DETAILED ACTION
Examiner acknowledges receipt of amendment to application 18/232,115 filed on August 7, 2026. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of Claims
Claims 1-15 are still pending, with claims 1-2, 4 and 14-15 being currently amended.
Status of Objections and Non-Prior Art Rejections
I. Drawings
Applicant’s amendments to the drawings are accepted. The objections to the drawings are therefore withdrawn.
II. Claim Objections
Applicant’s amendments to claims 14-15 are accepted. The objections to the claims are therefore withdrawn.
III. 35 USC § 112 Rejections
Applicant’s amendments to claim 2 are insufficient. The 112(b) rejections of claims 2, 4-5 and 12 are therefore maintained. See 112(b) rejections below.
Response to Arguments
On pages 11-14 of the remarks filed August 7, 2026, Applicant argues:
The Applicant respectfully argues that the Office made a mistake in interpreting - in reference to paragraphs [0038]-[0040] of Tien - that the "open state" as recited in claim
1 is being taught by Tien.
(5A) First, both paragraph [0005] of the originally filed specification and claim 1 clearly define what "a series switch" is and what a "parallel switch" is by reciting, for example
- a series switch configured to connect or disconnect the battery between the
first battery system connector and the second battery system connector, and
- a parallel switch between the first battery system connector and the second
battery system connector configured to bypass the battery module when closed,
(5B) Second, the Office Action on page 6 - in interpreting the teachings of para [0038]-[0040] in reference to the recited "open state"- asserted that "in a normal state when charge / discharge is finished both the bypass switches and the charge/discharge switches (series switch) will be opened...":
- an open state, in which the series switch and the parallel switch are open [pars. 38-40; in a normal state when charge/discharge is finished both the bypass switches and the charge/discharge switches (series switch) will be opened], wherein:
Here, however, the Office Action has not set forth a particular interpretation for the claim language, and Applicant cannot ascertain the manner in which the Office Action applied the text of paragraphs [0038]-[0040] of Tien: in other words, which recitations of these paragraphs [0038]-[0040] were compared to or measured against the "series" and "parallel" switches as defined in claim 1?
Therefore, the Applicant could not find or follow Office's "record [off how the claim term or phrase is being interpreted with respect to the prior art applied in the rejection " - as required by MPEP Sec. 2173.06 titled "Practice Compact Prosecution" (see I. INTERPRET THE CLAIM AND APPLY ART WITH AN EXPLANATION OF HOW AN INDEFINITE TERM IS INTERPRETED, citing In re Packard, 751 F.3d 1307, 1312, 110 USPQ2d 1785, 1788 (Fed. Cir. 2014).
5C) The Applicant further respectfully argues that paragraphs [0038]-[0040] do not, in
fact, teach / disclose / suggest the recitation of the "open state" with respect to the
"series" and "parallel" switches as defined by claim 1.
Tien discloses a static battery system with battery management unit: the Applicant did not succeed locating a disclosure, in Tien, that the architecture of the Tien's Distributed Energy Storage Control System encompasses an AC system.
The battery modules of Tien do not provide an "open state, in which where the series switch and the parallel switch are open" as recited in claim 1 for the following reasons:
Details of a BMS battery unit 40 are shown in Fig. 2 of Tien (reproduced below
for the convenience of the Office).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner notes that that Examiner correctly and explicitly indicated where the citation for the “open” state comes from. As quoted by Applicant, “in a normal state when charge/discharge is finished both the bypass switches and the charge/discharge switches (series switch) will be opened”. Paragraph 38 states: “While the BMS battery unit (40) is in normal charge/discharge mode, the charge bypass path control switch (44) and discharge bypass path control switch (43) are turned off. While the serial battery unit (50) completed its charge or discharge, the series system controller (40') commands each BMS battery unit (40) to turn on or turn off the charge/discharge switches and to turn on or turn off the charge/discharge bypass switches.” Paragraph 38 thus describes an open state where the series switch and the parallel switch are opened. Examiner stated as much in the rejection. Applicant’s argument about 42 being forced to close if 43 is open, does not recognize that 41 can and would be open (thus an open) series switch after the charge is complete. At that point 43 (an open parallel switch) and 41 (an open series switch) would be open.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 4-5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 depends from claim 1 which recites “wherein: each string of battery modules, of the plurality of strings of battery modules, comprises a second plurality of battery modules that are connected in series and the corresponding first plurality of battery modules, and each string of battery modules, of the plurality of strings of battery modules”. This limitation lacks clarity since it suggests that a single string is actually more than one, and it isn’t clear if the “second plurality of battery modules” of the “plurality of strings” of “the at least one string of battery modules” indicates that one of the strings has both a “second plurality of battery modules” and a “first plurality of battery modules” (as indicated in claim 1, from which claim 2 depends).
