DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 12/30/2025 with respect to claims 1-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita et al (US Publication No. 20080158768) in view of Rossetto et al (US Publication No. 20060237408) and further in view of Balogh (US Patent No. 5793625).
Regarding claim 1, Yamashita discloses (i.e., see for example fig. 13 as shown below, para. [0103]) an ion generating apparatus (IGA), comprising: an ion generating circuit (32) including a positive ion generating electrode pair (33A, 33B) and a negative ion generating electrode pair (34A, 34B).
Yamashita does not explicitly disclose and a controller configured to control the ion generating circuit, wherein the controller causes the ion generating circuit to apply a positive voltage to the positive ion generating electrode pair and a negative voltage to the negative ion generating electrode pair in different periods, the positive voltage has a first ringing voltage waveform a negative peak of which is removed, and the negative voltage, a second ringing voltage waveform a positive peak of which is removed.
Rossetto discloses (i.e., see for example fig. 5 as shown below, para. [0036]- [0054]); a generator for arc welder, of the type composed of a rectifier stage followed by a PFC stage and by an inverter stage, both of the high-frequency type; wherein a controller (222) configured to control the ion generating circuit (IG), wherein the controller (222) causes the ion generating circuit (IG) to apply a positive voltage (DEl/+Vcl) to the positive ion generating electrode pair (216) and a negative voltage (DE2/-Vc2) to the negative ion generating electrode pair (217) in different periods (i.e., higher/lower switching frequencies; see for example para. [0054]), the positive voltage (DEl/+Vcl) has a first ringing voltage waveform (i.e., Vcl = Vpeak x sin (St)) a negative peak (- Vpeak) of which is removed (chopped), and the negative voltage (DE2/-Vc2) has a second ringing voltage waveform (i.e., Vc2 = Vpeak x sin (St)) a positive peak (+vpeak) of which is removed (chopped).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the power-controlled switches in Yamashita, as taught by Rossetto, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards improving components protection and efficiency.
Neither Yamashita nor Rossetto explicitly discloses the positive voltage has a plurality of waveforms vibrating in a period during which the positive voltage is applied, wherein the plurality of waveforms is a plurality of first ringing voltage waveforms, a plurality of negative peaks of which is removed, and the negative voltage has another plurality of waveforms vibrating in a period during which the negative voltage is applied, wherein the other plurality of waveforms is a plurality of second ringing voltage waveforms, a plurality of positive peaks of which is removed.
Balogh discloses a boost converter regulated alternator (i.e., see for example phase A waveforms in fig. 9A as shown below, Col. 8 lines 23+); wherein the positive voltage (V+) has a plurality of waveforms (Xs) vibrating (i.e., ripples due to low power factor; see for example Col. 8 lines 23+) in a period (+P) during which the positive voltage (V+) is applied (i.e., applied via the BMR circuit functions like a conventional six-diode rectifier bridge; see for example Col. 8 lines 23+), wherein the plurality of waveforms (Xs) is a plurality of first ringing voltage waveforms (PPs), a plurality of negative peaks (NPs) of which is removed (i.e., chopped via chopper circuit to improve the power factor; see for example Col. 8 lines 23+), and the negative voltage (V-) has another plurality of waveforms (Ys) vibrating in a period (-P) during which the negative voltage (V-) is applied (i.e., applied via the BMR circuit functions like a conventional six-diode rectifier bridge; see for example Col. 8 lines 23+), wherein the other plurality of waveforms (Ys) is a plurality of second ringing voltage waveforms (NPs), a plurality of positive peaks (PPs) of which is removed (i.e., chopped via chopper circuit to improve the power factor; see for example Col. 8 lines 23+).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the switch-waveform scheme in Yamashita, as taught by Balogh, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards controlling the transient oscillation associated with power switches.
Regarding claim 2, Yamashita in view of Rossetto and further in view of Balogh and the teachings of Yamashita as modified Rossetto have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Yamashita as modified by Balogh have been discussed above as well.
Yamashita further discloses (i.e., see for example fig. 13 as shown above, para. [0103]); the ion generating apparatus (IGA), wherein the ion generating circuit (32) includes: a primary circuit (PCR) having a primary coil (Ll) connected to a direct current DC power supply (26), and a secondary circuit (SCR) having a secondary coil (L2) configured to: operate together (i.e., mutual inductance) with the primary coil (Ll) to form a transformer (22), and raise a voltage (i.e., the voltage across the inductor Ll) applied to the primary coil (Ll), wherein the secondary circuit (SCR) includes the positive ion generating electrode pair (33A, 33B) and the negative ion generating electrode pair (34A, 34B).
