DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges the reply filed on 07/21/2026 in which claims 1-14 have been amended and claim 15-20 have been added. Currently, claims 1-20 are pending for examination in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant has resolved the objections to the claims. However, additional objections have been indicated below.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pg. 8-17, filed 07/21/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-14 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 103 in view of Shealy and Wei have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Chang et al. (KR 20170089171 A).
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10, line 1-2, “the pneumatic body harness” should be “the first pneumatic body harness”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 8, and 15 recite the limitation “the principal dimension of each elongated pneumatic pocket space being aligned tangentially to the inner surface of the pneumatic body harness”. This limitation is not described in the specification and is not clearly shown in the drawings. There is no mention of “tangential” in the specification and thus it is unclear how the principal dimension of each pocket space is aligned tangentially to the inner surface of the pneumatic body. Examiner is interpreting the limitation to require that the principal dimension of each pneumatic pocket space is aligned to the inner surface of the pneumatic body.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the principal dimension" in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggest amending the claim to read “a principal dimension”.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the principal dimension" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggest amending the claim to read “a principal dimension”.
Claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20 based on their dependency on rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shealy et al. (US 6152950 A) and Chang et al. (KR 20170089171 A).
Regarding claim 1, Shealy discloses a spinal decompression device (Apparatus for Therapeutic Treatment of Low Back Pain; title; figure 1-20) comprising:
a treatment bed (bed 20; figure 1-4) having a first end (26; figure 1-4) and a second end (24; figure 1-4);
a treatment tower (support 16; figure 1-3 and 8) disposed at the first end (26) of the treatment bed (see figure 1-3); and
at least one pneumatic body harness operably connected to the treatment tower by a tension strap (strap 68; col. 5 line 34-35; figure 4 and 8-9), operable to be secured to a portion of a body of a patient having a principal axis (lower body harness 50 including an inflatable air bladder 54; see col. 5 line 17-30; figure 2 and 4. see figure 4, principal axis of patient defined as a longitudinal axis from head to feet of patient);
wherein:
the pneumatic body harness is a pelvic harness having an inner harness surface (a lower body harness 50 is provided for attaching to the lower body pelvic portion 52 of the person 30; col. 5 line 17-19; figure 2-3).
Shealy is silent as to the inner harness surface having an array of elongated pneumatic pocket spaces having principal dimensions and disposed around and along the inner harness surface;
the elongated pneumatic pocket spaces are arranged into multiple sets of elongated pneumatic pocket spaces, each set comprising multiple pneumatic pocket spaces disposed around the inner surface of the pneumatic body harness, with the principal dimension of each elongated pneumatic pocket space being aligned tangentially to the inner surface of the pneumatic body harness and orthogonally to the principal axis of the patient’s body;
the elongated pneumatic pocket spaces share a common internal air pressure.
Shealy teaches a single pneumatic pocket space having principal dimensions and disposed around and along the inner harness surface (The lower body harness 50 includes an inflatable air bladder 54 for positioning within the posterior cavity 56 of the lumbar spine formed between the lower back 58 of the person 30 and the bed 20 when the person is in a supine position on the bed, as illustrated with reference again to FIG. 2 and to FIG. 6, as illustrated with reference again to FIG. 2 and to FIG. 6. The air bladder 54 is inflatable through the use of a hand pump 60 and enables the local paraspinal muscles of the person to relax during a pulling force on the spine 62 of the person 30 for enhancing the treatment; col. 5 line 19-28; figure 2 and 4).
