DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 5/5/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation, “wherein the at least one conductor includes at least one conductor…and at least one conductor….”. It is unclear whether “at least one conductor” in line 3 is the same or different as “at least one conductor” in line 2 and/or lines 1-2. As such the claim is indefinite for failing to distinctly claim the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kovacic et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2009/0084274).
Regarding Claim 1, Kovacic et al. discloses A food processing apparatus (figure 1, reference #1), comprising:
a body (figure 1, reference #2);
a first connection interface disposed on the body and configured to selectively receive a mixing tool (figure 1, reference #16 and 17);
a drive unit disposed in the body and configured to rotate the mixing tool via the first connection interface (figure 1, reference #3; [0028]);
a second connection interface disposed on the body (figure 1, reference #15, 27 and 30) that receive an attachment having an electrical component (figure 2, reference #18, 31 and 32; [0028]; [0029]; [0032]), wherein the second connection interface includes an electrical interface (figures 2 and 3, reference #21, 22, 25; [0028]); and
a power circuit configured to supply electrical power to the electrical component via the electrical interface (figure 1, reference #4).
Regarding claim 2, Kovacic et al. discloses control circuity in communication with the drive unit (reference #4 and 5; [0028]); and a communication circuit providing communication between the control circuitry and the electrical component when the attachment couples with the body (figure 1, reference #28; [0028]; [0029]).
Regarding claim 3, Kovacic et al. discloses wherein the communication circuit includes at least one conductor at the electrical interface (figure 1, reference #25; figure 2, reference #21 and 22; [0028]), wherein the control circuitry is configured to electrically communicate data with the electrical component via the at least one conductor (figure 1, reference #4, 5, 25 and 28; figure 2, reference #21 and 22; [0028]).
Regarding claim 4, Kovacic et al. discloses a wireless communication network ([0028]-[0029]) having a first wireless communication device disposed in the body (figure 2, reference #22) and a second wireless communication device disposed in the attachment (figure 2, reference #32).
Regarding claim 5, Kovacic et al. discloses wherein the at least one conductor includes at least one conductor configured to supply the electrical power to the electrical component (figure 1, reference #25; figure 2, reference #21 and 22; [0028]) and at least one conductor configured to supply the data between the control circuitry and the electrical component (figure 2, reference #31 and 32; [0028]-[0029]).
Regarding claim 6, Kovacic et al. discloses wherein the electrical component includes an actuator that actuates in response to the electrical power being supplied to the electrical component from the power circuit ([0017]-[0018]; [0022]; [0028]-[0029]; [0032]).
Regarding claim 7, Kovacic et al. discloses wherein the drive unit is configured to drive a food processing operation of the attachment and the actuator is configured to selectively interrupt driving of the food processing operation based on the supply of the electrical power to the actuator ([0017]-[0018]; [0022]; [0028]-[0029]; [0032]).
Regarding claim 8, Kovacic et al. discloses wherein the control circuitry electrically interposes the electrical interface and the actuator to control the electrical power to the actuator (figure 1, reference #3, 4, 5, 28; figure 2, reference #21, 222, 31, 32; ([0017]-[0018]; [0022]; [0028]-[0029]; [0032]).
Regarding claim 9, Kovacic et al. discloses wherein the control circuitry is configured to control motion of the drive unit and motion of the actuator, wherein the motion control of the drive unit is at least partially independent of the motion control of the actuator (figure 1, reference #3, 4, 5, 28; [0022]; [0028]-[0029]; [0032]).
Regarding claim 11, Kovacic et al. discloses wherein the electrical interface includes at least one conductive pad disposed on a front face of the second connection interface for electrical interaction with the attachment (figure 1, reference #25; figure 2, reference #21 and 22; [0028]).
Regarding claim 12, Kovacic et al. discloses wherein the attachment includes an electrical contact point engaging the at least one conductive pad to establish the electrical interaction (figure 1, reference #35; figure 2, reference #31 and 32; [0028]; [0032]).
Regarding claim 13, Kovacic et al. discloses a mixing head (figure 1, reference #2 where numeral 2 is pointing), wherein the first connection interface is disposed on an underside of the mixing head (figure 1, reference #16) and the second connection interface is disposed on a front of the mixing head (figure 1, reference #30).
Regarding Claim 14, Kovacic et al. discloses A food processing apparatus (figure 1, reference #1), comprising:
a body (figure 1, reference #2);
a first connection interface disposed on the body and configured to selectively receive a mixing tool (figure 1, reference #16 and 17);
a drive unit disposed in the body and configured to rotate the mixing tool via the first connection interface (figure 1, reference #3; [0028]);
a second connection interface disposed on the body (figure 1, reference #15, 27 and 30) that receives an attachment having an electrical component (figure 2, reference #18, 31 and 32; [0028]; [0029]; [0032]), wherein the second connection interface includes an electrical interface (figures 2 and 3, reference #21, 22, 25; [0028]); and
operational circuitry that supplies electrical power and data to the electrical component via the electrical interface (figure 1, reference #4).
