DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the actuator as set forth in claims 6, 7, 8, 9, 15 and 19; the first conductor as set forth in claim 5; the second conductor as set forth in claim 5 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an electrical component” in claim 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 14, 15, 18 and 19; “a first wireless communication device” in claim 5; and “a second wireless communication device” in claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kovacic et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2009/0084274).
Regarding Claim 1, Kovacic et al. discloses A food processing apparatus (figure 1, reference #1), comprising:
a body (figure 1, reference #2);
a first connection interface disposed on the body and configured to selectively receive a mixing tool (figure 1, reference #15 and 17);
a drive unit disposed in the body and configured to rotate the mixing tool via the first connection interface (figure 1, reference #3; [0028]);
a second connection interface disposed on the body (figure 1, reference #15, 27 and 30) and configured to selectively receive an attachment having an electrical component (figure 2, reference #18, 31 and 32; [0028]; [0029]; [0032]) (it is noted that the limitation uses the term “configured” which only requires the second connection interface be capable of receiving an attachment, and therefore does not require the structural limitation of the attachment and its subparts (an electrical component) as part of the limitations of the claim), wherein the second connection interface includes an electrical interface (figures 2 and 3, reference #21, 22, 25; [0028]); and
a power circuit configured to supply electrical power to the electrical component via the electrical interface (figure 1, reference #4).
Regarding claim 2, Kovacic et al. discloses control circuity in communication with the drive unit (reference #4 and 5; [0028]); and a communication circuit providing communication between the control circuitry and the electrical component when the attachment couples with the body (figure 1, reference #28; [0028]; [0029]).
Regarding claim 3, Kovacic et al. discloses wherein the communication circuit includes at least one conductor at the electrical interface (figure 1, reference #25; figure 2, reference #21 and 22; [0028]), wherein the control circuitry is configured to electrically communicate data with the electrical component via the at least one conductor (figure 1, reference #4, 5, 25 and 28; figure 2, reference #21 and 22; [0028]).
Regarding claim 4, Kovacic et al. discloses a wireless communication network ([0028]-[0029]) having a first wireless communication device disposed in the body (figure 2, reference #22) and a second wireless communication device disposed in the attachment (figure 2, reference #32).
Regarding claim 5, Kovacic et al. discloses wherein the at least one conductor includes a first conductor configured to supply the electrical power to the electrical component (figure 1, reference #25; figure 2, reference #21 and 22; [0028]) and a second conductor configured to supply the data between the control circuitry and the electrical component (figure 2, reference #31 and 32; [0028]-[0029]).
As stated above in the rejection to claim 1, the attachment and its subparts (the electrical component) are not positively recited structures of the claims, and therefore the limitations as recited in claim 6 which further limit the electrical component are not positive structural limitations that are part of the claim. However, in order to further prosecution, Kovacic et al. discloses wherein the electrical component includes an actuator that actuates in response to the electrical power being supplied to the electrical component from the power circuit ([0017]-[0018]; [0022]; [0028]-[0029]; [0032]).
Regarding claim 7, Kovacic et al. discloses wherein the drive unit is configured to drive a food processing operation of the attachment and the actuator is configured to selectively interrupt driving of the food processing operation based on the supply of the electrical power to the actuator ([0017]-[0018]; [0022]; [0028]-[0029]; [0032]).
Regarding claim 8, Kovacic et al. discloses wherein the control circuitry electrically interposes the electrical interface and the actuator to control the electrical power to the actuator (figure 1, reference #3, 4, 5, 28; figure 2, reference #21, 222, 31, 32; ([0017]-[0018]; [0022]; [0028]-[0029]; [0032]).
Regarding claim 9, Kovacic et al. discloses wherein the control circuitry is configured to control motion of the drive unit and motion of the actuator, wherein the motion control of the drive unit is at least partially independent of the motion control of the actuator (figure 1, reference #3, 4, 5, 28; [0022]; [0028]-[0029]; [0032]).
Regarding claim 11, Kovacic et al. discloses wherein the electrical interface includes at least one conductive pad disposed on a front face of the second connection interface for electrical interaction with the attachment (figure 1, reference #25; figure 2, reference #21 and 22; [0028]).
