Status of Claims
This office action is in response to Applicant Amendments and Remarks filed on 07/09/2025, for application number 18/231,956 filed on 08/09/2023, in which claims 1-20 were originally presented for examination.
Claims 1, 5, 7, 8, 11, 14, 16, and 17 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending and will be examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant Amendments and Remarks filed on 07/09/2025 in response to the Non-Final office action mailed on 04/09/2025 have been fully considered and are addressed as follows:
Regarding the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 112(b): The rejections of claims 5, 6, 14, and 15 for being indefinite are withdrawn, as the amended claims have properly addressed the rejections recited in the Non-Final office action.
Regarding the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 103: With respect to the previous claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103, Applicant has amended the independent claims and these amendments have changed the scope of the original application and the Office has supplied new grounds for rejection attached below in the FINAL office action and therefore the prior arguments are considered moot.
FINAL OFFICE ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-8, 11, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae (KR 20200043665 A) in view of Yoo et al. (US 2020/0342692 A1) further in view of Zhang et al. (CN 114684104 A). The rejections below are based on the machine translation of the Bae reference, a copy of which is attached to this Office Action as also indicated in the 892 form. The rejections below are based on the machine translation of the Zhang et al. reference, a copy of which is attached to this Office Action as also indicated in the 892 form.
Regarding claim 1, Bae discloses a power distribution control apparatus (Bae at para. [0063]: “The power management system (100) can control the output of the high voltage convenience load (201) and the low voltage convenience load (203) in each of the four operation modes based on the driver’s tendency to use the electric load”) comprising:
a communication device configured to communicate with a battery monitoring system and an input device (Bae at para. [0032]: “Throughout the specification, when a part is said to be "connected" to another part, this includes not only a direct connection but also an indirect connection, and an indirect connection includes a connection via a wireless communications network”; para. [0069]: “the driver input unit (170) may be connected to the controller (190) through the internal communication network of the vehicle (1) or may be directly connected through a hard-wire”; para. [0078]: “The processor (191) can receive user input from the driver input unit (170), the charging status of the low-voltage battery (150) from the battery sensor (151), the charging status of the high-voltage battery (110) from the battery management system (111), the distance to the destination from the navigation (180), and operation information of each of the electric loads (200) from the plurality of electric loads (201, 202, 203: 200)”); and
a processor communicatively connected to the communication device (Bae at para. [0078]: “The processor (191) can receive user input from the driver input unit (170), the charging status of the low-voltage battery (150) from the battery sensor (151), the charging status of the high-voltage battery (110) from the battery management system (111), the distance to the destination from the navigation (180), and operation information of each of the electric loads (200) from the plurality of electric loads (201, 202, 203: 200)”), configured to,(Bae at para. [0011]: “the controller can calculate a driving range of the vehicle based on the state of charge of the first battery, the state of charge of the second battery, and operation information of the plurality of electric loads”) and control a power saving mode of the vehicle based on the obtained driving-possible distance (Bae at para. [0086]: “the processor (191) can calculate the amount of charging power of the high-voltage battery (110) based on the state of charge of the high-voltage battery (110), calculate the amount of power consumed by the electric loads (200) based on the operations of the plurality of electric loads (200), and calculate the amount of available power based on the amount of charging power and the amount of power consumed”; para. [0087]: “The processor (191) can select whether to save power and the power saving stage of the vehicle (1) based on a comparison of the distance of the route to the destination and the cruising distance”),
wherein the processor, in response to the control of the power saving mode, is configured to reduce an amount of electricity to be supplied to a first load from the first battery (Bae at para. [0040]: “a vehicle (1) includes a high-voltage battery (110) that supplies power to the vehicle (1) while it is driving” “a high-voltage convenience load (201) that provides convenience to a driver”; para. [0047]: “The high-voltage convenience load (201) may include a load that uses high voltage, such as a compressor (201a)”; para. [0095]: “The cooling load group (212) may include an air conditioner compressor”; para. [0122]: “the output reduction of the cooling load group (212) in the second power saving stage increases to 120%, and the output of the cooling load group (212) in the second power saving stage can further decrease from 30% to 0%”; para. [0129]: “The vehicle (1) controls the electric loads (200) to save energy according to the power saving stage (1050)”), and to control an operation of a second load, the second load being functionally related to the first load, using electric power of a second battery, and wherein a voltage of the second battery is lower than a voltage of the first battery (Bae at para. [0040]: “a low-voltage safety load (202) related to driving of the vehicle (1) and driver safety, a low voltage convenience load (203) that provides convenience to the driver”; para. [0051]: “A low voltage battery (150) can store low voltage power converted by a voltage converter (140). A low voltage battery (150) can supply low voltage power to a low voltage safety load (202) and a low voltage convenience load (203)”; The low voltage safety load and the low voltage convenience load are functionally related to the high voltage safety load and the high voltage convenience load because the low voltage loads provide the same function (i.e., driver safety and convenience) as the high voltage loads).
