Kirchner does not expressly disclose wherein spatially-oriented markers the visual markers comprise inactive markers selected from the group consisting of paint, stickers, reflectors, IR reflectors and UV reflectors.
Perbet (Fig. 1-10) discloses wherein spatially-oriented markers (3; Fig. 3) the visual markers comprise inactive markers (32; Fig. 3; Paragraph [0005]; wherein discloses passive markers) selected from the group consisting of paint, stickers, reflectors, IR reflectors and UV reflectors (32; Fig. 5; Paragraph [0032]; wherein discloses “ the contrast of the marker is obtained by the phosphorescent border excited by the UV light-emitting diodes near the CCD cameras”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kirchner’s hybrid headtracking system by applying inactive markers, as taught by Perbet, so to use a hybrid headtracking system with inactive markers for providing the main advantages, compared with the prior art, of not requiring a power supply for the markers on the pilot's helmet, of being particularly simple and robust, and of giving signal/noise ratios that are always high irrespective of the illumination. It is therefore perfectly suited to the environment of aircraft cockpits (Paragraph [0006]).
Claims 20, 21, 27, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirchner et al (US 2019/0041979 A1) in view of To (DE 102019215691 A1).
Claim 20, Kirchner discloses the system of claim 1.
Kirchner does not expressly disclose wherein said even camera is a neuromorphic camera.
To (Fig. 1-2) discloses wherein said even camera is a neuromorphic camera (5; Fig. 2; wherein discloses “An image recording unit with a neuromorphic asynchronous image sensor” ).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kirchner’s hybrid headtracking system by applying a neuromorphic asynchronous image sensor, as taught by To, so to use a hybrid headtracking system with a neuromorphic asynchronous image sensor for providing a method for the state recognition of a vehicle occupant, in particular a driver of a vehicle, which is improved in comparison (See object of the invention in translation).
Claim 21, Kirchner (Fig. 1-6C) discloses wherein said camera (108; Fig. 3) generates a model (Fig. 4B) of the position of the helmet (102; Fig. 4B) based on one or more pixels indicating a light change (Paragraph [0036]; wherein discloses pixels) from each of the plurality of spatially-oriented markers (110a and 110b; Fig. 4B) on the helmet (102; Fig. 1; Paragraph [0047]; wherein discloses “he hybrid headtracking system 100d may be associated with an “outside-in” configuration whereby the camera 108 is rigidly mounted to the aircraft 106, white the fiducial markers 110a-b are rigidly mounted to the helmet 102.” ).
To (Fig. 1-2) discloses wherein said neuromorphic camera (5; Fig. 2; wherein discloses “An image recording unit with a neuromorphic asynchronous image sensor” ) generates a model of the position of the head based on one or more pixels (wherein discloses “An imaging unit 5 in the form of a camera with a neuromorphic asynchronous image sensor, the one Has a plurality of individually readable pixels, a person (not shown), for example the driver of a vehicle, detects this. The camera is arranged in such a way that when the person is in a predetermined position, for example a driver located in the driver's seat of a vehicle, the person's face and in particular the eyes are in the detection area”) of the neuromorphic sensor (5; Fig. 2; wherein discloses “An image recording unit with a neuromorphic asynchronous image sensor”) indicating a light change from the head (wherein discloses “The processing unit 6th processes the from the image acquisition unit 5 generated event values by using level transition detectors for each of the pixels to detect when the intensity values exceed or fall below a previously defined threshold value and then generates an asynchronous event value for this pixel”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kirchner’s hybrid headtracking system by applying a neuromorphic asynchronous image sensor, as taught by To, so to use a hybrid headtracking system with a neuromorphic asynchronous image sensor for providing a method for the state recognition of a vehicle occupant, in particular a driver of a vehicle, which is improved in comparison (See object of the invention in translation).
Claim 27, Kirchner discloses the system of claim 1.
Kirchner does not expressly disclose wherein said event camera comprises an array of pixels, each pixel configured to operate independently and asynchronously to generate an event only when a change in brightness at that pixel exceeds a threshold.
