DETAILED ACTION
Prosecution Reopened
Prosecution on the merits of this application is reopened on claims 1-3, 7-10, 14, 16-24, filed 7/9/26, considered unpatentable for the reasons indicated below:
The Notice of Allowance of 8/4/26 is withdrawn. Claims 1-3, 7-10, 14, 16-24 filed on 7/9/26 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/9/26 have been fully considered. Not all arguments are found persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments are addressed below.
Applicant argues:
“The Examiner has alleged that Marriott teaches "a gyroscope, and an accelerometer" by citing paragraph [0181], which discloses "the wearable device including one or more sensors for gathering health data of one or more of: motion or exertion." Applicant respectfully submits that this mapping is unsupported and incorrect.
A gyroscope and an accelerometer are fundamentally distinct sensors that measure different physical phenomena. A gyroscope measures angular velocity-the rate of rotation around an axis. An accelerometer measures linear acceleration-the rate of change of velocity in a straight line. These sensors operate on different physical principles and provide different types of motion data. Marriott's disclosure of "motion or exertion" sensors does not teach or suggest a gyroscope. Indeed, Marriott explicitly discloses accelerometers at paragraphs [0004] and [0052], referring to "one or more xyz accelerometers for movement and exertion measurements" and "an accelerometer 129, that may be disposed on the rigid printed circuit board." While Marriott includes passing references to a gyroscope in the context of PPG signal quality estimation at paragraphs [0226] and [0229], these references describe alternative data sources that "may" be used for estimating signal quality-they do not teach that Marriott's device itself includes a gyroscope as one of its plurality of sensors. The Examiner's cited paragraph [0181] does not teach a gyroscope, and Marriott's device as described and illustrated includes accelerometers but does not include a gyroscope among its sensor suite. The mere mention of a gyroscope as an alternative data source for signal quality estimation does not teach the claimed "plurality of sensors comprising... a gyroscope configured to measure angular velocity."
This argument is convincing in that the gyroscope and the accelerometer are treated as alternatives in Marriott (see ¶¶ 226, 229 “accelerometer or gyroscope”). In Marriott, this falls under the umbrella of an “inertial system” or “inertial sensing” (¶¶ 28, 133). This would appear to allude to what is known in the art as an “Inertial Measurement Unit (IMU)”, which typically includes both accelerometers and gyroscopes. However, it is not inherent that it does, and the accelerometer and gyroscope are not explicitly used together in Marriott.
Applicant further argues:
“Additionally, the Examiner has alleged that Marriott teaches "package data to be transmitted, via the transmitter, to an external device based on a criteria" by citing paragraph [0177], which states "after collection, the data can be transmitted from its storage on device 100 back to the desired computing resource." Applicant respectfully submits that this citation fails to teach the claimed limitation. Marriott's disclosure of generic data transmission does not teach selectively packaging data based on defined criteria such as data quality, data relevance, or signal noise. The claims, as amended, require a conditional decision-making process where data is selectively packaged based on at least one of these specific criteria. Marriott's generic transmission of collected data does not disclose any such selective packaging or criteria-based decision making.”
The relevant sections of the disclosure (with emphasis added) are as follows:
¶ 4: “The PCB may comprise at least one processor, at least one memory comprising computer-executable instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to package data to be transmitted, via the transmitter, to an external device based on a criteria.”
¶ 7: “In an embodiment, the PCB comprises at least one patch processor, at least one patch memory comprising computer-executable patch instructions which, when executed by the at least one patch processor, cause the at least one patch processor to package data to be transmitted, via the transmitter, to an external device based on a criteria.”
¶ 42: “Internet Protocol (IP) may be used for transmitting data communication packets over a network of participating digital communication networks, and may include protocols such as TCP/IP, UDP, DECnet, NetBEUI, IPX, Appletalk, and the like. Versions of the Internet Protocol include IPv4 and IPv6. The Internet includes local area networks (LANs), Wide Area Networks (WANs), wireless networks, and long-haul public networks that may allow packets to be communicated between the local area networks. The packets may be transmitted between nodes in the network to sites each of which has a unique local network address. A data communication packet may be sent through the Internet from a user site via an access node connected to the Internet. The packet may be forwarded through the network nodes to any target site connected to the network provided that the site address of the target site is included in a header of the packet. Each packet communicated over the Internet may be routed via a path determined by gateways and servers that switch the packet according to the target address and the availability of a network path to connect to the target site.”
