DETAILED ACTION
Priorities and Examiner Remarks
This application claims foreign priority to application of REPUBLIC OF KOREA: 10-2023-0089595, filed 07/11/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Mufti et al. (US 20210120104 A1, hereinafter Al-Mufti), in view of KANG et al. (US 20230108782 A1, hereinafter KANG),
Regarding claim 1, Al-Mufti teaches a radio unit management system (RUMS) for controlling an open radio access network (O-RAN) radio unit (O-RU) based on an O-RAN division standard, the RUMS comprising (in general, see fig. 1 and many of its paragraphs, along with fig. 2 and its operational steps):
a fronthaul interface connected to a fronthaul and configured to receive data transmitted and received between O-RAN distributed unit (O-DU) and O-RU (Al-Mufti, see at least fig. 1 and para. 28-31, e.g. fig. 1 shows O-DU 102 connects to Radio(s) 110 via FHG 108 and VSI system 104);
and
a plane information processor configured to classify U-Plane (User Plane) data, C-Plane (Control Plane) data, S-Plane (Synchronization Plane) data, and M-Plane (Management Plane) data among the data received through the fronthaul interface (Al-Mufti, see at least para. 70-74, e.g. the functions of the VSI system 104 that includes plurality of sub-components with uplink path and downlink path, note that para. 65-68 disclose its uplink path),
wherein the plane information processor is configured to process the C-Plane data, the S-Plane data, and the M-Plane data, and not to process the U-Plane data (Al-Mufti, see at least para. 72 along with para. 65, “...Optionally, user, control, synchronization, and management messages may be converted respectively by the DL uVSI 104 e-4, DL cVSI 104 e-1, the DL sVSI 104 e-2, and the DL mVSI 104 e-3. Optionally, no interpreter is required for user plane data...”),
and
wherein the plan information processor is configured to:
collect a list of the O-DU associated with a plurality of operators (Al-Mufti, see at least para. 47 along with para. 77, “...A set of translation libraries from which the at least one translation library is selected may be saved in the VSI system 104...”, note that “...The at least one translation library may proceed by a trial and error approach to find the correct vendor library to use, for example based on a predefined list of vendors,...”, in other words, translation libraries 104h which based on vendors are saved in the VSI system 104),
collect a list of frequency bands settable for the plurality of operators (Al-Mufti, see at least para. 46-47 along with para. 77 and 13, “...The radio characterization system 104 g is configured to automatically determine characteristics of each radio of the radio(s) 110...”, note that “...Radio characteristics include specification(s) with which the radio complies, radio manufacturer,...”, in other words, radios are vender (manufacturer) specific),
and
change a connection setting of one or more of the O-RU based on the list of frequency bands (Al-Mufti, see at least para. 77-81 of fig. 2, for example, at least step 224 to step 226).
Al-Mufti does not specifically teach a plurality of O-RAN distributed units (O-DUs) and a plurality of O-RUs.
KANG teaches a plurality of O-RAN distributed units (O-DUs) and a plurality of O-RUs (see at least para. 61 and 55 of fig. 1B, e.g. DUs and RUs, see also any one of fig. 2, 3, and 5 for additional relevant information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate KANG into the system of Al-Mufti for providing an efficient deployment supporting a multi-radio access technology (RAT).
Regarding claim 2, Al-Mufti in view of KANG teaches the fronthaul interface comprises an optical module for transmitting and receiving the M-Plane data for associating an individual O-RU with each O-DU of a plurality of operators. (KANG, see at least para. 64 of fig. 2 along with fig. 1B and 5B, “...The communication unit 210 may include a wired interface for controlling a direction connection between devices through a transmission medium (for example, a copper line, an optical fiber). ... The communication unit 210 may be connected with a radio unit (RU)...”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate KANG into the system of Al-Mufti for providing an efficient deployment supporting a multi-radio access technology (RAT).
