DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11 and 17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/14/2025.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 08/09/2023 are acceptable.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the matching mechanism protrusion” should read “the latching mechanism protrusion”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to Claim 13, the claim is rendered unclear because of the phrase “wherein the geometric profile is substantially D-shaped”. It is not clear if the geometric profile refers to the geometric profile of the latching mechanism receiving cutaway, the latching mechanism receiving recess, the latching mechanism protrusion, or the latching mechanism receiving cutaway. For the purpose of examination, “wherein the geometric profile is substantially D-shaped” is interpreted as “wherein the geometric profile of the latching mechanism receiving cutaway is substantially D-shaped”.
With respect to Claim 19, the claim is rendered unclear because of the phrase “wherein the shape is substantially D-shaped”. It is not clear if the shape refers to the geometric profile of the latching mechanism receiving cutaway or the latching mechanism receiving recess. For the purpose of examination, “wherein the shape is substantially D-shaped” is interpreted as “wherein the shape of the latching mechanism receiving cutaway is substantially D-shaped”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 12-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (US20110279771A1, of record in the IDS dated 02/12/2025).
(Examiner’s note: Chen discloses part numbers for only the left side of the eyeglass; however, the device is symmetrical and all left side parts have corresponding right side parts. Examiner cites left side elements for all left and right elements for this reason.)
With respect to Claim 1, Chen discloses an eyewear (Fig. 2—eyeglass; [0021]) comprising:
a frame (Fig. 2-- element 1, eyeglass frame; [0021]) comprising:
a bridge portion (See annotated Fig. 2-- bridge portion) defining a left lens protrusion receiving recess (Fig. 2-- element 112, insertion slot; [0019]) and a right lens protrusion receiving recess (Fig. 2-- right side element 112, insertion slot; [0019]);
a brow portion (See annotated Fig. 2-- brow portion) that extends bilaterally from the bridge portion (See annotated Fig. 2-- bridge portion);
a left lens loop support portion (Fig. 2-- element 111, inner retaining piece; [0019]) disposed adjacent a left end of the brow portion (See annotated Fig. 2-- brow portion), the left lens loop support portion (Fig. 2-- element 111, inner retaining piece; [0019]) defining a left latching mechanism receiving recess (See annotated Fig. 2-- left latching mechanism receiving recess); and
a right lens loop (Fig. 2-- element 41, locking notch; [0020]) support portion (Fig. 2-- right side element 111, inner retaining piece; [0019]) disposed adjacent a right end of the brow portion (See annotated Fig. 2-- brow portion), the right lens loop (Fig. 2-- element 41, locking notch; [0020]) support portion (Fig. 2-- right side element 111, inner retaining piece; [0019]) defining a right latching mechanism receiving recess (See annotated Fig. 2-- left latching mechanism receiving recess);
a left lens assembly latching mechanism (Fig. 2-- element 2, fastener ; [0021]) rotatably coupled (Fig. 2—element 2 is connected to the brow portion via lug element 51) to the brow portion (See annotated Fig. 2-- brow portion) adjacent the left end of the brow portion (See annotated Fig. 2-- brow portion), the left lens assembly latching mechanism (Fig. 2-- element 2, fastener ; [0021]) comprising a left latching mechanism protrusion (Fig. 2-- element 21, hook ; [0020]) having a first profile that corresponds to a profile of the left latching mechanism receiving recess (See annotated Fig. 2-- left latching mechanism receiving recess) (Fig. 3—element 21 is in contact with the left latching mechanism receiving recess);
a right lens assembly latching mechanism (Fig. 2-- right side element 2, fastener ; [0021]) rotatably coupled (Fig. 2—element 2 is connected to the brow portion via lug element 51) to the brow portion (See annotated Fig. 2-- brow portion) adjacent the left end of the brow portion (See annotated Fig. 2-- brow portion), the right lens assembly latching mechanism (Fig. 2-- right side element 2, fastener ; [0021]) comprising a right latching mechanism protrusion (Fig. 2-- element 21, hook ; [0020]) having a second profile that corresponds to a profile of the right latching mechanism receiving recess (See annotated Fig. 2-- left latching mechanism receiving recess) (Fig. 3—element 21 is in contact with the left latching mechanism receiving recess);