Additionally, Chang teaches a support and traction apparatus (title; figure 1-5) comprising a pneumatic body harness ([0035] the compression belt (200) can serve to traction the lumbar spine. [0052] the compression belt (200) may be provided with a plurality of expansion sections, and the spine may be tractioned by the expansion of the plurality of expansion sections; figure 1 and 4-5) having an inner harness surface having an array of elongated pneumatic pocket spaces having principal dimensions and disposed around and along the inner harness surface ([0053] the plurality of expansion compartments may include a first expansion compartment (210), a second expansion compartment (220), and a third expansion compartment (230); figure 4-5);
the elongated pneumatic pocket spaces are arranged into multiple sets of elongated pneumatic pocket spaces ([0054] The first expansion section (210) may be placed on the third frame (130), the second expansion section (220) may be connected to one end of the first expansion section (210) and arranged to wrap around one side of the body, and the third expansion section (230) may be connected to the other end of the first expansion section (210) and arranged to wrap around the other side of the body; figure 4-5), each set comprising multiple pneumatic pocket spaces disposed around the inner surface of the pneumatic body harness (see figures 1, 4-5 and [0070], air column 232 and air column 224), with the principal dimension of each elongated pneumatic pocket space being aligned tangentially to the inner surface of the pneumatic body harness and orthogonally to the principal axis of the patient’s body ([0054] The first expansion section (210) may be placed on the third frame (130), the second expansion section (220) may be connected to one end of the first expansion section (210) and arranged to wrap around one side of the body, and the third expansion section (230) may be connected to the other end of the first expansion section (210) and arranged to wrap around the other side of the body; see figure 1. Examiner notes a width of each section of air column 232 and air column 224 is arranged orthogonally to a principal axis of patient defined as a longitudinal axis from head to feet of patient during use);
the elongated pneumatic pocket spaces share a common internal air pressure ([0055] At this time, the second expansion section (220) or the third expansion section (230) may be provided with a fluid inlet through which fluid is injected to contract or expand a plurality of expansion sections. [0056] A gas such as air or a liquid such as water may be injected into the fluid inlet (220), and either is possible as long as it can expand or contract multiple expansion compartments. [0058] Specifically, a fluid inlet (222) is provided at one end of the second expansion section (220), and air introduced through the fluid inlet (220) can be delivered to the third expansion section (230) via the second expansion section (220) and the first expansion section (210). [0068] For example, as illustrated in FIG. 4(a) to (c), when air is not injected through the fluid inlet (222) or when air is removed through the fluid inlet (222), the plurality of air columns (254) are contracted, and the size of the compression belt (200) can be reduced overall. [0069] On the other hand, as shown in FIGS. 5(a) to (c), when air is injected through the fluid inlet (222), the plurality of air columns (254) expand and may increase in size along the longitudinal direction of the spine compared to the air columns (254) shown in FIGS. 4(a) to (c); figure 4a and 5a. Examiner notes a singular air source is provided to simultaneously expand or contract multiple expansion compartments; thus the air columns share a common internal air pressure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the pneumatic body harness of Shealy to implement the plurality of expansion sections arranged along the entire inner surface of the harness configured to wrap around a user’s body in use including a fluid inlet through which air is injected to contract or expand the plurality of expansion sections, in order to provide expandable air compartments for applying traction to the user’s spine as taught by Chang [0052].
Regarding claim 2, modified Shealy teaches the spinal decompression device of claim 1, Chang teaches wherein the elongated pneumatic pocket spaces are arranged into at least two rows of pocket spaces along the patient’s body (see figure 1 and 4-5, air columns 224 and 232 are separated into 3 rows separated and delineated by blocking members 252 and 254).
Regarding claim 3, modified Shealy teaches the spinal decompression device of claim 1, Shealy teaches wherein the pneumatic body harness is operably connected to the treatment tower by high-tension rigging (combination of traction unit 64, track 66, and strap 68 rigging lower body harness 50 to traction unit 64; see col. 5 line 31-62; see figure 2-4 and 8-9).
Regarding claim 4, modified Shealy teaches the spinal decompression device of claim 1, Chang teaches wherein the elongated pneumatic pocket spaces are arranged into at least three rows of pocket spaces along the patient’s body (see figure 1 and 4-5, air columns 224 and 232 are separated into 3 rows separated and delineated by blocking members 252 and 254).
Regarding claim 5, modified Shealy teaches the spinal decompression device of claim 1, Chang teaches wherein the elongated pneumatic pocket spaces are arranged into at least two columns of pocket spaces around the patient’s body (see figure 1 and 4-5, air columns 224 and 232).
Regarding claim 6, modified Shealy teaches the spinal decompression device of claim 5, Chang teaches wherein the elongated pneumatic pocket spaces are arranged into five columns of pocket spaces around the patient’s body (see figure 1 and 4-5, air columns 224 and 232).
Regarding claim 7, modified Shealy teaches the spinal decompression device of claim 6, wherein the pneumatic harness comprises a back portion (see figure 4 of Shealy, back portion at reference numeral 54), two side portions (see figure 4 of Shealy, left and right side portions where straps and corresponding fasteners attach together), and two front portions (see figure 4 of Shealy, a left front portion of lower body harness 50 and a right front portion of lower body harness 50), and there is one column of elongate pneumatic pocket spaces disposed in each portion of the pneumatic harness (as modified above and depicted in Chang figure 1, 4a-4c, and 5a-5c, air columns 224 and 232 are provided along the entire harness including at least one air column provided on a back portion, the left and right side portions, the left and right front portions).