However, Bae does not explicitly state when the processor receives an On command for an Eco mode through the input device and the processor concludes that a vehicle is in a ready state.
In the same field of endeavor, Yoo et al. teaches when the processor receives an On command for an Eco mode through the input device (Yoo et al. at para. [0005]: “When the driver selects a drive mode, power performance and a driveline output, an air conditioning, a cluster display, etc. are operated based on set information of the selected drive mode”; [0025]: “The input device 11 may include a button that allows a driver to select a drive mode, and to switch the drive mode by manipulating the same”; para. [0044]: “when an eco mode, a normal mode, and a sport mode are present as a drive mode, it means that an active fuel efficiency and a final fuel efficiency, and a DTE of the eco mode may be calculated”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power distribution control apparatus of Bae by adding receiving the On command for the Eco mode through the input device as taught by Yoo et al. with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the power distribution control apparatus of Bae in view of Yoo et al. is to provide accurate Distance to Empty (DTE) calculation (see Yoo et al. at para. [0009]).
However, Bae in view of Yoo et al. does not explicitly state the processor concludes that a vehicle is in a ready state.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang et al. teaches the processor concludes that a vehicle is in a ready state (Zhang et al. at para. [n0005]: “the power on status of the drive motor and the starting status of the engine can be detected during the power-on process, so that the user can directly obtain relevant information about the engine before driving the vehicle”; [n0046]: “When the status signal is the pure electric READY signal, the vehicle's range is calculated based on the remaining battery power”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power distribution control apparatus of Bae in view of Yoo et al. by adding the processor concluding that the vehicle is in the ready state as taught by Zhang et al. with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the power distribution control apparatus of Bae in view of Yoo et al. further in view of Zhang et al. is to allow a driver to obtain information about the drive motor and the engine of the vehicle before driving the vehicle and understand the power output capacity of the vehicle, thereby improving the safety of driving the vehicle (see Zhang at para. [n0028]).
Office Note: The Office has interpreted the term “On command” as “any command to put something on an active state,” the term “Eco mode” as “any mode improving fuel efficiency,” and the term “power saving mode” as “any mode that reduces power consumption.”
Regarding claim 2, Bae in view of Yoo et al. further in view of Zhang et al. teaches the power distribution control apparatus of claim 1.
Zhang et al. further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to determine whether the vehicle is in the ready state based on an operating state of a driving motor connected to a wheel in the vehicle (Zhang et al. at para. [0041]: “If there is a power-on request, then continue to check whether the high voltage is powered on. If it is detected that the power-on status is that the high voltage is powered on, while outputting a pure electric READY signal, control the drive motor to drag the engine to start, and detect the starting status of the engine. If the starting status of the engine is detected to be unable to start normally, an engine starting fault signal is output, so that the driver can directly obtain the information that the drive motor can work normally but the engine starting fault occurs before driving the vehicle”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power distribution control apparatus of Bae in view of Yoo et al. further in view of Zhang et al. by adding determining whether the vehicle is in the ready state based on the operating state of the driving motor as taught by Zhang et al. with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the power distribution control apparatus of Bae in view of Yoo et al. further in view of Zhang et al. is to improve the safety of driving the vehicle and the user experience. (see Zhang at para. [n0041]).
Regarding claim 4, Bae in view of Yoo et al. further in view of Zhang et al. teaches the power distribution control apparatus of claim 1.
Bae further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to release the power saving mode(Bae at para. [0087]: “the processor (191) may select the normal mode if the distance of the route to the destination is less than the cruising distance”; When the normal mode is selected, the vehicle is not in the power saving mode).