As stated above in the rejection to claim 1, the attachment and its subparts (the electrical component) are not positively recited structures of the claims, and therefore the limitations as recited in claim 12 which further limit the attachment are not positive structural limitations that are part of the claim. However, in order to further prosecution, Kovacic et al. discloses wherein the attachment includes an electrical contact point engaging the at least one conductive pad to establish the electrical interaction (figure 1, reference #35; figure 2, reference #31 and 32; [0028]; [0032]).
Regarding claim 13, Kovacic et al. discloses a mixing head (figure 1, reference #2 where numeral 2 is pointing), wherein the first connection interface is disposed on an underside of the mixing head (figure 1, reference #16) and the second connection interface is disposed on a front of the mixing head (figure 1, reference #30).
Regarding Claim 14, Kovacic et al. discloses A food processing apparatus (figure 1, reference #1), comprising:
a body (figure 1, reference #2);
a first connection interface disposed on the body and configured to selectively receive a mixing tool (figure 1, reference #15 and 17);
a drive unit disposed in the body and configured to rotate the mixing tool via the first connection interface (figure 1, reference #3; [0028]);
a second connection interface disposed on the body (figure 1, reference #15, 27 and 30) and configured to selectively receive an attachment having an electrical component (figure 2, reference #18, 31 and 32; [0028]; [0029]; [0032]) (it is noted that the limitation uses the term “configured” which only requires the second connection interface be capable of receiving an attachment, and therefore does not require the structural limitation of the attachment and its subparts (an electrical component) as part of the limitations of the claim), wherein the second connection interface includes an electrical interface (figures 2 and 3, reference #21, 22, 25; [0028]); and
operational circuitry configured to supply electrical power and data to the electrical component via the electrical interface (figure 1, reference #4).
As stated above in the rejection to claim 14, the attachment and its subparts (the electrical component) are not positively recited structures of the claims, and therefore the limitations as recited in claim 14 which further limit the electrical component are not positive structural limitations that are part of the claim. However, in order to further prosecution, Kovacic et al. discloses wherein the electrical component includes an actuator ([0006]-[0007] (known kitchen tools have actuators that permit the tools to operate); [0017]-[0018]; [0022]; [0028]-[0029]; [0032]); and the operational circuitry includes control circuitry configured to control motion of the drive unit and motion of the actuator, wherein the motion control of the drive unit is at least partially independent of the motion control of the actuator (figure 1, reference #28; [0022]; [0028]-[0029]; [0032]).
Regarding claim 16, Kovacic et al. discloses wherein the electrical interface includes at least one conductive pad disposed on a front face of the second connection interface for electrical interaction with the attachment (figure 1, reference #25; figure 2, reference #21 and 22; [0028]).
As stated above in the rejection to claim 14, the attachment and its subparts (the electrical component) are not positively recited structures of the claims, and therefore the limitations as recited in claim 17 which further limit the attachment are not positive structural limitations that are part of the claim. However, in order to further prosecution, Kovacic et al. discloses wherein the attachment includes an electrical contact point engaging the at least one conductive pad to establish the electrical interaction (figure 1, reference #35; figure 2, reference #31 and 32; [0028]; [0032]).
Regarding Claim 28, Kovacic et al. discloses A food processing apparatus (figure 1, reference #1), comprising:
a mixing head (figure 1, reference #2 where numeral 2 is pointing) including:
a connection interface configured to selectively receive a mixing tool (figure 1, reference #15 and 17);
a hub configured to selectively receive an attachment (figure 1, reference #27 and 30; [0016]; [0028]);
a drive unit disposed in the mixing head and configured to rotate the mixing tool via the connection interface (figure 1, reference #3; [0028]), wherein the attachment includes an electrical component (figure 2, reference #35) (it is noted that the limitation uses the term “configured” which only requires the hub be capable of receiving an attachment, and therefore does not require the structural limitation of the attachment and its subparts (an electrical component) as part of the limitations of the claim);
operational circuitry communicatively coupled with the drive unit (figure 1, reference #4); and
an electrical interface disposed on the hub providing electrical communication between the electrical component and the operational circuitry (figure 1, reference #25; [0028]).