a left lens assembly (See Annotated Fig. 2-- left lens assembly) comprising:
a left inner eyewear frame engaging protrusion (See annotated Fig. 2-- left inner eyewear frame engaging protrusion) that extends inward from an upper portion of the left lens assembly (See Annotated Fig. 2-- left lens assembly); and
a left lens loop (Fig. 2-- element 41, locking notch; [0020]) that extends outward from an upper portion of the left lens assembly (See Annotated Fig. 2-- left lens assembly), the left lens loop (Fig. 2-- element 41, locking notch; [0020]) defining a left latching mechanism receiving cutaway ([0020]: element 21 is received by element 41) having the first profile; and
a right lens assembly (See Annotated Fig. 2-- left lens assembly) comprising:
a right inner eyewear frame engaging protrusion (See annotated Fig. 2-- left inner eyewear frame engaging protrusion) that extends inward from an upper portion of the right lens assembly (See Annotated Fig. 2-- left lens assembly); and
a right lens loop (Fig. 2-- element 41, locking notch; [0020]) that extends outward from an upper portion of the right lens assembly (See Annotated Fig. 2-- left lens assembly), the right lens loop (Fig. 2-- element 41, locking notch; [0020]) defining a right latching mechanism receiving cutaway ([0020]: element 21 is received by element 41) having the second profile, wherein:
the left lens protrusion receiving recess (Fig. 2-- element 112, insertion slot; [0019]) is configured to receive (Fig. 2—element 112 receives the left inner eyewear frame engaging protrusion) the left inner eyewear frame engaging protrusion (See annotated Fig. 2-- left inner eyewear frame engaging protrusion);
the right lens protrusion receiving recess (Fig. 2-- right side element 112, insertion slot; [0019]) is configured to receive (Fig. 2—element 112 receives the left inner eyewear frame engaging protrusion) the right inner eyewear frame engaging protrusion (See annotated Fig. 2-- left inner eyewear frame engaging protrusion);
the left lens assembly latching mechanism (Fig. 2-- element 2, fastener ; [0021]) is configured to rotate between an unlatched position and a latched position ([0020]: element 2 pivots to latch and unlatch) in which the left latching mechanism protrusion (Fig. 2-- element 21, hook ; [0020]) extends through the left latching mechanism receiving cutaway ([0020]: element 21 is received by element 41) and is at least partially received by the left latching mechanism receiving recess (See annotated Fig. 2-- left latching mechanism receiving recess) such that the left lens assembly latching mechanism (Fig. 2-- element 2, fastener ; [0021]) is configured to maintain the left lens assembly (See Annotated Fig. 2-- left lens assembly) adjacent the brow portion (See annotated Fig. 2-- brow portion) when the left lens inner eyewear frame engaging protrusion (See annotated Fig. 2-- left inner eyewear frame engaging protrusion) is disposed in the left lens protrusion receiving recess (Fig. 2-- element 112, insertion slot; [0019]) and the left lens assembly latching mechanism (Fig. 2-- element 2, fastener ; [0021]) is in the latched position (See Figs. 2 and 3); and
the right lens assembly latching mechanism (Fig. 2-- right side element 2, fastener ; [0021]) is configured to rotate between an unlatched position and a latched position ([0020]: element 2 pivots to latch and unlatch) in which the right latching mechanism protrusion (Fig. 2-- element 21, hook ; [0020]) extends through the right latching mechanism receiving cutaway ([0020]: element 21 is received by element 41) and is at least partially received by the right latching mechanism receiving recess (See annotated Fig. 2-- left latching mechanism receiving recess) such that the right lens assembly latching mechanism (Fig. 2-- right side element 2, fastener ; [0021]) is configured to maintain the right lens assembly (See Annotated Fig. 2-- left lens assembly) adjacent the brow portion (See annotated Fig. 2-- brow portion) when the right lens inner eyewear frame engaging protrusion (See annotated Fig. 2-- left inner eyewear frame engaging protrusion) is disposed in the right lens protrusion receiving recess (Fig. 2-- right side element 112, insertion slot; [0019]) and the right lens assembly latching mechanism (Fig. 2-- right side element 2, fastener ; [0021]) is in the latched position (See Figs. 2 and 3).