Balogh furthermore discloses (i.e., see for example phase A waveforms in fig. 9A as shown above, Col. 8 lines 23+); and the controller (i.e., such as control circuit 69; see for example fig. 3, Col. 4 lines 56+) causes the secondary circuit (i.e., such as power electronics section 62; see for example fig. 3, Col. 4 lines 56+) to generate the plurality of first ringing voltage waveforms (i.e., Xs; see for example phase A waveforms in fig. 9A as shown above, Col. 8 lines 23+) and the plurality of second ringing voltage waveforms (i.e., Ys; see for example phase A waveforms in fig. 9A as shown above, Col. 8 lines 23+).
Regarding claim 5, Yamashita in view of Rossetto and further in view of Balogh and the teachings of Yamashita as modified Rossetto have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Yamashita as modified by Balogh have been discussed above as well.
Yamashita further discloses (i.e., see for example fig. 13 as shown above, para. [0103]); the ion generating apparatus (IGA), wherein the ion generating circuit (32) includes: a primary circuit (PCR) having a primary coil (Ll) connected to a direct current DC power supply (26); and a secondary circuit (SCR) having a secondary coil (L2) configured to: operate together (i.e., mutual inductance) with the primary coil (Ll) to form a transformer (22), and raise a voltage (i.e., the voltage across the inductor Ll) applied to the primary coil (Ll), the secondary circuit (SCR) includes the positive ion generating electrode pair (33A, 33B) and the negative ion generating electrode pair (34A, 34B).
Balogh furthermore discloses (i.e., see for example phase A waveforms in fig. 9A as shown above, Col. 8 lines 23+); and the controller (i.e., such as control circuit 69; see for example fig. 3, Col. 4 lines 56+) causes the secondary circuit (i.e., such as power electronics section 62; see for example fig. 3, Col. 4 lines 56+) to generate the plurality of first ringing voltage waveforms (i.e., Xs; see for example phase A waveforms in fig. 9A as shown above, Col. 8 lines 23+) and the plurality of second ringing voltage waveforms (i.e., Ys; see for example phase A waveforms in fig. 9A as shown above, Col. 8 lines 23+).
Claims 3-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita et al (US Publication No. 20080158768) in view of Rossetto et al (US Publication No. 20060237408) and in view of Balogh (US Patent No. 5793625) and further in view of Kooken et al (US Publication No. 20070051712).
Regarding claim 3, Yamashita in view of Rossetto and further in view of Balogh and the teachings of Yamashita as modified Rossetto have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Yamashita as modified by Balogh have been discussed above as well.
Yamashita further discloses (i.e., see for example fig. 13 as shown above, para. [0103]); the ion generating apparatus (IGA), and the primary coil (Ll), and the secondary circuit (SCR) further includes: a first diode (30) having a first anode (anode/30) electrically connected to an end (i.e., end clamped to L2) of the secondary coil (L2); a first discharge electrode (33A) serving as one electrode (terminal) included in the positive ion generating electrode pair (33A, 33B), and electrically connected to a first cathode (cathode/30) of the first diode (30); a first receiving electrode (33B) serving as another electrode (terminal) included in the positive ion generating electrode pair (33A, 33B), electrically connected to another end (i.e., the other end clamped to GND) of the secondary coil (L2), and configured to operate together (i.e., charging/discharging) with the first discharge electrode (33A) to discharge electricity (charges); a second diode (31) having a second cathode (cathode/31) electrically connected to the one end (i.e., end clamped to L2) of the secondary coil (L2); a second discharge electrode (34A) serving as one electrode (terminal) included in the negative ion generating electrode pair (34A, 34B), and electrically connected to a second anode (anode/31) of the second diode (31); a second receiving electrode (34B) serving another electrode (terminal) included in the negative ion generating electrode pair (34A, 34B), electrically connected to the other end (i.e., the other end clamped to GND) of the secondary coil (L2), and configured to operate together (i.e., charging/discharging) with the second discharge electrode (34A) to discharge electricity (charges).
