DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 have been presented for examination.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 19, on lines 7-8, the claim refers to “a lowest fan speed offset”. Claim 18, from which claim 19 depends, also refers to “a lowest fan speed offset”. It is unclear if both claim 19 refers to the same “lowest fan speed offset” or if they are different offsets.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tabuchi PGPUB 2018/0279513 in view of Sethi et al [Sethi] PGPUB 2021/0397239.
Referring to claim 16, Tabuchi teaches the data storage device, comprising:
one or more components comprising at least one non-volatile memory (NVM) [120 Fig.6, 0007, 0031].
at least one component temperature sensor configured to detect one or more component temperatures of the one or more components [0052, 0060].
one or more fans configured to reduce the one or more component temperatures of the one or more components [206 Fig. 6, 0063].
a processor coupled to the one or more components, the at least one component temperature sensor, and the one or more fans [50 Fig. 6, 0029, 0060, 0063], the processor configured to:
determine a current temperature of a first component of the one or more components using the at least one component temperature sensor [0060].
operate at least one fan of the one or more fans corresponding to the first component based on at least one of:
a comparison between the current temperature of the first component and a warning temperature of the first component [0062-0063].
In summary, Tabuchi teaches a storage apparatus that includes a plurality of non-volatile storage devices such as HDDs. The storage apparatus further monitors the temperature of each HDD in the storage apparatus via internal HDD sensors via expander (i.e., interpreted as a processor). If the expander determines that an HDD temperature exceeds a threshold (herein interpreted as a warning temperature but could alternatively be interpreted as a critical temperature), the expander signals to a corresponding fan to start rotating to cool the HDD.
While Tabuchi teaches the invention substantially as claimed above, it is not explicitly taught to further determine a priority of one of the plurality of HDDs. Sethi teaches determining priority of components in order to determine how to provide available power [0022]. It is further taught that the components can include storage arrays and NAS devices [0030, 0062]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the teachings of Sethi into the Tabuchi device because doing so would allow for optimal control in the events of power fluctuations as taught by Sethi [0022]. It should be further noted that Sethi also teaches adjusting fan speeds and thermal profiles of components that are not operational. Because fans are controlled based on priority as taught in Tabuchi, and fan speed is controlled by via expander, it would have been obvious in the Tabuchi-Sethi combination to have the expander determine the priorities of the HDDs so that it can control the fan speed according to their priorities.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-15 are allowed.
Claims 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 19-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
PGPUB 2023/0345665 to Tsuchida teaches a fan offset value (or high offset value) which limits the speed to a minimum output value while also controlling the rotation speed based on temperature [0025, 0032-0033].
PGPUB 2022/0404882 to Wanjale teaches applying a fan speed setpoint offset when a fan speed error is computed [0047].
PGPUB 2013/0132769 to Kulkarni teaches applying priorities to virtual drives [0063].
The prior art of record does not teach or suggest either individually or in combination, setting/assigning an offset value based on a priority of a component (claims 1, 9, 17), or increasing a fan speed according to a lowest fan speed offset when an absolute value of a difference between a current temperature and warning temperature is less than or equal to a first preselected tolerance value (claim 18).
Conclusion
/MARK A CONNOLLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115 3/4/26