Regarding claim 3, Al-Mufti in view of KANG teaches the plane information processor comprises an M-Plane processor configured to establish a connection between each of the plurality of O-RUs and an O-DU of each of a plurality of operators by using the M-Plane data transmitted and received between the plurality of O-DUs and the plurality of O-RUs. (Al-Mufti, see at least para. 74 in view of para. 66, “...Optionally, the vendor specific mapper 108 a and the vendor specific demapper 108 f are provided by the corresponding radio vendor. Optionally, a vendor specific mapper 108 a and a vendor specific demapper 108 f are implemented in the modified fronthaul gateway 108 that corresponds with type of radio(s) coupled to the modified fronthaul gateway 108. If there are two different types of radios comprising radio(s) 110, then the vendor specific mapper 108 a and the vendor specific demapper 108 f comprises different vendor specific mappers and vendor specific demappers for each type of radio...”; KANG, see at least para. 61 and 55 of fig. 1B, e.g. DUs and RUs)
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate KANG into the system of Al-Mufti for providing an efficient deployment supporting a multi-radio access technology (RAT).
Regarding claim 4, Al-Mufti in view of KANG teaches the M-Plane processor is further configured to collect information related to frequency bands settable for each operator and change settings of each O-RU to be suitable for each operator's frequency band. (Al-Mufti, see at least para. 74 in view of para. 2-4, “...If there are two different types of radios comprising radio(s) 110, then the vendor specific mapper 108 a and the vendor specific demapper 108 f comprises different vendor specific mappers and vendor specific demappers for each type of radio...”, note that “...The O-RAN specifications permit interoperability of RAN components, e.g., O-RAN specification compliant radios (or O-RAN radio units or O-RAN radios) and an O-RAN specification compliant distributed units (or O-RAN distributed units), made by different vendors...”, which comprises at least 4G and 5G in this document)
Regarding claim 5, Al-Mufti in view of KANG teaches the plane information processor comprises an S-Plane processor configured to perform synchronization by using the S-Plane data transmitted and received between the plurality of O-DUs and the plurality of O-RUs. (Al-Mufti, see at least para. 23, “...Synchronization plane data comprises data for synchronization and timing information between nodes (e.g., between a virtual baseband unit and a radio or between a modified fronthaul gateway and either a virtual baseband unit or a radio) of a RAN...”)
Regarding claim 6, Al-Mufti in view of KANG teaches the plane information processor comprises a C-Plane processor configured to perform smart antenna control processing and performance monitoring of each O-RU by using the C-Plane data transmitted and received between the plurality of O-DUs and the plurality of O-RUs. (Al-Mufti, see at least para. 23, “...Control plane data comprises messages used to control how a corresponding radio (receiving the control plane data) processes user plane In-phase and Quadrature-phase data stream in the uplink and downlink paths in real time...”)
Regarding claim 7, Al-Mufti in view of KANG teaches
wherein the O-RU comprises an O-RU digital part and one or more smart antenna modules (Al-Mufti, see at least para. 28, “...the radio(s) (or at least one radio) 110 illustrated in FIG. 1 may comprise one or more UAPs [(UAPs; also known as remote antenna units or remote units)] and/or one or more cellular remote radios...”; KANG, see at least fig. 5B and fig. 3),
the O-RU digital part comprises:
a fronthaul transport layer configured to transmit and receive a signal to and from the plurality of O-DUs (Al-Mufti, see at least fig. 1, for non-limiting example, the FHG 108 and one of more of its connected components; KANG, see at least fig. 5B and fig. 3);
a low physical layer (Low PHY) configured to process a signal according to the O-RAN division standard received through the fronthaul transport layer (Al-Mufti, see at least fig. 1, for non-limiting example, the Low Phy 108e and one of more of its connected components; KANG, see at least fig. 5B and fig. 3);
a digital front end (DFE) configured to perform digital-to-analog conversion on a signal transmitted by the low physical layer (KANG, see at least fig. 5B and fig. 3, for non-limiting example, the DAC);
and
a first radio frequency (RF) interface configured to transmit and receive a signal to and from the one or more smart antenna modules (KANG, see at least fig. 5B and fig. 3, for non-limiting example, the bi-directional RF to antenna);
each of the one or more smart antenna modules comprises:
a second RF interface configured to transmit and receive a signal to and from the O-RU digital part (KANG, see at least fig. 5B and fig. 3, for non-limiting example, the bi-directional RF to RU L-PHY side);
and
a radio frequency front end (RF FE) connected between one or more antennas and the second RF interface and configured to process an RF signal (KANG, see at least fig. 5B and para. 122 of fig. 8, for non-limiting example, the digital front end (DFE)),
and
the first RF interface and the second RF interface are connected to each other by a transmission line (KANG, see at least fig. 5B, for non-limiting example, the bi-directional RF to and from both sides of the RF).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate KANG into the system of Al-Mufti for providing an efficient deployment supporting a multi-radio access technology (RAT).