With respect to Claim 2, Chen discloses the eyewear of Claim 1, and further discloses wherein:
the left lens loop support portion (Fig. 2-- element 111, inner retaining piece; [0019]) defines a lower face (See annotated excerpt of Fig. 2-- Lower face; protrusion below the notch in element 111) and an upper face (See annotated excerpt of Fig. 2-- upper face; protrusion above the notch in element 111) adjacent the left latching mechanism receiving recess (See annotated Fig. 2-- left latching mechanism receiving recess);
the left lens loop (Fig. 2-- element 41, locking notch; [0020]) comprises an upper loop portion (See annotated Fig. 2-- upper loop portion) and a lower loop portion (See annotated Fig. 2-- lower loop portion); and
the left lens assembly latching mechanism (Fig. 2-- element 2, fastener; [0021]) defines an upper lens loop engaging portion (See annotated Fig. 2-- upper lens loop engaging portion; on lens facing side of element 2) and a lower lens loop engaging portion (See annotated Fig. 2-- lower lens loop engaging portion; on lens facing side of element 2) adjacent the left latching mechanism protrusion (Fig. 2-- element 21, hook; [0020]), wherein:
the upper loop portion (See annotated Fig. 2-- upper loop portion) is sandwiched between the upper face (See annotated excerpt of Fig. 2-- upper face; protrusion above the notch in element 111) and the upper lens loop engaging portion (See annotated Fig. 2-- upper lens loop engaging portion; on lens facing side of element 2) when the left lens assembly latching mechanism (Fig. 2-- element 2, fastener ; [0021]) is in the latched position (Fig. 2 and 3—when element 2 is in the latched position, the upper loop portion is sandwiched between the upper face and the upper lens loop engaging portion); and
the lower loop portion (See annotated Fig. 2-- lower loop portion) is sandwiched between the lower face (See annotated excerpt of Fig. 2-- Lower face; protrusion below the notch in element 111) and the lower lens loop engaging portion (See annotated Fig. 2-- lower lens loop engaging portion; on lens facing side of element 2) when the left lens assembly latching mechanism (Fig. 2-- element 2, fastener ; [0021]) is in the latched position (Fig. 2 and 3—when element 2 is in the latched position, the lower loop portion is sandwiched between the lower face and the lower lens loop engaging portion).
With respect to Claim 3, Chen discloses the eyewear of Claim 1, and further discloses wherein the left lens protrusion receiving recess (Fig. 2-- element 112, insertion slot; [0019]) and the right lens protrusion receiving recess (Fig. 2-- right side element 112, insertion slot; [0019]) are disposed on opposing portions of the bridge portion (See annotated Fig. 2-- bridge portion) (Fig. 2—the left and right lens protrusion receiving recesses are on opposite sides of the eyewear frame).
With respect to Claim 4, Chen discloses the eyewear of Claim 1, and further discloses wherein:
the right latching mechanism protrusion (Fig. 2-- element 21, hook ; [0020]) extends a first distance (Fig. 2-- element 21 protrudes outwardly from element 2) from a body of the right lens assembly latching mechanism (Fig. 2-- right side element 2, fastener ; [0021]);
the right lens loop (Fig. 2-- element 41, locking notch; [0020]) has a second thickness (Fig. 2—element 41 has a thickness); and
the first distance is greater than the second thickness (Fig. 2—element 21 extends through and past element 41).
With respect to Claim 5, Chen discloses the eyewear of Claim 4, and further discloses wherein:
the right latching mechanism receiving recess (See annotated Fig. 2-- left latching mechanism receiving recess) has a third depth (See annotated Fig. 3—third depth); and
the first distance is a distance that substantially corresponds to a combined distance of the second thickness and the third depth (Fig. 3—element 21 extends the length of the thickness of elements 41 and 111).
With respect to Claim 6, Chen discloses the eyewear of Claim 1, and further discloses wherein:
the left lens assembly (See Annotated Fig. 2-- left lens assembly) comprises an upper frame engaging protrusion (See annotated Fig. 2-- upper frame engaging protrusion) disposed along at least a portion of an upper edge of the left lens assembly (Fig. 2—the upper frame engaging protrusion is along the upper edge of element 4);
the frame (Fig. 2-- element 1, eyeglass frame; [0021]) defines an upper frame protrusion receiving recess (Fig. 2-- portion of element 1 which receives the upper edge of element 4) along the brow portion (See annotated Fig. 2-- brow portion) that corresponds to the upper frame engaging protrusion (See annotated Fig. 2-- upper frame engaging protrusion); and
the upper frame protrusion receiving recess (Fig. 2-- portion of element 1 which receives the upper edge of element 4) is configured to receive and support the upper frame engaging protrusion (See annotated Fig. 2-- upper frame engaging protrusion) when the left lens inner eyewear frame engaging protrusion (See annotated Fig. 2-- left inner eyewear frame engaging protrusion) is disposed in the left lens protrusion receiving recess (Fig. 2-- element 112, insertion slot; [0019]) and the left lens assembly latching mechanism (Fig. 2-- element 2, fastener ; [0021]) is in the latched position (Fig. 2—element 4 is received and supported by the upper frame protrusion receiving recess when element 2 is in the latched position).