Regarding claim 8, Shealy discloses a spinal decompression device (Apparatus for Therapeutic Treatment of Low Back Pain; title; figure 1-20) comprising:
a treatment bed (bed 20; figure 1-4) having a first end (26; figure 1-4) and a second end (24; figure 1-4);
a treatment tower (support 16; figure 1-3 and 8) disposed at the first end (26) of the treatment bed (see figure 1-3);
a first pneumatic body harness operable to be secured to a first portion of a body of a patient having a principal axis (lower body harness 50 including an inflatable air bladder 54; see col. 5 line 17-30; figure 2 and 4. see figure 4, principal axis of patient defined as a longitudinal axis from head to feet of patient); and
a second body harness operable to be secured to a second portion of the body of the patient (Upper body anchoring support 34 is provided for anchoring the upper body 36 of the person to the upper bed portion 24; see col. 4 line 51-54; figure 3-4);
wherein:
the first pneumatic body harness is a pelvic harness having an inner harness surface (a lower body harness 50 is provided for attaching to the lower body pelvic portion 52 of the person 30; col. 5 line 17-19; figure 2-3).
Shealy is silent as to the inner harness surface having an array of elongated pneumatic pocket spaces disposed around and along the inner harness surface;
the elongated pneumatic pocket spaces are arranged into multiple sets of pocket spaces, each set comprising multiple elongated pneumatic pocket spaces disposed around the inner surface of the first pneumatic body harness, with the principal dimension of each elongated pneumatic pocket space being aligned tangentially to the inner surface of the first pneumatic body harness and orthogonally to the principal axis of the patient’s body;
the elongated pneumatic pocket spaces share a common internal air pressure.
Shealy teaches a single pneumatic pocket space disposed around and along the inner harness surface (The lower body harness 50 includes an inflatable air bladder 54 for positioning within the posterior cavity 56 of the lumbar spine formed between the lower back 58 of the person 30 and the bed 20 when the person is in a supine position on the bed, as illustrated with reference again to FIG. 2 and to FIG. 6, as illustrated with reference again to FIG. 2 and to FIG. 6. The air bladder 54 is inflatable through the use of a hand pump 60 and enables the local paraspinal muscles of the person to relax during a pulling force on the spine 62 of the person 30 for enhancing the treatment; col. 5 line 19-28; figure 2 and 4).
Additionally, Chang teaches a support and traction apparatus (title; figure 1-5) comprising a pneumatic body harness ([0035] the compression belt (200) can serve to traction the lumbar spine. [0052] the compression belt (200) may be provided with a plurality of expansion sections, and the spine may be tractioned by the expansion of the plurality of expansion sections; figure 1 and 4-5) having an inner harness surface having an array of elongated pneumatic pocket spaces having disposed around and along the inner harness surface ([0053] the plurality of expansion compartments may include a first expansion compartment (210), a second expansion compartment (220), and a third expansion compartment (230); figure 4-5);
the elongated pneumatic pocket spaces are arranged into multiple sets of pocket spaces ([0054] The first expansion section (210) may be placed on the third frame (130), the second expansion section (220) may be connected to one end of the first expansion section (210) and arranged to wrap around one side of the body, and the third expansion section (230) may be connected to the other end of the first expansion section (210) and arranged to wrap around the other side of the body; figure 4-5), each set comprising multiple elongated pneumatic pocket spaces disposed around the inner surface of the pneumatic body harness (see figures 1, 4-5 and [0070], air column 232 and air column 224), with the principal dimension of each elongated pneumatic pocket space being aligned tangentially to the inner surface of the pneumatic body harness and orthogonally to the principal axis of the patient’s body ([0054] The first expansion section (210) may be placed on the third frame (130), the second expansion section (220) may be connected to one end of the first expansion section (210) and arranged to wrap around one side of the body, and the third expansion section (230) may be connected to the other end of the first expansion section (210) and arranged to wrap around the other side of the body; see figure 1. Examiner notes a width of each section of air column 232 and air column 224 is arranged orthogonally to a principal axis of patient defined as a longitudinal axis from head to feet of patient during use);
