DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-9 and 12-20 in the reply filed on 11/19/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9, 12, 13, 15-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pub. 20050054439 to Rowe et al (Rowe).
Claims 1 and 12. Rowe discloses a system comprising:
a processor; and
a memory device that stores a plurality of instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:
responsive to an occurrence of an additive manufactured asset creation event associated with a redemption of a quantity of player tracking points (¶44 “"loyalty credits" can refer to any form of "loyalty points," and can also encompass, for example, actual monetary or cash values, virtual or real coupons or vouchers”), cause a creation, by an additive manufacturing device (¶61 “printer”) associated with a first gaming device (¶59 “gaming machine”, “gaming device”), of an additive manufactured asset (¶62 “printed ticketed” or the like), and
responsive to an occurrence of an additive manufactured asset redemption event associated with a redemption of the additive manufactured asset (¶71):
determine any award associated with the additive manufactured asset (¶¶62 and 88 “ticket value”), and
cause a display device of a second gaming device to display any determined award (¶56 “player may insert a bill or a bar-coded printed ticket (e.g. an EZPAY.TM. ticket) into bill validator 202 to register credits on the gaming machine”, also see ¶59 “other gaming device”).
Claims 2 and 13. Rowe discloses wherein a first redemption of a first quantity of player tracking points is associated with a first additive manufactured asset and a second redemption of a second, different quantity of player tracking points is associated with a second, different additive manufactured asset (¶25 “instruments may involve different physical items, such as printed tickets”).
Claims 4 and 15. Rowe discloses wherein the first additive manufactured asset is associated with a first attribute and the second, different additive manufactured asset is associated with a second, different attribute (¶¶71 and 95 e.g., different tickets have different characteristics, e.g., value amount, barcodes, etc).
Claims 5 and 16. Rowe discloses wherein the additive manufactured asset redemption event is associated with a redemption of a plurality of related additive manufactured assets (¶¶71 and 95 e.g., a plurality of tickets or the like).
Claims 6 and 17. Rowe discloses wherein any award is associated with the plurality of related additive manufactured assets (¶71).
Claims 7 and 18. Rowe discloses wherein the first gaming device and the second gaming device are different gaming devices (¶71).
Claims 9 and 20. Rowe discloses wherein any award associated with the additive manufactured asset is determined in association with the additive manufactured asset creation event (¶¶62 and 88 “ticket value”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 8, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. 20050054439 to Rowe et al (Rowe) in view of US Pub. 20210012615 to Coppola et al (Coppola) and further evidence of US Pub. 20060282323 to Walker et al (Walker) and US Pub. 20030162588 to Brosnan et al (Brosnan).
Claims 3 and 14. Rowe discloses wherein the first additive manufactured asset is associated with a first award and the second, different additive manufactured asset is associated with a second, different award (¶¶62, 64, and 70 “prize value”, “prize information”, and “prizes”, where different tickets are associated with different awards/prizes).
Rowe fails to explicitly disclose a first average expected award and a second, different average expected award.
Coppola discloses a first average expected award and a second, different average expected award (¶92, for instance, higher valuable awards such as a car or trip will have different average expectancy than lower valuable awards such as coupons, discounts, or the like as evidence provided in US Pub. 20060282323 to Walker see ¶382; also see 20030162588 to Brosnan ¶¶6-7, 11, and 53-61 discloses different payout schedules that can return a higher percentage when using “restricted credits” vs. “cashable credits”). The gaming system of Rowe would have motivation to use the teachings of Coppola (in light of Walker and Brosnan) in order to provide the opportunity for game players to win a large range of prizes in doing so would add to the suspense when playing games.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gaming system of Rowe with the teachings of Coppola (in light of Walker and Brosnan) in order to provide the opportunity for game players to win a large range of prizes in doing so would add to the suspense when playing games.
Claims 8 and 19. Rowe fails to explicitly disclose claims 8 and 19 limitations.
Coppola discloses a 3D printer (¶78). The gaming system of Rowe would have motivation to use the teachings of Coppola in order to provide tickets that have better aesthetically pleasing features which would build up the excitement of receiving cooler looking items.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gaming system of Rowe with the teachings of Coppola in order to provide tickets that have better aesthetically pleasing features which would build up the excitement of receiving cooler looking items.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-9 and 12-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAMON J PIERCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715