To (Fig. 1-2) discloses wherein said event camera (5; Fig. 2) comprises an array of pixels (Page 4 of translation discloses “An imaging unit 5 in the form of a camera with a neuromorphic asynchronous image sensor, the one Has a plurality of individually readable pixels”), each pixel configured to operate independently and asynchronously to generate an event (Page 4 of translation discloses “The processing unit 6th processes the from the image acquisition unit 5 generated event values by using level transition detectors for each of the pixels to detect when the intensity values exceed or fall below a previously defined threshold value and then generates an asynchronous event value for this pixel”) only when a change in brightness at that pixel exceeds a threshold (Page 4 of translation discloses “The processing unit 6th processes the from the image acquisition unit 5 generated event values by using level transition detectors for each of the pixels to detect when the intensity values exceed or fall below a previously defined threshold value and then generates an asynchronous event value for this pixel”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kirchner’s hybrid headtracking system by applying a neuromorphic asynchronous image sensor, as taught by To, so to use a hybrid headtracking system with a neuromorphic asynchronous image sensor for providing a method for the state recognition of a vehicle occupant, in particular a driver of a vehicle, which is improved in comparison (See object of the invention in translation).
Claim 28, To (Fig. 1-22) discloses wherein said event camera (5; Fig. 2) outputs an asynchronous stream of events (Page 4 of translation discloses “The processing unit 6th processes the from the image acquisition unit 5 generated event values by using level transition detectors for each of the pixels to detect when the intensity values exceed or fall below a previously defined threshold value and then generates an asynchronous event value for this pixel”) corresponding to changes in scene illumination (Page 3 of translation discloses “An image recording unit with a neuromorphic asynchronous image sensor, which records the illuminated part of the vehicle interior and generates an asynchronous event value for the individual pixels if, based on a previously recorded intensity value of a pixel, the currently recorded intensity value of this pixel exceeds or falls below a predefined threshold value”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kirchner’s hybrid headtracking system by applying a neuromorphic asynchronous image sensor, as taught by To, so to use a hybrid headtracking system with a neuromorphic asynchronous image sensor for providing a method for the state recognition of a vehicle occupant, in particular a driver of a vehicle, which is improved in comparison (See object of the invention in translation).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirchner et al (US 2019/0041979 A1) in view of Roggendorf et al (US 9,892,489 B1).
Claim 22, Kirchner discloses the system of claim 1.
Kirchner does not expressly disclose wherein spatial location and orientation of said wearable is used to determine a positioning of AR content within a FOV of the wearable to cause the user to perceive the AR content as representing the AR content at geospatial location prescribed in a virtual environment mapped to correspond with a real environment in which the cockpit is positioned.
Roggendorf (Fig. 1-7) discloses wherein spatial location and orientation (Col. 2, Lines 62-67; wherein discloses “Processor 68 can utilize a pattern recognition software module to identify the fixed patterns associated with markers 72 and 74 to determine both position and orientation of the head based upon relative location and distortion of the fixed pattern as perceived by each of cameras 262, 264 and 266”) of said wearable (63; Fig. 2) is used to determine a positioning of AR content (112 and 116; Fig. 6) within a FOV (Fig. 4) of the wearable (63; Fig. 2) to cause the user (wherein discloses a pilot; Col. 3, Lines 48-65) to perceive the AR content (112 and 116; Fig. 6) as representing the AR content at geospatial location (72 and 74; Fig. 5) prescribed in a virtual environment (Fig. 4) mapped to correspond with a real environment in which the cockpit is positioned (Fig. 6; wherein figure shows augment reality content being mapped to positions within the cockpit).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kirchner’s hybrid headtracking system by applying AR content to cockpit, as taught by Roggendorf, so to use a hybrid headtracking system with AR content to cockpit for providing the virtual head down display in an appropriate virtual location in response to the head orientation (Col. 2, Lines 15-22).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirchner et al (US 2019/0041979 A1) in view of Knebel et al (US 2017/0115730 A1).
Claim 23, Kirchner discloses the system of claim 1.
Kirchner does not expressly disclose wherein said pre-mapping is based on a CAD description of said cockpit.
Knebel (Fig. 1) discloses wherein said pre-mapping is based on a CAD description (Paragraph [0013]; wherein discloses “A static object can be, for example, an instrument cluster, a display, a trim panel, a window frame, etc. These objects can be represented in a 3-D CAD model and serve for posture determination”) of said cockpit (Paragraph [0021]; wherein discloses “a 3D CAD model of the vehicle's interior and, in particular, of the cockpit having the steering wheel, is communicated to the head-mounted display 1”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kirchner’s hybrid headtracking system by applying a CAD model, as taught by Knebel, so to use a hybrid headtracking system with a CAD model for providing a method with which the posture of the head-mounted display can be determined and, based thereon, information can be displayed in contact analog fashion (Paragraph [0006]).
Conclusion
/Adam J Snyder/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623 12/16/2025