DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The corrections to the drawings submitted on June 3, 2026, have been accepted. All objections to the drawings raised in the previous office action have been withdrawn.
Specification
The corrections to the specification submitted on June 3, 2026, have been accepted. All objections to the specification raised in the previous office action have been withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“one-valve” in claim 15 is presumably meant to refer to a “one-way valve.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites “the tunnel forming a taper extending at least partially between a surface facing an exterior of the eye and a surface facing an interior of the eye.” This will be interpreted under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language as referring to a tunnel extending from the outer surface of the simulated eye to its inner surface, which becomes progressively smaller in its diameter along its length. This is consistent with the most appropriate definition of “taper” for the current context, which according to Merriam-Webster is “a tapering form or figure”, with “tapering” itself being defined as “becoming progressively smaller toward one end”. Additionally, the claim language (“extending at least partially”) allows for, but does not require, the progressive narrowing of the tunnel diameter to stop at some point along the length of the tunnel.
Claims 3 and 4 recite a “complex curve”. In light of the specification and drawings, this is construed to refer to a 1-dimensional shape comprising multiple curved sections, wherein the curved sections may differ in both their radius and the sign of their curvature, and the sign of the curvature of the shape changes at least once along its length. The cross-sectional profile of the pre-made incision seen in Fig. 12 are seen as exemplary of such a shape.
Claim 6 further limits claim 1 by specifying that the eyeball layer of the eye model recited in claim 1 is formed of a “resilient material”. As the specification does not explicitly provide a definition for what constitutes a “resilient material”, “resilient material” is construed to refer to the resilient eye surface described in the inventor’s patents incorporated by reference on line 26 of page 7 in the specification, including U.S. Patent 10360815, which is henceforth referred to as Bernal. Bernal describes materials used in the fabrication of the anterior segment of a model eye as “ultimately selected to have a hardness and resiliency which mimics structures of the natural organ. More particularly, materials are selected whereby the resultant tissue simulation behaves in a manner similar to a live or donor eye, with respect to resistance to pressure, piercing and cutting, burning/ablation, manipulation, and other applications of force, as well as physical appearance” (column 4, lines 40-47). Thus, for the purposes of compact prosecution, “resilient material” is construed to include any material which mimics the mechanical properties of the cornea or any other section of the anterior segment of the human eye.
Claim 11 recites “the taper narrows along a depth of the tunnel defined as extending from the surface facing the interior of the eye and the surface facing the exterior of the eye.” Examiner notes that the phrasing of this sentence is unusual, reciting that the tunnel “extending from the surface facing the interior of the eye and the surface facing the exterior of the eye” instead of the more typical “extending from the surface facing the interior of the eye to the surface facing the exterior of the eye.” However, there is no apparent difference between the meaning of these two sentences: if the same tunnel is extending from both the interior and outer surfaces of the simulated eye, the tunnel must naturally connect the two surfaces, therefore “extending from the surface facing the interior of the eye to the surface facing the exterior of the eye”, thereby making the sentences equivalent under their broadest reasonable interpretation.
Claim 13 recites “the taper is folded inwards towards the interior of the eye.” Because the “taper” is a feature of the tunnel, the claim language will be interpreted as meaning that the material of the simulated eye surrounding and forming the walls of the tunnel “is folded inwards towards the interior of the eye.”
Claim 17 recites “a portion of the pre-made tunnel is configured to deform when engaged with a surgical instrument.” On a similar note to claim 13, because a tunnel itself, strictly speaking, cannot possess physical properties such as being deformable, but the material which constitutes the walls of a tunnel can, the claim language will be construed as meaning that the material of the simulated eye layer surrounding the tunnel “is configured to deform when engaged with a surgical instrument.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 11-13, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Akura (WIPO Patent No. 2010084595).