¶ 43: ”The header of the packet may include, for example, the source port (16 bits), destination port (16 bits), sequence number (32 bits), acknowledgement number (32 bits), data offset (4 bits), reserved (6 bits), checksum (16 bits), urgent pointer (16 bits), options (variable number of bits in multiple of 8 bits in length), padding (may be composed of all zeros and includes a number of bits such that the header ends on a 32 bit boundary). The number of bits for each of the above may also be higher or lower.”
¶ 50: “The signal may be encrypted, modulated, or altered in a variety of manners to allow for security, privacy, or data compression. For example, the signal may be encrypted using a cryptographic hash function to ensure secure transmission or other cryptographic functions to comply with HIPAA or similar regulation. In another example, the signal may be dynamically compressed to different ratios to allow for consistent health information updates. For example, as the signal strength changes, the update/refresh rate of the device may be dynamically increased or decreased. In a further example, certain vital signals may be assigned different priorities, so if bandwidth is constrained then the device may not update the SpO2 value as often and prioritize monitoring the patient's heartrate. In an embodiment, the patch may contain a processor that processes the signal to be sent to another device to select a subset of the data to be transmitted, this subset may be selected for using a variety of factors such as data quality, relevance, noise, etc. In an embodiment, the device may be configured to a particular patient profile, for example, a patient may have a preliminary diagnosis of pneumonia, therefore the device may be configured to run a particular pathology profile where SpO2, heartrate, and microphone data are prioritized, and body temperature and gyroscopic data are deprioritized. These profiles may contain any permutation of any sensor data. The device may be configured to accept custom pathology profiles, have pathology profiles selected, or may only contain a subset of only the relevant sensor for a particular pathology in order to achieve cost efficiency standards. The pathology profiles may monitor for certain clinical events. For example, normally a patient SpO2 value may be determined to be acceptable if greater than 90%, however if a patient has pneumonia, the acceptable value may be higher or lower, and if this set threshold value is crossed, an alert or indication may be triggered and/or transmitted.”
¶ 72: “Thus, the microprocessor may monitor the data to observe whether the data has been packaged into a usable form, sent to mobile device, and/or received by the mobile device. The microprocessor may be programmed to determine whether data is valid, for example, by sampling several readings of SpO2 and selecting the best readings of the packet of readings.”
¶ 74: “The patch of the present disclosure may be a wireless vital sign sensor apparatus comprising a transceiver, a power supply, a plurality of sensors, comprising a heartrate monitor, a gyroscope 580, and an accelerometer 570, a non-transitory memory module capable of storing machine executable code, a processor configured to package data to be transmitted to an external device based on a criteria, determine a clinically significant event based on a determined pathology, and provide an indication when the clinically significant event is detected, and a housing made of a soft flexible material.”
The reference in the disclosure of “packets” and “packaged” is a generic reference to data transmission in packets (ie. as in all modern wireless or internet data communication), as phosita would readily understand. By itself, it does not require any transformation of data or packets. The “criteria” of “packaging” data, ie. transmitting data in packets, can be found in ¶ 50, as would be understood by phosita. Applicant argues that the claim requires “selectively packaging data based on defined criteria such as data quality, data relevance, or signal noise” and “require a conditional decision-making process where data is selectively packaged based on at least one of these specific criteria”.
However, the claims do not require this. Thus, Applicant’s arguments are not commensurate with the scope of the claims and are not convincing. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “selectively packaging data based on defined criteria such as data quality, data relevance, or signal noise” and “require a conditional decision-making process where data is selectively packaged based on at least one of these specific criteria”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The prior art does not need to disclose selective packaging (or transformation of data) based on one of said criteria. The claims recite “package data to be transmitted, via the transmitter, to an external device based on a criteria at least one of data quality, data relevance, or signal noise;”. The “data” can be any data. “Data relevance” is subjective and can be taken as anything that a user or observer may deem relevant. Hence, to meet this limitation, the prior art need only teach that any part of any type of data is transmitted in packets, and that data transmission is in any way “based on” one of data quality, data relevance, or signal noise.
In addition, it appears that Applicant’s arguments regarding “selective packaging based on the criteria” would lead phosita to conclude that the claims are incomplete for failing to recite essential aspects of the invention. The entire line of argument is based on this being an essential aspect of the claimed invention, thus a respective 112(b) rejection is applied.
As it pertains to the limitations of Claims 8 and 9, “the flexible material including an acoustic impedance similar to that of human tissue” and the relevant 103 rejections:
Applicant argues (emphasis added):
“Applicant respectfully submits that the Examiner's reasoning is fundamentally flawed because it conflates two entirely different physical phenomena: electrical impedance and acoustic impedance. Electrical impedance relates to the opposition to electrical current flow in a circuit and is relevant to ECG electrode functionality and signal conduction. Acoustic impedance, by contrast, relates to the propagation of sound or ultrasonic energy through materials and is defined as the product of a material's density and the speed of sound through that material.
