Drawings
The drawings were received on 16 March 2026. These drawings are acceptable.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 154a, 154b, 154c.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with C.F.R 1.84(h)(3) because the plane upon which a sectional view is taken should be indicated on the view from which the section is cut by a broken line. The ends of the broken line should be designated by Arabic or Roman numerals corresponding to the view number of the sectional view, and should have arrows to indicate the direction of sight. Hatching must be used to indicate section portions of an object, and must be made by regularly spaced oblique parallel lines spaced sufficiently apart to enable the lines to be distinguished without difficulty. MPEP 608.02 V. Figure 4 and 13 are not indicated by a broken line.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 152a, 162a, 160a, 1152a.
The drawings are objected to because reference character 154c is not directed to a liner adhesive layer disposed between liner layers as disclosed.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "170" and "154c" have both been used to designate base adhesive layer. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The specification amendment filed 16 March 2026 has not been entered because it does not conform to 37 CFR 1.121(b)(1)(i) because: the instructions for replacing paragraphs are replete with incorrect locations.
The disclosure is objected to because reference character “1194” has been used to designate plate base side wall, angled edge, side wall, base side wall, and angled bottom edge.
The disclosure is objected to because reference characters "1192" and "1194" have all been used to designate plate base side wall.
The disclosure is objected to because reference character “100” has been used to designate peelable plate and peel plate.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: P. 9 L. 23-24 uses reference character 150b when referring to the embodiment of figures 10-13 which depict 1150b.
Appropriate correction is required.
The disclosure is objected to because reference character “1150” has been used to designate top peelable liner, top, top layer, and top liner layer.
The disclosure is objected to because reference character “1180” has been used to designate peelable bottom liner, bottom, top liner layer, peelable bottom layer layers, and bottom liner layer.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: P. 9 L. 24 uses reference character 150 when referring to the embodiment of figures 10-13 which do not include 150.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: “an adjacent top liner layer” of line 3 should be corrected to “the adjacent top liner layer”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 6, and 8-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitation of claim 1 that “a peripheral portion of each of the plurality of top liner layers extends vertically downward from an edge of the peelable plate” is led to be indefinite. It is unclear how the top liner layers can extend vertically downward from an edge of the peelable plate as the top liner layers are part of the peelable plate. The original disclosure provides that plate base side wall extends downwardly (in a substantially vertical orientation) from an edge of plate base side portion and that a peripheral portion of each of the plurality of top liner layers extends substantially vertically downward. Figure 13 appears to show a peripheral portion of each of the top liner layers extending vertically downward from an edge of the plate base. In light of the original disclosure and for purposes of applying art, the limitation will be interpreted as if it read base instead of peelable plate.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the peelable plate" in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The limitation of claim 16 that “a peripheral portion of each of the plurality of top liner layers extends vertically downward from an edge of the peelable plate” is led to be indefinite. The peelable plate was not previously introduced in claim 16. If applicant intended this to read “peelable food container” it is unclear how the top liner layers can extend vertically downward from an edge of the peelable food container as the top liner layers are part of the peelable food container. The original disclosure provides that plate base side wall extends downwardly (in a substantially vertical orientation) from an edge of plate base side portion and that a peripheral portion of each of the plurality of top liner layers extends substantially vertically downward. Figure 13 appears to show a peripheral portion of each of the top liner layers extending vertically downward from an edge of the plate base. In light of the original disclosure and for purposes of applying art, the limitation will be interpreted as if it read base instead of peelable food container.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 11-12, and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shirazi (US 20220133066) further in view of Sarff (US 1574259).
Claim 1: Shirazi discloses a peelable plate comprising a rigid base 102; a plurality of pieces 202 (top liner layers) disposed adjacent to a top surface of the rigid base 102; and a plurality of pieces 202 (bottom liner layers) disposed adjacent to a bottom surface of the rigid base 102 (see fig. 2).
