DETAILED ACTION
This detailed action is in response to the amendments and arguments filed on 05/05/2026, and any subsequent filings.
Notations “C_”, “L_” and “Pr_” are used to mean “column_”, “line_” and “paragraph_”.
Claims 2-3, 5, 9-11 and 15-20 are canceled. Claims 1, 4, 6-8 and 12-14 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The Applicant argues that reference Smith does not teach that the weir door is not purposefully actuated by a controller (pg. 7 of 8), and that Smith only teaches movement of the weir door in combination with the pump (pg. 7 of 8). This argument is unpersuasive because Smith teaches a processor 544 configured to move the weir 530 (Smith, [0119] and [0127]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The Applicant argues that reference Potucek fails to cure the deficiency of Smith regarding teaching controlling the weir door based on predicted environmental conditions (pg. 6-7 of 8). This argument is unpersuasive because Potucek teaches using historical data, such as environmental conditions (Potucek, [0347]), trends to predict future trends to offer preventative maintenance, predictive failure and/or potential downtime risks (Potucek, [0346]). Data trends can be used to minimize energy usage and/or facilitate energy consumption decisions (Potucek, [0346]), such as the energy consumption of a pump associated with a debris filter (Potucek, [0116]).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually (pg. 7 of 8), one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 4 reads “predict environmental conditions” whereas Claim 1 reads “a predicted environmental condition”. It is unclear whether the “environmental conditions” of Claim 4 are the same or distinct from the “environmental condition” of Claim 1, rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication US20170175410A1 (‘Smith’).
The Applicant’s claims are directed towards an apparatus (Claim 1) and a method (Claims 6-8).
Regarding Claims 1, 6-8 and 13, Smith discloses a skimming system for a swimming pool or spa (abstract and [0075]), the skimming system comprising:
an actuated ([0127]) weir door (Fig. 8, [0077], weir 170); and
a controller (Fig. 21, [0119], processor 544) for actuating the weir door ([0119] and [0127]), wherein the controller is configured to actuate the weir door based at least one of:
a predicted environmental condition;
a status of a pump of the swimming pool or spa ([0127]); or
a predicted debris condition.
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 6: the weir door is actuated such that the weir door is closed when the pump is off and actuated open when the pump is turned on ([0127]).
Claim 7: the weir door is a first weir door, wherein the skimming system comprises a plurality of weir doors (Fig. 8, [0077-0078], additional weir 230), and wherein actuation of the weir doors is synchronized ([0138], in response to water levels).
Claim 8: A method of creating a cleaning effect in a swimming pool or spa ([0077]), the method comprising:
determining a trigger for actuating a weir door ([0119]), wherein the trigger comprises at least one of:
a predicted environmental condition;
a status of a pump of the swimming pool or spa ([0127]); or
a predicted debris condition; and
actuating the weir door responsive to the trigger ([0119] and [0127]).
Claim 13: the weir door is a first weir door of a plurality of weir doors (Fig. 8, [0077-0078], additional weir 230), and wherein the method comprises synchronizing actuation of the plurality of weir doors ([0138], in response to water levels).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication US20170175410A1 (‘Smith’) in view of U.S. Publication US20170209338A1 (‘Potucek’).
The Applicant’s claim is directed towards an apparatus.
Regarding Claim 4, Smith discloses the skimming system of Claim 1, except that the controller actuates the weir door based on predicted environmental conditions for the swimming pool or spa, and that the controller is configured to predict environmental conditions for the swimming pool or spa based on information from the at least one environmental sensor.
Potucek also relates to a skimming system for a swimming pool or spa ([0010]), including that the controller actuates the weir door based on predicted environmental conditions (Fig. 33G, [0282], activate/deactivate skimmers based on weather) for the swimming pool or spa ([0346], use historical trends to predict future trends. [0347], web data can include environmental conditions), and that the controller is configured to predict environmental conditions for the swimming pool or spa based on information from the at least one environmental sensor ([0060], wind speed sensors. [0352], operational data from web data or from one or more pieces of pool equipment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the controller of Smith to actuate the weir door based on predicted environmental conditions and to be configured to predict environmental conditions based on information from at least one environmental sensor, as demonstrated by Potucek, to increase autonomy, reduce energy usage and facilitate energy consumption decisions (Potucek, [0346]).
Claims 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication US20170175410A1 (‘Smith’) in view of U.S. Patent US3363767A (‘Ellis’).
The Applicant’s claims are directed towards a method.
Regarding Claims 12 and 14, Smith discloses the method of Claim 8, including that the weir door is a first weir door of a plurality of weir doors (Fig. 8, [0077-0078], additional weir 230), except for controlling an actuation characteristic of the weir door, and wherein the actuation characteristic comprises at least one of a frequency of opening and closing the weir door, a pattern of opening or closing the weir door, a duration for which the weir door is actuated, or a time at which the weir door is actuated and independently controlling actuation of each weir door of the plurality of weir doors.
Ellis also relates to a method of creating a cleaning effect in a swimming pool or spa comprises actuating a weir door (C2/L12-27), including controlling an actuation characteristic of the weir door, and wherein the actuation characteristic comprises at least one of a frequency of opening and closing the weir door, a pattern of opening or closing the weir door, a duration for which the weir door is actuated, or a time at which the weir door is actuated (C2/L12-27 and C6/L11-25), and independently controlling actuation of each weir door of the plurality of weir doors (Fig. 4-5, C5/L21-36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to control an actuation characteristic of the weir door and actuation of each weir door, as demonstrated by Ellis, in the method of Smith to maintain the pool level while preventing the flooding of gutters (Ellis, C2/L12-27).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BOI-LIEN THI NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1779
/Bobby Ramdhanie/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1779