DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 9-11, 14-16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Abron (US 2023/0264585)
Re Claims 1, 9 and 15; Abron discloses a charging assembly, a charging system for use with an EV type vehicle, a battery- operated system or a battery supported appliance comprising, the EV type vehicle, the battery-operated system or the battery supported appliance (Fig. 1 shows a battery supported appliance which is the vehicle components requiring the battery to function for an electric vehicle)
a battery (19) having a battery management system (660) the charging assembly comprising: the charging assembly being separated and independent from the EV type vehicle, the battery operated system or the battery supported appliance. (the battery is located in the middle of the circuit while the system is located above the battery)
an engine or generator (36, 37) configured to drive an alternator (48A or 48B) for producing either of a single-phase or multi-phase AC voltage (Par 0066 discussing multiphase); (Fig. 1)
a battery assemble including a battery pack having at least one cell. (the cells are show but not labelled)
a voltage regulator (150) configured to communicate with said alternator (48A), the voltage regulator configured to filter or smooth the single-phase or the multi-phase AC voltage into a repeatedly constant level; (par 0032) and
a rectifier (123) for converting the single-phase or the multi-phase AC voltage from the alternator to a direct current voltage output prior to delivery to the battery; (Fig. 1)
the rectifier including a pair of transistors for each phase of the multiphase alternator, each of the pair of transistors configured to switch between a powered-on state and a powered off state to control a direction of current flow and output a controlled direct current. (Not shown but implicit. The claim merely recites the layout of a rectifier and its functions)
and
a processor communicatively coupled to the battery management system, the processor configured to receive a plurality of battery related data transmitted from the battery management system, (the battery is directly coupled to the BMS to receive data from the battery See par 0066)
wherein when the battery is positioned to be communicatively coupled the charging assembly the processor controls the engine operate at variable speeds during charging of the battery is based on the plurality of battery related data transmitted from the battery management system to vary the direct current voltage output from the charging assembly to the battery. (Par 0031, 49, 0066, the battery is always positioned to be communicatively coupled to the charging assembly in order to regulate the charging and discharging of the battery)
Re Claims 2, 10 and 16; Abron discloses wherein the engine operating at variable speeds during charging of the battery based on the plurality of battery related data transmitted from the battery management system, including an initially higher revolutions per minute corresponding to a highest rate of charge when a current charge of the battery is at or below a predetermined threshold level, with a subsequently reduced revolutions per minute as a temperature of the battery is rising and the current charge of the battery is increasing, during which the rate of charge slows as directed by the battery management system. (Par 0031)
Re Claims 4 and 11; Abron discloses further wherein the voltage regulator is configured to operate in combination with the rectifier converts the alternating current voltage to the direct current voltage output prior to being delivered to the battery, the alternator having each of a stator field and rotor field (not shown but implicit) represented which interfaces with the voltage regulator and operates to supply the alternating current voltage to the rectifier for conversion to the direct current voltage output, which is then transmitted via a connecting line to the battery. (Fig. 1)
Re Claims 6, 13 and 20; Abron discloses further comprising the battery and the battery management system are incorporated into an EV type vehicle. (Fig. 1)
Re Claims 7 and 14; Abron discloses wherein said alternator further comprising multiple alternators for charging multiple batteries. (Fig. 1, Par 0047)
Re Claim 18; Abron discloses wherein the power conversion circuit is configured to rectify the multi-phase alternating current voltage to the direct current voltage output prior to being delivered to the battery assembly, which is then transmitted via a connecting line to the battery assembly. (Fig. 1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5, 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abron
Re Claims 3; Abron discloses wherein the plurality of battery related data includes an overall power requirement.
Abron does not disclose an engine efficiency map.
However, the Examiner takes an official notice that adding engine efficiency map to battery related data would provide additional data to the BMS to effectively determine how to effectively charge the battery so that adequate power is provided to the battery when charging.
Re Claims 5, 12 and 19; Abron discloses wherein the processor.
Abron does not disclose is further configured to: facilitate each of an engine start-up, a shutdown, a data measurement, a data display and a fault protection functions, additional to generator power measurement, a power display and a power protection, and the processor is communicatively coupled with each of an engine control unit, the voltage regulator and a charging controller.
However, this integrated system is "obvious because it combines previously separate functions engine management, power regulation, and charging into a single, centralized processor, offering superior efficiency, reliability, and diagnostic capabilities.
By coupling a central processor with the Engine Control Unit (ECU), Voltage Regulator (AVR), and Charging Controller, the design moves from isolated, analog components to a digital, holistic system that maximizes performance and safety. By removing multiple independent controllers and replacing them with one integrated unit, the system reduces wiring complexity, weight, and failure points, thereby increasing reliability.
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abron in view of Seidenbinder et al. (US 2014/0009016)
Re Claim 17; Abron discloses a multiphase alternator with implicit switches.
Abron does not disclose the details of the connection of the multiphase alternator with the rectifier to include wherein each transistor of the pair of transistors coupled to each phase of the multiphase alternator are insulated-gate bipolar transistors.
However, Seidenbinder discloses wherein each transistor of the pair of transistors coupled to each phase of the multiphase alternator are insulated-gate bipolar transistors. (Fig. 1, Par 0032).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to have used the design shown by Seidenbinder with the device of Abron in order to provide power.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the Abron fails to expressly or inherently disclose or make obvious the amended feature.
However, the examiner respectfully disagree. The amendment does not provide a significant modification to the claims and also as amended does not overcome the reference. The references relied upon, and the paragraphs does indeed teach the amended claims. The limitations like communicatively coupled does not provide a substantial change in scope of the claimed limitation, Abron does uses sensor and controllers to manage charging of the battery and those sensors are indeed communicatively coupled in the entire circuitry to prevent over and undercharging of the battery.
Furthermore, the vehicle discussed in Abron is an electric vehicle as well.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL KESSIE/
09/23/2026
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836