Examiner suggests amending claim 2 to indicate that there a plurality of additional strings and amending claim 1 as well if necessary, so as to indicate the structure of fig. 2 or fig. 7, which have a plurality of strings, but don’t indicate a string with “two” pluralities of battery modules.
For the purpose of examination, Examiner is interpreting claim 2 as indicating that the “at least one string” is “at least two strings”, each of which with one plurality of battery modules connected in series. Examiner suggests amending claim 2 to reflect this interpretation or otherwise clarifying the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-9, 10-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tien et al. US PGPUB 2009/0066291 in view of Graovac et al. US PGPUB 2011/0198936.
Regarding claim 1, Tien discloses a failsafe battery storage system [figs. 2 & 3] comprising:
at least one string of battery modules [fig. 3; string 50 of battery modules 40] that includes a corresponding first plurality of battery modules connected in series [fig. 3, modules 40], and that is connected between a first battery system connector and a second battery system connector [fig. 3; in between buses 61 and 62],
wherein each battery module [fig. 2, 40] of said first plurality of battery modules includes at least:
- a battery [fig. 2, battery 30; par. 11],
- a series switch configured to connect or disconnect the battery between the first battery system connector and the second battery system connector [fig. 2, series switch 41/42, when 41/42 are closed, the battery can be connected to the string, if 41/42 are open then the circuit is open and the battery is disconnected from the string; par. 35-36 & 41], and
- a parallel switch between the first battery system connector and the second battery system connector configured to bypass the battery module when closed [fig. 2, parallel switch 43/44, in parallel with cell 30, when closed will bypass the cell 30; the use of 43 or 44 depends on charge or discharge state (par. 11); pars. 11, 35-36 & 41],
wherein each battery module is configured to have:
- a connected state, in which the series switch is closed and the parallel switch is closed [fig. 2; pars. 11, 35-36 & 38-41; 41/42 are closed when the battery is not bypassed],
- a bypass state, in which the series switch is open and the parallel switch is closed [fig. 2; pars. 11, 35-36 & 38-41; 41/42 are opened when the battery is bypassed and at least one of 43/44 is closed], and
- an open state, in which the series switch and the parallel switch are open [pars. 38-40; in a normal state when charge/discharge is finished both the bypass switches and the charge/discharge switches (series switch) will be opened], wherein:
the battery storage system is configured to select, over multiple periods of time, within the at least one string different combinations of battery modules for the connected state while the remaining battery modules are in a bypass state [par. 13 & 39-40; some batteries can be bypassed while others remain connected, thus at different times, different combinations of batteries are connected, depending on the individual states], such that
a. during discharging of the battery storage system, at least one battery module with a higher power state remains in the connected state for a first time that is longer time than a second time during which at least one of the battery module with a lower power state remains in the connected state [par. 13 & 40; a battery 30 which is nearly discharged or fully discharged will be bypassed soon or immediately and thus remain connected for less time than a battery with a higher power state], and/or
b. during charging of the battery storage system, at least one of the battery modules with the lower power state remains in the connected state for a third time that is longer than a fourth time during which at least one of the battery module with the higher power state remains in the connected state, and wherein the battery storage system is configured to put failed battery modules into the bypass state and/or to put failed strings into the open state [interpreted as an alternative limitation and thus not addressed].
Tien does not explicitly disclose wherein the battery storage system is configured to deliver an AC voltage by approximating a sinusoidal or any other waveform by switching varying numbers of battery modules into a connected state.
However, Graovac discloses a battery system with a plurality of modules wherein the battery storage system is configured to deliver an AC voltage by approximating a sinusoidal or any other waveform by switching varying numbers of battery modules into a connected state [figs. 1 & 5-6; battery modules (fig. 1, b1-bn) of c1-cn, deliver an AC voltage (fig. 6) by approximating a sine wave by switching on various converters (and their battery modules; pars. 28, 34, 42-44, 47 & 49-50].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify wherein the battery storage system is configured to deliver an AC voltage by approximating a sinusoidal or any other waveform by switching varying numbers of battery modules into a connected state to further include wherein
for the purpose of providing an AC voltage without a DC/AC inverter, as taught by Graovac (pars. 3-5, 42, 45, 47 & 49).
