DETAILED ACTION
This final office action is in response to the applicant’s amendment received on May 15, 2026 (hereinafter “Amendment”).
Claims 1, 9, and 17 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Official Notice Taken in Last Office Action
As official notice was taken in the previous office action, the common knowledge or well-known in the art statement is taken to be admitted prior art because the common knowledge or well-known in the art statement is taken to be admitted prior art because applicant either failed to traverse the examiner's assertion of official notice or that the traverse was inadequate (see MPEP 2144.03 C). The common knowledge or well-known in the art statement is taken to be admitted prior art include:
risk factor that includes the digital transaction valued at a predetermined amount of currency or higher is old and well known prior to the effective filing of instant claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-11, and 13-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0237590 A1 (“Rule”) in view of US 2011/0093351 A1 (“Afana”) and US 2016/0232516 A1 (“Dayan”) and US 2017/0132632 (“Knudsen”).
Per claims 1, 9, and 17, Rule discloses a method comprising:
soliciting communication between a contactless card and a mobile device (Fig. 1A; Fig. 1B; Fig. 3; ¶0031, contactless card may be in wireless communication with client device; ¶0032, client device may be a mobile device);
after soliciting the communication between the contactless card and the mobile device, receiving, by a short-range communication antenna of the mobile device, a cryptogram from the contactless card (Fig. 1B, the contactless card sends MC cryptogram to the client device; ¶0033; ¶0035, mobile application on the client device; ¶0077, short-range wireless communication ¶0079);
responsive to receiving the cryptogram from the contactless card, verifying, by a processor of the mobile device, the cryptogram to identify the user account and to confirm that the contactless card is associated with the user account (¶0046, processor verified the MAC cryptogram; ¶0048; ¶0081, validate one or more credential from the contactless card; ¶0120; ¶0151; ¶0179)(“to identify the user account and to confirm that the contactless card is associated with the user account” is intended result of the verifying of the cryptogram);
responsive to verifying, authorizing execution of the digital transaction in connection with the user account (¶0081, authorize payment and transaction from contactless card and/or client device; ¶0185; ¶0198).
Rule further teaches a mobile device comprising a short-range communication antenna, a processor, and a memory storing instructions (Fig. 3; ¶0070; ¶0071; ¶0077).
While Rule teaches the processor of the mobile device verifying a phone number received from the contactless card as disclosed above, Rule does not particularly teach that the phone number is of the mobile device.
Afana, however, discloses a technique of verifying a phone number of the mobile device ([0047], authenticates the phone number associated with the mobile device by querying operator network to identify the account associated with the mobile phone number).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of instant claim to modify Rule to include verifying a phone number of the mobile device as a technique of verifying by the processor of the mobile device phone number in Rule as the combination ensures that the authenticity of the mobile device.
While Rule teaches controlling of how the two devices communicate based on current risk level perceived by the recipient of the receiving device/policy (¶0096), Rule/Afana does not particularly teach that the soliciting communication is responsive to a digital transaction initiated in connection with a user account satisfying at least one predetermined risk factor associated with the digital transaction.
Dayan, however, teaches performing a risk level for a payment transaction prior to the user initiating a mobile payment transaction using a predefined risk metric and predictive analysis (¶0025).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of instant claim to combine the teaching of the Dayan of performing a risk level for a payment transaction prior to the user initiating a mobile payment transaction, i.e., soliciting of communication between the card and the mobile device of the Rule/Afana, as the combination to prevent abuse by unauthorized persons and financial loss (Dayan: ¶0002).
Rule/Afana/Dayan does not particularly teach “transmitting a phone number of the mobile device and an International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI) number of a Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) card in the mobile device from the mobile device to a server for use in confirming that the phone number of the mobile device is associated with the user account and that the IMSI number of the SIM card is associated with the phone number of the mobile device”.
Knudsen, however, teaches transmitting a phone number of the mobile device and an International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI) number of a Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) card in the mobile device from the mobile device to a server for use in confirming that the phone number of the mobile device is associated with the user account and that the IMSI number of the SIM card is associated with the phone number of the mobile device (see [0043]-[0044], the mobile device communicates IMSI and MSISDN code to a sever that is arranged to verify the received information to provide service; [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of instant claim to include the technique of transmitting of the IMSI and the phone number, MSISDN, to a server as a verification technique of Rule/Afana/Dayan (i.e., Rule) in order to verify both the mobile device as well as the SIM used in the service request in Rule.