Regarding claim 5, Bae in view of Yoo et al. further in view of Zhang et al. teaches the power distribution control apparatus of claim 4.
Bae further discloses wherein the power saving mode includes a first power saving mode and a second power saving mode (Bae at para. [0067]: “the vehicle (1) can operate in normal mode, power saving stage 1, power saving stage 2, and power saving stage 3”), and
wherein the processor is configured to:
determine whether the obtained driving-possible distance is shorter than a second reference driving-possible distance when the processor concludes that the obtained driving-possible distance is shorter than or equal to the first reference driving-possible distance (Bae at para. [0087]: “the processor (191) may select the normal mode if the distance of the route to the destination is less than the cruising distance”),
determine that a drive mode enters the second power saving mode when the processor concludes that the obtained driving-possible distance is shorter than the second reference driving-possible distance (Bae at para. [0087]: “The processor (191) may select power saving level 2 in response to the distance of the route to the destination being greater than 1.10 times the cruising distance”), and
determine that the drive mode enters the first power saving mode when the processor concludes that the obtained driving-possible distance is longer than or equal to the second reference driving-possible distance (Bae at para. [0087]: “The processor (191) may select power saving level 1 in response to the distance of the route to the destination being greater than 1.05 times the cruising distance”), and
wherein the first reference driving-possible distance is longer than the second reference driving-possible distance (Bae at para. [0087]: The cruising distance for saving level 2 is shorter than the cruising distance of saving level 1, because the distance of the route to the destination is 1.10 times the cruising distance for saving level 2, and the distance of the route to the destination is 1.05 times the cruising distance for saving level 1).
Regarding claim 6, Bae in view of Yoo et al. further in view of Zhang et al. teaches the power distribution control apparatus of claim 5.
Bae further discloses wherein the processor is configured to:
control the output of the first load to a first output amount when the drive mode enters the first power saving mode (Bae at FIG. 7 and para. [0116]: “In power saving stage 1, load groups (210) can output 70% of the set output according to the driver's operation”), and control the output of the first load to a second output amount lower than the first output amount when the drive mode enters the second power saving mode (Bae at FIG. 7 and para. [0117]: “In power saving stage 2, load groups (210) can output 30% of the set output depending on the driver's operation”).
Regarding claim 7, Bae in view of Yoo et al. further in view of Zhang et al. teaches the power distribution control apparatus of claim 1.
Bae further discloses wherein the reducing of the amount of electricity to be supplied to the first load comprises stopping the operation of the first load (Bae at para. [0047]: “The high-voltage convenience load (201) may include a load that uses high voltage, such as a compressor (201a)”; para. [0095]: “The cooling load group (212) may include an air conditioner compressor”; para. [0122]: “the output reduction of the cooling load group (212) in the second power saving stage increases to 120%, and the output of the cooling load group (212) in the second power saving stage can further decrease from 30% to 0%”).
Regarding claim 8, Bae in view of Yoo et al. further in view of Zhang et al. teaches the power distribution control apparatus of claim 1.
Bae further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to control to stop the operations of the first and second loads when the obtained driving-possible distance is shorter than a third reference driving-possible distance (Bae at para. [0047]: “The high-voltage convenience load (201) may include a load that uses high voltage, such as a compressor (201a), a PTC (Positive Temperature Coefficient) heater (201b), etc.”; para. .[0057]: “The low-voltage convenience load (203) may include a convenience load that utilizes low voltage, such as a seat heating wire (203a), a rear heating wire (203b), and a blower fan (203c), for example”; para. [0087]: “The processor (191) can select power saving level 3 in response to the distance of the route to the destination being greater than 1.20 times the cruising distance”; para. [0095]: “A plurality of electrical loads (200) can be classified into a plurality of load groups (210: 211, 212, 213, 214, 215). For example, as illustrated in FIG. 5, electrical loads (200) can be classified into a heating load group (211), a cooling load group (212), a display load group (213), a chassis load group (214), and an audio load group (215). The heating load group (211) may include a PTC heater, a seat heater, a steering wheel heater, a rear window heater, an outside mirror heater, etc. The cooling load group (212) may include an air conditioner compressor, an air conditioning blower, a ventilation sheet, etc.”; para. [0118]: “In power saving stage 3, load groups (210) can output 0% of the set output according to the driver's operation”), and wherein the third reference driving-possible distance is shorter than the second reference driving-possible distance (Bae at para. [0087]: The cruising distance for saving level 3 is shorter than the cruising distance of saving level 2, because the distance of the route to the destination is 1.20 times the cruising distance for saving level 3, and the distance of the route to the destination is 1.10 times the cruising distance for saving level 2).