Regarding claim 1, Akura discloses “a device for simulating surgery upon a natural eyeball (see abstract, “Disclosed is a simulated eye system to be used for training cataract surgery techniques”), comprising: at least a portion of an eyeball corresponding to the natural eyeball simulated, including an eyeball layer through which a surgical instrument is to be passed during the simulated surgery (see Figs. 3-4); and a tunnel formed through the eyeball layer, the tunnel defining a cross-sectional profile substantially along the plane of the surface through which the surgical instrument is to be passed (the hole 25, seen from the front in Fig. 1), the tunnel forming a taper extending at least partially between a surface facing an exterior of the eye and a surface facing an interior of the eye (see Fig. 5C; Fig. 4 confirms that the tunnel forms a taper: the surgical instrument 110 is seen touching both sides of the mouth of the tunnel on the inner surface of the eye while touching only one side of the mouth of the tunnel on the outer surface of the eye).”
Regarding claim 2, Akura discloses “the device of claim 1, the cross section defining direction changes of only curved shapes, whereby the tunnel does not form stress risers of sharp directional changes along the cross-section which can split when the surgical instrument is passed through the tunnel and moved during the surgical simulation (see the hole 25 in Fig.1).”
Regarding claim 3, Akura discloses “the device of claim 2, wherein the curved shapes define one or more of a circular, oval, elliptical, parabolic, and/or a complex curve, the tunnel not defining substantially non-curved directional changes along the cross-section (see the hole 25 in Fig. 1, which is circular).”
Regarding claim 5, Akura discloses “the device of claim 1, wherein the tunnel is formed in the cornea (the hole 25 is made in the simulated cornea: “The upper member 20 includes […] an annular portion 22 corresponding to the lower portion of the transparent dome-shaped cornea […] the annular portion 22 is subjected to a relatively large hole 25 into which an ultrasonic oscillator tool and other instruments are inserted”) and the surgery simulated by the model is phacoemulsification (Akura’s device is designed to enable surgeons to practice the techniques used in cataract surgeries that require access to the anterior capsule, which includes phacoemulsification).”
Regarding claim 6, Akura discloses “the device of claim 1, wherein the eyeball layer is formed of a resilient material (“[…] the present invention further includes a simulated sclera or a simulated cornea made of a soft, planar material having a predetermined thickness with elasticity and resistance similar to those of the human sclera and cornea”).”
Regarding claim 7, Akura discloses “the device of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the cross-section of the tunnel is sized smaller than a cross-section of the surgical instrument coplanar with the cross-section of the tunnel where the surgical instrument passes through the tunnel, whereby the surgical instrument forms an interference fit with tunnel (although Akura does not explicitly use the term “interference fit”, this feature is implied by “After making an incision at the position where the hole 25 of the simulated sclera / cornea 90 thus installed is closed, if the instrument is inserted and the instrument is operated for a cataract surgery technique, the instrument is restrained to the incision”: the instrument being “restrained” by the incision after being inserted implies that a friction fit has been formed between the instrument and the sides of the incision).”
Regarding claim 7, Akura discloses “the device of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the cross-section of the tunnel is sized smaller than a cross-section of the surgical instrument coplanar with the cross-section of the tunnel where the surgical instrument passes through the tunnel, whereby the surgical instrument forms an interference fit with tunnel (although Akura does not explicitly use the term “interference fit”, this feature is implied by “After making an incision at the position where the hole 25 of the simulated sclera / cornea 90 thus installed is closed, if the instrument is inserted and the instrument is operated for a cataract surgery technique, the instrument is restrained to the incision”: the instrument being “restrained” by the incision after being inserted implies that a friction fit has been formed between the instrument and the sides of the incision).”
Regarding claim 8, Akura discloses “the device of claim 1, wherein a tunnel diameter narrows at a point along a depth of the tunnel between an outer surface of the eye and an inner surface of the eye (see Fig. 5C).”
Regarding claim 9, Akura discloses “the device of claim 1, wherein the taper narrows toward the interior of the eye (see Fig. 5C).”
Regarding claim 11, Akura discloses “the device of claim 1, wherein the taper narrows along a depth of the tunnel defined as extending from the surface facing the interior of the eye and the surface facing the exterior of the eye (see Fig. 5C; Fig. 4 confirms that the tunnel forms a taper from a surface facing the interior of the eye (outer layer of the simulated cornea) and a surface facing the exterior of the eye (inner layer of the simulated cornea): the surgical instrument 110 is seen touching both sides of the mouth of the tunnel on the inner surface of the eye while touching only one side of the mouth of the tunnel on the outer surface of the eye).”