Regarding claim 2, Tien discloses wherein the at least one string of battery modules includes a plurality of strings of battery modules, wherein: each string of battery modules, of the plurality of strings of battery modules, comprises a second plurality of battery modules that are connected in series and the corresponding first plurality of battery modules [fig. 3; a plurality of strings 50 with battery modules 40; par. 36], and
each string of battery modules, of the plurality of strings of battery modules, is connected in parallel with other strings of said plurality of strings of battery modules between the first battery system connector and the second battery system connector [fig. 3, in between rails 61 and 62],
wherein each string of the plurality of strings of battery modules is configured to have:
- a string connected state, in which at least one battery module of such string is in the connected state and the remaining battery modules of such string are in the bypass state [pars. 11, 13, 19-20 ; while a string is connected to the rails, one or more batteries can be bypassed],
- a string open state, in which at least one battery module is in the open state [pars. 38-40; in a normal state when charge/discharge is finished both the bypass switches and the charge/discharge switches (series switch) will be opened; Examiner notes that the open state requires a series switch and a parallel switch to be open, thus when either charging is finished or discharging for a particular battery is finished, or a fault occurs (par. 39, “when the battery is about to be full charged or a fault battery is found”; par. 40, “when the battery is reached its bottom limit of capacity or a fault battery is found”) one of the two parallel switches is opened (pars. 39 & 40) depending on whether the current process is charging (par. 39) or discharging (par. 40) and when either the charge or discharge process for the entire string is finished all the BMS are commanded to turn off the charge/discharge switches (par. 38, “While the serial battery unit (50) completed its charge or discharge, the series system controller (40') commands each BMS battery unit (40) to turn on or turn off the charge/discharge switches”)], and
wherein the battery storage system is configured to select, over multiple periods of time, different combinations of strings plurality of strings of battery modules for the string connected state while the remaining strings unchosen for such different combinations are in the string open state [fig. 3; pars. 18-20 & 38-40; strings can remain connected until their respective batteries are all fully charged/discharged/bypassed, at which point they enter the open state (pars. 38-40)], such that:
during discharging of the battery storage system, at least one of the strings with a higher power state of their battery modules have longer times in a connected state than at least one of the strings with a lower power state of their battery modules [par. 13, 18-20 & 38-40; a battery 30 which is nearly discharged or fully discharged will be bypassed soon or immediately and thus remain connected for less time than a battery with a higher power state; thus a string with batteries that are nearly or fully discharged will be bypassed immediately or soon, while a string with batteries which fully charged will remain connected longer], and/or
(ii) during charging of the battery storage system, at least one of the strings with a lower power state of their battery modules have longer times in a connected state than at least one of the strings with a higher power state of their battery modules [interpreted as an alternative limitation and thus not addressed].
Regarding claim 3, Tien discloses the failsafe battery storage system according to claim 1, configured for a DC voltage output and/or input [figs. 1-3; series stacks of batteries connected to bus bars, without converters, thus a DC system].
Regarding claim 6, Tien discloses comprising a load and/or a power source connected between the first battery system connector and the second battery system connector [fig. 9, load; par. 41; par. 16 “load bus bar (61)”].
Regarding claim 7, Tien discloses wherein the battery storage system is configured to set a failed battery module to the bypass state [par. 13 & 59] and/or a failed string to the open state
Regarding claim 8, Tien discloses wherein the battery storage system is configured to revert a failed battery module and/or a failed string back to normal operation after a failure of such battery module and/or string no more exists [pars. 71 & 90; after repair or replacement the battery string 50 and its modules can be reconnected to normal operation].
Regarding claim 9, Tien discloses wherein a power state of a battery module includes at least one of a state of charge, a maximum current capacity, a voltage, a temperature, a state of health, and a combination thereof [pars. 13 & 38-39; at least storage amount, health and voltage].
Regarding claim 10, Tien does not explicitly disclose wherein a battery module is considered to be a failed battery module if power delivering capabilities and/or charging capabilities of such battery module either fall below the average capabilities of other modules in the same string by a predetermined amount or fall below a predetermined threshold, and/or if such battery module has a higher temperature or a lower state of health than other battery modules in the same string.