Regarding claim 11, Bae discloses a vehicle comprising (Bae at Abstract: “a vehicle capable of operating in a plurality of power saving modes according to a state of charge of a battery”):
a first battery configured to supply electric power to a driving motor and a first load (Bae at para. [0040]: “vehicle (1) includes a high-voltage battery (110) that supplies power to the vehicle (1) while it is driving” “a high-voltage convenience load (201) that provides convenience to a driver”; para. [0047]: “The high-voltage convenience load (201) may include a load that uses high voltage, such as a compressor (201a), a PTC (Positive Temperature Coefficient) heater (201b), etc.”; para. [0095]: “The cooling load group (212) may include an air conditioner compressor, an air conditioning blower, a ventilation sheet, etc.”);
a second battery (Bae at para. [0051]: “A low voltage battery (150) can store low voltage power converted by a voltage converter (140). A low voltage battery (150) can supply low voltage power to a low voltage safety load (202) and a low voltage convenience load (203)”);
a battery monitoring system configured to monitor a state of charge (SOC) value of the first battery (Bae at para. [0086]: “the processor (191) can calculate the amount of charging power of the high-voltage battery (110) based on the state of charge of the high-voltage battery (110), calculate the amount of power consumed by the electric loads (200) based on the operations of the plurality of electric loads (200), and calculate the amount of available power based on the amount of charging power and the amount of power consumed”); and
a power distribution control apparatus including a processor (Bae at para. [0088]: “The processor (191) can reduce the output of a plurality of electric loads (200) based on the selected power saving stage and the output reduction of the electric loads (200) set in each of the power saving stages”) and (para. [0011]: “the controller can calculate a driving range of the vehicle based on the state of charge of the first battery, the state of charge of the second battery, and operation information of the plurality of electric loads”) (Bae at para. [0086]: “the processor (191) can calculate the amount of charging power of the high-voltage battery (110) based on the state of charge of the high-voltage battery (110), calculate the amount of power consumed by the electric loads (200) based on the operations of the plurality of electric loads (200), and calculate the amount of available power based on the amount of charging power and the amount of power consumed”; para. [0087]: “The processor (191) can select whether to save power and the power saving stage of the vehicle (1) based on a comparison of the distance of the route to the destination and the cruising distance”),
wherein in response to the control of the power saving mode, the power distribution control apparatus is configured to reduce an amount of electricity to be supplied to the first load from the first battery (Bae at para. [0040]: “a vehicle (1) includes a high-voltage battery (110) that supplies power to the vehicle (1) while it is driving” “a high-voltage convenience load (201) that provides convenience to a driver”; para. [0047]: “The high-voltage convenience load (201) may include a load that uses high voltage, such as a compressor (201a)”; para. [0095]: “The cooling load group (212) may include an air conditioner compressor”; para. [0122]: “the output reduction of the cooling load group (212) in the second power saving stage increases to 120%, and the output of the cooling load group (212) in the second power saving stage can further decrease from 30% to 0%”; para. [0129]: “The vehicle (1) controls the electric loads (200) to save energy according to the power saving stage (1050)”), and to control an operation of a second load, the second load being functionally related to the first load, using electric power of the second battery, and wherein a voltage of the second battery is lower than a voltage of the first battery (Bae at para. [0040]: “a low-voltage safety load (202) related to driving of the vehicle (1) and driver safety, a low voltage convenience load (203) that provides convenience to the driver”; para. [0051]: “A low voltage battery (150) can store low voltage power converted by a voltage converter (140). A low voltage battery (150) can supply low voltage power to a low voltage safety load (202) and a low voltage convenience load (203)”; The low voltage safety load and the low voltage convenience load are functionally related to the high voltage safety load and the high voltage convenience load because the low voltage loads provide the same function (i.e., driver safety and convenience) as the high voltage loads).
(Bae at para. [0088]: “The processor (191) can reduce the output of a plurality of electric loads (200) based on the selected power saving stage and the output reduction of the electric loads (200) set in each of the power saving stages”).