the elongated pneumatic pocket spaces share a common internal air pressure ([0055] At this time, the second expansion section (220) or the third expansion section (230) may be provided with a fluid inlet through which fluid is injected to contract or expand a plurality of expansion sections. [0056] A gas such as air or a liquid such as water may be injected into the fluid inlet (220), and either is possible as long as it can expand or contract multiple expansion compartments. [0058] Specifically, a fluid inlet (222) is provided at one end of the second expansion section (220), and air introduced through the fluid inlet (220) can be delivered to the third expansion section (230) via the second expansion section (220) and the first expansion section (210). [0068] For example, as illustrated in FIG. 4(a) to (c), when air is not injected through the fluid inlet (222) or when air is removed through the fluid inlet (222), the plurality of air columns (254) are contracted, and the size of the compression belt (200) can be reduced overall. [0069] On the other hand, as shown in FIGS. 5(a) to (c), when air is injected through the fluid inlet (222), the plurality of air columns (254) expand and may increase in size along the longitudinal direction of the spine compared to the air columns (254) shown in FIGS. 4(a) to (c); figure 4a and 5a. Examiner notes a singular air source is provided to simultaneously expand or contract multiple expansion compartments; thus the air columns share a common internal air pressure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the pneumatic body harness of Shealy to implement the plurality of expansion sections arranged along the entire inner surface of the harness configured to wrap around a user’s body in use including a fluid inlet through which air is injected to contract or expand the plurality of expansion sections, in order to provide expandable air compartments for applying traction to the user’s spine as taught by Chang [0052].
Regarding claim 9, modified Shealy teaches the spinal decompression device of claim 8, Chang teaches wherein the elongated pneumatic pocket spaces are arranged into at least two rows of pocket spaces along the patient’s body (see figure 1 and 4-5, air columns 224 and 232 are separated into 3 rows separated and delineated by blocking members 252 and 254).
Regarding claim 10, modified Shealy teaches the spinal decompression device of claim 8, Shealy teaches wherein the pneumatic body harness is operably connected to the treatment tower by high-tension rigging (combination of traction unit 64, track 66, and strap 68 rigging lower body harness 50 to traction unit 64; see col. 5 line 31-62; see figure 2-4 and 8-9).
Regarding claim 11, modified Shealy teaches the spinal decompression device of claim 9, Chang teaches wherein the elongated pneumatic pocket spaces are arranged into at least three rows of pocket spaces along the patient’s body ((see figure 1 and 4-5, air columns 224 and 232 are separated into 3 rows separated and delineated by blocking members 252 and 254)).
Regarding claim 12, modified Shealy teaches the spinal decompression device of claim 8, Chang teaches wherein the elongated pneumatic pocket spaces are arranged into at least two columns of pocket spaces around the patient’s body (see figure 1 and 4-5, air columns 224 and 232).
Regarding claim 13, modified Shealy teaches the spinal decompression device of claim 12, Chang teaches wherein the elongated pneumatic pocket spaces are arranged into at least five columns of pocket spaces around the patient’s body (see figure 1 and 4-5, air columns 224 and 232).
Regarding claim 14, Shealy discloses the spinal decompression device of claim 13, wherein the pneumatic harness comprises a back portion (see figure 4 of Shealy, back portion at reference numeral 54), two side portions (see figure 4 of Shealy, left and right side portions where straps and corresponding fasteners attach together) and two front portions (see figure 4 of Shealy, a left front portion of lower body harness 50 and a right front portion of lower body harness 50), and there is one column of elongate pneumatic pocket spaces disposed in each portion of the pneumatic harness (as modified above and depicted in Chang figure 1, 4a-4c, and 5a-5c, air columns 224 and 232 are provided along the entire harness including at least one air column provided on a back portion, the left and right side portions, the left and right front portions).
Claim(s) 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shealy et al. (US 6152950 A), Chang et al. (KR 20170089171 A), Abelbeck (US 20050283104 A1) and Wei (CN 211485128 U).