These are not interchangeable concepts. A material optimized for low electrical impedance (to facilitate electrical signal conduction) is not necessarily, and indeed is unlikely to be, a material with acoustic impedance similar to human tissue (to facilitate ultrasound transmission). The claimed acoustic impedance limitation is specifically directed to ultrasound compatibility, as supported by paragraph [0058] of the specification, which states: "The patch housing may be composed of an ultrasound compatible material, such as ultrasound gel or material with an acoustic impedance similar to human tissue." Marriott's teaching of low electrical impedance for electrode functionality provides no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to select a housing material with acoustic impedance similar to human tissue for ultrasound compatibility.”
These statements are correct, as would be readily apparent to phosita. The 103 rejections of Claims 8 and 9, were based on electrical impedance, not acoustic impedance and there is no evidence that the combination proposed in the rejection would lead to meeting the claim. There is also no evidence of record that shows that silicone in general or the silicone in Marriott inherently has an acoustic impedance similar to that of human tissue. There is also no evidence on record that lowering the electrical impedance of silicone (typically by doping with metals), would achieve acoustic impedance matching similar to human tissue. “Human tissue has an acoustic impedance of approximately 1.5x106 kg/M2 sec” (units also known as “MRayl”) (US 4,326,418 by Pell Jr, 1:44-45). Rennoll places it at 1.53-1.68 MRayls (Introduction, page 3241, col. 2, lines 1-2). “The acoustic impedance of skin is about 1.5+/-0.15 kg/s-m2 while that for air is four orders of magnitude smaller” (US 7,142,904 by Tucker, 4:62-64). Tucker aims to solve the problem of the prior art requiring a different material/medium to achieve electrical coupling, acoustic coupling, and optical coupling of sensors to skin. Tucker ends up using a hydrogel. Silicone, such as commonly used PDMS is about 1.07 MRayls (Rennoll, page 3246, col. 1, par. 3). In order to make silicone have an acoustic impedance similar to human tissue, one would need to add materials to it, or otherwise transform it. Applicant appears to solve this problem by: ¶ 58 “The patch housing may be composed of an ultrasound compatible material, such as ultrasound gel or material with an acoustic impedance similar to human tissue, or may have multiple layers, where one slowly melts to ensure a clear image of the anatomy being imaged”, ¶ 78: “the housing comprises a plurality of layers, wherein at least one layer has an acoustic impedance similar to human tissue”. Thus, Applicant’s arguments in relation to the 103 rejection over Marriott, where electrical impedance was lowered, are found convincing.
In addition, Claim 9 is an open ended claim. Claim 10 does not appear to exclude material additional to silicone. For example, a hypothetical claim dependent of Claim 10 could be “the silicone is doped silicone”, or “the silicone encloses a gel”, or “the silicone has multiple layers” or “the silicone has one part that has the acoustic impedance similar to tissue” (these examples are used to convey that the silicone in Claim 10 does not necessarily limit the claims to just one material, because the claims are open ended; Note that these examples are not necessarily supported by the specification). However, the claim does raise an issue in terms of written description, since there is no clear disclosure that it is the silicone itself has an acoustic impedance similar to human tissue, yet the claim does not preclude this.
In regard to 101, Claims 9, 14-16, each as a whole overcome the relevant rejections. Claim 9 would at the very least require wireless network communications between the external device [represented by the human mind in the abstract idea] and the patch that the human mind is not equipped to perform. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).III.A.
Further, Applicant argues: “Claim 9, as amended, recites a wireless vital sign detection system comprising specific hardware components including a patch with a printed circuit board, a transmitter, a plurality of sensors comprising a heartrate monitor, a gyroscope configured to measure angular velocity, and an accelerometer. The claim further recites a housing composed of a flexible material, the flexible material including an acoustic impedance similar to that of human tissue. These are not generic computer components but rather specific physical sensors and structural elements that impose meaningful limits on any alleged judicial exception.
The combination of a gyroscope configured to measure angular velocity with a heartrate monitor and accelerometer, housed in a material with acoustic impedance similar to human tissue, represents a specific technological implementation for vital sign monitoring. The claimed system requires particular hardware configurations that go well beyond merely implementing an abstract idea on a generic computer. The acoustic impedance requirement, in particular, reflects a specific material property designed for ultrasound compatibility, which is a concrete technological feature rather than a generic implementation”. When reading the claims as a whole, the preponderance of the evidence suggests that amended Claims 9, 14 and 16 are eligible.