However, Bae does not explicitly state an input device; the power distribution control apparatus configured to determine whether the vehicle is in a ready state based on an operating state of the driving motor when an On command for an Eco mode is received through the input device, and obtaining the driving-possible distance when the power distribution control apparatus concludes that the vehicle is in the ready state.
In the same field of endeavor, Yoo et al. teaches an input device and the power distribution control apparatus configured to determine whether the vehicle is in a ready state based on an operating state of the driving motor when an On command for an Eco mode is received through the input device (Yoo et al. at para. [0005]: “When the driver selects a drive mode, power performance and a driveline output, an air conditioning, a cluster display, etc. are operated based on set information of the selected drive mode”; [0025]: “The input device 11 may include a button that allows a driver to select a drive mode, and to switch the drive mode by manipulating the same”; para. [0044]: “when an eco mode, a normal mode, and a sport mode are present as a drive mode, it means that an active fuel efficiency and a final fuel efficiency, and a DTE of the eco mode may be calculated”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle of Bae by adding the input device receiving the On command as taught by Yoo et al. with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the vehicle of Bae in view of Yoo et al. is to provide accurate Distance to Empty (DTE) calculation (see Yoo et al. at para. [0009]).
However, Bae in view of Yoo et al. does not explicitly state obtaining the driving-possible distance when the power distribution control apparatus concludes that the vehicle is in the ready state.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang et al. teaches obtaining the driving-possible distance when the power distribution control apparatus concludes that the vehicle is in the ready state (Zhang et al. at para. [n0005]: “the power on status of the drive motor and the starting status of the engine can be detected during the power-on process, so that the user can directly obtain relevant information about the engine before driving the vehicle”; [n0046]: “When the status signal is the pure electric READY signal, the vehicle's range is calculated based on the remaining battery power”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle of Bae in view of Yoo et al. by adding obtaining the driving-possible distance when the power distribution control apparatus concludes that the vehicle is in the ready state as taught by Zhang et al. with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the vehicle of Bae in view of Yoo et al. further in view of Zhang et al. is to allow a driver to obtain information about the drive motor and the engine of the vehicle before driving the vehicle and understand the power output capacity of the vehicle, thereby improving the safety of driving the vehicle (see Zhang et al. at para. [n0028]).
Office Note: The Office has interpreted the term “On command” as “any command to put something on an active state,” the term “Eco mode” as “any mode improving fuel efficiency,” and the term “power saving mode” as “any mode that reduces power consumption.”
Regarding claim 13, Bae in view of Yoo et al. further in view of Zhang et al. teaches the vehicle of claim 11.
Bae further discloses wherein the power distribution control apparatus is further configured to release the power saving mode when the obtained driving-possible distance exceeds a first reference driving-possible distance (Bae at para. [0087]: “the processor (191) may select the normal mode if the distance of the route to the destination is less than the cruising distance”; When the normal mode is selected, the vehicle is not in the power saving mode).
Regarding claim 14, Bae in view of Yoo et al. further in view of Zhang et al. teaches the vehicle of claim 13.
Bae further discloses wherein the power saving mode includes a first power saving mode and a second power saving mode (Bae at para. [0067]: “the vehicle (1) can operate in normal mode, power saving stage 1, power saving stage 2, and power saving stage 3”), and
wherein the power distribution control apparatus is further configured to:
determine whether the obtained driving-possible distance is shorter than a second reference driving-possible distance when the processor concludes that the obtained driving-possible distance is shorter than or equal to the first reference driving-possible distance (Bae at para. [0087]: “the processor (191) may select the normal mode if the distance of the route to the destination is less than the cruising distance”), and
determine that a drive mode enters the second power saving mode when the processor concludes that the obtained driving-possible distance is shorter than the second reference driving-possible distance (Bae at para. [0087]: “The processor (191) may select power saving level 2 in response to the distance of the route to the destination being greater than 1.10 times the cruising distance”), and
determine that the drive mode enters the first power saving mode when the processor concludes that the obtained driving-possible distance is longer than or equal to the second reference driving-possible distance (Bae at para. [0087]: “The processor (191) may select power saving level 1 in response to the distance of the route to the destination being greater than 1.05 times the cruising distance”, and
wherein the first reference driving-possible distance is longer than the second reference driving-possible distance (Bae at para. [0087]: The cruising distance for saving level 2 is shorter than the cruising distance of saving level 1, because the distance of the route to the destination is 1.10 times the cruising distance for saving level 2, and the distance of the route to the destination is 1.05 times the cruising distance for saving level 1).