With respect to Claim 7, Chen discloses the eyewear of Claim 1, and further discloses wherein:
the left lens assembly (See Annotated Fig. 2-- left lens assembly) is configured to support a first lens (Fig. 2-- element 4, lens; [0019]); and the right lens assembly (See Annotated Fig. 2-- left lens assembly) is configured to support a second lens (Fig. 2-- element 4, lens; [0019]).
With respect to Claim 8, Chen discloses an eyewear assembly (Fig. 2—eyeglass; [0021]) comprising:
an eyewear frame (Fig. 2-- element 1, eyeglass frame; [0021]) comprising a left temple portion (See Annotated Fig. 2-- left temple portion) and a right temple portion (See Annotated Fig. 2-- left temple portion), the eyewear frame (Fig. 2-- element 1, eyeglass frame; [0021]) comprising an outer lens loop support portion (See Annotated Excerpt of Fig. 2--outer lens loop support portion; vertical surface of element 111 which contacts the outer loop) adjacent the left temple portion (See Annotated Fig. 2-- left temple portion), the outer lens loop support portion (See Annotated Excerpt of Fig. 2--outer lens loop support portion; vertical surface of element 111 which contacts the outer loop) defining a latching mechanism receiving recess (See annotated Fig. 2-- left latching mechanism receiving recess);
a lens assembly (See Annotated Fig. 2-- left lens assembly) comprising a lens (Fig. 2—element 4, lens [0019]) and an outer lens loop (Fig. 2-- element 41, locking notch; [0020]) defining a latching mechanism receiving cutaway ([0020]: element 21 is received by element 41), the latching mechanism receiving cutaway ([0020]: element 21 is received by element 41) having a geometric profile that at least partially corresponds to a geometric profile (Fig. 2 and 3—element 21 is received by the left latching mechanism receiving recess) of the latching mechanism receiving recess (See annotated Fig. 2-- left latching mechanism receiving recess); and
a lens assembly latching mechanism (Fig. 2-- right side element 2, fastener; [0021]) rotatably coupled (Fig. 2—element 2 is connected to the brow portion via lug element 51) to the eyewear frame (Fig. 2-- element 1, eyeglass frame; [0021]) adjacent the left temple portion (See Annotated Fig. 2-- left temple portion), the lens assembly latching mechanism (Fig. 2-- right side element 2, fastener; [0021]) comprising:
a latching mechanism body (Fig. 2-- element 2, fastener; [0021]); and
a latching mechanism protrusion (Fig. 2-- element 21, hook ; [0020]) that extends from the latching mechanism body (Fig. 2-- element 2, fastener ; [0021]), the matching mechanism protrusion (Fig. 2-- element 21, hook ; [0020]) having a geometric profile ([0020]: element 21 is received by element 41) that at least partially corresponds to the geometric profile of the latching mechanism receiving cutaway ([0020]: element 21 is received by element 41), wherein:
the lens assembly latching mechanism (Fig. 2-- right side element 2, fastener; [0021]) is configured to rotate between an unlatched position and a latched position ([0020]: element 2 pivots to latch and unlatch) in which:
the latching mechanism protrusion (Fig. 2-- element 21, hook; [0020]) extends through the latching mechanism receiving cutaway ([0020]: element 21 is received by element 41) into the latching mechanism receiving recess (See annotated Fig. 2-- left latching mechanism receiving recess);
the outer lens loop support portion (See Annotated Excerpt of Fig. 2--outer lens loop support portion; vertical surface of element 111 which contacts the outer loop) engages the outer lens loop (Fig. 2-- element 41, locking notch; [0020]); and
the latching mechanism protrusion (Fig. 2-- element 21, hook ; [0020]) engages the latching mechanism receiving cutaway ([0020]: element 21 is received by element 41) and at least a portion of the latching mechanism receiving recess (See annotated Fig. 2-- left latching mechanism receiving recess) such that the lens assembly latching mechanism (Fig. 2-- right side element 2, fastener ; [0021]) maintains the outer lens loop (Fig. 2-- element 41, locking notch; [0020]) against the outer lens loop support portion (See Annotated Excerpt of Fig. 2--outer lens loop support portion; vertical surface of element 111 which contacts the outer loop) (See Figs. 2 and 3).