As per claims 2 and 10, Rule/Afana/Dayan/Knudsen further teaches wherein the digital transaction includes a wire transfer (Rule: ¶0195).
As per claims 3 and 11, while Rule/Afana/Dayan/Knudsen discloses risk level, Rule does not particularly teach wherein the at least one predetermined risk factor includes the digital transaction valued at a predetermined amount of currency or higher (Dayan: ¶ 0017-¶0019).
As per claims 5 and 13, Rule/Afana/Dayan/Knudsen further teaches successfully decrypting the cryptogram to verify the cryptogram and identify the user account (Rule: ¶0120; ¶0134; ¶0151).
As per claims 6 and 14, Rule/Afana/Dayan/Knudsen further teaches decrypting protected data in the cryptogram; comparing the protected data to stored record data associated with the contactless card; and identifying the user account based on a match between the protected data and the stored record data (Rule: ¶0081; ¶0091, if the output of the MAC operation matches the MAC output revealed by decryption, then the data may be deemed valid; ¶0120; ¶0129; ¶0151; ¶0177; ¶0179; ¶0195).
As per claims 7-8 and 15-16, Rule/Afana/Dayan/Knudsen further teaches transmitting the cryptogram from the mobile device to a server; and receiving, at the mobile device, one or more indications that the cryptogram and the phone number of the mobile device have been verified, transmitting one or more messages from the mobile device to the server (Rule: ¶0072; ¶0112; ¶0113; ¶0177; ¶0178; ¶0198; ¶0218).
As per claim 18, Rule/Afana/Dayan/Knudsen further teaches a user interface device, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to display on or emit from the user interface device a solicitation for the communication with the contactless card (Rule: ¶0033, display; ¶0070 NFC communication).
As per claim 19, Rule/Afana/Dayan/Knudsen further teaches that the mobile device comprising an Internet browser or mobile application, wherein the digital transaction is initiated via the Internet browser or the mobile application (Rule: ¶0032, Internet browser; multiple mobile OS).
Claim(s) 4 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Rule”, “Afana”, “Dayan”, and “Knudsen” as applied in claims 1 and 12, in further view of US 20150379517 A1 (“Jin”).
Per claims 4 and 12, Rule/Afana/Dayan/Knudsen does not particularly teach wherein the at least one predetermined risk factor includes the digital transaction originating from a suspicious location, a suspicious device, or a suspicious Internet Protocol (IP) address.
Jin, however, teaches the at least one predetermined risk factor includes the digital transaction originating from a suspicious location, a suspicious device, or a suspicious Internet Protocol (IP) address (¶0029, domain name of the requester or the merchant business, an IP address, etc … these may also be used in a fraud risk assessment).
As Rule/Afana/Dayan/Knudsen generally teaches performing communication based on risk level in Rule and Dayan teaching various consideration of factors in determining transaction risk, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing of the instant claim to include any known type of risk factor(s) as taught by Jin as risk factor(s) in Rule/Afana/Dayan in preventing transaction originating from a suspicious merchant.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Rule”, “Afana”, “Dayan”, and “Knudsen” as applied in claim 17, in further view of US 20180025348 A1 (“Shauh”).
As per claim 20, Rule/Afana/Dayan/Knudsen does not particularly teach wherein the digital transaction is initiated via an Internet browser on a desktop computer.
Shauh, however, teaches wherein the digital transaction is initiated via an Internet browser on a desktop computer (see Fig. 6; ¶0026, browser of PC).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of instant claim to include the technique of utilizing Internet browser on a PC in initiating transaction as taught by Shauh to mobile authentication system of Rule/Afana/Dayan in order to adopt any known transactional techniques for flexibility of the system of Rule.
Furthermore, as the scope of the claim is the mobile device and particular recited functions of the mobile device (its components), the description of the Internet browser on a desktop computer does not move to distinguish over the prior art as the description does not affect the positively recited mobile device structures and functions.
Response to Argument(s)
103 Rejections
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on reference applied and presented in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20170372056 A1 discloses risk factor such as amount of transaction;
US 11138593 B1 discloses authentication of smart card including authentication of cryptogram and other customer information (name, address, phone number);
US 11341470 B1 discloses smart card that transmits various information such as cryptogram identifying customer information such as phone number, user name, address, etc.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN S KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3698