Regarding claim 15, Bae in view of Yoo et al. further in view of Zhang et al. teaches the vehicle of claim 14.
Bae further discloses wherein the power distribution control apparatus is further configured to:
control an output of the first load to a first output amount when the drive mode enters the first power saving mode (Bae at FIG. 7 and para. [0116]: “In power saving stage 1, load groups (210) can output 70% of the set output according to the driver's operation”), and control the output of the first load to a second output amount lower than the first output amount when the drive mode enters the second power saving mode (Bae at FIG. 7 and para. [0117]: “In power saving stage 2, load groups (210) can output 30% of the set output depending on the driver's operation”).
Regarding claim 16, Bae in view of Yoo et al. further in view of Zhang et al. teaches the vehicle of claim 11.
Bae further discloses further including: an electric power converter provided to convert a voltage of electric power output from the first battery into a voltage of a different magnitude to supply the second battery (Bae at para. [0049]: “a voltage converter (140) can convert high-voltage power output from a high-voltage battery (110) into low-voltage power and supply the low-voltage power to a low-voltage battery (150)”).
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae (KR 20200043665 A) in view of Yoo et al. (US 2020/0342692 A1) further in view of Zhang et al. (CN 114684104 A) and Ishikawa et al. (JP 2009255917 A). The rejections below are based on the machine translation of the Bae reference, a copy of which is attached to this Office Action as also indicated in the 892 form. The rejections below are based on the machine translation of the Zhang et al. reference, a copy of which is attached to this Office Action as also indicated in the 892 form. The rejections below are based on the machine translation of the Ishikawa et al. reference, a copy of which is attached to this Office Action as also indicated in the 892 form.
Regarding claim 3, Bae in view of Yoo et al. further in view of Zhang et al. teaches the power distribution control apparatus of claim 1.
However, Bae in view of Yoo et al. further in view of Zhang et al. does not explicitly state wherein the processor is further configured to release the power saving mode when an ON/OFF command for automatic air conditioning, an ON/OFF command for at least one heating wire, an ON/OFF command for an air circulation mode, or information on a target inside temperature is received through the input device.
In the same field of endeavor, Ishikawa et al. teaches wherein the processor is further configured to release the power saving mode when an ON/OFF command for automatic air conditioning, an ON/OFF command for at least one heating wire, an ON/OFF command for an air circulation mode, or information on a target inside temperature is received through the input device (Ishikawa et al. at para. [0029]: “when the set temperature exceeds a preset upper limit temperature or is set lower than a preset lower limit temperature, the selection of the fuel saving mode is stopped. This allows the fuel saving mode to be stopped and air conditioning to be performed according to the passenger's request when the passenger changes the set temperature to request rapid heating or cooling”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power distribution control apparatus of Bae in view of Yoo et al. further in view of Zhang et al. by adding releasing the power saving mode as taught by Ishikawa et al. with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the power distribution control apparatus of Bae in view of Yoo et al. further in view of Zhang et al. and Ishikawa et al. is to allow the fuel saving mode to be stopped and air conditioning to be performed according to the passenger’s request (see Ishikawa et al. at para. [0027]).
Office Note: The Office has interpreted the term “ON/OFF command” as “any command to put something on an active state or an inactive state.”
Regarding claim 12, Bae in view of Yoo et al. further in view of Zhang et al. teaches the vehicle of claim 11.
However, Bae in view of Yoo et al. further in view of Zhang et al. does not explicitly state wherein the power distribution control apparatus is further configured to release the power saving mode when an ON/OFF command for automatic air conditioning, an ON/OFF command for at least one heating wire, an ON/OFF command for an air circulation mode, or information on a target inside temperature is received through the input device.