Regarding claim 8, Al-Mufti in view of KANG teaches a wireless communication interface for transmitting and receiving the M-Plane data to and from the one or more smart antenna modules through wireless communication. (KANG, see at least para. 72-74 of fig. 3 in view of fig. 5B, “...FIG. 3 is a block diagram illustrating an example configuration of a radio unit (RU) in a wireless communication system...” and “...The communication unit 310 may include various communication circuitry and performs functions for transmitting and receiving signals via a wireless channel. For example, the communication unit 310 may up-convert a baseband signal into an RF band signal, and then may transmit the signal via an antenna, and may down-convert an RF band signal received via an antenna into a baseband signal...”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate KANG into the system of Al-Mufti for providing an efficient deployment supporting a multi-radio access technology (RAT).
Regarding claim 9, Al-Mufti in view of KANG teaches a smart antenna manager configured to perform antenna setting and performance monitoring through the one or more smart antenna modules. (Al-Mufti, see at least para. 28, “...Embodiments of the invention may be employed in cellular base stations and/or a digital distributed antenna systems (digital DASs). For example, one or more universal access points (UAPs; also known as remote antenna units or remote units) of a digital DAS may be coupled to a modified fronthaul gateway 108 in lieu of a cellular remote radio, such as a 4G radio. For purposes of clarity, the radio(s) (or at least one radio) 110 illustrated in FIG. 1 may comprise one or more UAPs and/or one or more cellular remote radios...”; KANG, see at least para. 75 of fig. 3 in view of fig. 5B, “...the communication unit 310 may include an antenna unit. The communication unit 310 may include at least one antenna array including a plurality of antenna elements...”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate KANG into the system of Al-Mufti for providing an efficient deployment supporting a multi-radio access technology (RAT).
Regarding claim 10, Al-Mufti in view of KANG teaches wherein the smart antenna manager comprises:
a power amplifier controller for controlling a power amplifier built in an antenna (KANG, see at least para. 74-75, “...the communication unit 310 may up-convert a baseband signal into an RF band signal, and then may transmit the signal via an antenna, and may down-convert an RF band signal received via an antenna into a baseband signal. For example, the communication unit 310 may include a transmission filter, a reception filter, an amplifier,...”, note that “...The communication unit 310 may include at least one antenna array including a plurality of antenna elements...”);
and
a routing controller controlled by a reconfigurable parameter in a field and configured to process connection (routing) between the plurality of O-DUs and the plurality of O-RUs according to operators and frequency bands. (Al-Mufti, see at least para. 74 of fig. 1 in view of para. 77 of fig. 2, “...If there are two different types of radios comprising radio(s) 110, then the vendor specific mapper 108 a and the vendor specific demapper 108 f comprises different vendor specific mappers and vendor specific demappers for each type of radio...”, note that para. 77 of fig. 2 discloses steps 224-225, for example, “... In block 225, generate configuration parameters (e.g., in a Netconf/Yang model or other format) that describe the capabilities of the radio, and transmit such configuration parameters to the virtual baseband unit. The at least one translation library may discover the radio vendor or manufacture identification...”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate KANG into the system of Al-Mufti for providing an efficient deployment supporting a multi-radio access technology (RAT).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/27/2026 have been fully considered. Regarding independent claim 1, since applicant's amendment necessitated new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action, previous Office action's rejections are moot. Accordingly, corresponding dependent claims have also been rejected in this Office action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YEE F LAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465