Rossetto furthermore discloses (i.e., see for example fig. 5 as shown above, para. [0036]- [0054]); a second switching element (209) electrically connected to a third electrical path (EP3) that connects a first electrical path (EPl) between the first cathode (Kl) and the first discharge electrode (DEl); and a second electrical path (EP2) extending from the other end (221) of the secondary coil (204); and a third switching element (210) electrically connected to a fifth electrical path (EP5) that connects a fourth electrical path (EP4) between the second anode (A2) and the second discharge electrode (DE2); and the second electrical path (EP2).
Neither Yamashita nor Rossetto nor Balogh explicitly discloses wherein the primary circuit includes a first switching element connected in series between the DC power supply.
Kooken discloses three stage power sources for an electric arc welding process comprising an input stage having an AC input and a first DC output signal (i.e., see for example fig. 17 as shown below, para. [0083]- [0092]); wherein the primary circuit (PCR) includes a first switching element (SWl) connected in series between the DC power supply (DC#1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the power-controlled switches in Yamashita, as taught by Kooken, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards enhancing the overall reliability and safety features.
Regarding claim 4, Yamashita in view of Rossetto and in view of Balogh and further in view of Kooken and the teachings of Yamashita as modified Rossetto have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Yamashita as modified by Balogh and the teachings of Yamashita as modified by Kooken have been discussed above as well.
Rossetto further discloses (i.e., see for example fig. 5 as shown above, para. [0036]- [0054]); wherein the controller (194): controls ON/OFF operations (i.e., graph 900 illustrates various exemplary waveforms associated with main and auxiliary switches, see for example fig. 27, para. [0106]- [0107]) of the first switching element (SWl) to cause the primary coil (252) to generate a primary ringing voltage waveform (820), and, accordingly, to cause the secondary coil (254) to generate a secondary ringing voltage waveform (850); controls ON/OFF operations (i.e., graph 900 illustrates various exemplary waveforms associated with main and auxiliary switches, see for example fig. 27, para. [0106]- [0107]) of the second switching element (SW2) to apply, between the first discharge electrode (20a) and the first receiving electrode (20a/546), a voltage (822) in a positive-peak waveform (824) included in the secondary ringing voltage waveform (850), the voltage (822) being a positive voltage (854), and controls ON/OFF operations (i.e., graph 900 illustrates various exemplary waveforms associated with main and auxiliary switches, see for example fig. 27, para. [0106]- [0107]) of the third switching element (SW3) to apply, between the second discharge electrode (20b) and the second receiving electrode (20b/546), a voltage (840) in a negative-peak waveform (874) included in the secondary ringing voltage waveform (850), the voltage (840) being a negative voltage (810).
Balogh furthermore discloses (i.e., see for example phase A waveforms in fig. 9A as shown above, Col. 8 lines 23+); wherein the positive voltage (V+) has a plurality of waveforms (Xs) vibrating (i.e., ripples due to low power factor; see for example Col. 8 lines 23+) in a period (+P) during which the positive voltage (V+) is applied (i.e., applied via the BMR circuit functions like a conventional six-diode rectifier bridge; see for example Col. 8 lines 23+), wherein the plurality of waveforms (Xs) is a plurality of first ringing voltage waveforms (PPs), a plurality of negative peaks (NPs) of which is removed (i.e., chopped via chopper circuit to improve the power factor; see for example Col. 8 lines 23+), and the negative voltage (V-) has another plurality of waveforms (Ys) vibrating in a period (-P) during which the negative voltage (V-) is applied (i.e., applied via the BMR circuit functions like a conventional six-diode rectifier bridge; see for example Col. 8 lines 23+), wherein the other plurality of waveforms (Ys) is a plurality of second ringing voltage waveforms (NPs), a plurality of positive peaks (PPs) of which is removed (i.e., chopped via chopper circuit to improve the power factor; see for example Col. 8 lines 23+); and the controller (i.e., such as control circuit 69; see for example fig. 3, Col. 4 lines 56+) causes the secondary circuit (i.e., such as power electronics section 62; see for example fig. 3, Col. 4 lines 56+) to generate the plurality of first ringing voltage waveforms (i.e., Xs; see for example phase A waveforms in fig. 9A as shown above, Col. 8 lines 23+) and the plurality of second ringing voltage waveforms (i.e., Ys; see for example phase A waveforms in fig. 9A as shown above, Col. 8 lines 23+).