Regarding claim 12, Akura discloses “the device of claim 6, wherein the tunnel forms the taper along a depth defined as extending from the surface facing the exterior of the eye to the surface facing the interior of the eye (see Fig. 5C; Fig. 4 confirms that the tunnel forms a taper: the surgical instrument 110 is seen touching both sides of the mouth of the tunnel on the inner surface of the eye while touching only one side of the mouth of the tunnel on the outer surface of the eye); and wherein at least a portion of the cross-section of the tunnel through the taper is sized smaller than a cross-section of the surgical instrument coplanar with the cross-section of the tunnel where the surgical instrument passes through the taper, whereby the surgical instrument forms an interference fit with the taper (although Akura does not explicitly use the term “interference fit”, this feature is implied by “After making an incision at the position where the hole 25 of the simulated sclera / cornea 90 thus installed is closed, if the instrument is inserted and the instrument is operated for a cataract surgery technique, the instrument is restrained to the incision”: the instrument being “restrained” by the incision after being inserted implies that a friction fit has been formed between the instrument and the sides of the incision).”
Regarding claim 13, Akura discloses “The device of claim 1, wherein the layer through which the tunnel is formed is of a resilient material (“[…] the present invention further includes a simulated sclera or a simulated cornea made of a soft, planar material having a predetermined thickness with elasticity and resistance similar to those of the human sclera and cornea”), the tunnel forms the taper along a depth defined as extending from the surface facing the exterior of the eye to the surface facing the interior of the eye, and the taper narrows toward the interior of the eye (see Fig. 5C; Fig. 4 confirms that the tunnel forms a taper: the surgical instrument 110 is seen touching both sides of the mouth of the tunnel on the inner surface of the eye while touching only one side of the mouth of the tunnel on the outer surface of the eye); and the taper is folded inwards towards the interior of the eye when the surgical instrument is inserted through the tunnel (because Akura’s simulated eye is constructed from materials exhibiting “elasticity and resistance similar to those of the human sclera and cornea”, it should exhibit a similar degree of elastic deformation and flexibility such as that observed in a real eye: accordingly, inserting an instrument into the tunnel would cause the surrounding material to deform and fold inward due to the sides of the tunnel being in direct frictional contact with the instrument).”
Regarding claim 17, Akura discloses “a synthetic eye model for simulating phacoemulsification procedures (see abstract, “Disclosed is a simulated eye system to be used for training cataract surgery techniques”), comprising: a flexible cornea (“[…] the present invention further includes a simulated sclera or a simulated cornea made of a soft, planar material having a predetermined thickness with elasticity and resistance similar to those of the human sclera and cornea”) having a pre-made tunnel with a continuous and smooth cross-sectional profile, substantially free from sharp corners and stress points (see hole 25 in Fig. 1), wherein a portion of the pre-made tunnel is configured to deform when engaged with a surgical instrument (because Akura’s simulated cornea exhibits “elasticity and resistance similar to [that] of the human […] cornea”, the material of the simulated cornea surrounding the hole 25 should deform as the human cornea would when engaged with a surgical instrument).”
Regarding claim 18, Akura discloses “the synthetic eye model of claim 17, wherein the pre-made tunnel has a cross-sectional profile characterized by one or more curved or rounded geometries (see hole 25 in Fig. 1).”
Regarding claim 19, Akura discloses “the synthetic eye model of claim 17, wherein the pre-made tunnel has a cross-sectional profile selected from the group consisting of circular, elliptical, parabolic, and spline-based shapes (see hole 25 in Fig. 1, which is circular).”
