DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. The Applicant has amended the claims to read around the prior art at hand and the newly amended claims will be further examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 7, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0149088 Yan et al.
2. Referring to claim 1, Yan et al. teaches a light-emitting device, comprising a substrate, (Figure 9 #901), wherein a conductive line, (Figure 9 not shown but taught in Paragraph 0061), a control bare die, (Figure 9 #910), a light-emitting bare die, (Figure 9 #902), and a wiring terminal, (Figure 9 #916), are arranged on the substrate, (Figure 9 #901); the conductive line, (Figure 9 not shown but taught in Paragraph 0061), is electrically connected with the control bare die, (Figure 9 #910), and/or the wiring terminal, (Figure 9 #916), and/or the light-emitting bare die, (Figure 9 #902); the control bare die, (Figure 9 #910), is configured to control a switch and/or current of the light-emitting bare die, (Figure 9 #902); and the wiring terminal, (Figure 9 #916), is externally connected with a power supply; and wherein the control bare die is a microcontroller unit (MCU) bare die, (Figure 9 #910), or a decoding bare die, the decoding bare die is configured to receive and decode an external control signal and control the switch and/or current of the light-emitting bare die, (Paragraphs 0058-0061).
3. Referring to claim 6, Yan et al. teaches a light-emitting device according to claim 1, wherein the light-emitting bare die is a monochrome bare die or a polychrome bare die, (Figure 9 #902 & Paragraphs 0057 & 0062).
4. Referring to claim 7, Yan et al. teaches a light-emitting device according to claim 1, wherein the substrate is coated with a transparent medium layer, (Figure 9 not shown but taught in Paragraph 0061), and/or a transparent medium layer containing phosphor powder.
5. Referring to claim 10, Yan et al. teaches a bulb, comprising the light-emitting device according to claim 1, (Paragraphs 0003 & 0085).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0149088 Yan et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0328070 Hussell et al.
6. Referring to claim 5, Yan et al. teaches a light-emitting device according to claim 1, but is silent to wherein the light-emitting bare die is connected in parallel with a zener diode.
Hussell et al. teaches an LED device wherein the light-emitting bare die is connected in parallel with a zener diode, (Paragraph 0049).
The claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Hussell et al. with Yan et al. because the Zener diode connected in Parallel with the LED will add ESD protection to the LED, thereby increasing reliability of the device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0149088 Yan et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0078782 Hsiegh et al.
7. Referring to claim 8, Yan et al. teaches a light-emitting device according to claim 1, but is silent to wherein the conductive line is a silver paste conductive line.
Hsiegh et al. teaches an LED device that has a conductive line connected between the LED and a control module and where the conductive line is a silver paste conductive line or copper, (Paragraph 0041).
The claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Hsiegh et al. with Yan et al. because it is well known in the art that copper and silver paste can be used as the material of a conductive line between an LED and a control module, (control bare die), and also since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
8. Claims 2, 4, and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
9. The prior art teaches the claimed matter in the rejections above, but is silent with respect to the above teachings in combination with the light-emitting device according to claim 1, wherein a length of the substrate is a, a width of the substrate is b, a ≥ 20 mm, b ≤ 5 mm, and a length-width ratio a/b ≥ 5; the light-emitting device according to claim 1, wherein a current limiting resistor is connected in series between the control bare die and the wiring terminal and/or between the control bare die and the light-emitting bare die; and/or the light-emitting device according to claim 1, wherein the substrate is a transparent substrate.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VICTOR A MANDALA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899 8/24/26