The foregoing, in addition to the rejections below, have addressed all pending issues. New rejections are presented below, on the basis of newly found art.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3, 7-10, 14, 16-24 are objected to because of the following informalities: 1) In claims 1 and 9, the “based on a criteriaat least one of” should have a space between the “criteria” and “at”, and should also be corrected for grammar, 2) In Claims 3 and 10, the “is” should be “includes”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 10 does not preclude an embodiment where the silicone of the patch has an acoustic impedance similar to that of human tissue. A person having ordinary skill in the art would not have reasonably concluded from the original disclosure an embodiment where the patch has silicone with an acoustic impedance similar to that of human skin. The disclosure only mentions: ¶ 58 “The patch housing may be composed of an ultrasound compatible material, such as ultrasound gel or material with an acoustic impedance similar to human tissue, or may have multiple layers, where one slowly melts to ensure a clear image of the anatomy being imaged”, ¶ 78: “the housing comprises a plurality of layers, wherein at least one layer has an acoustic impedance similar to human tissue”. There is no disclosure that specifically silicone is responsible for the acoustic impedance matching claimed. Thus, Claim 10 fails the written description requirement. See MPEP 2163, 2163.05.
Claims 1-3, 7-10, 14, 16-24, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Claims 1 and 9, the “based on a criteria at least one of data quality, data relevance, or signal noise;” appears to be drawn to a Markush group having a format that is improper. For a Markush group, the combination of the open ended “at least one” with “or”, renders the claim unclear as to whether the group is closed or not.
MPEP 2173.05(h): A Markush grouping is a closed group of alternatives, i.e., the selection is made from a group "consisting of" (rather than "comprising" or "including") the alternative members. Abbott Labs., 334 F.3d at 1280, 67 USPQ2d at 1196. If a Markush grouping requires a material selected from an open list of alternatives (e.g., selected from the group "comprising" or "consisting essentially of" the recited alternatives), the claim should generally be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as indefinite because it is unclear what other alternatives are intended to be encompassed by the claim.
Please review sections MPEP 2117, 2111.03, and 2173.05(h) regarding what are considered Markush groups, how they are treated during prosecution, and the format appropriate for Markush groups. For example, MPEP 2117 lists as proper formats for Markush grouping the following: “alternatives may be set forth as "a material selected from the group consisting of A, B, and C" or "wherein the material is A, B, or C”.
In Claims 1 and 9, it appears that the limitations of “package the data to be transmitted, via the transmitter, to an external device based on a criteria at least one of data quality, data relevance, or signal noise” are incomplete, and unclear. Applicant argues that the claimed invention requires “selectively packaging data based on defined criteria such as data quality, data relevance, or signal noise” and “require a conditional decision-making process where data is selectively packaged based on at least one of these specific criteria”. It would appear to phosita that Applicant regards these aspects of their invention to be essential to the claimed invention, as evident by Applicant’s arguments, yet they are missing from the claims, such omission amounting to a gap between the limitations claimed. See MPEP § 2172.01.
Regarding Claims 1 and 9, the term “relevance” in “data relevance” in subjective, incomplete and unclear. Relevance to what? What is the standard used to determine data relevance? Regarding Claims 1 and 9, the term “similar” is “similar to human tissue” is subjective and unclear. The terms are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be apprised with reasonable certainty of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0059586 by Marriott in view of US 2016/0120434 by Park.
Regarding Claim 1, Marriott teaches a wireless vital sign (title) patch (¶197: patch 100) apparatus comprising:
a printed circuit board ("PCB") [¶45: printed circuit board] comprising:
a transmitter [¶177: after collection, the data is transmitted from storage on device 100 back to the desired computing resource (Fig. 3A and 4)];
a plurality of sensors comprising a heartrate monitor (¶ 181: heart rate sensor), a gyroscope configured to measure angular velocity (¶¶ 226, 229: accelerometer or gyroscope), or an accelerometer (¶¶ 226, 229: accelerometer or gyroscope);
at least one processor (¶ 181: processor), at least one memory comprising computer-executable instructions (¶ 24) which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to:
package data to be transmitted, via the transmitter, to an external device based on a criteria (¶ 177: after collection, the data is transmitted from storage on patch 100 to the desired computing resource (Fig. 3A and 4)]
and
a housing encapsulating the PCB, the housing composed a flexible material (¶50: an exterior housing 530 is shown in Fig. 1H, 1H1 and 1I, as disposed over and contain other parts. This is made with flexible or pliable material), the housing comprising an interfacing surface configured to reversibly interface with a patient (¶ 22: removable adhesive; ¶ 27: anisotropic conductive adhesive electrode interface).
