Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-6, 8, 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chou et al. (US Pat 5,755,484).
Regarding claim 1, Chou et al. disclose a rigidity-improved vehicle panel door comprising: an external panel 30 positioned in the door of a vehicle toward an outside of the vehicle (see Figure 1; Col. 2, lines 42-52); an internal panel 32 positioned in the door 12 of the vehicle toward an interior of the vehicle, wherein an external edge portion of the internal panel is joined to the external panel (see Figure 1; Col. 2, lines 42-52); and a structure 14 including a plurality of support members 16, 18 and a plurality of reinforcement members 22, 24, wherein the plurality of support members 16, 18 are disposed in a longitudinal direction of the vehicle and coupled to the plurality of reinforcement members 22, 24 to form a shape of a quadrangle (see Figure 2; Col. 2, lines 31-41; Col. 2, line 64-Col. 3, line 13), the plurality of reinforcement members 22, 24 being provided on a front end portion of the door and a rear end portion of the door (see Figure 1; Col. 2, lines 53-63), wherein the support members 16, 18 include a stabilizer 16 and an impact beam 18 that are disposed in a height direction of the vehicle in the door to be spaced from each other, wherein the stabilizer 16 and the impact beam 18 are disposed to be parallel with each other (see Figure 2), wherein the rigidity-improved vehicle panel door further includes a connection member 20 connecting the stabilizer 16 and the impact beam 18 to each other, and wherein the connection member 20 is installed at a section where the stabilizer 16 and the impact beam 18 are disposed to be parallel with each other (see Figures 2-3; Col. 3, lines 14-57), wherein a seating groove on which an end portion of the support members 16, 18 is accommodated is formed in each of the plurality of reinforcement members 22, 24 (see Figure 2; Col. 3, lines 8-13), and wherein the seating groove is formed to open in a direction perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the stabilizer 16 and the impact beam 18 (see Figure 2; Col. 3, lines 8-13). The seating groove is open the direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction of the impact beam and stabilizer to enable the impact beam and stabilizer to be positioned in the seating groove when assembled (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 5, Chou et al. disclose the rigidity-improved vehicle panel door of claim 1, wherein the plurality of reinforcement members 22, 24 are provided on the front end portion 34 of the door and on the rear end portion 35 of the door, to form a shape of a quadrangle together with the external panel 30 and the internal panel 32 (see Figures 1 and 5-7; Col. 2, lines 42-63).
Regarding claim 6, Chou et al. disclose the rigidity-improved vehicle panel door of claim 1, wherein the plurality of reinforcement members 22, 24 are coupled to the internal panel 32 (see Figure 1; Col. 2, lines 58-63).
Regarding claim 8, as understood, Chou et al. disclose the rigidity-improved vehicle panel door of claim 1, wherein the stabilizer 16 and the impact beam 18 are formed so that lengths thereof correspond to a length of the door (see Figures 1-2; Col. 2, lines 53-63).
Regarding claim 12, Chou et al. disclose the rigidity-improved vehicle panel door of claim 1, wherein an upper end portion 40 and a lower end portion 42 of the connection member 20 are formed to surround outsides of the stabilizer 16 and the impact beam 18, respectively (see Figures 2-3 and 5-7; Col. 3, lines 19-30).
Regarding claim 15, Chou et al. disclose a vehicle 10 including the rigidity-improved vehicle panel door of claim 1 (see Figure 1; Col. 2, lines 31-41).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou et al. in view of Djavairian et al. (US Pat 5,325,632).
Regarding claims 13, Chou et al. disclose the rigidity-improved vehicle panel door of claim 1.
Chou et al. fail to disclose one of the external panel and the internal panel is made of plastic material, and another thereof is made of metal material.
Djavairian et al. disclose a vehicle door 10 having an inner panel 12 and an outer panel 14 (see Figure 1; Col. 2, lines 58-64). The outer panel 14 is made of a plastic material and the inner panel 12 is made of steel, a metal (see Col. 2, lines 58-64). The door structure reduces the overall weight of the door and increases fuel efficiency (see Col. 2, lines 5-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the external panel of Chou et al. from plastic material and the internal panel of metal material, with a reasonable expectation of success, to reduce the weight of the door structure and increase fuel efficiency, as taught by Djavarian et al..
Regarding claim 14, Chou et al., as modified by Djavairian et al., disclose the rigidity-improved vehicle panel door of claim 13, wherein the external panel is made of plastic material, and the internal panel is made of metal material (see claim 13 above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 9, 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 19 was previously indicated as allowable. Claims 3 and 16 now contain all of the subject matter of cancelled claim 19. The previously presented reasons for allowance are provided below for clarity of the record.