Shirazi does not disclose wherein each of the top liner layers include a top tab portion extending outwardly from each respective top liner layer, forming a plurality of top tab portions, wherein each of the bottom liner layers include a bottom tab portion extending outwardly from each respective bottom liner layer, forming a plurality of bottom tab portions, wherein the plurality of top liner layers are formed such that a peripheral portion of each of the plurality of top liner layers extends vertically downward from an edge of the peelable plate, an angled edge is defined at an end portion of the vertically downward facing peripheral portions of the top liner layers, or that the plurality of top liner layers are arranged such that an outermost top liner layer at the vertically downward facing peripheral portions of the top liner layers extends further downward vertically than an adjacent top liner layer.
Sarff teaches dish having a base 1 and thin sheets 2 mounted upon the base 1, wherein each succeeding thin sheet 2, counting from the bottom of the dish, is a little larger than the one beneath so as to completely cover the edge of the preceding thin sheet 2 at the edge of the dish, such that a peripheral portion of each of the thin sheets 2 extends vertically downward from an edge of the base 1, an angled edge is defined at an end portion of the vertically downward facing peripheral portions of the thin sheets 2 where they abut the base 1, and an outermost thin sheet 2 at the vertically downward facing peripheral portion extends further downward vertically than an adjacent thin sheet 2, and wherein each thin sheet 2 has an appendage 4 (top tab portion) extending outwardly (see fig. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the plurality of pieces 202 (top liner layers) such that each succeeding piece 202 (top liner layer) is a little larger than the one beneath so as to completely cover the edge of the preceding piece 202 (top liner layer) at the edge of the rigid base 102, to have modified the plurality of pieces 202 (bottom liner layers) such that each succeeding piece 202 (bottom liner layer) is a little larger than the one beneath so as to completely cover the edge of the preceding piece 202 (bottom liner layer) at the edge of the rigid base 102, and to have modified the plurality of pieces 202 (top and bottom liner layers) to each have an appendage 4 (top tab portion), as taught by Sarff, in order to make the pieces 202 (top and bottom liner layers) more sanitary and to provide a means for a user to grip and peel each piece 202 (top and bottom liner layer) more easily.
The combination results in a peripheral portion of each of the plurality of pieces 202 (top liner layers) extending vertically downward from an edge of the rigid base 102, an angled edge being defined where the end portions of the vertically downward facing peripheral portions of the pieces 202 (top liner layers) end against the rigid base 102, and the plurality of pieces 202 (top liner layers) being arranged such that an outermost piece 202 (top liner layer) at the vertically downward facing peripheral portions of the piece 202 (top liner layer) extends further downward vertically than an adjacent piece 202 (top liner layer) as each piece 202 (top liner layer) is a little larger than the one beneath it.
Claim 2: The combination discloses wherein the plurality of pieces 202 (top liner layers) are arranged in a manner that allow a piece 202 (top liner layer) of the plurality of pieces 202 (top liner layers) to be peeled away from another piece 202 (another top liner layer) of the plurality of pieces 202 (top liner layers) while the another piece 202 (another top liner layer) remains in its original position (see fig. 2 and P. 0035).
Claim 3: The combination discloses wherein the plurality of pieces 202 (bottom liner layers) are arranged in a manner that allow a piece 202 (bottom liner layer) of the plurality of pieces 202 (bottom liner layers) to be peeled away from another piece 202 (another bottom liner layer) of the plurality of pieces 202 (bottom liner layers) while the another piece 202 (another bottom liner layer) remains in its original position (see fig. 2 and P. 0035).
Claim 8: The combination discloses the outermost piece 202 (outermost top liner layer) extends further downward than the adjacent piece 202 (adjacent top liner layer) to act as a partial barrier in relation to the adjacent piece 202 (adjacent top liner layer) (see fig. 1 & 3 ‘259)
Claim 11: The combination discloses wherein an adhesive is disposed between a piece 202 (top liner layer) of the plurality of pieces 202 (top liner layers) that is adjacent the rigid base 102, and an adhesive is disposed between a piece 202 (bottom liner layer) of the plurality of pieces 202 (bottom liner layers) that is adjacent the rigid base 102 (see fig. 2 and P. 0035).
