DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 7/9/2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS’ filed 8/9/2023 and 5/8/2025 have been considered by examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (CN 109671982, referring to examiner-provided translation thereof, hereinafter "Yang").
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches an electrolyte (“electrolyte composition”) comprising a solvent, a lithium salt (“electrolyte salt”), a flame-retardant additive (“first additive”), and an anode film-forming additive (“second additive”) [0011]. Yang teaches that the flame-retardant additive is one or more of dimethyl methylphosphonate, triphenyl phosphate, and ethoxy(pentafluoro) cyclotriphosphazene, all of which comprise a phosphorus (P) compound [0011]. Yang teaches that the anode film-forming additive is a mixture of ethylene carbonate and fluoroethylene carbonate, both of which comprise a carbonate compound [0011].
Further regarding claim 2, Yang teaches that the flame-retardant additive is added in an amount of 1-3% by mass based on the total mass of the electrolyte, which is within the recited range [0011].
Further regarding claim 3, Yang teaches that the anode film-forming additive is added in an amount of 5-10% by mass based on the total mass of the electrolyte, which is within the recited range [0011].
Further regarding claim 4, as described in the rejection of instant claim 1 above, Yang teaches that the flame-retardant additive may include dimethyl methylphosphonate or triphenyl phosphate [0011].
Further regarding claim 5, as described in the rejection of claim 1 above, Yang teaches that the anode film-forming additive comprises fluoroethylene carbonate [0011].
Further regarding claim 6, as described in the rejection of claim 1 above, Yang teaches that the flame-retardant additive is one or more of dimethyl methylphosphonate, triphenyl phosphate, and ethoxy(pentafluoro) cyclotriphosphazene, and that the anode film-forming additive is a mixture of ethylene carbonate and fluoroethylene carbonate [0011]. Therefore, the flame-retardant additive and the anode film-forming additive comprise different materials from each other.
Further regarding claim 7, Yang teaches that the lithium salt may be LiPF6 [0015].
Further regarding claim 9, Yang teaches that the solvent is an organic solvent which may comprise ethylene carbonate, dimethyl carbonate, γ-butyrolactone, and ethyl methyl carbonate [0014].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN 109671982).
Regarding claim 8, Yang teaches the electrolyte of claim 1, as described in the rejection of instant claim 1 above. Yang further discloses that the concentration of the lithium salt may be 0.75-1.25 mol/L, which overlaps the recited range [0015]. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) [MPEP 2144.05(I)].
Conclusion
/M.F.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729