In the same field of endeavor, Ishikawa et al. teaches wherein the power distribution control apparatus is further configured to release the power saving mode when an ON/OFF command for automatic air conditioning, an ON/OFF command for at least one heating wire, an ON/OFF command for an air circulation mode, or information on a target inside temperature is received through the input device (Ishikawa et al. at para. [0029]: “when the set temperature exceeds a preset upper limit temperature or is set lower than a preset lower limit temperature, the selection of the fuel saving mode is stopped. This allows the fuel saving mode to be stopped and air conditioning to be performed according to the passenger's request when the passenger changes the set temperature to request rapid heating or cooling”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle of Bae in view of Yoo et al. further in view of Zhang et al. by adding releasing the power saving mode as taught by Ishikawa et al. with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the vehicle of Bae in view of Yoo et al. further in view of Zhang et al. and Ishikawa et al. is to allow the fuel saving mode to be stopped and air conditioning to be performed according to the passenger’s request (see Ishikawa et al. at para. [0027]).
Office Note: The Office has interpreted the term “ON/OFF command” as “any command to put something on an active state or an inactive state.”
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae (KR 20200043665 A) in view of Yoo et al. (US 2020/0342692 A1) further in view of Zhang et al. (CN 114684104 A) and Zhu et al. (US 2005/0274705 A1).
The rejections below are based on the machine translation of the Bae reference, a copy of which is attached to this Office Action as also indicated in the 892 form. The rejections below are based on the machine translation of the Zhang et al. reference, a copy of which is attached to this Office Action as also indicated in the 892 form.
Regarding claim 9, Bae in view of Yoo et al. further in view of Zhang et al. teaches the power distribution control apparatus of claim 8.
Bae further discloses the power distribution control apparatus of wherein the first load includes a driving motor (Bae at para. [0041]: “A high-voltage battery (110) can supply high-voltage power to a driving motor (120) when the vehicle (1) is driving”), a heater for heating (Bae at para. [0047]: “The high-voltage convenience load (201) may include a load that uses high voltage, such as a compressor (201a), a PTC (Positive Temperature Coefficient) heater (201b), etc.”), and (Bae at para. [0057]: “The low-voltage convenience load (203) may include a convenience load that utilizes low voltage, such as a seat heating wire (203a), a rear heating wire (203b), and a blower fan (203c), for example”).
However, Bae in view of You et al. further in view of Zhang et al. does not explicitly state a heater for preheating of the first battery.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhu et al. teaches a heater for preheating of the first battery (Zhu et al. at para. [0023]: “heating system 10 can be used with any battery-operated vehicle that includes a high voltage battery for driving a vehicle”; para. [0025]: “Heating system 10 includes heater 18 for generating heat for battery 16”; para. [0029]: “DC/DC converter 26 converts the high voltage from battery 16 to a lower voltage for powering heater 18”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power distribution control apparatus of Bae in view of Yoo et al. further in view of Zhang et al. by adding the heater of Zhu et al. with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the power distribution control apparatus of Bae in view of Yoo et al. further in view of Zhang et al. and Zhu et al. is to provide better performance of the vehicle and the service life of the battery that can be affected by extreme temperature conditions (see Zhu et al. at para. [0004]).
Regarding claim 10, Bae in view of Yoo et al. further in view of Zhang et al. teaches the power distribution control apparatus of claim 1.
However, Bae in view of Yoo et al. further in view of Zhang et al. does not explicitly state wherein the processor is further configured to control an operation of the first load based on a temperature and the SOC value of the first battery when the vehicle is in an OFF state and in a charging mode.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhu et al. teaches wherein the processor is further configured to control an operation of the first load based on a temperature and the SOC value of the first battery when the vehicle is in an OFF state and in a charging mode (Zhu et al. at para. [0024]: “heating system 10 can be used in hybrid electric vehicles that include an additional power source for use in driving the vehicle or for charging battery 16” therefore, the heating system is used when charging the battery 16 (i.e., in the charging mode); para. [0037]: “A key-off condition of the vehicle is determined at 54 action block at the start of the software routine. Key-off occurs when the driver turns the ignition key to the off position”; para. [0049]: “At decision block 66 it is determined whether the state of charge (SOC) of battery 16 is greater than a predefined battery SOC threshold”; FIG. 3: When the SOC is greater than the predefined threshold, the heater is turned on at action block 74).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power distribution control apparatus of Bae in view of Yoo et al. further in view of Zhang et al. by adding the operation of the first load as taught by Zhu et al. with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the power distribution control apparatus of Bae in view of Yoo et al. further in view of Zhang et al. and Zhu et al. is to provide better performance of the vehicle and the service life of the battery that can be affected by extreme temperature conditions (see Zhu et al. at para. [0004]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae (KR 20200043665 A) in view of Yoo et al. (US 2020/0342692 A1) further in view of Zhang et al. (CN 114684104 A) and Ichikawa et al. (US 2016/0272220 A1).
