DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
2. This Non-Final Office Action is in response to Applicant’s RCE filing on 3/25/2026. Claims 5-10 are currently pending, with claims 1-4 cancelled from consideration. Accordingly, claims 5-10 are examined below. The earliest effective filing date of the present application is 7/5/2023.
3. The present application is being examined under the AIA first to file provisions.
March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Specification
4. Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As to claim 9, the disclosure is silent on “the pick and reserve locations control movement of pallets within a warehouse.” The disclosure does not indicate how the pick and reserve locations are controlling movement (actual control of movement).
Claim 10 recites “scanning a barcode corresponding to a part number to perform transfers, receipts, or purchase orders.” The disclosure does not provide for the “scanning” of barcodes (a scanner is not disclosed), only the encoding. Further, claim 10 recites “restoring supply by moving pallets to support the loading level.” However, the disclosure at most discloses “restoring supply to meet loading level requirements based on the ordered additional parts,” which does not include the movement on pallets.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
8. Claims 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1 – Statutory Categories
As indicated in the preamble of the claim, the examiner finds the claim is directed to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. Claim 10 are processes (methods) and claims 5-9 are machines (systems or devices or apparatus).
Step 2A – Prong 1: was there a Judicial Exception Recited
Claims 5 and 9-10 recites the following abstract concepts that are found to include “abstract idea”:
Claim 5. A warehouse inventory replenishment system comprising:
a kanban card including multiple field areas, wherein:
a first field area identifies an internal product line associated with a part;
a second field area identifies a supplier associated with the part;
a third field area identifies a material type for the part;
a fourth field area indicates a lot size based on lead time, part dimensions, rack clearance, and demand;
a fifth field area identifies a number of kanban cards supporting loading levels;
a sixth field area indicates a lead time for purchase orders;
a seventh field area indicates a pallet type;
an eighth field area defines warehouse locations as pick and reserve;
a ninth field area provides a barcode corresponding to a part number; and
a tenth field area displays a color coded loading level;
wherein:
the barcode allows transfers, receipts, and purchase orders to be made;
the pick location is used by associates to pull parts and the reserve location stores pallets to fill the pick location when empty;
the color coded loading level represents a loading level supported by part pallets;
the color coded loading level provides a visual trigger indicating that the loading level is inadequate;
and wherein:
the visual trigger causes reporting of a shortage of parts;
the reporting causes ordering of additional parts; and
the ordering results in restoring supply to support the loading level.
Claim 9. (New) A kanban card for warehouse inventory replenishment, comprising:
multiple field areas printed on the kanban card, including:
an internal product line field associated with a color of the kanban card;
a supplier field identifying a supplier associated with a part;
a material type field identifying a material type;
a lot size field based on lead time, part dimensions, rack clearance, and demand;
a number of cards field supporting loading levels;
a lead time field providing a due date for purchase orders;
a pallet type field indicating pallet size;
a location field defining pick and reserve locations assigned to the part;
a barcode field corresponding to a part number; and
a color coded loading level field representing a loading level supported by the part;
wherein:
the barcode field enables transfers, receipts, and purchase orders;
the pick and reserve locations control movement of pallets within a warehouse; and
the color coded loading level field provides a visual trigger that initiates replenishment of the part to restore a loading level.
Claim 10 (New) A method for warehouse inventory replenishment, comprising:
placing a kanban card with a part at a pick location in a warehouse;
storing additional parts at a reserve location assigned to the part;
scanning a barcode corresponding to a part number to perform transfers, receipts, or purchase orders1;
observing a color coded loading level displayed on the kanban card;
identifying that the loading level supported by part pallets is inadequate based on the color coded loading level;
reporting a shortage of the part based on the color coded loading level;
ordering additional parts associated with the part; and
restoring supply by moving pallets to support the loading level.
Claims 5 and 9-10 are directed to a series of steps for displaying inventory information on a card, which is a commercial/legal interaction and/or mental processes of observation, evaluation, judgment, and opinion using pen and paper. Thus, grouped as a certain method of organizing human interactions and/or mental processes. Therefore, the claim recites an abstract idea. See MPEP §2106.4(a).
Step 2A – Prong 2: Can the Judicial Exception Recited be integrated into a practical application
Limitations that are indicative of integration into a practical application:
Improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field - see MPEP 2106.05(a)
Applying or using a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition – see Vanda Memo
Applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine - see MPEP 2106.05(b)
Effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing - see MPEP 2106.05(c)
Applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception - see MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo
Limitations that are not indicative of integration into a practical application:
Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)
Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g)
Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP 2106.05(h)
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the kanban card is merely claiming the environment of use (generally linking) and scanning a barcode is merely generically recited computer elements that do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply the abstract idea on a generic computer. Accordingly, alone and in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B – Significantly More Analysis
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when considered separately and in combination the kanban card is merely claiming the environment of use (generally linking) and the scanning of a barcode is amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Thus, claims 5 and 9-10 are not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 6-8 fail to provide additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Claims 6-8 lack additional elements. Therefore, claims 6-8 are rejected for the same reasons as stated in the rejection from independent claim from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
10. Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2012/0165968 to Fontanot et al. (“Fontanot”).