As stated above in the rejection to claim 18, the attachment and its subparts (the electrical component) are not positively recited structures of the claims, and therefore the limitations as recited in claim 19 which further limit the electrical component are not positive structural limitations that are part of the claim. However, in order to further prosecution, Kovacic et al. discloses wherein the electrical component includes an actuator ([0006]-[0007] (known kitchen tools have actuators that permit the tools to operate); [0017]-[0018]; [0022]; [0028]; [0032]); and the operational circuitry includes control circuitry configured to control motion of the drive unit and motion of the actuator, wherein the motion control of the drive unit is at least partially independent of the motion control of the actuator (figure 1, reference #28; [0022]; [0028]-[0029]; [0032]).
Regarding claim 20, Kovacic et al. discloses wherein the connection interface is disposed on an underside of the mixing head (figure 1, reference #16) and the second connection interface is disposed on a front of the mixing head (figure 1, reference #30).
Claim(s) 1-12 and 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Benelli et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2006/0044935).
Regarding claim 1, Benelli et al. discloses A food processing apparatus (title; abstract; figure 1, reference #100; figure 4, reference #400), comprising:
a body (figures 4 and 5, reference #405 and 430);
a first connection interface disposed on the body and configured to selectively receive a mixing tool (figure 4, reference #435);
a drive unit disposed in the body and configured to rotate the mixing tool via the first connection interface (figure 4, reference #425);
a second connection interface disposed on the body (figure 5, reference #515; [0038]) and configured to selectively receive an attachment having an electrical component (reference #500; [0043]), wherein the second connection interface includes an electrical interface (figure 5, reference #520 and 565); and
a power circuit configured to supply electrical power to the electrical component via the electrical interface (figure 5, reference #515, 520, 565; [0022]; [0043]).
Regarding claim 2, Benelli et al. discloses control circuitry in communication with the drive unit (figure 5, reference #500 and 515; [0043]-[0046]; [0057]); and
a communication circuit providing communication between the control circuitry and the electrical component when the attachment couples with the body (figure 5, reference #520; [[0043]-[0046]; [0057]).
Regarding claim 3, Benelli et al. discloses wherein the communication circuit includes at least one conductor at the electrical interface, wherein the control circuitry is configured to electrically communicate data with the electrical component via the at least one conductor (figure 5, reference #515 and 520).
Regarding claim 4, Benelli et al. discloses a wireless communication network having a first wireless communication device disposed in the body and a second wireless communication device disposed in the attachment ([0075]).
Regarding claim 5, Benelli et al. discloses wherein the at least one conductor includes a first conductor configured to supply the electrical power to the electrical component (figure 5, reference #560 and 565) and a second conductor configured to supply the data between the control circuitry and the electrical component (figure 5, reference #515 and 520).
As stated above in the rejection to claim 1, the attachment and its subparts (the electrical component) are not positively recited structures of the claims, and therefore the limitations as recited in claim 6 which further limit the electrical component are not positive structural limitations that are part of the claim. However, in order to further prosecution, Benelli et al. discloses wherein the electrical component includes an actuator that actuates in response to the electrical power being supplied to the electrical component from the power circuit (figure 5, reference #500, 525, 530, 540, 545 and 550).
Regarding claim 7, Benelli et al. discloses wherein the drive unit is configured to drive a food processing operation of the attachment and the actuator is configured to selectively interrupt driving of the food processing operation based on the supply of the electrical power to the actuator ([0044]; [0046]; [0057]).
Regarding claim 8, Benelli al. discloses wherein the control circuitry electrically interposes the electrical interface and the actuator to control the electrical power to the actuator (figure 5, reference #500, 515, 520, 525, 530, 545, 550, 560 and 565; [0044]; [0046]; [0057]).
Regarding claim 9, Benelli et al. discloses wherein the control circuitry is configured to control motion of the drive unit and motion of the actuator, wherein the motion control of the drive unit is at least partially independent of the motion control of the actuator (figure 4, reference #405, 425; figure 5, reference #500, 515, 520, 525, 530, 545, 550, 560 and 565; [0044]; [0046]; [0057]).