With respect to Claim 9, Chen discloses the eyewear of Claim 8, and further discloses wherein:
the lens assembly (See Annotated Fig. 2-- left lens assembly) comprises an eyewear frame engaging protrusion (See annotated Fig. 2-- left inner eyewear frame engaging protrusion) that extends from the lens assembly (See Annotated Fig. 2-- left lens assembly);
the eyewear frame (Fig. 2-- element 1, eyeglass frame; [0021]) defines a lens protrusion receiving recess (Fig. 2-- element 112, insertion slot; [0019]) that corresponds to the eyewear frame engaging protrusion (See annotated Fig. 2-- left inner eyewear frame engaging protrusion) and is configured to receive the eyewear frame engaging protrusion (See annotated Fig. 2-- left inner eyewear frame engaging protrusion); and
the eyewear frame (Fig. 2-- element 1, eyeglass frame; [0021]) is configured to receive the eyewear frame engaging protrusion (See annotated Fig. 2-- left inner eyewear frame engaging protrusion) in the lens protrusion receiving recess (Fig. 2-- element 112, insertion slot; [0019]) when the lens assembly latching mechanism (Fig. 2-- right side element 2, fastener ; [0021]) is in the latched position and supporting the lens assembly (See Annotated Fig. 2-- left lens assembly) adjacent the eyewear frame (Fig. 2-- element 1, eyeglass frame; [0021]) (See Figs. 2 and 3).
With respect to Claim 10, Chen discloses the eyewear of Claim 9, and further discloses wherein:
the lens assembly (See Annotated Fig. 2-- left lens assembly) comprises a lens frame portion (See Annotated Fig. 2-- portion of element 1 inside left lens assembly box);
the lens frame portion (See Annotated Fig. 2-- portion of element 1 inside left lens assembly box) is configured to support a lens (Fig. 2—element 4, lens [0019]) within the lens frame portion (See Annotated Fig. 2-- portion of element 1 inside left lens assembly box);
the eyewear frame engaging protrusion (See annotated Fig. 2-- left inner eyewear frame engaging protrusion) extends from the lens frame portion (See Annotated Fig. 2-- portion of element 1 inside left lens assembly box); and
the outer lens loop (Fig. 2-- element 41, locking notch; [0020]) extends from the lens frame portion (See Annotated Fig. 2-- portion of element 1 inside left lens assembly box) on an opposing portion (Fig. 2—the outer lens loop extends from the lens frame portion on the opposite side from the eyewear frame engaging protrusion) of the lens frame portion (See Annotated Fig. 2-- portion of element 1 inside left lens assembly box) from the eyewear frame engaging protrusion (See annotated Fig. 2-- left inner eyewear frame engaging protrusion).
With respect to Claim 12, Chen discloses the eyewear of Claim 8, and further discloses wherein:
the outer lens loop support portion (See Annotated Excerpt of Fig. 2--outer lens loop support portion; vertical surface of element 111 which contacts the outer loop) defines a first lens loop support surface (See annotated excerpt of Fig. 2-- upper and lower faces) around at least a portion of the latching mechanism receiving recess (See annotated Fig. 2-- left latching mechanism receiving recess);
the latching mechanism body (Fig. 2-- element 2, fastener; [0021]) defines a second lens loop support surface (See annotated excerpt of Fig. 2-- upper and lower faces) around at least a portion of the latching mechanism protrusion (Fig. 2-- element 21, hook; [0020]); and
the second lens loop support surface (See annotated excerpt of Fig. 2-- upper and lower faces) sandwiches the outer lens loop against the first lens loop support surface (See annotated excerpt of Fig. 2-- upper and lower faces) when the lens assembly latching mechanism (Fig. 2-- right side element 2, fastener ; [0021]) is in the latched position (Fig. 2 and 3—when element 2 is in the latched position, the lower loop portion is sandwiched between the lower face and the lower lens loop engaging portion).