Regarding claim 20, Akura discloses “wherein the pre-made tunnel has a cross-sectional profile that has a larger diameter nearest an exterior of the eye and a smaller diameter nearest an interior of the eye, and which forms a taper between the larger diameter to the smaller diameter (see Fig. 5C; Fig. 4 confirms that the tunnel forms a taper: the surgical instrument 110 is seen touching both sides of the mouth of the tunnel on the inner surface of the eye while touching only one side of the mouth of the tunnel on the outer surface of the eye), whereby a tool tip of the surgical instrument is guided along the taper to engage the smaller diameter in an interference fit, to thereby reduce the potential for a leak of fluid from inside the interior of the eye to the exterior of the eye when a tool the surgical instrument is inserted into the pre-made tunnel (although Akura does not explicitly use the term “interference fit”, this feature is implied by “After making an incision at the position where the hole 25 of the simulated sclera / cornea 90 thus installed is closed, if the instrument is inserted and the instrument is operated for a cataract surgery technique, the instrument is restrained to the incision”: the instrument being “restrained” by the incision after being inserted implies that a friction fit has been formed between the instrument and the sides of the incision).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akura (WIPO Patent No. 2010084595) in view of Wyględowska-Promieńska et al. and Kolinski.
Regarding claim 4, Akura discloses “the device of claim 3.”
However, Akura does not disclose “the complex curve shape defines a curvy direction change formed by multiple radii.”
Wyględowska-Promieńska et al. is a research article which discusses the evolution of the anterior capsulotomy technique is used in virtually all cataract surgeries, being used to create an incision in the anterior capsule of the eye to access the lens nucleus. Notably, Wyględowska-Promieńska et al. discusses that numerous variations in the shape of the incision were tried until the discovery and widespread adoption of the “continuous curvilinear capsulorhexis” (CCC), which consists of forming a circular incision in the anterior capsule. Wyględowska-Promieńska et al. teaches that the CCC is the most popular anterior capsule incision technique for the primary reason that it is highly resistant to tearing compared to other incision techniques (“However, none of these and other attempts to create a capsular opening was immune from tearing at the edge […] The solution to remedy these problems turned out to be a continuous circular tear in the capsule”). Examiner notes that this echoes Applicant’s reasons for using curved geometries to form the simulated incision (“where this tunnel cross-sectional profile does not form ends with sharp bends, such as corners, inflection points, or acute angles, any of which the inventor has found can lead to stress risers which can in turn lead to tears and cracks in the simulated eye layer”). Notably, the previous incision techniques discussed by Wyględowska-Promieńska et al. also exhibit sharp bends or non-rounded geometries, such as “linear openings” (Albert Galand’s “envelope technique”), “triangular” capsulotomies (Charles Kelman’s “Christmas tree capsulotomy”), or a “round capsulotomy with a serrated edge” (Richard Kratz’s “can opener” capsulotomy). Thus, it has been known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that rounded or curved incision geometries in collagenous tissue are much more resistant to tearing than incision geometries which exhibit “sharp” bends.
Kolinski discusses means of increasing the fracture toughness of materials, suggesting that “any means by which the crack front can be made more complex may enhance effective fracture toughness”. Kolinski goes on to say that “as a consequence of the geometric complexity of the crack tip, more fracture surface is generated when the crack advances, requiring additional strain energy for the crack to progress”, and concludes that “the effective fracture energy increases with the length of the 3D space-curve traced out by the crack tip. This result directly demonstrates an effective toughness enhancement of neat, brittle solids based entirely on crack tip complexity.” Notably, Kolinski mentions that this experiment was conducted with a hydrogel (“Here, we study the toughness enhancement of a brittle solid through crack tip complexity, realized in an otherwise ‘ideally brittle’ hydrogel”), which Akura mentions has been used to simulate corneas for surgical training (“As a training tool for practicing corneal incision in ophthalmic surgery, there is an “ophthalmic surgical incision training tool” disclosed in Patent Document 5. It has a structure in which the anterior segment of the human eye, such as the sclera and cornea, is replicated locally, and is made of a material containing any of thermoplastic elastomer, silicone rubber, and hydrogel”). Thus, it would have been known in the art at the time of the claimed invention that increasing the complexity and surface area of the tip of a crack in a material would increase the amount of energy required for the crack front to propagate through the material, increasing the effective crack propagation (tear) resistance of the material. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would be reasonably confident that this specific technique could be used to improve the tear resistance of materials used to simulate the human cornea in particular.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pre-made corneal incision of Akura’s simulated eye model, to increase the complexity and surface area of the incision by introducing multiple direction changes, as taught by Kolinski, and in particular to introduce curved direction changes, as taught by Wyględowska-Promieńska et al, and they would have been motivated to do so to improve the tear resistance of the simulated corneal incision, as taught by both Kolinski and Wyględowska-Promieńska et al, with reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akura (WIPO Patent No. 2010084595).