However, Admitted Prior Art discloses that a battery has failed if its capabilities lag the capabilities of comparable batteries by a significant amount. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tien to further include wherein a battery module is considered to be a failed battery module if power delivering capabilities and/or charging capabilities of such battery module either fall below the average capabilities of other modules in the same string by a predetermined amount or fall below a predetermined threshold, and/or if such battery module has a higher temperature or a lower state of health than other battery modules in the same string for the purpose of recognizing and mitigating a failed battery, as taught by Tien (par. 37).
NB: Examiner took Official Notice with respect to the above limitation of claim 10 in the Non-Final Rejection mailed May 12, 2026. Applicant did not traverse or did not adequately traverse. Thus, the limitation is being treated as taught by admitted prior art. See MPEP 2144.03.
Regarding claim 11, Tien discloses wherein at least one battery module includes at least one additional switch and wherein switches of the at least one battery module are configured for at least one of (i) parallel switching of battery cells [fig. 2; two parallel switches 43 and 44; par. 11 & 35] or battery modules and (ii) polarity reversal of the battery cells.
Regarding claim 12, Tien discloses the failsafe battery storage system according to claim 2 [see rejection of claim 2 above].
Tien does not explicitly disclose the system is configured to adapt voltage of the remaining strings to a value of the output voltage of a string that is unable to maintain a nominal output voltage due to at least one failed battery module of such first string.
However, Admitted Prior Art discloses adapting voltage of other strings to a particular voltage before connecting strings in parallel. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tien to further include adapting voltage of the remaining strings to a value of the output voltage of a string that is unable to maintain a nominal output voltage due to at least one failed battery module of such first string for the purpose of preventing in-rush current, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) which was ready for improvement in order to yield results predictable by one of ordinary skill the art. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
NB: Examiner took Official Notice with respect to the above limitation of claim 12 in the Non-Final Rejection mailed May 12, 2026. Applicant did not traverse or did not adequately traverse. Thus, the limitation is being treated as taught by admitted prior art. See MPEP 2144.03.
Regarding claim 14, Tien discloses a method for operating a failsafe battery storage system that includes at least one string of battery modules wherein at least two battery modules are connected in series within each of the at least one string of battery modules [fig. 3], the method comprising a step of:
- selecting within the at least one string, over multiple periods of time, different combinations of battery modules for a connected state with batteries of such selected battery modules being connected in series, while remaining battery modules of the at least one spring are in a bypass state with disconnected batteries [par. 13 & 38-41; a battery 30 which is nearly discharged or fully discharged will be bypassed soon or immediately and thus remain connected for less time than a battery with a higher power state; some batteries can be bypassed while others remain connected, thus at different times, different combinations of batteries are connected, depending on the individual states].
Tien does not explicitly disclose that the battery storage system is configured to deliver an AC voltage by approximating a sinusoidal or any other waveform by switching varying numbers of battery modules into a connected state.
However, Graovac discloses a battery system with a plurality of modules that is configured to deliver an AC voltage by approximating a sinusoidal or any other waveform by switching varying numbers of battery modules into a connected state [figs. 1 & 5-6; battery modules (fig. 1, b1-bn) of c1-cn, deliver an AC voltage (fig. 6) by approximating a sine wave by switching on various converters (and their battery modules; pars. 28, 34, 42-44, 47 & 49-50].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify wherein the battery storage system is configured to deliver an AC voltage by approximating a sinusoidal or any other waveform by switching varying numbers of battery modules into a connected state for the purpose of providing an AC voltage without a DC/AC inverter, as taught by Graovac (pars. 3-5, 42, 45, 47 & 49).