Claim 12: The combination discloses wherein the rigid base 102 has a greater stiffness than each of the plurality of pieces 202 (top liner layers) and each of the pieces 202 (bottom liner layers) (see fig. 2 and P. 0035)
Claim 14: The combination discloses the plurality of pieces 202 (top liner layers) including 3 plurality of pieces 202 (top liner layers), and the plurality of pieces 202 (bottom liner layers) including 3, which is in the range of 2-10, plurality of pieces 202 (bottom liner layers) (see fig. 2).
The combination does not disclose the plurality of top liner layers including in the range of 15-30 top liner layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided 15-30 pieces 202 (top liner layers) in order to supply a user with a larger number of pieces 202 (top liner layers) and as it has been held that the mere duplication of the essential working parts for a multiplied effect is obvious unless there is a synergistic effect. See St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis CO., Inc., 193 USPQ 8, 11 (7th Cir. 1977).
Examiner notes that no criticality has been established for the number of top or bottom liner layers.
Claim 15: The combination discloses the claimed invention except wherein the plurality of top liner layers includes 25 top liner layers, and the plurality of bottom liner layers includes 5 bottom liner layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided 25 pieces 202 (top liner layers) and 5 pieces 202 (bottom liner layers) in order to supply a user with a larger number of pieces 202 (top liner layers) and pieces (bottom liner layers) and as it has been held that the mere duplication of the essential working parts for a multiplied effect is obvious unless there is a synergistic effect. See St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis CO., Inc., 193 USPQ 8, 11 (7th Cir. 1977).
Examiner notes that no criticality has been established for the number of top or bottom liner layers.
Claim 16: Shirazi discloses a food container comprising a rigid base 102; a plurality of pieces 202 (top liner layers) disposed adjacent to a top surface of the rigid base 102; and a plurality of pieces 202 (bottom liner layers) disposed adjacent to a bottom surface of the rigid base 102 (see fig. 2).
Shirazi does not disclose wherein each of the top liner layers include a top tab portion extending outwardly from each respective top liner layer, forming a plurality of top tab portions, wherein each of the bottom liner layers include a bottom tab portion extending outwardly from each respective bottom liner layer, forming a plurality of bottom tab portions, wherein the plurality of top liner layers are formed such that a peripheral portion of each of the plurality of top liner layers extends vertically downward from an edge of the peelable plate, an angled edge is defined at an end portion of the vertically downward facing peripheral portions of the top liner layers, or that the plurality of top liner layers are arranged such that an outermost top liner layer at the vertically downward facing peripheral portions of the top liner layers extends further downward vertically than an adjacent top liner layer.
Sarff teaches dish having a base 1 and thin sheets 2 mounted upon the base 1, wherein each succeeding thin sheet 2, counting from the bottom of the dish, is a little larger than the one beneath so as to completely cover the edge of the preceding thin sheet 2 at the edge of the dish, such that a peripheral portion of each of the thin sheets 2 extends vertically downward from an edge of the base 1, an angled edge is defined at an end portion of the vertically downward facing peripheral portions of the thin sheets 2 where they abut the base 1, and an outermost thin sheet 2 at the vertically downward facing peripheral portion extends further downward vertically than an adjacent thin sheet 2, and wherein each thin sheet 2 has an appendage 4 (top tab portion) extending outwardly (see fig. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the plurality of pieces 202 (top liner layers) such that each succeeding piece 202 (top liner layer) is a little larger than the one beneath so as to completely cover the edge of the preceding piece 202 (top liner layer) at the edge of the rigid base 102, to have modified the plurality of pieces 202 (bottom liner layers) such that each succeeding piece 202 (bottom liner layer) is a little larger than the one beneath so as to completely cover the edge of the preceding piece 202 (bottom liner layer) at the edge of the rigid base 102, and to have modified the plurality of pieces 202 (top and bottom liner layers) to each have an appendage 4 (top/bottom tab portion), as taught by Sarff, in order to make the pieces 202 (top and bottom liner layers) more sanitary and to provide a means for a user to grip and peel each piece 202 (top and bottom liner layer) more easily.
