DETAILED ACTION
Claims 35-54 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the Invention of Group I, claims 35-49, drawn to a composition in the reply filed on 12/9/25 is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that Groups I and II could be examine together without a serious burden. This is not found persuasive because as described in MPEP §808.02, the requirement for establishing a serious burden has been met as the inventions require a different field of search. The inventions require a different field of search including searching different classes/subclasses, electronic resources, and employing different search strategies or search queries. The inventions of Group I and Group II are classified in separate classes and subclasses, and are different statutory categories of invention; art that would be pertinent to Group I would not necessarily be pertinent to Group II, and vice versa.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 50-54 are withdrawn as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claims 35-49 are under consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 9/1/23, 11/20/23, 8/15/24, 3/14/25, and 11/19/25. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 40, 43, 46 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 40 recites the limitation “the total amount of carboxylic acids and salts thereof” in line 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In claim 35 "at least one carboxylic acid and salt thereof " encompasses multiple carboxylic acids and salts thereof. It is unclear whether just one, more than one, or all of the carboxylic acids and salts thereof must meet the claim limitation.
Claim 43 recites the limitation “the total amount of cyclodextrins and derivatives thereof” in line 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In claim 35 "at least one cyclodextrin and derivative thereof" encompasses multiple cyclodextrins. It is unclear whether just one, more than one, or all of the cyclodextrins and derivatives thereof must meet the claim limitation.
Claim 46 recites the limitation “the total amount of polysaccharide thickening agent” in line 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In claim 35 "at least one polysaccharide thickening agent" encompasses multiple polysaccharide thickening agents. It is unclear whether just one, more than one, or all of the polysaccharide thickening agents thereof must meet the claim limitation.
Claim 48 recites the limitation “the total amount of polyols” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In claim 35 "at least one polyol" encompasses multiple polyols. It is unclear whether just one, more than one, or all of the polyols thereof must meet the claim limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 35-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Gogh (US 2013/0149271; cited in IDS).
Van Gogh teaches compositions that can be used as an adjunct to regular shampooing and conditioning products, wherein the disclosed compositions provide a means for repairing and restoring keratin-containing fibers to their original condition (e.g. abstract).
Van Gogh teach a composition for treating keratin fibers comprising:
(a) sodium citrate or citric acid (i.e. at least one carboxylic acid or salt thereof) (e.g. paragraph 0228, 0353, 0357, 0358);
(b) β-cyclodextrin (i.e. at least one cyclodextrin or derivative thereof) (e.g. paragraphs 0305, 0307, 0353, 0357 0358).
(c) xanthan or guar gums (i.e. at least one polysaccharide thickening agent) (e.g. paragraph 0185, 0190, 0193, 0303, 0307);
(d) propanediol (i.e. at least one polyol) (e.g. paragraphs 0353, 0357, 0358); and
(e) water (e.g. paragraph 0177, 0305, 0307, 0353, 0357, 0358);
wherein the composition has a pH 3.75 (i.e. of less than 7) (e.g. paragraph 0307).
Regarding Claims 35, 38, 39, 41, 42, 44, 45, and 47, while there is not a single example comprising each of the claimed components, the ingredients are included among a short list of preferred ingredients and/or are present in separate examples. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Regarding Claims 36, 37, 40, and 43, Van Gogh exemplify a composition comprising 2 wt% sodium citrate and 0.5 wt% β-cyclodextrin, which results in a ratio of 4:1, all of which are within the claimed ranges (e.g. paragraph 0353).
Regarding Claim 46, Van Gogh teach 0.05-5 wt% thickening polymers and exemplify a composition comprising 0.1 and 0.15 wt% guar hydroxypropyl triammonium chloride, which are within the claimed range (e.g. paragraph 0307).
Regarding Claim 48, Van Gogh exemplify 12.3, 12.6, 13, 11.8 and 12.1 wt% propanediol, which is within the claimed range (e.g. paragraph 0353).
Regarding Claim 49, Van Gogh teach a composition for treating keratin fibers comprising:
(a) 2 wt% sodium citrate (e.g. paragraph 0353);
(b) 0.5 wt% β-cyclodextrin (e.g. paragraphs 0353).
(c) 0.1 and 0.15 wt% guar hydroxypropyl triammonium chloride (e.g. paragraph 0307);
(d) 12.3, 12.6, 13, 11.8 and 12.1 wt% propanediol (e.g. paragraphs 0353); and
(e) water (e.g. paragraph 0307, 0353);
wherein the composition has a pH 3.75 (e.g. paragraph 0307).
