DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness . This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claim(s) 1-4, 7-8, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon’996 (KR20100113996A) and in view of Yoon’182 (KR20140050182A) . Regarding claim 1, Yoon’996 discloses a secondary battery, comprising: a battery cell (200) comprising electrode tabs (330, 340) extending outwardly [ 0049-0050 , 0054-0055 , fig. 3, 5, Yoon’996 ]; wherein the heat dissipation member (430) dissipates heat generated in the battery cell to the outside [ 0053-0059, Yoon’996 ]. Yoon’996 is silent to a heat-shrinkable tube covering an outer perimeter surface of the battery cell. However, Yoon’182 discloses a lithium secondary battery comprising electrode tabs extending outwardly [ 0001, 0035, fig. 1-2, Yoon’182 ]. Yoon’182 continues to teach of a heat-shrinkable tube (30) covering an outer perimeter surface of the battery cell[ 0039, fig. 2, Yoon’182 ]. Additionally, the heat-shrinkable tube covers four sides and does not cover the electrode tabs [ 0047, fig. 2, Yoon’182 ]. Applying the heat-shrinkable tube to the electrode assembly allows for the tube to shrink when heat is applied resulting in uniform pressure being applied to the area wrapped by the tube [ 0027, 0029, 0039, 0047, Yoon’182 ]. Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would appreciate that if the heat-shrinkable tube of Yoon’182 was applied to the outer surface of the battery and heat dissipation member of Yoon’996, then a uniform pressure would be applied to both the battery cell and the heat dissipation member. This would allow for the cell and the heat dissipation member to be kept in direct contact with one another. See annotated figure 4 and 5 of Yoon’996 for clarity of the proposed modification. Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Yoon’996 such that a heat-shrinkable tube was applied to the outer surface of the electrode cell and heat dissipation member. Doing so would allow for a uniform pressure to be applied to the material within the heat-shrinkable tube [ 0027, 0029, 0039, 0047, Yoon’182 ]. For clarity of the record, the present modification would also result in the heat dissipation member and heat shrinkable tube to be disposed in extending directions of the electrode tabs. Annotated figure 4 Yoon’996 showing examiners obviousness modification Annotated figure 5 Yoon’996 showing examiner obvi ousness modification Regarding claim 2, modified Yoon’996 discloses the secondary battery wherein the heat-shrinkable tube is disposed so that an axial direction thereof coincides with the extending directions of the electrode tabs [see rejection of claim 1 and annotated fig 5 of modified Yoon’996]. Annotated figure 5 Yoon’996 Regarding claim 3, modified Yoon’996 discloses the secondary battery, wherein the heat dissipation member extends to a length longer than an axial direction length of the heat-shrinkable tube [fig. 5, Yoon ‘996; 0047, fig. 2, Yoon’182]. For clarity of the record, Yoon’996 teaches of the heat dissipation member extending to a similar length as that of the electrode tabs. While Yoon’182 teaches that the heat-shrinkable tube does not cover the surface of the electrode tabs. As such, the present modification has the heat dissipation member extending to a length longer than that of the heat-shrinkable tube. Regarding claim 4, modified Yoon ‘996 the secondary battery, wherein the battery cell comprises: an electrode assembly [0001, Yoon’996]; the electrode tabs extending from the electrode assembly [fig. 1-3, 5, Yoon’996]; and a pouch casing comprising an accommodating portion accommodating the electrode assembly and a sealing portion formed along edges of the accommodating portion to allow the electrode tabs to extend outwardly therethrough [0012-0013, 0020-0021, 0035, 0047, 0050-0059, fig. 1-6, Yoon’996], wherein the sealing portion comprises a first sealing portion in which the electrode tabs are disposed and a second sealing portion in which the electrode tabs are not disposed [0020, fig. 1, Yoon’996 discloses a sealing portion at an end portion of the outer circumferential surface. An Outer circumferential surface reads on all four sides of the pouch]. Annotated figure 1, Yoon’996 Regarding claim 7, modified Yoon’996 discloses the secondary battery, wherein the heat dissipation member extends to a length longer than a length of the accommodating portion along a longitudinal direction of the battery cell [ fig. 5, Yoon’996 ]. Regarding claim 8, modified Yoon’996 discloses the secondary battery, wherein the heat dissipation member comprises a hollow flow path (432) therein [ 0053, fig. 4, Yoon’996 ]. Regarding claim 11, modified Yoon’996 discloses the secondary battery, wherein the heat-shrinkable tube shrinks by heat [0041, Yoon’182], and the heat dissipation member is made of a thermally conductive material [claim 7, Yoon’996]. Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Yoon’996 as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Yoo (US20200343499A1) . Regarding claim 5, Modified Yoon’996 is silent to a sealing portion being folded However, Yoo discloses a secondary battery, wherein an end of the second sealing portion is folded to form a folding surface [ fig. 6-8, Yoo ], and the folding surface of the second sealing portion is bent to face the accommodating portion [ fig. 6-8, Yoo ]. Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill would appreciate that by folding one (or two) sealing portions results in a decrease in the overall surface area of the pouch/case [ see examiner edited and annotated fig. 6-8 of Yoo ]. One of ordinary skill within the arts would further appreciate that by decreasing the surface area of the battery pouch one can minimize the space required to fix/mount the battery pouch in place. Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Yoon’996 such that one (or two) of the sealing portions were folded. Doing so would minimize that surface area of the battery pouch Annotated figure 6-8 Yoo showing the difference in surface area between a folded and unfolded sealing portion Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Yoon’996 as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Yoon’666 (US20110008666A1) . Regarding claim 6, Modified Yoon’996 discloses the heat dissipation member being disposed on top of a sealing portion and adjacent to the accommodation portion. But is silent to the heat dissipation member being disposed in a space between the accommodating portion and the sealing portion. However, Yoon’666 discloses a pouch battery with a thermally conductive member attached to a sealing portion [ 0065-0066, fig. 7, Yoon’666 ]. The thermally conductive member is bent (“folded”) to partially wrap a heat exchange member (310, “heat dissipation member”) [ 0065-0066, fig. 7, Yoon’666 ]. Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Yoon’996 such that the sealing portion was folded/bent around the heat dissipation member. Doing so may accelerate heat dissipation from the battery while not increasing the size of the battery [ 0066, fig. 7, Yoon’666 ] Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Yoon’996 as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Kruger (US20180026296A1) . Regarding claim 9, modified Yoon’996 is silent to a guide block at the end of the at the end of the heat dissipation member to supply a refrigerant to an adjacent battery cell. However, Kruger discloses a cap (170, “guide block”) placed over adjacent inlet and outlet ports of adjacent pipes (“heat dissipation member”) allowing for liquid connection between pipes and the flow of a liquid coolant (“refrigerant”) from an outlet of one pipe to an inlet of a second pipe [ 0049, fig. 8a, Kruger ]. Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Yoon’996 such that a cap (“guide block”) was used to connect the outlet and inlets of adjacent pipes (“heat dissipation members”). Doing so would allow for refrigerant to flow from one set of pipes to a second one thereby connecting the pipes in a series [ 0049, fig. 8 and 8a, Kruger ]. Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Yoon’996 as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Hong (KR101191425B1) . Regarding claim 10, modified Yoon’996 discloses the secondary battery, wherein the guide block comprises: a passageway (“through-hole”) formed through the body [ 0049, fig. 8 and 8a, Kruger ]; The examiner notes that “in a thickness direction of the body” lacks the defining features required to determine a “thickness direction”. A “thickness direction” depends upon ones orientation relative to the object. Continuing, modified Yoon’996 discloses a connection port comprising a first inner pipe coupled in fluid communication with the end of the heat dissipation member and extending into the body from a facing surface facing the first sealing portion [ 0049, fig. 8 and 8a, Kruger ], a second inner pipe extending outwardly from the first inner pipe in a stacking direction of the adjacent battery cell [ 0049, fig. 8 and 8a, Kruger ], and an external connection pipe extending in fluid communication with the second inner pipe [ 0049, fig. 8 and 8a, Kruger ]. Kruger discloses the cap containing a passageway allowing for a coolant to flow from an outlet of a first pipe and flows through a passageway in the cap to an inlet of the second pipe. This reads on the above claim limitation as the coolant must flow from the outlet to a first inner pipe (“heat dissipation member”) at the end of the heat dissipation member and extending into the body of the cap. The coolant would then flow to a second inner pipe (“heat dissipation member”) extending outward into the inlet of the next pipe Modified Yoon’996 is silent to a body formed in a size and shape that can cover the first sealing portion of the battery cell. However, Hong discloses an apparatus for cooling a pouch type battery assembly [ abstract, 0007, Hong ]. The sealing portion (13a) of the pouch is fixed between a frame and the frame is then connected to the neighboring batteries [ 0008, fig. 6, Hong ]. The fixing of the sealing portion prevents arbitrary movement of the pouch battery due to external forces [ 0009, Hong ]. The grooves further comprise an elastic packing member (15) that pressurizes the sealing portion inserter into the frame allowing for the sealing portion to be firmly fixed [ 0050-0051, Hong ]. Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious for the guide block to contain a body portion that is formed in a size and shape that can cover the first sealing portion of the battery cell. By having a body portion formed to fit the size and shape of the first sealing portion can provide pressurization and stability to the sealing portion thereby fixing the battery and preventing unnecessary movement [ 0008, 0051, Hong ]. The examiner notes that one of ordinary skill within the arts would further find it obvious to have “a body formed in a size and shape that can cover the first sealing portion of the battery cell. “ as this is a matter of changes in size/proportion and/or change in shape, see MPEP 2144.04.IV. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (Claims directed to a lumber package "of appreciable size and weight requiring handling by a lift truck" were held unpatentable over prior art lumber packages which could be lifted by hand because limitations relating to the size of the package were not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art.); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976) ("mere scaling up of a prior art process capable of being scaled up, if such were the case, would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled." 531 F.2d at 1053, 189 USPQ at 148.). In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.). Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to further modify Yoon’996 such that the cap (“guide block”) of Kruger was changed such that the size and shape of the body was formed to cover the first sealing portion of the battery Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT QUINTIN DALE ELLIOTT whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (703)756-5423 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 8:30-6pm (MST) . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Miriam Stagg can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 5712705256 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /QUINTIN D. ELLIOTT/ Examiner, Art Unit 1724 /MIRIAM STAGG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724