Regarding claim 6, Yamashita in view of Rossetto and in view of Balogh and further in view of Kooken and the teachings of Yamashita as modified Rossetto have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Yamashita as modified by Balogh and the teachings of Yamashita as modified by Kooken have been discussed above as well.
Kooken further discloses (i.e., see for example fig. 17 as shown above, para. [0083]- [0092]); the primary circuit (PCR) includes: a first switching element (SWl) electrically connectable to one of a positive electrode (14a) or a negative electrode (14b) of a DC power supply (DC#l); a second switching element (SW2) electrically connected to another end (506) of the primary coil (252), and electrically connectable to another one (508) of the positive electrode (14a) or the negative electrode (14b) of the DC power supply (DC#l); a third switching element (SW3) electrically connected to a third electrical path (EP33) connected to each of a first electrical path (EP11) and a second electrical path (EP22), the first electrical path (EP11) being provided between the first switching element (SW1) and an end (506) of the primary coil (252), and the second electrical path (EP22) being provided between the second switching element (SW2) and the other one (508) of the positive electrode (14a) or the negative electrode (14b) of the DC power supply (DC#l); and a fourth switching element (SW4) electrically connected to a sixth electrical path (EP66) connected to each of a fourth electrical path (EP44) and a fifth electrical path (EP55), the fourth electrical path (EP44) being provided between the one of the positive electrode (14a) or the negative electrode (14b) of the DC power supply (DC#1) and the first switching element (SW1), and the fifth electrical path (EP55) being provided between the other end (508) of the primary coil (252) and the second switching element (SW2).
Regarding claim 7, Yamashita in view of Rossetto and in view of Balogh and further in view of Kooken and the teachings of Yamashita as modified Rossetto have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Yamashita as modified by Balogh and the teachings of Yamashita as modified by Kooken have been discussed above as well.
Kooken further discloses (i.e., see for example fig. 17 as shown above, para. [0083]- [0092]); wherein the controller (194) controls ON/OFF operations (i.e., graph 900 illustrates various exemplary waveforms associated with main and auxiliary switches, see for example fig. 27, para. [0106]- [0107]) of each of the first switching element (SWl), the second switching element (SW2), the third switching element (SW4), and the fourth switching element (SW4) to create: a positive period (840) in which only a positive peak (824) is generated of the first ringing voltage waveform (820) in the primary coil (252); and a negative period (870-874) in which only a negative peak (826) is generated of the second ringing voltage waveform (850) in the primary coil (252).
Balogh furthermore discloses (i.e., see for example phase A waveforms in fig. 9A as shown above, Col. 8 lines 23+); wherein the positive voltage (V+) has a plurality of waveforms (Xs) vibrating (i.e., ripples due to low power factor; see for example Col. 8 lines 23+) in a period (+P) during which the positive voltage (V+) is applied (i.e., applied via the BMR circuit functions like a conventional six-diode rectifier bridge; see for example Col. 8 lines 23+), wherein the plurality of waveforms (Xs) is a plurality of first ringing voltage waveforms (PPs), a plurality of negative peaks (NPs) of which is removed (i.e., chopped via chopper circuit to improve the power factor; see for example Col. 8 lines 23+), and the negative voltage (V-) has another plurality of waveforms (Ys) vibrating in a period (-P) during which the negative voltage (V-) is applied (i.e., applied via the BMR circuit functions like a conventional six-diode rectifier bridge; see for example Col. 8 lines 23+), wherein the other plurality of waveforms (Ys) is a plurality of second ringing voltage waveforms (NPs), a plurality of positive peaks (PPs) of which is removed (i.e., chopped via chopper circuit to improve the power factor; see for example Col. 8 lines 23+); and the controller (i.e., such as control circuit 69; see for example fig. 3, Col. 4 lines 56+) causes the secondary circuit (i.e., such as power electronics section 62; see for example fig. 3, Col. 4 lines 56+) to generate the plurality of first ringing voltage waveforms (i.e., Xs; see for example phase A waveforms in fig. 9A as shown above, Col. 8 lines 23+) and the plurality of second ringing voltage waveforms (i.e., Ys; see for example phase A waveforms in fig. 9A as shown above, Col. 8 lines 23+; Also, see for example the primary coil LS in fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 60+).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838