While there is not a single example comprising each of the claimed components, the ingredients are included among a short list of preferred ingredients and/or are present in separate examples. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Double Patenting
Claims 35-49 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 65-69, 72, 74-81, 85-86 of copending Application No. 17/733,920 in view of Van Gogh (US 2013/0149271; cited in IDS).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant and copending claims recite a composition for treating keratin fibers, comprising:
(a) at least one carboxylic acid or salt thereof;
(b) at least one cyclodextrin or derivative thereof;
(c) at least one thickening agent;
(d) at least additional solvent, including polyols (e.g. claim 74); and
(e) water;
Wherein the pH is between 2 and 6 (e.g. claim 77).
Copending ‘920 does not claim that the thickening agent is a polysaccharide or gum. This is made up for by the teachings of Van Gogh.
Van Gogh teaches compositions that can be used as an adjunct to regular shampooing and conditioning products, wherein the disclosed compositions provide a means for repairing and restoring keratin-containing fibers to their original condition (e.g. abstract).
Van Gogh teach a composition for treating keratin fibers comprising:
(a) 2 wt% sodium citrate or citric acid (i.e. at least one carboxylic acid or salt thereof) (e.g. paragraph 0228, 0353, 0357, 0358);
(b) 0.5 wt% β-cyclodextrin (i.e. at least one cyclodextrin or derivative thereof) (e.g. paragraphs 0305, 0307, 0353, 0357 0358).
(c) 0.1 or 1.5 wt% xanthan or guar gums (i.e. at least one polysaccharide thickening agent) (e.g. paragraph 0185, 0190, 0193, 0303, 0307);
(d) 12.3, 12.6, 13, 11.8 and 12.1 propanediol (i.e. at least one polyol) (e.g. paragraphs 0353, 0357, 0358); and
(e) water (e.g. paragraph 0177, 0305, 0307, 0353, 0357, 0358);
wherein the composition has a pH 3.75 (i.e. of less than 7) (e.g. paragraph 0307).
Regarding Claims 35-49, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would have predicted success as xanthan and guar gums are disclosed by Van Gogh as suitable in a substantially similar hair treatment formulation. Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is obvious.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 35-49 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 18/355,442 in view of Van Gogh (US 2013/0149271; cited in IDS).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant and copending claims recite a composition for treating keratin fibers, comprising:
(a) at least one carboxylic acid or salt thereof;
(b) at least one cyclodextrin or derivative thereof;
(d) at least additional solvent, including polyols (e.g. claim 12); and
(e) water;
Wherein the pH is between 3 and 6 (e.g. claim 2).
Copending ‘442 does not claim the inclusion of a thickening agent which is a polysaccharide or gum. This is made up for by the teachings of Van Gogh.
Van Gogh teaches compositions that can be used as an adjunct to regular shampooing and conditioning products, wherein the disclosed compositions provide a means for repairing and restoring keratin-containing fibers to their original condition (e.g. abstract).
Van Gogh teach a composition for treating keratin fibers comprising:
(a) 2 wt% sodium citrate or citric acid (i.e. at least one carboxylic acid or salt thereof) (e.g. paragraph 0228, 0353, 0357, 0358);
(b) 0.5 wt% β-cyclodextrin (i.e. at least one cyclodextrin or derivative thereof) (e.g. paragraphs 0305, 0307, 0353, 0357 0358).
(c) 0.1 or 1.5 wt% xanthan or guar gums (i.e. at least one polysaccharide thickening agent) (e.g. paragraph 0185, 0190, 0193, 0303, 0307);
(d) 12.3, 12.6, 13, 11.8 and 12.1 propanediol (i.e. at least one polyol) (e.g. paragraphs 0353, 0357, 0358); and
(e) water (e.g. paragraph 0177, 0305, 0307, 0353, 0357, 0358);
wherein the composition has a pH 3.75 (i.e. 3-6) (e.g. paragraph 0307).
Regarding Claims 35-49, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would have predicted success as xanthan and guar gums are disclosed by Van Gogh as suitable in a substantially similar hair treatment formulation. Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is obvious.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 35-49 are directed to an invention not patentably distinct from claims 1-18 of commonly assigned 18/355,442. Specifically, see above.
The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office may not institute a derivation proceeding in the absence of a timely filed petition. The USPTO normally will not institute a derivation proceeding between applications or a patent and an application having common ownership (see 37 CFR 42.411). Commonly assigned 18/355,442, discussed above, may form the basis for a rejection of the noted claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 if the commonly assigned case qualifies as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) and the patentably indistinct inventions were not commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned not later than the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention.
