DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed on 6/5/2026.
Claim(s) 1-10 , are now pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2022/014599 to Arai et al. in view of US2020/0247947 to Chen et al. For the purposes of examination, citations for Arai are taken from the US equivalent document US20230287222.
Regarding Claims 1-4, 6 Arai teaches a composition [title] wherein example 8 comprises bifunctional polyphenylene ether oligomer (OPE-2St) [table 2] that is the same commercially available material as instant application [instant specification, 0040] thereby reading on the vinyl group-containing polyphenylene ether resin limitations of claims 1 and 4; and O-4 [table 2, example 8] that is a terpolymer comprising 43 mass% ethylene, 53 mass% styrene, and the remaining 4 mass% of the terpolymer is divinylbenzene [table 1] thereby reading on the divinylbenzene-styrene-ethylene terpolymer of claims 1 and 6; and a curing agent [Table 2, Example 7].
Arai does not particularly teach the polyphenylene ether resin in an amount of 100 parts, relative to the divinylbenzene-styrene-ethylene terpolymer. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select 200 parts by mass as taught by Arai [0069], as the amount of the component (b) (i.e., polyphenylene ether resin in example 8) as the addition polyphenylene ether resin in this range improves the mechanical properties of the cured product obtained from the varnish [0069].
Arai does not particularly teach the amount of curing agent of 5 to 15 parts by weight in the specified embodiment. However, Arai teaches the amount of curing agent used is not particularly limited, and in general preferably up to 10 parts by mass. However, [w]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05) Before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to optimize amount of curing agent so that the varnish is adequately cured. A prima facie case of obviousness may be rebutted, however, where the results of the optimizing variable, which is known to be result-effective, are unexpectedly good. In re Boesch and Slaney, 617 F.2d 272, 205, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (MPEP 2144.05(II)).
As such, Arai teaches a composition comprising 200 parts polyphenylene ether, 100 parts terpolymer, and up to 10 parts curing agent, therefore reducing to 100 parts polyphenylene ether resin, 50 parts terpolymer, and 5 parts curing agent, therefore reasonably reading on the amounts of each component set forth in claim 1. Though the prior art range is not identical to the claimed range (100 parts, 20-60 parts, and 5-15 parts respectively), it does overlap. It has been held that, where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPG 90 (CCPA 1976) (MPEP 2144.05)
Arai is silent regarding the curing agent is a compound represented by formula (1).
However, Chen teaches peroxide initiators as suitable examples of curing agents as well as carbon based radical curing agents [Chen, 0073] such as 2,3,-dimethyl-2,3,-diphenylbutane [0075] (i.e., Formula (2) as set forth in instant claim 3) thereby reading on Formula (1), methylene, and Formula (2) of claims 1-3. Arai and Chen are analogous art as they are from the same field of endeavor, namely compositions comprising polyphenylene resins suitable for circuit boards. Before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute 2,3-dimethyl-2,3-diphenylbutane for the peroxide initiators used in Arai. The motivation would have been that it is obvious to substitute equivalents known for the same purpose. (MPEP 2144.06) Chen discloses that both peroxide radicals and carbon-based radicals such as 2,3-dimethyl-2,3-diphenylbutane are suitable curing agents for use in polyphenylene ether compositions, thus providing evidence of obviousness in substituting one for the other in such compositions.
Regarding Claim(s) 5, Arai teaches the resin composition of claim 1, wherein the copolymerized oligomer O-4 has a Mn of 10400 [table 1].
Regarding Claim(s) 7, Arai teaches the resin composition of claim 1, further comprising a polyolefin such as ethylene-octene hydrocarbon based elastomer [0070].
Regarding Claim(s) 8, Arai teaches the resin composition of claim 1, further comprising an inorganic filler [0092].
Regarding Claim(s) 9, Arai teaches the resin composition of claim 1, that is used as a semiconductor device or lamination [0099].
Regarding Claim(s) 10, Arai does not teach the specified testing measurements of claim 10. However, Arai, when modified in the manner proposed above, teaches a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties - i.e. a copper foil peeling strength of a copper-containing laminate as measured by reference to IPC-TM-650 2.4.8 of greater than 2.90 lb/in; a water absorption rate as measured by reference to IPC-TM-650 2.6.2.1a of less than or equal to 0.030%; a dissipation factor at 10 GHz and room temperature as measured by reference to JIS C2565 of less than or equal to 0.00120; and/or a dissipation factor at 10 GHz and room temperature after the article is heated at 125°C for 200 hours as measured by reference to JIS C2565 of less than or equal to 0.00300- would implicitly be achieved in a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. See In Re Spada, 911, F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties in a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/5/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states that comparative example CE8 may serve as a substitute for the disclosure of Arai and compares to inventive example E4 of the present application, that comparative example CE1 may serve as a substitute for the disclosure of Chen and compares to inventive example E1 of the present application, and that comparative example CE7 may serve as a substitute for the disclosure of Chen and compares to inventive example E4 of the present application. Applicant further states all of Examples El to E8 of the present application simultaneously achieve the effects of DF2 ≤ 0.00300 and P/S ≥ 2.8 lb/in, whereas none of Comparative Examples CE1 to CE8 achieve such unexpected results.
In response, it is noted that the evidence provided “must compare the claimed subject matter with the closest prior art to be effective to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness”. In re Burckel, 592 F.2d 1175, 201 USPQ 67 (CCPA 1979) (MPEP 716.02(e)). Comparative examples 1 and 7 of instant specification do not comprise the divinylbenzene-styrene-ethylene terpolymer, wherein Arai expressly teaches a polyphenylene ether resin and divinylbenzene-styrene-ethylene terpolymer. Therefore applicant’s comparative examples do not correspond to the closest prior art and are not effective to rebut the prima facie case.
Whether the unexpected results are the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the "objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support." In other words, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range. In re Clemens, 622 F.2d 1029, 1036, 206 USPQ 289, 296 (CCPA 1980) (MPEP 716.02(d)) The remaining examples (including comparative example 8 as mentioned above) are not commensurate in scope with the instant claims. For example, the examples test only the compound of formula (2) using only the amount of 12 parts by weight per 100 parts by weight of the vinyl group-containing polyphenylene ether resin. This does not provide sufficient evidence to conclude that any amount in the claimed range of 5-15 parts by weight per 100 parts by weight of the vinyl group-containing polyphenylene ether resin of any species of compound represented by Formula 2, as instantly claimed, will necessarily achieve the alleged unexpected results.
With respect to applicant’s argument regarding significant technical difficulty, these arguments are not found persuasive, as the discussion does not clearly link the observed significant technical difficulties to the claimed subject matter, prior art, and/or rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103.
For these reasons, Applicant's arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEVIN MITCHELL DARLING/Examiner, Art Unit 1764
/MELISSA A RIOJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764