Regarding claim 10, Akura discloses “the device of claim 8.”
However, Akura does not disclose “the taper narrows toward the exterior of the eye.”
The taper narrowing toward the exterior of the eye is a minor design variation of the taper narrowing toward the interior of the eye. If one has already decided to include a taper (as in the case of Akura’s device), there are only two options for the direction of the taper: either toward the interior of the eye or toward the exterior. In the case of a taper which narrows toward the exterior of the eye, the increased diameter of the tunnel on the inside surface of the eye might be preferable for increasing the range of motion of the surgical instrument as compared to a taper which narrows toward the interior of the eye, resulting in a comparatively smaller diameter and potentially a decreased range of motion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Akura’s simulated eye device so that the taper narrows toward the exterior of the eye instead of toward the interior of the eye, and they would have been motivated to do so to increase the range of motion of the surgical instrument inside the simulated eye.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akura (WIPO Patent No. 2010084595) in view of Rao et al.
Regarding claim 14, Akura discloses “the device of claim 13.”
However, Akura is silent on whether “the surgical instrument includes a deformable tube for conducting fluids between the interior and exterior of the eye.” Notably, Akura mentions the use of an “ultrasonic emulsification suction device” (“the lens nucleus, […] is finely divided by various techniques, and then each core fragment is crushed with an ultrasonic emulsification suction device and removed by suction”), which matches the description of the phaco probe used in a phacoemulsification procedure.
Rao et al., henceforth Rao, describes the components of a typical phaco probe used in cataract surgery. The phaco probe has a “silicon sleeve” (presumed to be a typo for “silicone sleeve”) used for irrigation. Rao teaches that this sleeve delivers fluid into the anterior capsule of the eye, replacing the fluid “aspirated” out of the eye through the phaco tip to remove the nuclear fragments disintegrated by the oscillator attached to the tip of the phaco probe. Notably, this exactly describes both the function of the “ultrasonic emulsification suction device” and the cataract surgery technique mentioned by Akura. Accordingly, it is reasonable to infer that these devices are one and the same. Because the sleeve is made of silicone, it follows that the sleeve is also deformable.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have modified the eye surgery simulation system of Akura to include a phaco probe with a silicone (deformable) irrigation sleeve/tube, as taught by Rao, and they would have been motivated to do so because covering the phaco probe with an irrigation sleeve is a conventional technique in cataract surgery, as taught by Rao, so including a “deformable tube” to simulate this sleeve would improve the fidelity of the simulated surgery.
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akura (WIPO Patent No. 2010084595) in view of Rao et al. as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Suzuki et al.
Regarding claim 15, Akura (in view of Rao) discloses “the device of claim 14.”
However, Akura (in view of Rao) is silent on whether “the folded taper forms an interference fit with the deformable tube, the taper compresses the deformable tube to block fluid flow through the tube, whereby a first fluid pressure level can be introduced into the deformable tube from an exterior of the eye at which the compression of the tube is overcome and fluid can flow into the eye, a second fluid pressure level can develop within the eye at which the compression of the taper is overcome and fluid can flow out of the eye, and the second fluid pressure level is greater than the first fluid pressure level, the taper thereby forming a type of one-valve.”
