DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s remarks regarding the drawing objections are not persuasive. Regarding the imaging screen, such claimed element is not shown. While Applicant suggests that Figures 3, 5, 7, 8 implicitly includes the imaging screen, such remarks appear to corroborate Examiner’s position - i.e. the imaging screen itself is not in fact shown.
Regarding Applicant’s further remarks traversing the drawing objections as they pertain to whether such features are necessary for understanding and MPEP 608.02, Applicant’s representative appears to misunderstand MPEP 608.02, 35 USC 113, CFR 1.81, and CFR 1.83.
MPEP 608.02, along with 35 USC 113 and CFR 1.81, states that Applicant furnish drawings where necessary for understanding of the invention. This is a statement as to why Applicant is required to file drawings. 35 USC 113, and CFR 1.81 are not directed to the content or standards of those drawings once submitted.
CFR 1.83 (MPEP 608.02(d)) is directed to the content of those drawings; CFR 1.84 (MPEP 608.02.V) is directed to the standards of those drawings.
In the instant application Applicant has furnished the drawings under USC 113 and CFR 1.81, therefore Applicant acknowledges that drawings are in fact required for an understanding of the invention and has complied with 35 USC 113 and CFR 1.81.
What Applicant has not done is comply with CFR 1.83(a) as to the content of those drawings. CFR 1.83(a) also requires the illustration of convention features, albeit not necessarily detailed - e.g. box, graphical symbol, etc. In other words, even if the imaging screen is considered conventional, such claimed features are still required under CFR 1.83(a) to be illustrated in the drawing.
In the instant case, Applicant has not complied with CFR 1.83(a) because not all the claimed subject matter is shown in the drawings. Specifically, the claimed subject matter of claims 4 and 6 as discussed below.
Regarding Applicants remarks as they pertain to the USC 112(f) invocation, Examiner is not persuaded. Applicant has not pointed to any claimed structure, nor do the claims recite such structure, for the “imaging system” and the “analysis system” so as to fail prong C (MPEP 2181). Applicant’s remarks that “’imaging system’ is the name for a structure that performs the function of digitally acquiring images” is incorrect. There are many imaging systems which do not in fact acquire a digital image. A single lens is a structure that creates an image with no digital imaging required. The human eye is an imaging system that does not acquire a digital image.
Regardless of Applicant’s remarks, the claimed “imaging system configured to acquire a plurality of images” meets the 3-prong test as set forth in MPEP 2181 and thus invokes USC 112(f). Examiner reminds Applicant that [a]pplication of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) is driven by the claim language, not by applicant’s intent or mere statements to the contrary included in the specification or made during prosecution. See In re Donaldson Co., 16 F.3d at 1194, 29 USPQ2d at 1850 (MPEP 2181.I).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 as they pertain to the prior art have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection, as necessitated by amendment.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a particular frame with a set of lines” (claim 1); “imaging screen” (claim 4); “plurality of displayed lines displayed on the imaging screen” (claim 4); “project multiple lines onto each segment” (claim 6) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a) an imaging system configured to acquire…in claim 1
b) an analysis system configured to analyze…in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 1, the claim recites “project a particular frame with a set of lines…additional frames each additional frame with a set of lines with a greater number of lines than the set of lines of the particular frame” which is unclear regarding what is intended by “frame” and the number of lines associated with any one particular frame, or frames.
It is unclear what constitutes a “frame with a set of lines”. Is this an image projected by the projector? Is this a physical frame of some sort with lines? Frame of what? Applicant appears to be using the term inconsistent/contrary to their ordinary meaning (MPEP 2173.05(a)). The metes and bounds are unclear since those of ordinary skill in the art would fail to understand what constitutes a “frame”.
For purposes of compact prosecution, Examiner will understand claim 1 such that so long as the art teaches projecting lines, such limitations are met.
As to claim 1, the claim recites “the analysis system uses one or more additional images of the plurality of images other than the particular image of the plurality of images to improve an accuracy of the approximate shape” which is a relative/subjective term (MPEP 2173.05(b)).
