DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 02/05/2026. Claims 1 and through 20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential steps, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted steps are:
At least an ACK message needs to be sent to the second device indicating successful reception of transmitted PPDU.
In the limitation “selecting a scrambler seed from the PPDU frame for scrambling an acknowledgement (ACK) message to send to the second communication device”, the scrambling an acknowledgement (ACK) message to send to the second communication device after the “for” is considered intended use and does not carry any patentability weight. The limitation must be written as “selecting a scrambler seed from the PPDU frame; scrambling an ACK message based on the selected scrambler seed, where in the ACK message indicating successful reception of transmitted PPDU message.
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, because of their dependency from claim 1.
Claim 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for the same reasons applied for claims 1-7.
Claim 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for the same reasons applied for claims 1-7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-12, 14-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gan et al. (US 2022/0060280 A1) in view of Min et al. (US 2021/0377728 A1) further in view of Scholnick et al. (US 2009/0083544 A1).
For claim 1 Gan teaches a method, comprising:
by a first communication device (see paragraph 83 “receive end (first communication device)”):
receiving a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) frame from a second communication device (see paragraph 83 “receive a PPDU MAC frame from a transmitting end (a second communication device)”);
determining a PPDU frame type of the received PPDU frame based at least in part on a preamble of the received PPDU frame (see paragraph 22 “a preamble of the PPDU includes one or a combination of the following: …a scrambler seed indication, used to indicate a scrambler media access control protocol data unit (MPDU)”, paragraph 83 “PPDU includes a preamble for the MAC frame…the receiving end after receiving PPDU, performs de-mapping, descrambling, and decoding to obtain MAC frame and information bits”, paragraph 95 “PPDU frame type is based on the legacy preamble and a next-generation physical layer preamble”, and paragraph 289 “Optionally, the preamble of the PPDU includes a scrambler seed indication, used to indicate a scrambler seed used to scramble the retransmitted MPDU”, paragraph 345 “scrambler seed may be indicated by preamble and the scrambler seed is agreed by both parties”, and claim 6 “PPDU comprises a scrambler seed indication”);
applying a PPDU frame type-based key based at least in part of the determined PPDU frame type and a determined service field value to implement a descrambling process for an obfuscated medium access control (MAC) header of the PPDU frame to de-obfuscate the MAC header, wherein the PPDU frame type-based key is an offset key (see paragraph 95 “PPDU frame type is based on the legacy preamble and a next-generation physical layer preamble”, paragraph 22 “a preamble of the PPDU includes one or a combination of the following: …a scrambler seed indication, used to indicate a scrambler media access control protocol data unit (MPDU)”, paragraph 20 “descramble a scrambled MPDU”, paragraph 78 “performing de-mapping (de-obfuscate)”, pargraph 83 “apply de-mapping and de-scrambling to PPDU carrying MAC frame preamble (header)…a receive end first decodes the received PHY data unit, and then performs descrambling, to obtain the MAC frame”, paragraph 144 “a transmit end first encodes and then scrambles a MAC layer frame, and correspondingly, a receive end first descrambles and then decodes a PHY layer data unit”, and paragraph 281 “perform descrambling using scrambled service field”);
de-obfuscating the MAC header (see paragraph 144 “a transmit end first encodes and then scrambles a MAC layer frame, and correspondingly, a receive end first descrambles and then decodes a PHY layer data unit”, paragraph 166 “a transmit end first scrambles and then encodes a MAC layer frame, and correspondingly, a receive end first decodes and then descrambles a PHY layer data unit”, paragraph 147 and paragraph 205 “de-mapping (de-obfuscating) and descrambling);
descrambling a payload of the received PPDU frame based at least in part on de-obfuscating the MAC header (see paragraph 22 “the receiving end after receiving PPDU, performs de-mapping, descrambling, and decoding to obtain MAC frame and information bits”, paragraph 85 MPDU includes a frame header, a frame body (payload)and a Frame Check Sequence (FCS)”, and paragraph 281 “perform descrambling using scrambled service field”);
selecting a scrambler seed from the PPDU frame for scrambling an acknowledgement (ACK) message to send to the second communication device (see paragraph 198 “the scrambler seed may be randomly generated, or may be generated according to a specific rule”, paragraph 3 “when an access point (Access Point, AP) sends data to a station (Station, STA), if the STA successfully receives the data, the STA feeds back an acknowledgment (Acknowledgment, ACK) frame to the AP”, paragraph 15 “scrambler seed indication, used to indicate a scrambler seed used to scramble a retransmitted MPDU”, paragraph 281 “seed obtained by using a received scrambled field” and paragraph 198 “scrambled feedback”); and
scrambling the ACK message based on the selected scrambler seed (see paragraph 3 “when an access point (Access Point, AP) sends data to a station (Station, STA), if the STA successfully receives the data, the STA feeds back an acknowledgment (Acknowledgment, ACK) frame to the AP”, paragraph 281 “seed obtained by using a received scrambled field” and paragraph 198 “scrambled feedback”).