Suzuki et al, henceforth Suzuki, describes a procedure for “hydrating the corneal stroma in cataract surgery using an irrigation port.” Notably, Suzuki’s procedure involves pressing the sleeve of an I/A tip (“irrigation/aspiration” tip) against the sides of the corneal incision, causing the tissue to swell and form a seal against the sides of the sleeve (“The technique began by pushing the irrigation port against the corneal stroma for a few seconds during phacoemulsification, which generated edema in the corneal incision that subsequently prevented leakage”). Because this corneal incision corresponds exactly to the “tunnel” of the claimed invention, Suzuki thus teaches “the folded taper forms an interference fit with the deformable tube (Figs. 1A-1D appear to illustrate the exact behavior of the irrigation sleeve being compressed by the sides of the incision).” The rest of the limitations in claim 15 follow from the fact of an interference fit being formed between the sides of the corneal incision and the irrigation sleeve, i.e., blocking fluid through the tube is merely a consequence of a tight friction fit, which can be overcome by increasing the pressure of the fluid being delivered into the eye via the irrigation sleeve.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the eye surgery simulation system of Akura so that the sides of the pre-made corneal incision form an interference fit with the deformable tube of the phaco probe and prevent fluid leakage through the irrigation port, as taught by Suzuki, and they would have been motivated to do so to increase the fidelity of the simulation, and in particular to simulate the “hydration using irrigation port” technique used in cataract surgery in particular.
Regarding claim 16, Akura (in view of Rao) discloses “the device of claim 14.”
However, Akura (in view of Rao) is silent on whether “the folded taper forms an interference fit with the deformable tube, preventing fluid flow past the interference fit at a predetermined fluid pressure and wherein a seal is formed between the surgical instrument and at least one portion of the tunnel.”
Suzuki et al, henceforth Suzuki, describes a procedure for “hydrating the corneal stroma in cataract surgery using an irrigation port.” Notably, Suzuki’s procedure involves pressing the sleeve of an I/A tip (“irrigation/aspiration” tip) against the sides of the corneal incision, causing the tissue to swell and form a seal against the sides of the sleeve (“The technique began by pushing the irrigation port against the corneal stroma for a few seconds during phacoemulsification, which generated edema in the corneal incision that subsequently prevented leakage”). Because this corneal incision corresponds exactly to the “tunnel” of the claimed invention, Suzuki thus teaches ““the folded taper forms an interference fit with the deformable tube, preventing fluid flow past the interference fit at a predetermined fluid pressure and wherein a seal is formed between the surgical instrument and at least one portion of the tunnel (Figs. 1A-1D appear to illustrate the exact behavior of the irrigation sleeve being compressed by the sides of the incision).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the eye surgery simulation system of Akura so that the sides of the pre-made corneal incision form an interference fit with the deformable tube of the phaco probe and prevent fluid leakage through the sides of the corneal incision, as taught by Suzuki, and they would have been motivated to do so to increase the fidelity of the simulation, and in particular to simulate the “hydration using irrigation port” technique used in cataract surgery, as taught by Suzuki.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3 and 5-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument, with the sole exception of Kolinski, which has been included as a secondary reference in the new grounds of rejection for claim 4 for similar reasons to its inclusion in the rejection of the same claim in the prior rejection of record. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the inclusion of Kolinski have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the inclusion of Kolinski, Applicant argued that “Kolinski is further directed to the fracture behavior of materials and how to increase the toughness of material without modifying its composition. Kolinski does not mention or suggest use of its finding in relation to surgical simulation.” Although it is true that Kolinski does not mention the application of its findings to the field of surgical simulation in particular, the inclusion of Kolinski’s teachings is nonetheless appropriate because the type of material mentioned by Kolinski (hydrogels) are used in the field of surgical simulation, and in particular the simulation of the cornea (see Akura, “As a training tool for practicing corneal incision in ophthalmic surgery, there is an “ophthalmic surgical incision training tool” disclosed in Patent Document 5. It has a structure in which the anterior segment of the human eye, such as the sclera and cornea, is replicated locally, and is made of a material containing any of thermoplastic elastomer, silicone rubber, and hydrogel”). Thus, if one of ordinary skill in the art was looking to improve the tear resistance of simulated incisions in a hydrogel model of the cornea, they would be motivated to seek out scholarship that discusses methods of improving the fracture toughness of hydrogel or similar materials, which would lead them to research such as Kolinski’s.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.H.J./
Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/WILLIAM H MCCULLOCH JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715