Regarding claim 15, Kovacic et al. discloses wherein the electrical component includes an actuator ([0006]-[0007] (known kitchen tools have actuators that permit the tools to operate); [0017]-[0018]; [0022]; [0028]-[0029]; [0032]); and the operational circuitry includes control circuitry configured to control motion of the drive unit and motion of the actuator, wherein the motion control of the drive unit is at least partially independent of the motion control of the actuator (figure 1, reference #28; [0022]; [0028]-[0029]; [0032]).
Regarding claim 16, Kovacic et al. discloses wherein the electrical interface includes at least one conductive pad disposed on a front face of the second connection interface for electrical interaction with the attachment (figure 1, reference #25; figure 2, reference #21 and 22; [0028]).
Regarding claim 17, Kovacic et al. discloses wherein the attachment includes an electrical contact point engaging the at least one conductive pad to establish the electrical interaction (figure 1, reference #35; figure 2, reference #31 and 32; [0028]; [0032]).
Regarding Claim 18, Kovacic et al. discloses A food processing apparatus (figure 1, reference #1), comprising:
a mixing head (figure 1, reference #2 where numeral 2 is pointing) including:
a connection interface configured to selectively receive a mixing tool (figure 1, reference #16 and 17);
a hub configured to selectively receive an attachment (figure 1, reference #27 and 30; [0016]; [0028]);
a drive unit disposed in the mixing head and configured to rotate the mixing tool via the connection interface (figure 1, reference #3; [0028]), wherein the attachment includes a component powered by electricity (figure 1, reference #35; [0028]; [0032]);
operational circuitry communicatively coupled with the drive unit (figure 1, reference #4); and
an electrical interface disposed on the hub providing electrical communication between the electrical component and the operational circuitry (figure 1, reference #25; [0028]; [0032]).
Regarding claim 19, Kovacic et al. discloses wherein the electrical component includes an actuator ([0006]-[0007] (known kitchen tools have actuators that permit the tools to operate); [0017]-[0018]; [0022]; [0028]; [0032]); and the operational circuitry includes control circuitry configured to control motion of the drive unit and motion of the actuator, wherein the motion control of the drive unit is at least partially independent of the motion control of the actuator (figure 1, reference #28; [0022]; [0028]-[0029]; [0032]).
Regarding claim 20, Kovacic et al. discloses wherein the connection interface is disposed on an underside of the mixing head (figure 1, reference #16) and the second connection interface is disposed on a front of the mixing head (figure 1, reference #30).
Claim(s) 1-12 and 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Benelli et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2006/0044935).
Regarding claim 1, Benelli et al. discloses A food processing apparatus (title; abstract; figure 1, reference #100; figure 4, reference #400), comprising:
a body (figures 4 and 5, reference #405 and 430);
a first connection interface disposed on the body and that receives a mixing tool (figure 4, reference #435);
a drive unit disposed in the body and configured to rotate the mixing tool via the first connection interface (figure 4, reference #425);
a second connection interface disposed on the body (figure 5, reference #515; [0038]) and configured to selectively receive an attachment having an electrical component (reference #500; [0043]), wherein the second connection interface includes an electrical interface (figure 5, reference #520 and 565); and
a power circuit configured to supply electrical power to the electrical component via the electrical interface (figure 5, reference #515, 520, 565; [0022]; [0043]).
Regarding claim 2, Benelli et al. discloses control circuitry in communication with the drive unit (figure 5, reference #500 and 515; [0043]-[0046]; [0057]); and
a communication circuit providing communication between the control circuitry and the electrical component when the attachment couples with the body (figure 5, reference #520; [[0043]-[0046]; [0057]).
Regarding claim 3, Benelli et al. discloses wherein the communication circuit includes at least one conductor at the electrical interface, wherein the control circuitry is configured to electrically communicate data with the electrical component via the at least one conductor (figure 5, reference #515 and 520).
Regarding claim 4, Benelli et al. discloses a wireless communication network having a first wireless communication device disposed in the body and a second wireless communication device disposed in the attachment ([0075]).
Regarding claim 5, Benelli et al. discloses wherein the at least one conductor includes at least one conductor configured to supply the electrical power to the electrical component (figure 5, reference #560 and 565) and at least one conductor configured to supply the data between the control circuitry and the electrical component (figure 5, reference #515 and 520).
Regarding claim 6, Benelli et al. discloses wherein the electrical component includes an actuator that actuates in response to the electrical power being supplied to the electrical component from the power circuit (figure 5, reference #500, 525, 530, 540, 545 and 550).