Regarding claim 15, Shealy discloses a spinal decompression device (Apparatus for Therapeutic Treatment of Low Back Pain; title; figure 1-20) comprising:
a treatment bed (bed 20; figure 1-4) having a first end (26; figure 1-4) and a second end (24; figure 1-4);
a treatment tower (support 16; figure 1-3 and 8) disposed at the first end (26) of the treatment bed (see figure 1-3); and
at least one pneumatic body harness, operably connected to the treatment tower by a tension strap (strap 68; col. 5 line 34-35; figure 4 and 8-9) and four harness straps (see figure 4, four straps between strap 68 and lower body harness 50), operable to be secured to a pelvic region of a body of a patient having a principal axis (lower body harness 50 including an inflatable air bladder 54; see col. 5 line 17-30; figure 2 and 4. see figure 4, principal axis of patient defined as a longitudinal axis from head to feet of patient);
wherein:
the pneumatic body harness is a pelvic harness having an inner harness surface (a lower body harness 50 is provided for attaching to the lower body pelvic portion 52 of the person 30; col. 5 line 17-19; figure 2-3).
Shealy is silent as to the inner harness surface having an array of elongated pneumatic pocket spaces disposed around and along the inner harness surface;
the elongated pneumatic pocket spaces are arranged into multiple sets of elongated pneumatic pocket spaces, each set comprising multiple pneumatic pocket spaces disposed around the inner surface of the pneumatic body harness, with the principal dimension of each elongated pneumatic pocket space being aligned tangentially to the inner surface of the pneumatic body harness and orthogonally to the principal axis of the patient’s body;
the elongated pneumatic pocket spaces share a common internal air pressure.
Shealy teaches a single pneumatic pocket space disposed around and along the inner harness surface (The lower body harness 50 includes an inflatable air bladder 54 for positioning within the posterior cavity 56 of the lumbar spine formed between the lower back 58 of the person 30 and the bed 20 when the person is in a supine position on the bed, as illustrated with reference again to FIG. 2 and to FIG. 6, as illustrated with reference again to FIG. 2 and to FIG. 6. The air bladder 54 is inflatable through the use of a hand pump 60 and enables the local paraspinal muscles of the person to relax during a pulling force on the spine 62 of the person 30 for enhancing the treatment; col. 5 line 19-28; figure 2 and 4).
Additionally, Chang teaches a support and traction apparatus (title; figure 1-5) comprising a pneumatic body harness ([0035] the compression belt (200) can serve to traction the lumbar spine. [0052] the compression belt (200) may be provided with a plurality of expansion sections, and the spine may be tractioned by the expansion of the plurality of expansion sections; figure 1 and 4-5) having an inner harness surface having an array of elongated pneumatic pocket spaces disposed around and along the inner harness surface ([0053] the plurality of expansion compartments may include a first expansion compartment (210), a second expansion compartment (220), and a third expansion compartment (230); figure 4-5);
the elongated pneumatic pocket spaces are arranged into multiple sets of elongated pneumatic pocket spaces ([0054] The first expansion section (210) may be placed on the third frame (130), the second expansion section (220) may be connected to one end of the first expansion section (210) and arranged to wrap around one side of the body, and the third expansion section (230) may be connected to the other end of the first expansion section (210) and arranged to wrap around the other side of the body; figure 4-5), each set comprising multiple pneumatic pocket spaces disposed around the inner surface of the pneumatic body harness (see figures 1, 4-5 and [0070], air column 232 and air column 224), with the principal dimension of each elongated pneumatic pocket space being aligned tangentially to the inner surface of the pneumatic body harness and orthogonally to the principal axis of the patient’s body ([0054] The first expansion section (210) may be placed on the third frame (130), the second expansion section (220) may be connected to one end of the first expansion section (210) and arranged to wrap around one side of the body, and the third expansion section (230) may be connected to the other end of the first expansion section (210) and arranged to wrap around the other side of the body; see figure 1. Examiner notes a width of each section of air column 232 and air column 224 is arranged orthogonally to a principal axis of patient defined as a longitudinal axis from head to feet of patient during use);
the elongated pneumatic pocket spaces share a common internal air pressure ([0055] At this time, the second expansion section (220) or the third expansion section (230) may be provided with a fluid inlet through which fluid is injected to contract or expand a plurality of expansion sections. [0056] A gas such as air or a liquid such as water may be injected into the fluid inlet (220), and either is possible as long as it can expand or contract multiple expansion compartments. [0058] Specifically, a fluid inlet (222) is provided at one end of the second expansion section (220), and air introduced through the fluid inlet (220) can be delivered to the third expansion section (230) via the second expansion section (220) and the first expansion section (210). [0068] For example, as illustrated in FIG. 4(a) to (c), when air is not injected through the fluid inlet (222) or when air is removed through the fluid inlet (222), the plurality of air columns (254) are contracted, and the size of the compression belt (200) can be reduced overall. [0069] On the other hand, as shown in FIGS. 5(a) to (c), when air is injected through the fluid inlet (222), the plurality of air columns (254) expand and may increase in size along the longitudinal direction of the spine compared to the air columns (254) shown in FIGS. 4(a) to (c); figure 4a and 5a. Examiner notes a singular air source is provided to simultaneously expand or contract multiple expansion compartments; thus the air columns share a common internal air pressure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the pneumatic body harness of Shealy to implement the plurality of expansion sections arranged along the entire inner surface of the harness configured to wrap around a user’s body in use including a fluid inlet through which air is injected to contract or expand the plurality of expansion sections, in order to provide expandable air compartments for applying traction to the user’s spine as taught by Chang [0052].