Specifically, “improve an accuracy” is both relative and subjective to a practitioner of the invention. Improve how? The accuracy of the approximate shape is relative to what, when? The metes and bounds are unclear since those of ordinary skill in the art would fail to understand how to infringe what does, and does not, constitute an improvement to the accuracy of the approximate shape. Neither the claims nor specification provide an objective metric to determine what is an improvement to the accuracy of the approximate shape, or what is meant by accuracy of the approximate shape. Examiner will understand that so long as multiple images are used to approximate the 3D shape, such limitation is met.
As to claim 1, the claim recites “uses a particular image…to determine an approximate shape of the eye… uses one or more additional images…” which is unclear what is meant by the use (MPEP 2173.05(p).II). Used how? Such use is not a positively defined step. It is unclear because it is unknown whether infringement occurs when a system capable of using of the images is created, or when a user uses the images in operation of the system.
Examiner will understand the claim such that so long as multiple images are part of the 3D measurement, such limitations are met.
As to claim 4, the claim recites “focusing of the imaging system is achieved by projecting a plurality of projected lines onto the surface of the eye and aligning the plurality of projected lines with a plurality of displayed lines displayed on the imaging screen” which is unclear for the following reasons:
a) the limitation appears directed to the method steps of using the device (MPEP 2173.05(p)). Specifically, the method steps of alignment do not appear directed to the system (apparatus) but to the method of using the system to align the imaging system (e.g. camera 101). The metes and bounds are unclear since whether the imaging system is aligned via the claimed steps or other/different steps, does not appear to structurally differentiate the system from being aligned.
b) such language appears to be relative/subjective (MPEP 2173.05(b)). Specifically, there does not appear to be any claimed or disclosed relationship between the imaging screen and the lines displayed thereof and the projected lines onto the surface of the eye. In other words, the arrangement between the projected lines and the screen lines appears to be arbitrary, thus what constitutes “aligning the plurality of lines” appears entirely subjective to a practitioner of the invention.
Examiner will understand art having an imaging system of claim 1 imaging the eye is necessarily focused as per claim 4.
As to claim 4, the claim recites “positions of the plurality of displayed lines being configured such that light from the plurality of projected lines does not enter the pupil of the eye responsive to the system being in focus” is a function that does not appear to follow from the recited structure (MPEP 2173.05(g)). Specifically, how such lines do not enter the pupil does not follow from any of the structure of the projector or imaging screen. The metes and bounds are unclear since whether the function requires some other structure, of if such function is implicit to operating the device.
As to claim 5, the claim recites “the analysis system is configured to divide the image of the surface of the eye into a plurality of segments, and the projector is configured to project a single line onto each segment” which is unclear as to what constitutes a segment.
The segment(s) appears subjectively defined as arbitrarily shaped and sized to include some subjectively desired number of lines (MPEP 2173.05(b)). For instance, Applicant’s Figure 1 labels a segment as (107), however given the ambiguity of what is a segment, one of ordinary skill in the art can consider the image (106) can be have one segment with three (3) lines, or a first segment with one (1) line and a second segment with two (2) lines, or three segments each with one (1) line.
The metes and bounds are unclear since what constitutes a segment appears subjective to practitioner of the invention (MPEP 2173.05(b)).
For purposes of compact prosecution, Examiner will understand the claim such that so long as the art images an image with at least one line, such system is necessarily “configured to” divide the image into a plurality of segments.
As to claim 6, the claim (last line) recites “onto each the segment” which is unclear. This appears to be a typographical error. Examiner suggests “onto each [[the]] segment”.
As to claim 6, the claim recites “the analysis system is configured to divide the image of the surface of the eye into a plurality of segments, and the projector is configured to project… a single line onto each segment” which is unclear as to what constitutes a segment.