Regarding claim 7, Benelli et al. discloses wherein the drive unit is configured to drive a food processing operation of the attachment and the actuator is configured to selectively interrupt driving of the food processing operation based on the supply of the electrical power to the actuator ([0044]; [0046]; [0057]).
Regarding claim 8, Benelli al. discloses wherein the control circuitry electrically interposes the electrical interface and the actuator to control the electrical power to the actuator (figure 5, reference #500, 515, 520, 525, 530, 545, 550, 560 and 565; [0044]; [0046]; [0057]).
Regarding claim 9, Benelli et al. discloses wherein the control circuitry is configured to control motion of the drive unit and motion of the actuator, wherein the motion control of the drive unit is at least partially independent of the motion control of the actuator (figure 4, reference #405, 425; figure 5, reference #500, 515, 520, 525, 530, 545, 550, 560 and 565; [0044]; [0046]; [0057]).
Regarding claim 10, Benelli et al. discloses a sensor configured to detect a thermal condition of a mixing bowl of the food processing apparatus (figure 5, reference #510; [0036]; [0047]), wherein the drive unit includes a motor (figure 5, reference #425) and the control circuitry is configured to control the motor based on the thermal condition ([0046]; [0057]).
Regarding claim 11, Benelli et al. discloses wherein the electrical interface includes at least one conductive pad disposed on a front face of the second connection interface for electrical interaction with the attachment (figure 5, reference #515 and 565).
Regarding claim 12, Benelli et al. discloses wherein the attachment includes an electrical contact point engaging the at least one conductive pad to establish the electrical interaction (figure 5, reference #520 and 560).
Regarding claim 14, Benelli et al. discloses A food processing apparatus (title; abstract; figure 1, reference #100; figure 4, reference #400), comprising:
a body (figures 4 and 5, reference #405 and 430);
a first connection interface disposed on the body and configured to selectively receive a mixing tool (figure 4, reference #435);
a drive unit disposed in the body and configured to rotate the mixing tool via the first connection interface (figure 4, reference #425);
a second connection interface disposed on the body (figure 5, reference #515; [0038]) that receives an attachment having an electrical component (reference #500; [0043]), wherein the second connection interface includes an electrical interface (figure 5, reference #520 and 565); and
operational circuitry that supplies electrical power to the electrical component via the electrical interface (figure 5, reference #515, 520, 565; [0022]; [0043]).
Regarding claim 15, Benelli et al. discloses wherein the electrical component includes an actuator figure 5, reference #500, 525, 530, 540, 545 and 550); and the operational circuitry includes control circuitry configured to control motion of the drive unit and motion of the actuator, wherein the motion control of the drive unit is at least partially independent of the motion control of the actuator (figure 5, reference #500, 515, 520 and 565; [0044]; [0046]; [0057]).
Regarding claim 16, Benelli et al. discloses wherein the electrical interface includes at least one conductive pad disposed on a front face of the second connection interface for electrical interaction with the attachment (figure 5, reference #515 and 565).
Regarding claim 17, Benelli et al. discloses wherein the attachment includes an electrical contact point engaging the at least one conductive pad to establish the electrical interaction (figure 5, reference #520 and 560).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/5/2026 with regard to the 35 USC §102 rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Kovacic fails to disclose claims 1, 14 and 18 because Kovacic fails to disclose a second connection interface that receives an attachment having an electrical component and a power circuit and/or operational circuitry that supplies electrical power to the electrical component via the electrical interface. Examiner finds this argument unpersuasive. Applicant’s arguments amount to a general allegation without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the reference. Applicant has made a conclusory argument that lacks support or reasoning for why Kovacic fails to disclose those limitations. As explained above, Kovacic describes in paragraphs [0028] and [0032] and shows in the figures 1-3, multiple electrical connections/hubs with switches between the hub/couplings and tools that has electrical components with paragraphs [0028] and [0032] describing tools that are connects to those couplings that contain electrical components and the power circuit and operation circuitry that supplies the electrical power.
Applicant argues Benelli fails to disclose claims 1 and 14 because Benelli fails to disclose a second connection interface that receives an attachment having an electrical component and a power circuit and/or operational circuitry that supplies electrical power to the electrical component via the electrical interface. Examiner finds this argument unpersuasive. Applicant’s arguments amount to a general allegation without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the reference. Applicant has made a conclusory argument that lacks support or reasoning for why Benelli fails to disclose those limitations. As explained above, Benelli discloses all those limitations in claims 1 and 14. Specifically, on the side of the stand blender is a coupler 515 that electrically connects to a controller 500 that has an electrical component and a power circuit and operational circuitry that supplies electrical power to the electrical component (see figures 5 and 7, #500, 515, 520, 565 and paragraphs [0022]; [0043]-[0046]; [0057]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELIZABETH INSLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774