Gan does not explicitly teach key to descramble MAC header.
However, Min teaches encrypting the HE-SIG-A2 prevents non-legitimate STAs
from correctly decoding the PPDU (including the MAC header) because the PHY preamble is encrypted using a shared key/seed (see Min: paragraph 47).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use the teachings of Min in the PPDU structure of Gan in order to encrypt (scramble) the MAC header in the PPDU prevents non-legitimate STAs from correctly decoding the PPDU (including the MAC header) (see Min: paragraph 47).
Gan in view of Min does not explicitly teach the key to descramble MAC header is an offset key.
However, Scholnick teaches scrambling/unscrambling (descrambling) process types using scrambler key (SK) derived from any source such as but not limited to a random number generator (see Scholnick: at least paragraphs 99-100). In addition, Scholnick teaches the secure personal information device (SPID)10 can be configured to maintain a 'list' of multiple encryption methods, multiple keys/offsets/etc., and multiple obfuscations/ de-obfuscation for use with a single trading partner (see Scholnick: at least paragraph 41). In addition, Scholnick teaches an arbitrary binary data segment, referred to as the "scrambler key" (see Scholnick: at least paragraph 95). Scholnick teaches an optional offset into the data segment, referred to as the "scrambler offset” (see Scholnick: at least paragraph 97). In addition, Scholnick teaches The source data (SD) is any data that is to be scrambled/descrambled using the obfuscation/de-obfuscation technique, such as but not limited to a document file, a text file, an image file, a group of files combined in a compressed archive, an encrypted file, a previously encrypted and/or scrambled file, etc. (see Scholnick: at least paragraphs 98 and 144).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine the teachings of Min in the combined PPDU structure of Gan in order to apply optional scrambler/descrambler offset the MAC header in the PPDU for additional complexity (see Scholnick: at least paragraph 97).
For claim 2 Gan teaches the method, wherein the service field value is determined based at least in a part on the PPDU frame type (see paragraph 95 “legacy preamble and next-generation physical layer preamble” and paragraph 241 “PPDU includes a legacy preamble and next-generation preamble”).
For claim 3 Gan teaches the method, further comprising preparing the ACK message based on a sequence number detected in the PPDU frame (see paragraph 22 “scrambler seed (sequence number) detected in PPDU” and scrambled information is used in the HARQ).
For claim 4 Gan teaches the method, further comprising transmitting the ACK message to the second communication device (see paragraph 3 “STA sends an ACK to access point (AP)”).
For claim 5 Gan teaches the method, wherein the scrambler seed comprises at least 2 octets (see paragraph 15 “PPDU includes a scrambler seed indication”, paragraph 198 “scrambler seed may be randomly generated, or may be generated according to a specific rule” and the size of the scrambler seed is design option).
For claim 6 Gan in view of Min further in view of Scholnick teaches the first computing device, wherein descrambling the payload comprises:
selecting a key type based on the PPDU frame type (as discussed in claim 1);
calculating a descrambling key using one or more values configured based on the selected key type (as discussed in claim 1);
creating a descrambling bit-pattern using a scrambler and the descrambling key (as discussed in claim 1); and
performing an exclusive-or (XOR) operation on a received PPDU payload with the descrambling bit-pattern (Scholnick: paragraphs 99-100 “XOR operation” as discussed in claim 1).
For claim 7 Gan in view of Min further in view of Scholnick teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the key type is selected based on the second communication device (see Min: paragraph 20 “the secure is between legitimate STAs and AP”).