The segment(s) appears subjectively defined as arbitrarily shaped and sized to include some subjectively desired number of lines (MPEP 2173.05(b)). For instance, Applicant’s Figure 1 labels a segment as (107), however given the ambiguity of what is a segment, one of ordinary skill in the art can consider the image (106) can be have one segment with three (3) lines, or a first segment with one (1) line and a second segment with two (2) lines, or three segments each with one (1) line.
Furthermore, if the projector is “configured to project…a single line onto each segment”, then what is meant by the analysis system dividing the image into the plurality of segments. Wouldn’t this necessitate the segments to be defined prior to the projection, not after and during the image analysis?
The metes and bounds are unclear since what constitutes a segment appears subjective to practitioner of the invention (MPEP 2173.05(b)).
For purposes of compact prosecution, Examiner will understand the claim such that so long as the art images an image with at least one line, such system is necessarily “configured to” divide the image into a plurality of segments.
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As to claim 4, the claim recites “focusing of the imaging system is achieved by projecting a plurality of projected lines…and aligning the plurality of projected lines with a plurality of displayed lines displayed on the imaging screen…” which appears to be prohibitive new matter. Applicant’s specification does not provide support for an alignment between projected lines on an eye and displayed lines on an imaging screen.
As to claim 5, the claim recites “the analysis system is configured to divide the image of the surface of the eye into a plurality of segments” which appears to be prohibitive new matter. While Applicant cites to para. [0060]-[0061], such paragraphs do not specify it is the analysis system which divides the image into segments (107).
As to claim 6, the claim recites “the analysis system is configure to divide the image of the surface of the eye into a plurality of segments” which appears to be prohibitive new matter. While Applicant cites to para. [0060]-[0061], such paragraphs do not specify it is the analysis system which divides the image into segments (107).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Rathjen (US 2007/0182927; of record).
As to claim 1, Rathjen teaches a system for measuring a three-dimensional map of an anterior surface of an eye (Rathjen Figs. 1-13), the system comprising
a projector configure to project one or more lines onto a surface of an eye (Rathjen Fig. 5 - 2, 10; para. [0036] - e.g. slit lamp projection);
an imaging system configured to acquire a plurality of images of the eye with the one or more projected lines (Rathjen Fig. 5 - 12A, 120; para. [0039], [0046]; Figs. 12a-13), the imaging system being aligned at an alignment angle relative to the projector (Rathjen Fig. 5 - 120, 10);
an analysis system configured to analyze the one or more images to determine a shape of the one or more projected lines and to generate a three-dimensional measurement of the eye based on the shape of the one or more projected lines in the plurality of images (Rathjen Fig. 1 - 13; Figs. 12a,b,13 - 30A, 31A, 32A; para. [0051]-[0052]; Fig. 11 - 17’; para. [0053]);
wherein the analysis system uses a particular image of the plurality of images to determine an approximate shape of the eye (Rathjen Fig. 12a - 30A; Fig. 12b - 4A; para. [0052], [0008]; Fig. 11 - 17’; para. [0053] - e.g. Scheimpflug cross section image generates 3D image of the eye or Placido image);
wherein the projector is configured to project a particular frame with a set of lines that is imaged in the particular image acquired by the imaging system (Rathjen Fig. 13 - 30A, 30B; para. [0051]-[0052]; Fig. 11 - 17’; para. [0053]);
wherein the analysis system uses one or more additional images of the plurality of images other than the particular image of the plurality of images to improve an accuracy of the approximate shape of the eye to generate the three-dimensional measurement of the eye (Rathjen Fig. 3 - 8; Fig. 11 - 17’; Fig. 13 - 30A, 30B; para. [0008], [0051]-[0053] - as discussed, the computer (analysis system) uses the cross-sectional image(s) to provide an approximate 3D measurement, the accuracy is improved by either the wavefront topography imaging and/or the pattern based (Placido ring 17’) imaging);
wherein the projector is configured to project a plurality of additional frames (Rathjen Fig. 11 - 17’) each additional frame with a set of lines with a greater number of lines than the set of liens of the particular frame (Rathjen Fig. 11 - 17’, 174; Fig. 13 - 30A, 30B - number of lines of the Placido ring being greater than one slit projected as (30A, 30B)), the plurality of additional frames being images in the one or more additional images of the plurality of images (Rathjen para. [0053]).