Modified Shealy is silent as to the at least one pneumatic body harness having an internal check valve inlet and pressure gauge.
Shealy teaches The lower body harness 50 includes an inflatable air bladder 54 for positioning within the posterior cavity 56 of the lumbar spine formed between the lower back 58 of the person 30 and the bed 20 when the person is in a supine position on the bed, as illustrated with reference again to FIG. 2 and to FIG. 6. The air bladder 54 is inflatable through the use of a hand pump 60; col. 5 line 19-26; figure 4.
Additionally, Abelbeck teaches a pump assembly for inflating a set of inflatable air bladders comprising an internal check valve inlet ([0035] The pump 82 provides fluid flow through the check valve 100 and then to the 4-way valve 94. The 4-way valve 94 directs fluid flow to either the first bladder 96 (relaxed valve) or the second bladder 98 (energized valve). The exhaust of each bladder is controlled by the 2-way valve 92 and prevented from back flowing through the pump 82 by the check valve 100; figure 4b-5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the pump of Shealy to implement a check valve for providing the flow of air into the bladder(s) while also preventing the backflow of air, as taught by Abelbeck [00035].
Additionally, Wei teaches a pneumatic body harness (traction belt 1 including airbag strips 2; see [0026]; figure 1-3) the pneumatic body harness having a pressure gauge ([0026] The main control module 8 controls the pressure sensor 3 to monitor the pressure of the airbag strip 2 in real time and displays it in real time on the pressure value display board 5; figure 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the pneumatic body harness of Shealy to implement pressure sensor(s) and a pressure vale display board in order to monitor the pressure of the pneumatic pocket spaces and display the values in real time, as taught by Wei [0026].
Regarding claim 16, modified Shealy teaches the spinal decompression device of claim 15, Chang teaches wherein the elongated pneumatic pocket spaces are arranged into at least two rows of pocket spaces along the patient’s body (see figure 1 and 4-5, air columns 224 and 232 are separated into 3 rows separated and delineated by blocking members 252 and 254).
Regarding claim 17, modified Shealy teaches the spinal decompression device of claim 16, Chang teaches wherein the elongated pneumatic pocket spaces are arranged into at least three rows of pocket spaces along the patient’s body (see figure 1 and 4-5, air columns 224 and 232 are separated into 3 rows separated and delineated by blocking members 252 and 254).
Regarding claim 18, modified Shealy teaches the spinal decompression device of claim 15, Chang teaches wherein the elongated pneumatic pocket spaces are arranged into at least two columns of pocket spaces around the patient’s body (see figure 1 and 4-5, air columns 224 and 232).
Regarding claim 19, modified Shealy teaches the spinal decompression device of claim 18, Chang teaches wherein the elongated pneumatic pocket spaces are arranged into five columns of pocket spaces around the patient’s body (see figure 1 and 4-5, air columns 224 and 232).
Regarding claim 20, modified Shealy teaches the spinal decompression device of claim 19, wherein the pneumatic harness comprises a back portion (see figure 4 of Shealy, back portion at reference numeral 54), two side portions (see figure 4 of Shealy, left and right side portions where straps and corresponding fasteners attach together), and two front portions (see figure 4 of Shealy, a left front portion of lower body harness 50 and a right front portion of lower body harness 50), and there is one column of elongate pneumatic pocket spaces disposed in each portion of the pneumatic harness (as modified above and depicted in Chang figure 1, 4a-4c, and 5a-5c, air columns 224 and 232 are provided along the entire harness including at least one air column provided on a back portion, the left and right side portions, the left and right front portions).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.I.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/VALERIE L WOODWARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785