DETAILED ACTION
1. This Final Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Arguments filed 9/9/2025. Claims 1-4 are currently pending. The effective filing date of the present application is 7/52023.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to perform the functional limitations of means for associating, assigning, designating, identifying, calculating, determining, indicating, specifying, defining, encoding, displaying, using reporting, ordering, and restoring lack.
7. Claim 2 limitations means for associating, assigning, designating, identifying, calculating, determining, indicating, specifying, defining, encoding, displaying, using reporting, ordering, and restoring invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
9. Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1 – Statutory Categories
As indicated in the preamble of the claim, the examiner finds the claim is directed to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. Claim 1 and 4 are processes (methods), claim 3 is a manufacturing, and claim 2 are machines (systems or devices or apparatus).
Step 2A – Prong 1: was there a Judicial Exception Recited
Claims 1-4 recites the following abstract concepts that are found to include “abstract idea”:
Claim 1: A method for warehouse inventory replenishment, comprising:
providing a kanban card comprising multiple field areas;
associating the kanban card with an internal product line;
assigning a color representative of the internal product line to the kanban card;
designating a supplier for a part associated with the kanban card;
identifying a material type for the part on the kanban card;
calculating a lot size for the part based on lead time, part dimensions, rack clearance, and demand;
determining an appropriate number of kanban cards to support loading levels;
indicating a lead time for purchase orders for the part on the kanban card;
specifying a pallet type for the part on the kanban card;
defining warehouse locations for the part indicated on the kanban card as "pick" and "reserve";
encoding a barcode corresponding to the part number on the kanban card;
displaying a color coded loading level associated with the kanban card;
using the color coded loading level as a visual trigger for inventory shortages;
reporting inventory shortages indicated by the visual trigger to an enterprise resource planning analyst;
ordering additional parts associated with the inventory shortages; and
restoring supply to meet loading level requirements based on the ordered additional parts.
Claim 2: An apparatus for warehouse inventory replenishment, comprising:
a kanban card comprising multiple field areas;
means for associating the kanban card with an internal product line;
means for assigning a color representative of the internal product line to the kanban card;
means for designating a supplier for a part associated with the kanban card;
means for identifying a material type for the part on the kanban card;
means for calculating a lot size for the part based on lead time, part dimensions, rack clearance, and demand;
means for determining an appropriate number of kanban cards to support loading levels;
means for indicating a lead time for purchase orders for the part on the kanban card;
means for specifying a pallet type for the part on the kanban card;
means for defining warehouse locations for the part indicated on the kanban card as "pick" and "reserve";
means for encoding a barcode corresponding to the part number on the kanban card;
means for displaying a color coded loading level associated with the kanban card;
means for using the color coded loading level as a visual trigger for inventory shortages;
means for reporting inventory shortages indicated by the visual trigger to an enterprise resource planning analyst;
means for ordering additional parts associated with the inventory shortages; and means for restoring supply to meet loading level requirements based on the ordered additional parts.
Claim 3: A kanban card for warehouse inventory replenishment, comprising:
a first field area indicating an internal product line associated with the card;
a second field area indicating a supplier for a part associated with the card;
a third field area indicating a material type for the part;
a fourth field area indicating a calculated lot size for the part;
a fifth field area indicating an appropriate number of cards to support loading levels;
a sixth field area indicating a lead time for purchase orders for the part;
a seventh field area indicating a pallet type for the part;
an eighth field area indicating warehouse locations for the part as "pick" and "reserve";
a ninth field area providing a barcode corresponding to the part number;
a tenth field area displaying a color coded loading level associated with the card; and an eleventh field area showing a printed date of the card.
Claim 4: A method for identifying inventory shortages in a warehouse, comprising:
displaying a plurality of kanban cards, each card associated with a warehouse part;
indicating a color coded loading level on each kanban card;
using the color coded loading level as a visual trigger;
identifying a first loading level corresponding to a first color on a kanban card;
identifying a second loading level corresponding to a second color on a kanban card;
recognizing that the second loading level is lower than the first loading level;
reporting a shortage of parts associated with the second loading level to an enterprise resource planning analyst; and
ordering additional parts to restore supply and meet a first loading level requirement.
Claims 1-4 is directed to a series of steps for displaying inventory information on a card, which is a commercial/legal interaction and/or mental process using pen and paper. Thus, grouped as a certain method of organizing human interactions and/or mental processes. Therefore, the claim recites an abstract idea. See MPEP §2106.4(a).
Step 2A – Prong 2: Can the Judicial Exception Recited be integrated into a practical application
Limitations that are indicative of integration into a practical application:
Improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field - see MPEP 2106.05(a)
Applying or using a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition – see Vanda Memo
Applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine - see MPEP 2106.05(b)
Effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing - see MPEP 2106.05(c)
Applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception - see MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo
Limitations that are not indicative of integration into a practical application:
Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)
Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g)
Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP 2106.05(h)
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the kanban is merely claiming the environment of use and the enterprise resource planning analyst is merely generically recited computer elements that do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply the abstract idea on a generic computer. Accordingly, alone and in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B – Significantly More Analysis
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when considered separately and in combination the kanban is merely claiming the environment of use and the enterprise resource planning analyst is amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Thus, claims 1-4 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
11. Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. Pub. 2023/0196281 herein referred to as Visagamani.