As to claim 2, Rathjen teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Rathjen further teaches the projector is configured to project a series of projections in sequence (Rathjen Fig. 5 - 15, Z; para. [0048] - slit lamp rotated around illumination axis (Z) to sequentially project a series of slits on the eye (3)), each projection including a single line projected onto the surface of an eye at a different position from other projections of the series of projections (Rathjen Figs. 12a,b,13 - 30A, 4A; para. [0038]),
the imaging system is configured to acquire an image of the single line projected onto the surface of the eye for each projection of the series of projections resulting in a plurality of single line images (Rathjen Figs. 12a,b,13 - 30A, 4A; para. [0038], [0051], [0052]),
the analysis system is configured to analyze the plurality of single line images to generate the three-dimensional measurement of the eye (Rathjen Fig. 1 - 13; Figs. 12a,b,13 - 30A, 31A, 32A; para. [0051]-[0052]).
As to claim 3, Rathjen teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Rathjen further teaches the projector is configured to project multiple lines onto the surface of the eye during the acquisition of each of the plurality of images (Rathjen Fig. 5 - 11, 15, Z; para. [0036], [0048] - slit lamp rotated around illumination axis (Z) to sequentially project a series of slits on the eye (3); Fig. 10 - 16; Fig. 12b - 36; para. [0040]).
As to claim 4 (as understood), Rathjen teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 3, and Rathjen further teaches an imaging screen (Rathjen Fig. 11 - 17, 17’; para. [0048]), wherein focusing of the imaging system is achieved by projecting a plurality of projected lines onto the surface of the eye and aligning the plurality of projected lines with a plurality of displayed lines displayed on the imaging screen (Rathjen Fig. 11 - 174; para. [0048]), positions of the plurality of displayed lines being configured such that light from the plurality of projected lines does not enter the pupil of the eye responsive to the imaging system being in focus (Rathjen Fig. 11 - 174; para. [0048] - A visible pattern 17', a so-called placido pattern, for example with circular rings 174, is applied to the side of the shielding body 17 facing the eye 3, and is reflected by the surface of the eye 3).
As to claim 5 (as understood), Rathjen teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 3, and Rathjen further teaches the imaging system is configured to acquire an image of the surface of the eye (Rathjen Figs. 11-13; para. [0051]-[0054]), the analysis system is configured to divide the image of the surface of the eye into a plurality of segments (Rathjen Figs. 12a,b,13 - 32A, 32B, 4A), and the projector is configured to project a single line onto each segment (Rathjen Figs. 12a,b,13 - 32A, 32B, 4A).
As to claim 6 (as understood), Rathjen teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 3, and Rathjen further teaches the imaging system is configured to acquire an image of the surface of the eye (Rathjen Figs. 11-13; para. [0051]-[0054]), the analysis system is configured to divide the image of the surface of the eye into a plurality of segments (Rathjen Figs. 12a,b,13 - 32A, 32B, 4A), and the projector is configured to project, for a portion of the plurality of images acquired by the imaging system, a single line onto each segment (Rathjen Figs. 12a,b,13 - 32A, 32B, 4A), and for another portion of the plurality of images acquired by the imaging system, to project multiple lines onto each segment Rathjen Figs. 12a,b,13 - 32A, 32B, 4A; para. [0051]-[0050] - any one 3D image generated by the combined segments of line 4A; Fig. 11 - 174).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Catanzariti et al. (US 9,545,200; 2015/0131055); Sarver et al. (US 7,866,820; 2008/0018856); Warnicki et al. (US 4,995,716); Roberts (US 2008/0259276) are cited as additional examples of line projection on the eye for topography (3D) measurements.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZACHARY W WILKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 April 23, 2026