Marriott does not explicitly disclose that the gyroscope and the accelerometer are both part of the PCB.
However, Park teaches an analogous health monitoring patch (¶ 80) which includes a gyroscope in conjunction with an accelerometer in order “to provide further resolution as to the nature of motion experienced” (¶ 104). Park adds “While whole body movements may be sufficiently analyzed with an accelerometer on its own, specific motion of interest such as rotational motion due to arm movement is sufficiently complex that an accelerometer alone might not be able to distinguish” (¶ 104). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a gyroscope in conjunction with an accelerometer in a device according to the teachings of Marriott, as taught by Park, in order to predictably measure linear acceleration and angular velocity. Furthermore, as suggested by Park (¶ 104), this would improve resolution as to the nature of the motion measured, such as distinguishing rotational motion of the arm from whole body movements.
Marriott does not explicitly disclose that the packaging of data to be transmitted, via the transmitter, to an external device based on a criterion of data relevance.
However, Park teaches an analogous health monitoring patch (¶ 80) which selectively transmits extracted data in order to conserve power in the wearable device (¶ 142). Any such selective extraction and selective transmission of extracted data is “based on data relevance”, which is a subjective term encompassing anything the user or designer decided to select as relevant to their own preferences. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate selective extraction and transmission of data in a device according to the teachings of Marriott, as taught by Park, as this would predictably transmit the data. Furthermore, Park suggests (¶ 142) that this would conserve power at the wearable device, thus preserving battery life and more generally reducing the processing requirements and size of the patch.
Regarding Claim 2, Marriott as modified in Claim 1 teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the flexible material is transparent (¶ 46: transparent or translucent).
Regarding Claim 3, Marriott as modified in Claim 1 teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the flexible material is silicone (¶ 50: silicone).
Regarding Claim 7, Marriott as modified in Claim 1 teaches the apparatus of claim 1, the housing further comprising an adhesive disposed on the interfacing surface (¶ 22: adhesive).
Regarding Claim 18, Marriott as modified in Claim 1 teaches the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a digital microphone configured to monitor sounds from a chest cavity (¶ 60: Flexible Microphone with DSP to detect breathing).
Regarding Claim 21, Marriott as modified in Claim 1 teaches the apparatus of
claim 1, further comprising a biopotential analog front-end configured to provide electrocardiogram waveforms (¶ 36: AFE with ECG).
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marriott/Park as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of US 2018/0078155 by Baek.
Regarding Claim 8, Marriott as modified in Claim 1 teaches the apparatus of claim 1, yet does not explicitly disclose wherein the flexible material includes an acoustic impedance similar to that of human tissue.
However, Baek teaches an analogous health monitoring patch (¶ 51) which includes acoustic sensors in order to determine blood pressure or other cardiovascular characteristics (¶¶ 89-100), wherein the sensors “additionally include one or more acoustic matching layers to ensure proper acoustic coupling” (¶ 93). Marriott already teaches acoustic sensors (¶4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate additional acoustic matching (to human tissue) layers in a device according to the teachings of Marriott as modified in Claim 1, as taught by Baek, in order to predictably ensure “proper acoustic coupling” between the acoustic sensor and human tissue, as suggested by Baek.
Regarding Claim 17, Marriott as modified in Claim 1 teaches the apparatus of claim 1, yet does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of sensors further comprises an ultrasonic emitter and an ultrasonic receiver.
However, Baek teaches an analogous health monitoring patch (¶ 51) which includes ultrasonic sensors comprising an ultrasonic emitter and an ultrasonic receiver in order to determine blood pressure or other cardiovascular characteristics (¶¶ 89-100). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate ultrasonic sensors with emitters and receivers in a device according to the teachings of Marriott as modified in Claim 1, as taught by Baek, in order to predictably measure blood pressure and other cardiac characteristics.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marriott/Park as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of US 2009/0022941 by Fischer.
Regarding Claim 19, Marriott as modified in Claim 1 teaches the apparatus of claim 1, yet does not explicitly disclose wherein the housing comprises a concave interfacing surface configured to create a suction force when pressed against the patient.
However, Fischer teaches analogous extracorporeal health sensors (¶¶ 2, 4) which use concave interfacing surfaces as part of a housing to adhere to the body (¶¶ 44, 54). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate concave interfacing suction surfaces to the housing of a device according to the teachings of Marriott as modified in Claim 1, as this would only amount to an equivalent adhesive mechanism for removable attachment of the sensor to the body. Fischer further suggests that this would also offer the benefit of individual fitting (¶ 13).
/MANOLIS PAHAKIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3796