Regarding claim 10, Benelli et al. discloses a sensor configured to detect a thermal condition of a mixing bowl of the food processing apparatus (figure 5, reference #510; [0036]; [0047]), wherein the drive unit includes a motor (figure 5, reference #425) and the control circuitry is configured to control the motor based on the thermal condition ([0046]; [0057]).
Regarding claim 11, Benelli et al. discloses wherein the electrical interface includes at least one conductive pad disposed on a front face of the second connection interface for electrical interaction with the attachment (figure 5, reference #515 and 565).
As stated above in the rejection to claim 1, the attachment and its subparts (the electrical component) are not positively recited structures of the claims, and therefore the limitations as recited in claim 12 which further limit the attachment are not positive structural limitations that are part of the claim. However, in order to further prosecution, Benelli et al. discloses wherein the attachment includes an electrical contact point engaging the at least one conductive pad to establish the electrical interaction (figure 5, reference #520 and 560).
Regarding claim 14, Benelli et al. discloses A food processing apparatus (title; abstract; figure 1, reference #100; figure 4, reference #400), comprising:
a body (figures 4 and 5, reference #405 and 430);
a first connection interface disposed on the body and configured to selectively receive a mixing tool (figure 4, reference #435);
a drive unit disposed in the body and configured to rotate the mixing tool via the first connection interface (figure 4, reference #425);
a second connection interface disposed on the body (figure 5, reference #515; [0038]) and configured to selectively receive an attachment having an electrical component (reference #500; [0043]), wherein the second connection interface includes an electrical interface (figure 5, reference #520 and 565); and
operational circuitry configured to supply electrical power to the electrical component via the electrical interface (figure 5, reference #515, 520, 565; [0022]; [0043]).
As stated above in the rejection to claim 14, the attachment and its subparts (the electrical component) are not positively recited structures of the claims, and therefore the limitations as recited in claim 14 which further limit the electrical component are not positive structural limitations that are part of the claim. However, in order to further prosecution, Benelli et al. discloses wherein the electrical component includes an actuator figure 5, reference #500, 525, 530, 540, 545 and 550); and the operational circuitry includes control circuitry configured to control motion of the drive unit and motion of the actuator, wherein the motion control of the drive unit is at least partially independent of the motion control of the actuator (figure 5, reference #500, 515, 520 and 565; [0044]; [0046]; [0057]).
Regarding claim 16, Benelli et al. discloses wherein the electrical interface includes at least one conductive pad disposed on a front face of the second connection interface for electrical interaction with the attachment (figure 5, reference #515 and 565).
As stated above in the rejection to claim 14, the attachment and its subparts (the electrical component) are not positively recited structures of the claims, and therefore the limitations as recited in claim 17 which further limit the attachment are not positive structural limitations that are part of the claim. However, in order to further prosecution, Benelli et al. discloses wherein the attachment includes an electrical contact point engaging the at least one conductive pad to establish the electrical interaction (figure 5, reference #520 and 560).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Harnden, Jr. et al. (U.S. Patent No. 3,761,668) discloses a food processing apparatus (title) comprising body (figure 3, reference #16), first connection interface to receive a mixing tool (reference #22), drive unit (figure 1, reference #15), second connection interface to receive an attachment having an electrical interface (reference #26 and 50); and a power/operational circuit (reference #11). Borger et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,979,806) discloses a food processing apparatus (title) comprising body (reference #1), first connection interface to receive a mixing tool (reference #2, 4 and 6 on left top side), drive unit (reference #29), second connection interface to receive an attachment having an electrical interface (reference #3, 5 and 6 on right top side, reference #14); and a power/operational circuit (figure 2). Short et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2006/0198240) discloses the food processing apparatus with body (figure 5), first connection interface (reference #20), drive unit (reference #26 and 100), second connection interface configured to receive an attachment with electrical interface (figure 5, reference #40, 80, 98, 104 and 108); and power/operational circuit (figure 5, reference #100, 102, 104, 106; [0022]). Baker (U.S. Patent No. 9,782,041) discloses the limitations of the independent claim 1, 14 and 18 along with many dependent claims (see figure 1).
/ELIZABETH INSLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774