For claim 8 Gan in view of Min further in view of Scholnick teaches a first communication device, comprising:
one or more processors (see Gan: Fig. 15 “processor 1510 and Memory 1520”); and
one or more computer-readable media including instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processor to perform operations (see Gan: Fig. 15 “processor 1510 and Memory 1520” and paragraph 42 “The memory is coupled to the processor. The memory is configured to store a computer program, and the computer program includes program instructions”) comprising:
receiving a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) frame from a second communication device (as discussed in claim 1);
determining a PPDU frame type of the received PPDU frame based at least in part on a preamble of the received PPDU frame (as discussed in claim 1);
applying a PPDU frame type-based key based at least in part of the determined PPDU frame type and a determined service field value to implement a descrambling process for an obfuscated medium access control (MAC) header of the PPDU frame to de-obfuscate the MAC header, wherein the PPDU frame type-based key is an offset key (as discussed in claim 1);
de-obfuscating the MAC header (as discussed in claim 1);
descrambling a payload of the received PPDU frame based at least in part on the de-obfuscating the MAC header (as discussed in claim 1);
selecting a scrambler seed from the PPDU frame for scrambling an acknowledgement (ACK) message to send to the second communication device (as discussed in claim 1); and
scrambling the ACK message based on the selected scrambler seed (as discussed in claim 1).
For claim 9 Gan teaches the first computing device, wherein the service field value is determined based at least in a part on the PPDU frame type (as discussed in claim 2).
For claim 10 Gan teaches the first computing device, wherein the instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising further comprising preparing the ACK message based on a sequence number detected in the PPDU frame (as discussed in claim 3).
For claim 11 Gan teaches the first computing device, wherein instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the one or processors to perform operations comprising transmitting the ACK message to the second communication device (as discussed in claim 4).
For claim 12 Gan teaches the first computing device, wherein the scrambler seed comprises 2 octets (as discussed in claim 5).
For claim 13 Gan in view of Min further in view of Scholnick teaches the first computing device (as discussed in claim 6), wherein descrambling the payload comprises:
selecting a key type based on the PPDU frame type (as discussed in claim 6);
calculating a descrambling key using one or more values configured based on the selected key type (as discussed in claim 6);
creating a descrambling bit-pattern using a scrambler and the descrambling key (as discussed in claim 6); and
performing an exclusive-or operation on a received PPDU payload with the descrambling bit-pattern (as discussed in claim 6).
For claim 14 Gan teaches the first computing device, wherein the key type is selected based on the second communication device (as discussed in claim 7).
For claim 15 Gan in view of Min further in view of Scholnick teaches one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media having stored thereon a sequence of instructions which, when executed, cause one or more processors to perform operations (as discussed in claim 1) comprising:
receiving a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) frame from a second communication device (as discussed in claim 1);
determining a PPDU frame type of the received PPDU frame based at least in part on a preamble of the received PPDU frame (as discussed in claim 1);
applying a PPDU frame type-based key based at least in part of the determined PPDU frame type and a determined service field value to implement a descrambling process for an obfuscated medium access control (MAC) header of the PPDU frame to de-obfuscate the MAC header, wherein the PPDU frame type-based key is an offset key (as discussed in claim 1);
de-obfuscating the MAC header (as discussed in claim 1);
descrambling a payload of the received PPDU frame based at least in part on the de-obfuscating the MAC header (as discussed in claim 1);
selecting a scrambler seed from the PPDU frame for scrambling an acknowledgement (ACK) message to send to the second communication device (as discussed in claim 1); and
scrambling the ACK message based on the selected scrambler seed (as discussed in claim 1).
For claim 16 Gan teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media, wherein the service field value is determined based at least in a part on the PPDU frame type (as discussed in claim 2).
For claim 17 Gan teaches the one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media, wherein the instructions which, when executed, further cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: preparing the ACK message based on a sequence number detected in the PPDU frame (as discussed in claim 3).
For claim 18 Gan teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media, wherein instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising transmitting the ACK message to the second communication device (as discussed in claim 4).
For claim 19 Gan in view of Min further in view of Scholnick teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media (as discussed in claims 6 and 13), wherein descrambling the payload further comprises:
selecting a key type based on the PPDU frame type (as discussed in claims 6 and 13);
calculating a descrambling key using one or more values configured based on the selected key type (as discussed in claims 6 and 13);
creating a descrambling bit-pattern using a scrambler and the descrambling key (as discussed in claims 6 and 13); and
performing an exclusive-or operation on a received PPDU payload with the descrambling bit-pattern (as discussed in claims 6 and 13).
For claim 20 Gan teaches the one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media, wherein the scrambler seed comprises 2 octets (as discussed in claim 5).
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: NEGAHDAR et al. (US 2021/0105137 A1) (see paragraph 18 “…decrypt and validate the MAC Address using a de-obfuscation engine”).
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANSOUR OVEISSI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415