The rejections below are based on the machine translation of the Bae reference, a copy of which is attached to this Office Action as also indicated in the 892 form. The rejections below are based on the machine translation of the Zhang et al. reference, a copy of which is attached to this Office Action as also indicated in the 892 form.
Regarding claim 17, Bae in view of Yoo et al. further in view of Zhang et al. teaches the vehicle of claim 11.
Bae further discloses wherein the power distribution control apparatus is further configured to control to stop the operations of the first and second loads when the obtained driving-possible distance is shorter than a reference driving-possible distance (Bae at para. [0087]: “The processor (191) can select whether to save power and the power saving stage of the vehicle (1) based on a comparison of the distance of the route to the destination and the cruising distance” and “The processor (191) can select power saving level 3 in response to the distance of the route to the destination being greater than 1.20 times the cruising distance”; para. [0118]: “In power saving stage 3, load groups (210) can output 0% of the set output according to the driver’s operation”), and
However, Bae in view of Yoo et al. further in view of Zhang et al. does not explicitly state controls an operation of the driving motor based on a preset torque map of the driving motor.
In the same field of endeavor, Ichikawa et al. teaches controls an operation of the driving motor based on a preset torque map of the driving motor (Ichikawa et al. at para. [0076]: “ECU 30 sets corresponding required torque Tr* by reference to the map for setting required torque”; para. [0078]: “ECU 30 determines an output request to motor generators MG1, MG2 and an output request to engine ENG so as to attain required torque Tr* and required power Pe*. It is noted that the output request to engine ENG is "0" during EV running”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle of Bae in view of Yoo et al. further in view of Zhang et al. by adding controlling the operation of the driving motor as taught by Ichikawa et al. with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the vehicle of Bae in view of Yoo et al. further in view of Zhang et al. and Ichikawa et al. is to optimize performance and efficiency in vehicle control.
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae (KR 20200043665 A) in view of Yoo et al. (US 2020/0342692 A1) further in view of Zhang et al. (CN 114684104 A), Ichikawa et al. (US 2016/0272220 A1), and Zhu et al. (US 2005/0274705 A1).
The rejections below are based on the machine translation of the Bae reference, a copy of which is attached to this Office Action as also indicated in the 892 form. The rejections below are based on the machine translation of the Zhang et al. reference, a copy of which is attached to this Office Action as also indicated in the 892 form.
Regarding claim 18, Bae in view of Yoo et al. further in view of Zhang et al. and Ichikawa et al. teaches the vehicle of claim 17.
Bae further discloses wherein the first load includes the driving motor (Bae at para. [0041]: “A high-voltage battery (110) can supply high-voltage power to a driving motor (120) when the vehicle (1) is driving”), a heater for heating (Bae at para. [0047]: “The high-voltage convenience load (201) may include a load that uses high voltage, such as a compressor (201a), a PTC (Positive Temperature Coefficient) heater (201b), etc.”), and (Bae at para. [0057]: “The low-voltage convenience load (203) may include a convenience load that utilizes low voltage, such as a seat heating wire (203a), a rear heating wire (203b), and a blower fan (203c), for example”).
However, Bae in view of You et al. further in view of Zhang et al. and Ichikawa et al. does not explicitly state a heater for preheating of the first battery.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhu et al. teaches a heater for preheating of the first battery (Zhu et al. at para. [0023]: “heating system 10 can be used with any battery-operated vehicle that includes a high voltage battery for driving a vehicle”; para. [0025]: “Heating system 10 includes heater 18 for generating heat for battery 16”; para. [0029]: “DC/DC converter 26 converts the high voltage from battery 16 to a lower voltage for powering heater 18”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle of Bae in view of Yoo et al. further in view of Zhang et al. and Ichikawa et al. by adding the heater of Zhu et al. with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the vehicle of Bae in view of Yoo et al. further in view of Zhang et al., Ichikawa et al., and Zhu et al. is to provide better