DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the Applicant’s response to the claim containing amendments and arguments. The amendments are sufficient to overcome the previous 112 rejection and previous cited prior art. However, upon further search and consideration, the newly amended claims were not found to be allowable over the prior art.
A Final Rejection follows.
FINAL REJECTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 8, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wei et al. WO 2004/112958.
Regarding claim 1, Wei teaches a composite catalyst filter comprising:
a) A porous substrate (claim 15, paragraph [6]);
b) Photocatalyst particles (titanium dioxide, [9], [25]) and oxidation catalyst particles (gold, abstract, [6], [22]) on the surface of the substrate ([6], claim 15);
c) The photocatalyst particles and oxidation catalyst particles are in contact with each other since they are both dispersed and coated onto the substrate ([8], [10]) and are in contact with pollutants in the air ([34]).
Regarding claim 3, the substrate allows air to pass through as shown in Figure 2 where the catalyst filter is arranged in the path of the airflow’s inlet and outlet ([18],[19]).
Regarding claim 5, the photocatalyst particle comprises TiO2, and other metal oxides inducing ZnO, CuO, SnO2, ZrO2, WO3, CdS, SrTiO3, or Fe2O3 ([26]).
Regarding claim 8, the photocatalyst particle comprises TiO2, and other metal oxides, thus comprising a blend ([26]). The photocatalyst particles and oxidation catalyst particles are dispersed on the substrate ([20],[22]).
Regarding claim 18, Wei teaches a composite catalyst filter comprising:
a) A porous substrate (claim 15, paragraph [6]);
b) Photocatalyst particles (titanium dioxide, [9], [25]) and oxidation catalyst particles (gold, abstract, [6], [22]) on the surface of the substrate ([6], claim 15);
c) The photocatalyst particles and oxidation catalyst particles are in contact with each other since they are both dispersed and coated onto the substrate ([8], [10]) and are in contact with pollutants in the air ([34]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. WO 2004/112958 in view of Outland US 4,276,071.
Regarding claim 2, the amount of porosity is not explicitly taught to comprise between about 5% to 90%, however this range is considered a result effective variable and determining a wide porosity range of 5% to 90% would be easily conducted by routine experimentation and optimization.
Outland teaches a ceramic monolith filter that has a porosity of at least 10% (column 2 line 65). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use known porosities for the filter because the working range has been proven to be beneficial in contaminant adsorption.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. WO 2004/112958 in view of Ji et al. US Patent 11,701,635.
Regarding claim 6, Wei teaches the oxidation catalyst particles are supported but does not explicitly teach the oxidation catalyst particles are a supported catalyst comprising a support and a transition metal supported on a surface of and partially inside the support, and the supports of the oxidation catalyst particles comprises at least one selected from zeolite, TiO2, SiO2, A1203, graphene, activated carbon, and a metal organic framework ("MOF").
However, Ji teaches that the oxidation (decomposition) material maybe be supported on the surface of the adsorption material or inserted into the framework of the adsorption material (column 6 lines 4-16). The adsorption material may comprise transition metals, porous metal-organic frameworks, TiO2, SiO2, and Al-2O3, (column 4 lines 40-45) as well as graphene, activated carbon and combinations thereof (column 4 line 12). Example 1 further describes the impregnation of Pt and Mn precursors onto activated carbon followed by drying and heat treatment which is recognized in the art as a standard method of forming supported metal catalysts wherein metal species reside both on the external surface and within the internal porous network of the support.
Thus, it is therefore obvious to utilize supported catalyst structures in the composite filter of Wei as modified by Ji.
Regarding claim 7, Ji teaches particle diameters of 1 nm to 500 nm (column 5 line 61), thus overlapping the claimed range of 10 nm to 10 micrometers.
Claim 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. WO 2004/112958.
Wei and Ji do not explicitly teach the ratio of photocatalyst to adsorbent/oxidation is in the range of 2:8 to 8:2. However, this ratio of components is deemed as a result effective variable and it would therefore be within ordinary skill in the art to arrive at this range by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 12, the removal of C1-C6 or nitrogen compounds is considered an intended use of the composite and does not add functional weight to the claim. Wei teaches that the filter is used for the removal of exhaust including carbon monoxide [24]).
Claim 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. WO 2004/112958 in view of Yu CN 109759039.
Regarding claim 10, Yu teaches a layered catalyst structure in Figure 1 comprising the porous carrier substrate 100, photocatalyst layer 300 and metal powder 200. The combination of Wei and Yu modifies Wei’s coating with the adsorbent/decomposition layered materials. Therefore, in light of Wei and Yu, at least two catalyst layers are disposed on the surface wherein one layer comprises the photocatalyst and the other comprises the adsorbent/decomposition layer.
Regarding claim 11, Yu teaches the catalyst layer comprises about 5-30 microns (Example 1), thus overlapping the claimed range of 100 nm to 100 micrometers.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 5-12, and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHARON PREGLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772