The combination results in a peripheral portion of each of the plurality of pieces 202 (top liner layers) extending vertically downward from an edge of the rigid base 102, an angled edge being defined where the end portions of the vertically downward facing peripheral portions of the pieces 202 (top liner layers) end against the rigid base 102, and the plurality of pieces 202 (top liner layers) being arranged such that an outermost piece 202 (top liner layer) at the vertically downward facing peripheral portions of the piece 202 (top liner layer) extends further downward vertically than an adjacent piece 202 (top liner layer) as each piece 202 (top liner layer) is a little larger than the one beneath it.
Claim 17: The combination discloses wherein the plurality of pieces 202 (top liner layers) are arranged in a manner that allow a piece 202 (top liner layer) of the plurality of pieces 202 (top liner layers) to be peeled away from another piece 202 (another top liner layer) of the plurality of pieces 202 (top liner layers) while the another piece 202 (another top liner layer) remains in its original position (see fig. 2 and P. 0035).
Claim 18: The combination discloses wherein the plurality of pieces 202 (bottom liner layers) are arranged in a manner that allow a piece 202 (bottom liner layer) of the plurality of pieces 202 (bottom liner layers) to be peeled away from another piece 202 (another bottom liner layer) of the plurality of pieces 202 (bottom liner layers) while the another piece 202 (another bottom liner layer) remains in its original position (see fig. 2 and P. 0035).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shirazi (US 20220133066) and Sarff (US 1574259) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sloan (US 20100200012).
Claim 6: The combination discloses the claimed invention except wherein the plurality of top tab portions are aligned with the plurality of bottom tab portions.
Sloan teaches a device 10 having a base bowl 12 with a plurality of liners 20 disposed adjacent to a top surface of the base bowl 12, wherein each liner 20 includes a tab 34 (top tab portion) extending radially outwards and stacked on one another (see fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the appendages 4 (top tab portions) to be stacked and to have modified the appendage 4 (bottom tab portions) to be stacked, as taught by Sloan, so that a user can more easily determine that they are grasping the outermost appendage 4 (top/bottom tab portion).
When locating the stacked appendages 4 (bottom tab portions) and stacked appendages 4 (top tab portions) there are two identified, predictable solutions. One being unaligned and the other being aligned. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have aligned the appendages 4 (top tab portions) with the appendages 4 (bottom tab portions), as it would have been obvious to try the second identified predictable solution with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 9-10 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shirazi (US 20220133066) and Sarff (US 1574259) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Madanat (US 20140027459).
Claim 9: The combination discloses where the plurality of pieces 202 (top liner layers) are arranged such that adjacent pieces 202 (top liner layers) are in direct contact with each other and adhere by non-toxic adhesive or by other means to one another (see P. 0033 and fig. 2).
Shirazi does not explicitly disclose no adhesive layer disposed between adjacent top liner layers.
Madanat teaches a multi-layered container 102 having a top sheet 106, bottom sheet 104, and at least one sheet 115 stacked in between the top sheet 106, wherein the top sheet 106 and at least one sheet 115 are steam pressed against the bottom sheet 104 to form the multi-layered container 102 and retain the sheets together prior to being peeled, where no adhesive layers are disposed between adjacent top sheet 106 and at least one sheets 115 (see P. 0027, 0021, fig. 1B, 2 and annotated fig. 1A below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the plurality of pieces 202 (top liner layers) and the plurality of pieces 202 (bottom liner layers) to be steam pressed with no adhesive layers between adjacent pieces 202 (top liner layers) or between adjacent pieces 202 (bottom liner layers), as taught by Madanat, in order to reduce materials and associated costs by eliminating adhesive between adjacent pieces 202 (top liner layers) and adjacent pieces 202 (bottom liner layers).