Regarding claim 15, Tien discloses a method for operating a failsafe battery storage system that includes a plurality of strings of battery modules, wherein strings of the plurality of strings are connected in parallel and at least two of the battery modules are connected in series within each string [figs. 2-3; par. 13, 18-20 & 38-40; a plurality of strings 50 with plurality of modules 40], the method comprising the steps of:
- selecting within each string of the plurality of strings, over multiple periods of time, different combinations of battery modules for a connected state with batteries of the battery modules being connected in series while remaining battery modules are in a bypass state with disconnected batteries [par. 13 & 39-40; some batteries can be bypassed while others remain connected, thus at different times, different combinations of batteries are connected, depending on the individual states], and
- selecting, over multiple periods of time, different combinations of strings of the plurality of spring for a connected state with strings in such different combinations being connected in parallel while remaining strings are disconnected in an open state [fig. 3; pars. 18-20 & 38-40; strings can remain connected until their respective batteries are all fully charged/discharged/bypassed, at which point they enter the open state (pars. 38-40); in a normal state when charge/discharge is finished both the bypass switches and the charge/discharge switches (series switch) will be opened].
Tien does not explicitly disclose that the method is configured to deliver an AC voltage by approximating a sinusoidal or any other waveform by switching varying numbers of battery modules into a connected state.
However, Graovac discloses a battery system with a plurality of modules that is configured to deliver an AC voltage by approximating a sinusoidal or any other waveform by switching varying numbers of battery modules into a connected state [figs. 1 & 5-6; battery modules (fig. 1, b1-bn) of c1-cn, deliver an AC voltage (fig. 6) by approximating a sine wave by switching on various converters (and their battery modules; pars. 28, 34, 42-44, 47 & 49-50].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify wherein the battery storage system is configured to deliver an AC voltage by approximating a sinusoidal or any other waveform by switching varying numbers of battery modules into a connected state for the purpose of providing an AC voltage without a DC/AC inverter, as taught by Graovac (pars. 3-5, 42, 45, 47 & 49).
Claims 4-5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tien et al. US PGPUB 2009/0066291 in view of Graovac et al. US PGPUB 2011/0198936, and further in view of Despesse US PGPUB 2014/0015488.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Tien and Graovac does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one string of the plurality of strings includes an inductor connected in series with the battery modules of the at least one string.
However, Despesse discloses a series-parallel battery management system wherein at least one string of the plurality of strings includes an inductor connected in series with the battery modules of the at least one string [par. 173, an inductance placed in series between a battery and source].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Tien and Graovac to further include wherein at least one string of the plurality of strings includes an inductor connected in series with the battery modules of the at least one string for the purpose of smoothing the current, as taught by Despesse (par. 173).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Tien and Graovac does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one string of the plurality of strings includes a diode connected parallel to the string such that it is not conductive with a normal output voltage of the string.
However, Despesse discloses a series-parallel battery management system wherein at least one string of the plurality of strings includes an inductor connected in series with the battery modules of the at least one string [pars. 65-66; antiparallel 26 is connected in parallel with the right-mode string (when switches 23 and 24 are closed) and are not conductive during normal output voltage (reverse biased)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Tien and Graovac to further include wherein at least one string of the plurality of strings includes a diode connected parallel to the string such that it is not conductive with a normal output voltage of the string for the purpose of protecting against reverse current, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) which was ready for improvement in order to yield results predictable by one of ordinary skill the art. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 13, Tien discloses a failsafe battery storage system including a failsafe battery storage system according to claim 1 [see claim 1].
The combination of Tien and Graovac does not explicitly disclose a three-phase failsafe battery storage system including two failsafe battery storage systems or wherein between a first phase connector and a second phase connector, a first failsafe battery storage system is connected between a first phase connector and a second phase connector, and wherein a second failsafe battery storage system is connected between the second phase connector and a third phase connector.
However, Despesse discloses a series-parallel battery management system wherein a three-phase failsafe battery storage system including two failsafe battery storage systems [fig. 40; par. 224; a three-phase system which two battery storage systems 22 and 22’] and wherein between a first phase connector and a second phase connector, a first failsafe battery storage system is connected between a first phase connector and a second phase connector [fig. 40; the first system is connected between the first phase connector (lower side of switch 88) and second phase connector (upper side of 87)], and wherein a second failsafe battery storage system is connected between the second phase connector and a third phase connector [fig. 40; the second system is connected between the first phase connector (lower side of switch 88) and second phase connector (upper side of 87)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tien to further include wherein a three-phase failsafe battery storage system including two failsafe battery storage systems or wherein between a first phase connector and a second phase connector, a first failsafe battery storage system is connected between a first phase connector and a second phase connector, and wherein a second failsafe battery storage system is connected between the second phase connector and a third phase connector for the purpose of providing power to a three-phase power to a motor, as taught by Despesse (par. 238-240).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID V HENZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859