12. With regards to claims 11, Visagamani teaches the limitations of,
providing a kanban card comprising multiple field areas (See [0025] describing the kanban card.);
associating the kanban card with an internal product line;
assigning a color representative of the internal product line to the kanban card;
designating a supplier for a part associated with the kanban card;
identifying a material type for the part on the kanban card;
calculating a lot size for the part based on lead time, part dimensions, rack clearance, and demand (See [0027]-[0028] discussing the determining of demand based on factors.);
determining an appropriate number of kanban cards to support loading levels;
indicating a lead time for purchase orders for the part on the kanban card;
specifying a pallet type for the part on the kanban card;
defining warehouse locations for the part indicated on the kanban card as "pick" and "reserve";
encoding a barcode corresponding to the part number on the kanban card;
displaying a color coded loading level associated with the kanban card;
using the color coded loading level as a visual trigger for inventory shortages;
reporting inventory shortages indicated by the visual trigger to an enterprise resource planning analyst (See [0028] discussing the triggering of the replenishment.);
ordering additional parts associated with the inventory shortages (See [claim 1] discussing replenishment request.); and
restoring supply to meet loading level requirements based on the ordered additional parts (See [claim 1] discussing replenishment request.).
12. With regards to claim 2, Visagamani teaches the limitations of,
a kanban card comprising multiple field areas (See [0025] describing the kanban card.);
means for associating the kanban card with an internal product line;
means for assigning a color representative of the internal product line to the kanban card;
means for designating a supplier for a part associated with the kanban card;
means for identifying a material type for the part on the kanban card;
means for calculating a lot size for the part based on lead time, part dimensions, rack clearance, and demand;
means for determining an appropriate number of kanban cards to support loading levels;
means for indicating a lead time for purchase orders for the part on the kanban card;
means for specifying a pallet type for the part on the kanban card;
means for defining warehouse locations for the part indicated on the kanban card as "pick" and "reserve";
means for encoding a barcode corresponding to the part number on the kanban card;
means for displaying a color coded loading level associated with the kanban card;
means for using the color coded loading level as a visual trigger for inventory shortages;
means for reporting inventory shortages indicated by the visual trigger to an enterprise resource planning analyst (See [0028] discussing the triggering of the replenishment.);
means for ordering additional parts associated with the inventory shortages (See [claim 1] discussing replenishment request.); and
means for restoring supply to meet loading level requirements based on the ordered additional parts (See [claim 1] discussing replenishment request.).
Claim 3: A kanban card for warehouse inventory replenishment, comprising:
a first field area indicating an internal product line associated with the card (See [0025] describing the kanban card.);
a second field area indicating a supplier for a part associated with the card;
a third field area indicating a material type for the part;
a fourth field area indicating a calculated lot size for the part;
a fifth field area indicating an appropriate number of cards to support loading levels;
a sixth field area indicating a lead time for purchase orders for the part;
a seventh field area indicating a pallet type for the part;
an eighth field area indicating warehouse locations for the part as "pick" and "reserve";
a ninth field area providing a barcode corresponding to the part number;
a tenth field area displaying a color coded loading level associated with the card; and
an eleventh field area showing a printed date of the card.
Claim 4: A method for identifying inventory shortages in a warehouse, comprising:
displaying a plurality of kanban cards (See [0025] describing the kanban card.), each card associated with a warehouse part;
indicating a color coded loading level on each kanban card;
using the color coded loading level as a visual trigger;
identifying a first loading level corresponding to a first color on a kanban card;
identifying a second loading level corresponding to a second color on a kanban card;
recognizing that the second loading level is lower than the first loading level (See [0028] discussing recognizing inventory is running low.);
reporting a shortage of parts associated with the second loading level to an enterprise resource planning analyst (See [0028] discussing the triggering of the replenishment.); and
ordering additional parts to restore supply and meet a first loading level requirement (See [claim 1] discussing replenishment request.).
Response to Arguments
13. Applicant's arguments filed 8/9/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that there is sufficient structure for the 112a rejections. Examiner disagrees. Specifically stating that “For example, the kanban card's barcode and color-coded field areas provide the disclosed structure that performs the functions of ‘encoding,’ ‘displaying,’ and ‘indicating.’ The ERP system provides the structure for ‘reporting,’ ‘ordering,’ and ‘restoring supply.’” The written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to perform the functional limitations of means for associating, assigning, designating, identifying, calculating, determining, indicating, specifying, defining, encoding, displaying, using reporting, ordering, and restoring lack. Using encoding for example, the kanban card is not structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function, it may be what is encoded on but not the means by which the encoding is happening. Applicant did not complete the argument for 112b as citations are missing.
Applicant argues under 101 that the claims extend beyond abstract concepts, claims are directed towards a technical improvement, and the inventive concept beyond routine computer implementations. Examiner disagrees. Step 2A Prong 1 is directed to was an abstract idea claimed and not evaluation of the additional elements. Step 2A Prong 2 technical improvement is not realized. Applicant claims are improving the abstract idea and not the underlying technology. Color coding is not technical in nature but a way the human mind organizes and adding a barcode to a card is not technical either. The collection of data, analysis of data, and the outputting of data by a computer system is not beyond routine computer implementations.
Applicant argues that Visamani does not disclose three limitations. Examiner disagrees. Applicant has added language for example “closed-loop” to the argument of the claimed language without them being in the claims. Further, Applicant is arguing features determined to be printed matter. Examiner maintains position.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Notice of References Cited, PTO form 892.
/MICHAEL JARED WALKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627 Michael.walker@uspto.gov
1 MPEP §2111.05 states “These situations may arise where the claim as a whole is directed towards conveying a message or meaning to a human reader independent of the supporting product.” See Fig. 1 disclosing the data on a kanban card for human reader. Underlined text is viewed as being non-functional printed matter.