11. With regards to claim 923, Fontanot teaches the limitations of,
multiple field areas printed on the kanban card (See [0010]-[0012] describing the kanban card.), including:
an internal product line field associated with a color of the kanban card;
a supplier field identifying a supplier associated with a part;
a material type field identifying a material type;
a lot size field based on lead time, part dimensions, rack clearance, and demand;
a number of cards field supporting loading levels;
a lead time field providing a due date for purchase orders;
a pallet type field indicating pallet size;
a location field defining pick and reserve locations assigned to the part;
a barcode field corresponding to a part number; and
a color coded loading level field representing a loading level supported by the part (See [0035]-[0036] discussing the RAG color coding.);
wherein:
the barcode field enables transfers, receipts, and purchase orders (See [0029] discussing the kanban card having a barcode.);
the pick and reserve locations control movement of pallets within a warehouse; and
the color coded loading level field provides a visual trigger that initiates replenishment of the part to restore a loading level.
12. With regards to claim 10, Fontanot teaches the limitations of,
placing a kanban card with a part at a pick location in a warehouse(See [0010]-[0012] describing the kanban card.);
storing additional parts at a reserve location assigned to the part (See Fig. 1 and [0009] discussing workstation layout with item goods.);
scanning a barcode corresponding to a part number to perform transfers, receipts, or purchase orders (See [0029] discussing the kanban card having a barcode and barcode scanners of the system.);
observing a color coded loading level displayed on the kanban card (See [0035]-[0036] discussing the RAG color coding.);
identifying that the loading level supported by part pallets is inadequate based on the color coded loading level (See [0035]-[0036] discussing the RAG color coding.);
reporting a shortage of the part based on the color coded loading level (See [0028] discussing the triggering of the replenishment.);
ordering additional parts associated with the part (See [0029] discussing notifies the need of restocking of items when a predefined minimum of stock level is reached at each local buffer.); and
restoring supply by moving pallets to support the loading level (See [0029] discussing notifies the need of restocking of items when a predefined minimum of stock level is reached at each local buffer, [0024] discussing color indicating reordering needed, and [0012] discussing full status after replenishment.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
14. Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatenable by Fontanot in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2009/0105866 to Fontanot (“Font”).
15. With regards to claim 5, Fontanot teaches the limitations of,
a kanban card including multiple field areas (See [0010]-[0012] describing the kanban card.), wherein:
a first field area identifies an internal product line associated with a part;
a second field area identifies a supplier associated with the part;
a third field area identifies a material type for the part;
a fourth field area indicates a lot size based on lead time, part dimensions, rack clearance, and demand;
a fifth field area identifies a number of kanban cards supporting loading levels;
a sixth field area indicates a lead time for purchase orders;
a seventh field area indicates a pallet type;
an eighth field area defines warehouse locations as pick and reserve;
a ninth field area provides a barcode corresponding to a part number; and
a tenth field area displays a color coded loading level;
wherein:
the barcode allows transfers, receipts, and purchase orders to be made (See [0029] discussing the kanban card having a barcode.);
the color coded loading level represents a loading level supported by part pallets (See [0035]-[0036] discussing the RAG color coding.) ;
the color coded loading level provides a visual trigger indicating that the loading level is inadequate (See [0035] discussing color priority levels.);
and wherein:
the visual trigger causes reporting of a shortage of parts;
the reporting causes ordering of additional parts; and
the ordering results in restoring supply to support the loading level.
Fontanot is silent on the limitation of,
the pick location is used by associates to pull parts and the reserve location stores pallets to fill the pick location when empty;
However, Font teaches that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the kanban art to include the pick location is used by associates to pull parts and the reserve location stores pallets to fill the pick location when empty (See [0020] discussing the manugacturer process MP production stages including a receiving terminal, depallet, storing, production, packaging storing, picking palletizing, and terminal.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the kanban art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Fontanot to include the pick location is used by associates to pull parts and the reserve location stores pallets to fill the pick location when empty, as disclosed by Font. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to coordinate production activities (Font [0020]).
16. With regards to claim 6, Fontanot teaches the limitations of,
the reserve location is out of reach and not eligible to be picked from, and
pallets stored in the reserve location are wrapped and stored to fill the pick location when empty.
17. With regards to claim 7, Fontanot teaches the limitations of,
the color coded loading level includes a first color representing a first loading level and a second color representing a lower loading level, and the second color (See [0035]-[0036] discussing the RAG color coding.) triggers reporting of a shortage and ordering of additional parts to restore the first loading level.
18. With regards to claim 8, Fontanot teaches the limitations of,
reporting the shortage includes reporting to an enterprise resource planning analyst, and ordering additional parts is performed based on the reported shortage (See [0029] discussing notifies the need of restocking of items when a predefined minimum of stock level is reached at each local buffer, [0024] discussing color indicating reordering needed, and [0012] discussing full status after replenishment.).
Response to Arguments
19. Applicant's Remarks filed 3/25/2026 did not include any arguments.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Notice of References Cited, PTO form 892.
/MICHAEL JARED WALKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627 Michael.walker@uspto.gov
1 Examiner notes in light of the 112a that if this scanning is performed by a human (observation and evaluation), it would not be considered an additional element but part of the abstract idea.
2 MPEP §2111.05 states “These situations may arise where the claim as a whole is directed towards conveying a message or meaning to a human reader independent of the supporting product.” See Fig. 1 disclosing the data on a kanban card for human reader. Underlined text is viewed as being non-functional printed matter.
3 MPEP §2114 (II) states, “A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987)” The dashed underlined text is viewed as being functional language (intended use). The actions of users based on what the kanban card says or indicates is immaterial to the structure of the kanban card.