DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment received on 07/06/2026:
Claims 1-6 are pending in the current application. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 2-5 stand withdrawn
The previous prior art-based rejection have been withdrawn in light of the amendments to the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot due to the amendment to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kemmer et al (US 20230231159 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kemmer discloses a fuel cell system comprising:
a fuel cell (fuel cell stack 190 in Figs. 1-2; see entire disclosure and especially P49-50);
a supercharger configured to increase a pressure of intake air of the fuel cell by rotating a turbine with an exhaust of the fuel cell (second compressor 150 is mechanically coupled to turbine 155 in Figs. 1-2; discharged cathode gas flow is passed to turbine 155 to operate the turbine; see entire disclosure and especially P49, 55); and
a heat pump apparatus configured to absorb heat from a predetermined heat source to increase a temperature of the exhaust supplied to the turbine, wherein the heat pump apparatus comprises: a fifth heat exchanger configured to absorb heat from a refrigerant of a heat exchange system (the refrigerant of a heat exchange system is the coolant of the cooling circuit being pumped by coolant pump 165; the fourth heat exchanger 140 dissipates heat from the coolant to lower the temperature of the coolant, therefore, heat is absorbed from the coolant; see entire disclosure and especially P57, 61, 63 and Figs. 1-2); a sixth heat exchanger configured to cause the refrigerant to absorb heat (the first heat exchanger 110 absorbs heat from the compressed cathode gas flow and couples the heat to the coolant; see entire disclosure and especially P51); and a second heat exchanger configured to cause the exhaust to absorb heat (third heat exchanger 130 increases the temperature of the discharged cathode gas flow for effective operation of the turbine 155; see entire disclosure and especially P55).
Regarding the limitation “a heat exchange system for cooling refrigeration equipment of a refrigerated vehicle”:
The limitation “for cooling refrigeration equipment of a refrigerated vehicle” is an intended-use of the heat exchange system.
Kemmer teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus of claim 1. The Courts have held that a statement of intended use in an apparatus claim fails to distinguish over a prior art apparatus. See In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962). The Courts have held that the manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (BPAI 1987). The Courts have held that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art in terms of structure, not function. See In re Danley, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959); and Hewlett-Packard Co. V. Bausch and Lomb, Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (see MPEP §§ 2114 and 2173.05(g)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kemmer et al (US 20230231159 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Kemmer discloses their system is for supplying a mobile platform with electrical energy, and that the mobile platform can be an at least partially automated vehicle or vehicle having a driver assistance program (see entire disclosure and especially P35-36).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have equipped the fuel cell system of Kemmer onto an at least partially automated vehicle or vehicle having a driver assistance program, given Kemmer discloses their system can be used for supplying an at least partially automated vehicle or vehicle having a driver assistance program with electrical energy.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.G.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729