In order for the examiner to resolve this issue the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(i) to the effect that the subject matter and the claimed invention, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, were owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person. Alternatively, the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(c) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(ii) to the effect that the subject matter was developed and the claimed invention was made by or on behalf of one or more parties to a joint research agreement that was in effect on or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and the claimed invention was made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of the joint research agreement; the application must also be amended to disclose the names of the parties to the joint research agreement.
A showing that the inventions were commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned not later than the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention will preclude a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 based upon the commonly assigned case. Alternatively, applicant may take action to amend or cancel claims such that the applications, or the patent and the application, no longer contain claims directed to patentably indistinct inventions.
Claims 35-49 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 20 of copending Application No. 18/355,526 in view of Van Gogh (US 2013/0149271; cited in IDS).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant and copending claims recite a composition for treating keratin fibers, comprising:
(a) at least one carboxylic acid or salt thereof;
(b) at least one cyclodextrin or derivative thereof;
(c) at least one thickening agent;
(d) at least one polyol; and
(e) water;
Wherein the pH is between 3 and 6 (e.g. claim 2).
Copending ‘526 does not claim the inclusion of a thickening agent which is a polysaccharide or gum. This is made up for by the teachings of Van Gogh.
Van Gogh teaches compositions that can be used as an adjunct to regular shampooing and conditioning products, wherein the disclosed compositions provide a means for repairing and restoring keratin-containing fibers to their original condition (e.g. abstract).
Van Gogh teach a composition for treating keratin fibers comprising:
(a) 2 wt% sodium citrate or citric acid (i.e. at least one carboxylic acid or salt thereof) (e.g. paragraph 0228, 0353, 0357, 0358);
(b) 0.5 wt% β-cyclodextrin (i.e. at least one cyclodextrin or derivative thereof) (e.g. paragraphs 0305, 0307, 0353, 0357 0358).
(c) 0.1 or 1.5 wt% xanthan or guar gums (i.e. at least one polysaccharide thickening agent) (e.g. paragraph 0185, 0190, 0193, 0303, 0307);
(d) 12.3, 12.6, 13, 11.8 and 12.1 propanediol (i.e. at least one polyol) (e.g. paragraphs 0353, 0357, 0358); and
(e) water (e.g. paragraph 0177, 0305, 0307, 0353, 0357, 0358);
wherein the composition has a pH 3.75 (i.e. 3-6) (e.g. paragraph 0307).
Regarding Claims 35-49, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would have predicted success as xanthan and guar gums are disclosed by Van Gogh as suitable in a substantially similar hair treatment formulation. Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is obvious.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 35-49 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 18/539,865 in view of Van Gogh (US 2013/0149271; cited in IDS).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant and copending claims recite a composition for treating keratin fibers, comprising:
(a) at least one carboxylic acid or salt thereof;
(b) at least one cyclodextrin or derivative thereof;
(c) at least one polysaccharide thickening agent -guar derivative;
(d) at least water soluble solvent; and
(e) water;
Wherein the pH is between 3 and 6 (e.g. claim 2).
Copending ‘865 does not claim the inclusion of a polyol as the water-soluble solvent. This is made up for by the teachings of Van Gogh.
Van Gogh teaches compositions that can be used as an adjunct to regular shampooing and conditioning products, wherein the disclosed compositions provide a means for repairing and restoring keratin-containing fibers to their original condition (e.g. abstract).
Van Gogh teach a composition for treating keratin fibers comprising:
(a) 2 wt% sodium citrate or citric acid (i.e. at least one carboxylic acid or salt thereof) (e.g. paragraph 0228, 0353, 0357, 0358);
(b) 0.5 wt% β-cyclodextrin (i.e. at least one cyclodextrin or derivative thereof) (e.g. paragraphs 0305, 0307, 0353, 0357 0358).
(c) 0.1 or 1.5 wt% xanthan or guar gums (i.e. at least one polysaccharide thickening agent) (e.g. paragraph 0185, 0190, 0193, 0303, 0307);
(d) 12.3, 12.6, 13, 11.8 and 12.1 propanediol (i.e. at least one polyol) (e.g. paragraphs 0353, 0357, 0358); and
(e) water (e.g. paragraph 0177, 0305, 0307, 0353, 0357, 0358);
wherein the composition has a pH 3.75 (i.e. 3-6) (e.g. paragraph 0307).
Regarding Claims 35-49, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would have predicted success as propanediol are disclosed by Van Gogh as suitable in a substantially similar hair treatment formulation. Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is obvious.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/NICOLE P BABSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1619