With respect to Claim 13, Chen discloses the eyewear of Claim 8, and further discloses wherein the geometric profile is substantially D-shaped ([0020]: element 21 is received by element 41 via a D-shaped notch in element 111).
With respect to Claim 14, Chen discloses the eyewear of Claim 8, and further discloses wherein:
the latching mechanism protrusion (Fig. 2-- element 21, hook; [0020]) extends a first distance (Fig. 2-- element 21 protrudes outwardly from element 2) from the latching mechanism body (Fig. 2-- element 2, fastener; [0021]);
the outer lens loop (Fig. 2-- element 41, locking notch; [0020]) has a second thickness (Fig. 2— the area around element 41 has a thickness); and
the first distance is greater than the second thickness (Fig. 2—element 21 extends through and past element 41).
With respect to Claim 15, Chen discloses the eyewear of Claim 14, and further discloses wherein:
the latching mechanism receiving recess (See annotated Fig. 2-- left latching mechanism receiving recess) has a third depth (See annotated Fig. 3—third depth); and
the first distance is a distance that substantially corresponds to a combined distance of the second thickness and third depth (Fig. 3—element 21 extends the length of the thickness of elements 41 and 111).
With respect to Claim 16, Chen discloses the eyewear of Claim 8, and further discloses wherein the lens assembly latching mechanism (Fig. 2-- right side element 2, fastener ; [0021]) is configured to couple the lens assembly (See Annotated Fig. 2-- left lens assembly) to and decouple the lens assembly (See Annotated Fig. 2-- left lens assembly) from the eyewear frame (Fig. 2-- element 1, eyeglass frame; [0021]) via transition of the lens assembly latching mechanism (Fig. 2-- right side element 2, fastener ; [0021]) between the unlatched and latched positions (Fig. 3 and 4—unlatching element 2 allows element 4 to be removed from element 1).
With respect to Claim 18, Chen discloses an eyewear with exchangeable lens assembly (Fig. 2—eyeglass; [0021]) comprising:
an eyewear frame (Fig. 2-- element 1, eyeglass frame; [0021]) comprising:
a bridge (See annotated Fig. 2-- bridge portion) defining an inner lens protrusion receiving recess (Fig. 2-- element 112, insertion slot; [0019]);
a left brow portion (See annotated Fig. 2-- brow portion) and a right brow portion (See annotated Fig. 2-- brow portion) that extend from the bridge (See annotated Fig. 2-- bridge portion);
and an outer lens loop support portion (See Annotated Excerpt of Fig. 2--outer lens loop support portion; vertical surface of element 111 which contacts the outer loop) that extends downward (See Annotated Excerpt of Fig. 2--outer lens loop support portion extends downwards from the brow portion) from an end portion of the left brow portion (See annotated Fig. 2-- brow portion), the outer lens loop support portion (See Annotated Excerpt of Fig. 2--outer lens loop support portion; vertical surface of element 111 which contacts the outer loop) defining a latching mechanism receiving recess (See annotated Fig. 2-- left latching mechanism receiving recess) on a surface of the outer lens loop support portion (See Annotated Excerpt of Fig. 2--outer lens loop support portion; vertical surface of element 111 which contacts the outer loop);
a left lens assembly (See Annotated Fig. 2-- left lens assembly) comprising:
an inner eyewear frame engaging protrusion (See annotated Fig. 2-- left inner eyewear frame engaging protrusion) that extends from an upper right portion of the left lens assembly (See Annotated Fig. 2-- left lens assembly) by a first distance that corresponds to a depth of the inner lens protrusion receiving recess; and
an outer lens loop (Fig. 2-- element 41, locking notch; [0020]) that extends from an upper right portion of the left lens assembly (See Annotated Fig. 2-- left lens assembly) and is formed by a lens loop lower portion (See Annotated Fig. 2—lower loop portion), a lens loop outer portion (See Annotated Fig. 2—outer lens loop),
and a lens loop upper portion (See Annotated Fig. 2—upper loop portion) that define a latching mechanism receiving cutaway (See annotated Fig. 2-- left latching mechanism receiving recess),
the latching mechanism receiving cutaway ([0020]: element 21 is received by element 41) having a shape that at least partially corresponds to a shape of the latching mechanism receiving recess (See annotated Fig. 2-- left latching mechanism receiving recess) (Fig. 2—element 41 is similarly shaped to the left latching mechanism receiving recess); and