Claim 3 recites a rigidity-improved vehicle panel door comprising: an external panel positioned in the door of a vehicle toward an outside of the vehicle; an internal panel positioned in the door of the vehicle toward an interior of the vehicle, wherein an external edge portion of the internal panel is joined to the external panel; and a structure including a plurality of support members and a plurality of reinforcement members, wherein the plurality of support members are disposed in a longitudinal direction of the vehicle and coupled to the plurality of reinforcement members to form a shape of a quadrangle, the plurality of reinforcement members being provided on a front end portion of the door and a rear end portion of the door, wherein the support members include a stabilizer and an impact beam that are disposed in a height direction of the vehicle in the door to be spaced from each other, wherein the stabilizer and the impact beam are disposed to be parallel with each other, wherein the rigidity-improved vehicle panel door further includes a connection member connecting the stabilizer and the impact beam to each other, and wherein the connection member is installed at a section where the stabilizer and the impact beam are disposed to be parallel with each other, wherein a seating groove on which an end portion of the plurality of support members is accommodated is formed in each of the plurality of reinforcement members, and wherein the seating groove is formed to be open in a direction perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the stabilizer and the impact beam. The plurality of reinforcement members include: a hinge upper reinforcer to which an upper hinge connecting the door to a body of the vehicle is fastened and to which a front end portion of the stabilizer is coupled; a hinge reinforcer which is positioned on a lower portion of the hinge upper reinforcer, to which a lower hinge connecting the door to the body of the vehicle is fastened under the upper hinge, and to which a front end portion of the impact beam is coupled; a latch reinforcer on which a latch is provided in the rear end portion of the door and to which a rear end portion of the stabilizer is coupled; and a latch lower reinforcer to which a rear end portion of the impact beam is coupled under the latch reinforcer. Chou et al. disclose a vehicle having a door with an external panel, an internal panel, a structure having a plurality of reinforcement members and a plurality of support members, a connection member, and a seating groove formed in the reinforcement members to accommodate the support members; however, Chou et al. fail to disclose a hinge upper reinforcer, a hinge reinforcer, a latch reinforcer and a latch lower reinforcer. Valentage et al. (US PG Pub 2007/0222256) disclose a vehicle door having an external panel, an internal panel, a structure having a plurality of reinforcement members and a plurality of support members, a connection member, a hinge upper reinforcer, a hinge reinforcer, a latch reinforcer, and a latch lower reinforcer; however, Valentage et al. fail to disclose a seating groove formed in the reinforcement members to accommodate the support members. Armbruster et al. (US Pat 7,156,448) disclose a vehicle having a vehicle door having an external panel, an internal panel, a structure having a plurality of reinforcement members and a plurality of support members, a connection member, a hinge upper reinforcer, a hinge reinforcer, a latch reinforcer, and a latch lower reinforcer; however, Armbruster et al. fail to disclose a seating groove or that the stabilizer and the impact beam are disposed parallel with each other. Ando (US PG Pub 2018/0264919) discloses a vehicle door having an external panel, an internal panel, a structure having a plurality of reinforcement members and a plurality of support members, and a seating groove formed in the reinforcement members to accommodate the support members; however, Ando fails to disclose the impact beam and the stabilizer are disposed parallel with each other and form a quadrangle with the plurality of reinforcement members. Omori et al. (US PG Pub 2005/0001448) disclose a vehicle door having an external panel, an internal panel, a structure having a plurality of reinforcement members and a plurality of support members, a hinge upper reinforcer, a hinge reinforcer, and a latch reinforcer; however, Omori et al. fail to disclose a latch lower reinforcer, a connection member, or that the stabilizer and the impact beam are disposed parallel with each other. Patel et al. (US Pat 11,052,733) disclose a vehicle door having an external panel, an internal panel, a structure having a plurality of reinforcement members and a plurality of support members, a connection member, a hinge upper reinforcer, a hinge reinforcer, and a latch reinforcer; however, Patel et al. fail to disclose a latch lower reinforcer or a connection member. The prior art does not properly teach or suggest the recited configuration, making claim 3 allowable.
Claims 4 and 9 would be allowable because they are dependent on claim 3.