Claim 10: The combination discloses where the plurality of pieces 202 (bottom liner layers) are arranged such that adjacent pieces 202 (bottom liner layers) are in direct contact with each other with no adhesive layer disposed between adjacent pieces 202 (bottom liner layers) (see fig. 22 and P. 0009 & 0020 ‘459).
Claim 13: The combination discloses the claimed invention except wherein the plurality of top liner layers and the plurality of bottom liner layers are compressed against the base, and the plurality of top liner layers and the plurality of bottom liner layers are maintained in position in part due to creases in the plurality of top liner layers, the base, and the plurality of bottom liner layers.
Madanat teaches a multi-layered container 102 having a top sheet 106, bottom sheet 104, and at least one sheet 115 stacked in between the top sheet 106, wherein the top sheet 106 and at least one sheet 115 are steam pressed (compressed) against the bottom sheet 104 to form the multi-layered container 102 and retain the sheets together prior to being peeled, wherein the multi-layered container 102 is in the form of a plate having a bottom, side portion, and flange, and wherein the top sheet 106, bottom sheet 104, and at least one sheet 115 are maintained in position in part due to creases between the bottom, side portion, and flange in the top sheet 106, bottom sheet 104, and at least one sheet 115 (see P. 0027, 0021, fig. 1B, 2 and annotated fig. 1A below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified each of the top and bottom of the rigid base 102, the plurality of pieces 202 (top liner layers), and the plurality of pieces 202 (bottom liner layers) to have the shape of the plate of Madanat with a bottom, side portion, and flange and to have steam pressed (compressed) the plurality of pieces 202 (top liner layers) and the plurality of pieces 202 (bottom liner layers) against the rigid base 102, as taught by Madanat, in order to provide dishware that has a chamber for holding food which decreases the likelihood of spillage and in order to better restrain the plurality of pieces 202 (top liner layers) and the plurality of pieces 202 (bottom liner layers) against the rigid base 102.
Response to Arguments
The drawing objections in paragraphs 2 and 4 of office action dated 16 September 2025 are withdrawn in light of the amended disclosure filed 16 March 2026.
The claim objections in paragraph 13 of office action dated 16 September 2025 are withdrawn in light of the amended claims filed 16 March 2026.
The 35 U.S.C. § 112 rejections in paragraphs 14-19 of office action dated 16 September 2025 are withdrawn in light of the amended claims filed 16 March 2026.
In response to applicant’s argument that Sloan does not teach or suggest the use of bottom liner layers that include a bottom tab portion, that one of skill in the art when viewing the structures of Sloan would not find any suggestion to use bottom liner layers let alone bottom tab portions as the shape and described purpose of the bowl of Sloan would not benefit from or be able to accommodate tab portions, the Examiner replies that this argument amounts to a piecemeal analysis of the references as Sloan was not modified in any manner, nor relied upon for a teaching of bottom liner layers. As Sloan discloses a plurality of liners 20 each including a tab 34 and being disposed adjacent to a surface of a base bowl 12 (fig. 1), it would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art that the teachings of Sloan related to the relationship between the tabs 34 and liners 20 would be applicable to liners, whether those liners were on the bottom or top of a base. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to applicant’s argument that the combined teachings of Shirazi and Sloan would not teach or suggest the use of top tabs in conjunction with the use of bottom tabs as neither Shirazi nor Sloan teach or suggest the use of bottom tabs, the structure and described purpose of Sloan does not appear to suggest or accommodate the use of bottom tabs, and Shirazi does not teach or suggest the use of any tabs whatsoever, the Examiner replies that Shirazi discloses a rigid base 102, a plurality of pieces 202 (top liner layers) disposed adjacent to a top surface of the rigid base 102, and a plurality of pieces 202 (bottom liner layers) disposed adjacent to a bottom surface of the rigid base 102 (fig. 2). As Sloan discloses a plurality of liners 20 each including a tab 34 and being disposed adjacent to a surface of a base bowl 12 (fig. 1), it would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art that the teachings of Sloan related to the relationship between the tabs 34 and liners 20 would be applicable to liners, whether those liners were on the bottom or top of a base.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALLAN D STEVENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736