a lens assembly latching mechanism (Fig. 2-- element 2, fastener; [0021]) rotatably coupled (Fig. 2—element 2 is connected to the brow portion via lug element 51) to the end portion of the left brow portion (See annotated Fig. 2-- brow portion) comprising:
a latching mechanism body (Fig. 2-- element 2, fastener; [0021]); and
a latching mechanism protrusion (Fig. 2-- element 21, hook ; [0020]) extending from the latching mechanism body (Fig. 2-- element 2, fastener ; [0021]) at least a second distance that is greater than a thickness (Fig. 2—element 21 extends through and past element 41) of the outer lens loop (Fig. 2-- element 41, locking notch; [0020]), the latching mechanism protrusion (Fig. 2-- element 21, hook ; [0020]) having the shape, wherein:
the inner lens protrusion receiving recess (Fig. 2-- element 112, insertion slot; [0019]) is configured to receive the inner eyewear frame engaging protrusion (See annotated Fig. 2-- left inner eyewear frame engaging protrusion); and
the lens assembly latching mechanism (Fig. 2-- right side element 2, fastener ; [0021]) is configured to rotate ([0020]: element 2 pivots to latch and unlatch) such that the latching mechanism protrusion (Fig. 2-- element 21, hook ; [0020]) extends through the latching mechanism receiving cutaway ([0020]: element 21 is received by element 41) at least partially into the latching mechanism receiving recess (See annotated Fig. 2-- left latching mechanism receiving recess) when the inner eyewear frame engaging protrusion (See annotated Fig. 2-- left inner eyewear frame engaging protrusion) is disposed in the inner lens protrusion receiving recess (Fig. 2-- element 112, insertion slot; [0019]) (Fig. 2 and 3—element 21 is received by the left latching mechanism receiving recess).
With respect to Claim 19, Chen discloses the eyewear of Claim 18, and further discloses wherein the shape is substantially D-shaped ([0020]: element 21 is received by element 41 via a D-shaped notch in element 111).
With respect to Claim 20, Chen discloses the eyewear of Claim 19, and further discloses wherein n:
the lens assembly latching mechanism (Fig. 2-- right side element 2, fastener ; [0021]) comprises a hinge portion (Fig. 2—element 22, lug; [0021]) that extends from the latching mechanism body (Fig. 2-- element 2, fastener ; [0021]) and is spaced apart from the latching mechanism receiving recess (See annotated Fig. 2-- left latching mechanism receiving recess) by a third distance (Fig. 2—element 22 is spaced apart from the left latching mechanism receiving recess by a distance that is defined at least in part by the width of the outer lens loop) that corresponds to a width of the lens loop outer portion (See Annotated Fig. 2—outer lens loop);
the hinge portion (Fig. 2—element 22, lug; [0021]) is configured to integrate with a hinge (Fig. 2—element 51, lug; [0021]) of the eyewear (Fig. 2—eyeglass; [0021]); and
the latching mechanism protrusion (Fig. 2-- element 21, hook ; [0020]) and the hinge portion (Fig. 2—element 22, lug; [0021]) engage opposing portions (Fig. 2—element 21 engages the side of the lens loop outer portion which is closest to the bridge and element 22 is on the opposing side of the lens loop outer portion) of the lens loop outer portion (See Annotated Fig. 2—outer lens loop) when the lens assembly latching mechanism (Fig. 2-- right side element 2, fastener ; [0021]) is positioned such that the latching mechanism protrusion (Fig. 2-- element 21, hook ; [0020]) extends through the latching mechanism receiving cutaway ([0020]: element 21 is received by element 41) at least partially into the latching mechanism receiving recess (See annotated Fig. 2-- left latching mechanism receiving recess) and the inner eyewear frame engaging protrusion (See annotated Fig. 2-- left inner eyewear frame engaging protrusion) is disposed in the inner lens protrusion receiving recess (Fig. 2-- element 112, insertion slot; [0019]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Reyes (US 20120038879 A1) discloses aspects of the instant invention, see Fig. 1 and [0054]-[0057].
Sheldon (US 20100214528 A1) discloses aspects of the instant invention, see Fig. 5B and [0030].
Calilung (US 20130141689 A1) discloses aspects of the instant invention, see Fig. 2 and [0035]-[0038].
Shinya (JP 6198153 B2) discloses aspects of the instant invention, see Fig. 4 and [0024]-[0028].
/MACKENZI WADDELL/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872