Claim 16 recites a vehicle including a rigidity-improved vehicle panel door comprising: an external panel positioned in the door of a vehicle toward an outside of the vehicle; an internal panel positioned in the door of the vehicle toward an interior of the vehicle, wherein an external edge portion of the internal panel is joined to the external panel; and a structure including a plurality of support members and a plurality of reinforcement members, wherein the plurality of support members are disposed in a longitudinal direction of the vehicle and coupled to the plurality of reinforcement members to form a shape of a quadrangle, the plurality of reinforcement members being provided on a front end portion of the door and a rear end portion of the door, wherein the support members include a stabilizer and an impact beam that are disposed in a height direction of the vehicle in the door to be spaced from each other, wherein the stabilizer and the impact beam are disposed to be parallel with each other, wherein the rigidity-improved vehicle panel door further includes a connection member connecting the stabilizer and the impact beam to each other, and wherein the connection member is installed at a section where the stabilizer and the impact beam are disposed to be parallel with each other, wherein a seating groove on which an end portion of the plurality of support members is accommodated is formed in each of the plurality of reinforcement members, and wherein the seating groove is formed to be open in a direction perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the stabilizer and the impact beam. The plurality of reinforcement members include: a hinge upper reinforcer to which an upper hinge connecting the door to a body of the vehicle is fastened and to which a front end portion of the stabilizer is coupled; a hinge reinforcer which is positioned on a lower portion of the hinge upper reinforcer, to which a lower hinge connecting the door to the body of the vehicle is fastened under the upper hinge, and to which a front end portion of the impact beam is coupled; a latch reinforcer on which a latch is provided in the rear end portion of the door and to which a rear end portion of the stabilizer is coupled; and a latch lower reinforcer to which a rear end portion of the impact beam is coupled under the latch reinforcer. Chou et al. disclose a vehicle having a door with an external panel, an internal panel, a structure having a plurality of reinforcement members and a plurality of support members, a connection member, and a seating groove formed in the reinforcement members to accommodate the support members; however, Chou et al. fail to disclose a hinge upper reinforcer, a hinge reinforcer, a latch reinforcer and a latch lower reinforcer. Valentage et al. (US PG Pub 2007/0222256) disclose a vehicle door having an external panel, an internal panel, a structure having a plurality of reinforcement members and a plurality of support members, a connection member, a hinge upper reinforcer, a hinge reinforcer, a latch reinforcer, and a latch lower reinforcer; however, Valentage et al. fail to disclose a seating groove formed in the reinforcement members to accommodate the support members. Armbruster et al. (US Pat 7,156,448) disclose a vehicle having a vehicle door having an external panel, an internal panel, a structure having a plurality of reinforcement members and a plurality of support members, a connection member, a hinge upper reinforcer, a hinge reinforcer, a latch reinforcer, and a latch lower reinforcer; however, Armbruster et al. fail to disclose a seating groove or that the stabilizer and the impact beam are disposed parallel with each other. Ando (US PG Pub 2018/0264919) discloses a vehicle door having an external panel, an internal panel, a structure having a plurality of reinforcement members and a plurality of support members, and a seating groove formed in the reinforcement members to accommodate the support members; however, Ando fails to disclose the impact beam and the stabilizer are disposed parallel with each other and form a quadrangle with the plurality of reinforcement members. Omori et al. (US PG Pub 2005/0001448) disclose a vehicle door having an external panel, an internal panel, a structure having a plurality of reinforcement members and a plurality of support members, a hinge upper reinforcer, a hinge reinforcer, and a latch reinforcer; however, Omori et al. fail to disclose a latch lower reinforcer, a connection member, or that the stabilizer and the impact beam are disposed parallel with each other. Patel et al. (US Pat 11,052,733) disclose a vehicle door having an external panel, an internal panel, a structure having a plurality of reinforcement members and a plurality of support members, a connection member, a hinge upper reinforcer, a hinge reinforcer, and a latch reinforcer; however, Patel et al. fail to disclose a latch lower reinforcer or a connection member. The prior art does not properly teach or suggest the recited configuration, making claim 16 allowable.
Claims 17-18 would be allowable because they are dependent on claim 16.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 4, 2026 have been fully considered.
The rejection under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Valentage et al. (US PG Pub 2007/0222256) in view of Chou et al. has been withdrawn because Valentage et al. fail to disclose a seating groove. Chou et al. does disclose a seating groove and the seating groove is open at an inner portion of the seating groove in a longitudinal direction of the impact beam and the stabilizer to enable the impact beam and the stabilizer to be positioned in the seating groove. Claim 19 was indicated as allowable because of the combination of the seating groove and the limitations of claim 16, as demonstrated by the allowable subject matter outlined above. While Examiner understands the features that distinguish the invention from the prior art, the limitations of claim 1 do not overcome Chou et al. as written.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Skorka et al. (US Pat 12,459,338) disclose a vehicle door having an external panel, an internal panel, a plurality of support members and a plurality of reinforcement members. Getzschman et al. (US PG Pub 2019/0061490) disclose a side door having a plurality of support members, a plurality of reinforcement members, and an external panel. Glaumot (US Pat 9,623,729) discloses a vehicle door having an external panel, an internal panel, a plurality of support members, and a plurality of reinforcement members. Schijve et al. (US Pat 9,010,839) disclose a door having an internal panel, an external panel, a plurality of reinforcement members, and a plurality of support members. Nakamori (US Pat 8,109,558) discloses a door having an external panel, an internal panel, and a plurality of support members with a connection member. Drysdale et al. (US Pat 6,302,474) disclose a vehicle door having an external panel, an internal panel, a plurality of support members, a plurality of reinforcement members, and a connection member. Choi (US Pat 6,039,387) discloses a vehicle door having an external panel, an internal panel, a plurality of support members, a plurality of reinforcement members, and a connection member.
/VERONICA M CONDO/Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612